Autopsy AFL 2017 - Elimination and Qualifying Finals - What did you like, learn and hate?

Liked:
Not a lot, couple of bits.
1. The sight on TV of the MCG rocking packed with Tigers fans was awesome.

2. The pressure and the fight in WC and Port

Learnt: The Crows and Tigers have the GF this year and the Crows have the flag. Anything else would surprise me.

Hated: All the way to Adelaide on Thursday night to sit in a front row seat ( which I hate) in the rain with no way out. The aisles were blocked by people seeking shelter on the concourse. Surrounded by Crows fans who kept standing up around me so I couldn't see what was happening ( possibly a blessing in disguise).
I got an AFL survey for the game and boy are their ears gonna be burning.

Apart from that it was great. I actually like Adelaide and cant blame the Crows supporters for being excited with the game their guys played. I hope they win the GF if we dont, and we wont.
Qf losing teams oft get up the next week. And from there, anything can happen.

Liked: buddy on one leg. Richmond and that crowd. That ending to Port v wc

Hated: the 3 blow-outs. The bye.

Learnt: extra time would be epic in all drawn games. Geelong don't have any ins to fix that team. Sydney will school them. Gws are cooked.

Qf losing teams oft get up the next week. And from there, anything can happen.
I get from your point of view it's focus on the PF and make sure you get it done and then move on.
I dont think we can improve enough quickly to go much further. I'll be there for any game we play in orange army gear though.
Interesting to see Callan Ward's interview today, and he's right. What I read between the lines is we just gotta tough it out now, my worry is he'll hurt his back trying to carry the guys over the line.

I get from your point of view it's focus on the PF and make sure you get it done and then move on.
I dont think we can improve enough quickly to go much further. I'll be there for any game we play in orange army gear though.
Interesting to see Callan Ward's interview today, and he's right. What I read beyween the lines is we just gptta tough it out now, my worry is he'll hurt his back trying to carry the guys over the line.
After a good win things become possible. Lets see how it goes.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I've seen your list. I don't think you can keep that promise ;)
In all seriousness, if we make the GF this year and win it, I would be willing for us to get the wooden spoon for the next five years. I'm tired of making GFs and losing. (Admittedly, a nice problem to have, so I doubt I'll get much sympathy here.)

Liked; last nights game, one of the best I've ever seen, even if the skills weren't the best at times. Happy that Big Drew is alive for another week. Also liked the Swans hammering the Bombers.

Learnt; that Richmond supporters are still comfortably the biggest flogs on BF (not all of them). Will make it all the more humorous if they do get to the GF and lose to either Adelaide or Sydney.

Disliked; Geelong barely putting up a fight.
you bring the lols

learnt: that the Tigers & Cats got together an hour before the game, and conspired to bore the audience to death. I almost turned over to Bargain Hunt. Do you know how bored you have to be to watch Bargain Hunt? I can't get into it now, but you've gotta be real ****ing bored. Luckily Martin's opponent went off injured, and the game opened up. Martin better pull his figure out if the Tiges expect to get through to the granny.

hated: Motlop turning the ball over 4 times, then grabbing somebody's nuts. This qualifies Motlop for 'the worst game of all time'. He did kick a goal though. Is the goal redemption enough for grabbing his opponents **** and balls? I don't know. I think he has to kick a goal for each nut. They should have asked Scott. I'm not saying the act of grabbing his opponents dick was predetermined, but Motlop was spotted during the week having coffee with Hopoate. Maybe he'll be the first player out of the closet.

liked: that the cash cow took himself to an abattoir after the Port / Eagles game.

learnt: that the Dees season got even worse, with their VFL team bowing out in straight sets.

learnt: that Ryder single-handedly lost the game for his team. Sulking for 2 hours and letting Petrie dominate. All Australian?

liked: the idiot grin on Hamish's face when Richo alluded to Hardwick's constant media abuse last year.

hated: not showing the 2 retirees after the Bombers / Swans game. 7's getting more and more desperate for us to watch the news. There's a reason it's called programming folks. Turn it off.

learned: Syria still has enough people to form a soccer team. I think we should let them win.

hated: Ling's name was mentioned more often than Martin on Friday night. Leave it to 7 to make the commentators the stars of the show. Here's a good drinking game, if anyone watches the replay: take a shot whenever Ling says 'perceived pressure'. You won't last long. Only 1846 more days.

hated: the umps ignoring holding the ball / incorrect disposal a bunch of times against the Cats in the 1st half of the second quarter.

learned: that MCG security should start evicting fans for profanity. Never thought I'd say that, but I've had an arseh*le Magpie supporter screaming constant profanity into the back of my head, 6 times this year, in level 2A of the AFL members. It's an otherwise quiet area usually, but this guy should have been evicted by the lazy excuse of a security guard, standing 10 feet away.

