Autopsy AFL 2017 - Elimination and Qualifying Finals - What did you like, learn and hate?

GWS are shithouse
We suck
Richmond are great and loved then and their fans rejoicing despite beating us. They deserve it.

Swans are a ****ing force.
Eagles are brilliant
Port Adelaide are a bunch of sooks and are a try hard EPL team pre match with that by your side shit.

I like that, in their last two starts in finals games, Essendon are -161 points. That's just hilarious.

Our previous final was a 12-point loss to North Melbourne in 2014.

Even then, the previous final before that was against Carlton in 2011 was 62 points.

Get your facts right.

Liked : The final game Port V Eagles

Learnt: Geelong must now consider leaving Simonds Stadium, why didn't they redevelop the playing area?

Hated: The BYE, the Finals matches were a disaster and only saved by the 4th game...Geelong players stating the MCG dimensions threw out their game plan?

Liked: Port vs. WCE absolute ripper of a game.
Plus old roo Drew Petrie ending his career on a high.

Learnt: I overrated the Cats, Sydney can win it from 6th.

Hated: Richmond likely to make grand final as they will play either GWS or WCE in prelim at MCG.

Adelaide or Sydney vs. Richmond grand final for mine.

Liked:

95,000 fans on friday night, the majority screaming out "Yellow and black". That is enough to send chills down the spines of most people.
Having Adelaide-Richmond-Sydney-Melbourne Storm-Port Adelaide in my multi and cashing out with 2 minutes to go in extra time
Having both Richmond and Sydney to win the flag, go Tigers and ummm go Swans too I suppose

Learnt:

For all the pain it caused Melbourne fans should not be sad they did not make finals now, they would have got the same hiding from the Swans
Essendon have a habit of saving their worst performance until last.....maybe wanting one last crack at the snow season? ;)
Adelaide, Richmond and Sydney are clearly the standouts but the rest can still surprise

Disliked:

Frankly reckon even Stick figure Joe would wish he had not celebrated like that after the first goal....since Sydney kicked a tonne in a row after
That there had to be a loser last night
Cats fans who still will not give Richmond credit, nor Adelaide either for that matter

Liked: Tigers, was amazing being there Friday night
Liked: Extra time, should be a permanent solution throughout the regular season too

Learnt: Selection issues will haunt some coaches. No Trengove was bizarre, no Menzel when Geelong was screaming for another avenue to goal

Hated: Essendon bringing absolutely nothing to the Finals this year. GWS the same on Thursday night

Liked : The final game Port V Eagles

Learnt: Geelong must now consider leaving Simonds Stadium, why didn't they redevelop the playing area?

Hated: The BYE, the Finals matches were a disaster and only saved by the 4th game...Geelong players stating the MCG dimensions threw out their game plan?
You forgot to say that Geelong wore white shorts.

Huge call, given Port will still front at that time. Why did you cash out? Did you think they would lose?

Only put $3 on the multi but had lost so many times on the last leg I just wanted to win once I suppose. Cashed out the moment Kennedy kicked the goal to bring it back to 73-66 I think.

Had St George as the last leg in a 5 game NRL multi last week, they lost, the week before had an AFL/NRL multi with Penrith as the last leg, they lost too, so did not wanna push my luck again haha

And Melbourne Storm had tested my heart more then enough already yesterday with their close game so could not take much more drama :p

Final pay out was $20.62 I think , I accepted $13.45 and then put a little on the Cowboys to win today 1-12. So ended up $20.00 even :D

Liked: Crows are in to a home prelim.

Learnt: Richmond are probably going to play in a grand final. In the drivers seat now. Crows are on the tougher side of the draw, either getting Sydney or Geelong and any of those 3 could easily get there. where Richmond will face either west coast or gws.

Hated: The bye week now no Sunday footy and only 2 games a week left til the gf. The afl sure know how to kill momentum for the finals series that they had built up after round 23 .

Liked: Crows are in to a home prelim.