learned: that Sam Pang's joke on the Front Bar that 'Jon Ralph is hanging himself with a noose', sparked a new promo on SEN today: 'John Ralph knows his football'. He's finally got a credibility issue. Took long enough. I remember long, long, ago when he started out at the Herald Sun, and he only had a one inch column. When I say column, that's not a euphemism for John's appendage. No way would I suggest that Mr. Ralph has a one inch penis. There's no shame in it, but I'd be surprised if John only had a one inch penis. It was a one inch column. And he used that inch to shit stir like no one else.

learned: that the flag goes to the Swans or Crows this year. And if it's the Swans, the other 17 clubs should storm AFL house and say enough is enough.

hated: the channel 7 ads - beer, army, gambling, commsec, terror hotline. What a wonderful world.

learned: that Cotchin can kick a goal afterall. I noticed back in round 3 that he'd developed a harder edge this year. Why didn't the umps notice? He should have been suspended a couple of times. That's the chance he took, and he got away with it.

hated: that the umps don't blow the whistle when Martin fends off to the throat.

learned: that Pauline Hansen wants to ban the burger. All those years in a fish & chip shop probably got the better of her. McDonalds won't let it happen though. Either will hungry jacks.

maybe you missed it because youre the joke here

and the tiges making the cats look inept was priceless too. so much joy this season
The joke is Richmond winning 1 final in 16 years, the longest drought of any team bar the Suns. You blokes sure are suckers for punishment!

Liked - Richmond winning and shutting up the doubters, WCE v Port game.
Learnt - Sydney are scary good and in premiership winning form, Richmond are in with a good shot.
Hated - Adelaide v GWS game.

Hated people expecting a highly skileld, free flowing game in Friday night when it was slippery and possibly some of the highest pressure applied all year, by both sides. The loser would have to face the two best sides in the league, one on the road if they wish to make the grand final, and the winner would get a home prelim against an interstate side that is NOT one of the two best sides. Of course the pressure would be high and mistakes would come.

learnt: that the Tigers & Cats got together an hour before the game, and conspired to bore the audience to death. I almost turned over to Bargain Hunt. Do you know how bored you have to be to watch Bargain Hunt? I can't get into it now, but you've gotta be real ******* bored. Luckily Martin's opponent went off injured, and the game opened up. Martin better pull his figure out if the Tiges expect to get through to the granny.

hated: Motlop turning the ball over 4 times, then grabbing somebody's nuts. This qualifies Motlop for 'the worst game of all time'. He did kick a goal though. Is the goal redemption enough for grabbing his opponents **** and balls? I don't know. I think he has to kick a goal for each nut. They should have asked Scott. I'm not saying the act of grabbing his opponents dick was predetermined, but Motlop was spotted during the week having coffee with Hopoate. Maybe he'll be the first player out of the closet.

liked: that the cash cow took himself to an abattoir after the Port / Eagles game.

learnt: that the Dees season got even worse, with their VFL team bowing out in straight sets.

learnt: that Ryder single-handedly lost the game for his team. Sulking for 2 hours and letting Petrie dominate. All Australian?

liked: the idiot grin on Hamish's face when Richo alluded to Hardwick's constant media abuse last year.

hated: not showing the 2 retirees after the Bombers / Swans game. 7's getting more and more desperate for us to watch the news. There's a reason it's called programming folks. Turn it off.

learned: Syria still has enough people to form a soccer team. I think we should let them win.

hated: Ling's name was mentioned more often than Martin on Friday night. Leave it to 7 to make the commentators the stars of the show. Here's a good drinking game, if anyone watches the replay: take a shot whenever Ling says 'perceived pressure'. You won't last long. Only 1846 more days.

hated: the umps ignoring holding the ball / incorrect disposal a bunch of times against the Cats in the 1st half of the second quarter.

learned: that MCG security should start evicting fans for profanity. Never thought I'd say that, but I've had an arseh*le Magpie supporter screaming constant profanity into the back of my head, 6 times this year, in level 2A of the AFL members. It's an otherwise quiet area usually, but this guy should have been evicted by the lazy excuse of a security guard, standing 10 feet away.

learned: that Sam Pang's joke on the Front Bar that 'Jon Ralph is hanging himself with a noose', sparked a new promo on SEN today: 'John Ralph knows his football'. He's finally got a credibility issue. Took long enough. I remember long, long, ago when he started out at the Herald Sun, and he only had a one inch column. When I say column, that's not a euphemism for John's appendage. No way would I suggest that Mr. Ralph has a one inch penis. There's no shame in it, but I'd be surprised if John only had a one inch penis. It was a one inch column. And he used that inch to shit stir like no one else.