Learnt: Richmond are probably going to play in a grand final. In the drivers seat now. Crows are on the tougher side of the draw, either getting Sydney or Geelong and any of those 3 could easily get there. where Richmond will face either west coast or gws.

Hated: The bye week now no Sunday footy and only 2 games a week left til the gf. The afl sure know how to kill momentum for the finals series that they had built up after round 23 .

Nothing like taking a break from the momentum....of two straight losses though :p

Even more so than past years, a lot of teams that didn't make finals would have looked at what was served up and thought "we could have done better than that".

Ordinary first week of finals.

Even more so than past years, a lot of teams that didn't make finals would have looked at what was served up and thought "we could have done better than that".

Ordinary first week of finals.

5th vs 8th yes, not sure either of our sides would have done any better against Richmond or Adelaide though. And fair chance Sydney would have mauled both our teams by even more.

Yeah I can't believe Geelong selecting Guthrie over Menzel. I mean FFS, you've just dropped a 40 goal a year medium forward with pretty freakish talent levels over a string bean kid who ended up shitting himself in front of the sticks anyway.

No, you don't change things for the sake of it, going on Scotts selection policy for picking players who apply pressure, I'd say 22 players need to be dropped for the Sydney game. You just don't do dumb things like that.

The goal that Guthrie missed was pretty critical, I just can't see Menzel missing that. Not good enough Geelong.

Not to mention that Menzel is a guy who brings a bit of flair and is the best finisher in the team.

Also Buzza is quality and loved by fans. Would like to see him play this week.

Not to mention that Menzel is a guy who brings a bit of flair and is the best finisher in the team.

Also Buzza is quality and loved by fans. Would like to see him play this week.
Scott might have to swallow his pride and pick Menzel. Not sure if Buzza will be picked. Why the hell didn't you just stay with the 22 that beat GWS?

Liked:
Watching Jobe Watson exit stage left after being humiliated in a final
Charlie Dixon missing an open goal on the run
GWS with a predictably heartless display
Port Adelaide supporters crying after the siren
Geelong supporters blaming the fixture instead of the talentless pricks who shat themselves on Friday night
McKenzie, Shuey, Kennedy & Sam Mitchell

Hated:
Thursday night footy/ No Sunday footy.

Liked:
Watching Jobe Watson exit stage left after being humiliated in a final
Charlie Dixon missing an open goal on the run
GWS with a predictably heartless display
Port Adelaide supporters crying after the siren
Geelong supporters blaming the fixture instead of the talentless pricks who shat themselves on Friday night
McKenzie, Shuey, Kennedy & Sam Mitchell

Hated:
Thursday night footy/ No Sunday footy.
Makes you think, we'd have had a good showing against Port.

*shrug*

Credit where it's due, West Coast played with a great intensity and their players stood up when it mattered. Not sure we'd have managed to do either of those things given how we finished the season.

FWIW Port had a great injury run & were played at a consistent all year, we didn't. Happy for them to make the finals instead of us but I can't see a lot of improvement in their list.

Liked: Extra time and goal after siren in Port Adelaide vs West Coast match.
Learnt: Preliminary finals will be Adelaide vs Sydney and Richmond vs GWS.
Winner of Adelaide vs Sydney wins the flag.
Hated: Blowouts.

Liked; last nights game, one of the best I've ever seen, even if the skills weren't the best at times. Happy that Big Drew is alive for another week. Also liked the Swans hammering the Bombers.

Learnt; that Richmond supporters are still comfortably the biggest flogs on BF (not all of them). Will make it all the more humorous if they do get to the GF and lose to either Adelaide or Sydney.

Disliked; Geelong barely putting up a fight.
I love how the narrative has changed from "will laugh when the tiges miss the top 8" to "will laugh when they miss out on top 4 and lose their first final" to "will laugh when they go out in straight sets" to now "will laugh when they lose the grand final" haha brilliant stuff rod!

Autopsy AFL 2017 - Elimination and Qualifying Finals - What did you like, learn and hate?

Write your reply...