learned: that the flag goes to the Swans or Crows this year. And if it's the Swans, the other 17 clubs should storm AFL house and say enough is enough.

hated: the channel 7 ads - beer, army, gambling, commsec, terror hotline. What a wonderful world.

learned: that Cotchin can kick a goal afterall. I noticed back in round 3 that he'd developed a harder edge this year. Why didn't the umps notice? He should have been suspended a couple of times. That's the chance he took, and he got away with it.

hated: that the umps don't blow the whistle when Martin fends off to the throat.

learned: that Pauline Hansen wants to ban the burger. All those years in a fish & chip shop probably got the better of her. McDonalds won't let it happen though. Either will hungry jacks.
Always love your work mate.

Liked:
- Being at the game on Friday. As much as I was supporting Geelong it was hard not to be swept up in the Tiger commotion.
- Seeing Dusty live. Quiet first half but turned it on in the final quarter and a half, simply sublime to watch.
- Port vs WCE last 10 mins and Extra Time. Never been more nervous as a neutral.

Learnt:
- GWS are cooked and need a shakeup next year. Unbelievable talent, no ticker.
- Sydney are primed to pull off one of the greatest season turnarounds of all time. They are scary good.
- David Koch is more of a knob than I thought

Hated:
- Geelong vs Richmond first half. Say what you want about the pressure, that first half was garbage. A rolling rugby scrum/kick down the line and turn it over is not "finals pressure". Fumbles and skill errors, sometimes under no immediate pressure, were just unbelievable.
- Essendon. Couldn't have shown any resistance?

In all seriousness, if we make the GF this year and win it, I would be willing for us to get the wooden spoon for the next five years. I'm tired of making GFs and losing. (Admittedly, a nice problem to have, so I doubt I'll get much sympathy here.)
Actually I understand. Like other Dogs fans I'm disappointed with our results this year but having won it I'm still quite content and will be for some time :cool::thumbsu:

Learnt: That Trent Cotchin is a very well-brought up young man. That footage of him tidying up the Tigers' rooms before leaving after the game was beautiful. Good on him!

Mind you, with hair like that (second only to Scott Ludlam), I always assumed he is a bit of a neat freak.

Liked:
Watching Jobe Watson exit stage left after being humiliated in a final
Charlie Dixon missing an open goal on the run
GWS with a predictably heartless display
Port Adelaide supporters crying after the siren
Geelong supporters blaming the fixture instead of the talentless pricks who shat themselves on Friday night
McKenzie, Shuey, Kennedy & Sam Mitchell

Hated:
Thursday night footy/ No Sunday footy.
5/6 likes are about failing. Is that a Melbourne thing that you get your jollies when others fail? Or is it just you?

I love how the narrative has changed from "will laugh when the tiges miss the top 8" to "will laugh when they miss out on top 4 and lose their first final" to "will laugh when they go out in straight sets" to now "will laugh when they lose the grand final" haha brilliant stuff rod!
Rod will be still laughing if we fail to make a fourpeat. He'll also be stroking his rod. That's how he rolls.

hated: Motlop turning the ball over 4 times, then grabbing somebody's nuts. This qualifies Motlop for 'the worst game of all time'. He did kick a goal though. Is the goal redemption enough for grabbing his opponents **** and balls? I don't know. I think he has to kick a goal for each nut. They should have asked Scott.

Scott would have been happy with any hard ball gets on the night.

The joke is Richmond winning 1 final in 16 years, the longest drought of any team bar the Suns. You blokes sure are suckers for punishment!
So we are in the preliminary final and will be favourites to advance to the grand final yet we are the joke? Who's norths latest trade target? The sublime Steven motlop lol

Hated people expecting a highly skileld, free flowing game in Friday night when it was slippery and possibly some of the highest pressure applied all year, by both sides. The loser would have to face the two best sides in the league, one on the road if they wish to make the grand final, and the winner would get a home prelim against an interstate side that is NOT one of the two best sides. Of course the pressure would be high and mistakes would come.
It also depends on ones aesthetic. Does one like the pretty and delicate or the rough and ready? I love the latter and thus loved fridays game. Care not what Mary Poppins thinks.

So we are in the preliminary final and will be favourites to advance to the grand final yet we are the joke? Who's norths latest trade target? The sublime Steven motlop lol
When every other team bar one has won a final in the last 16 years, and you're supposed to be a successful "Big 4" club, then yes you are the joke.

Autopsy AFL 2017 - Elimination and Qualifying Finals - What did you like, learn and hate?

Write your reply...