Autopsy AFL 2018 R21: Liked, Hated, Learnt

Liked: Blues were competitive

Hated: Ablett doing a Rance

Learnt: Richmond deserve to win the flag again because they play a great team game, and they're the best team this year. I couldn't begrudge them
Will Ablett get fined? I’ll put my left nut on the fact he won’t. Happy that Rance got fined as long as they are consistent, however they never are.

Liked: Heeney's mark
Dogs winning to possibly end North's season :D

Hated: Johnson's knee. Like Clay Smith, the game can be a cruel bitch. I wish him all the best.

Learned: To never tip against Hawthorn at the G again. Unless its against Richmond.

Liked: Ending the Bombers season a week before and putting the Cats season in temporary jeopardy.

Hated: GAJ diving. North and Melbourne's lack of mental fortitude putting the Cats season out of temporary jeopardy.

Learnt: It's Richmond >>> Daylight >>> GWS/WC >>> Daylight >>> The rest.

Liked Liam Flyin' Ryans mark and goal. Heeney and Ah Chees too.
Reivolts 10.
Eagles So entertaining this year. It's had it all.
Big injuries( nic nat, ryan, darling, kennedy)
suspensions (nic nat, gaff)
signings (gov, gaff?)
losses (Essendon)
historical wins (Collingwood) coaches bailing(mitchell)
after siren repeats(Port Adelaide)
sitting #2 given no chance in 2018
new stadium
Add a premiership and I'll need all cricket season to recover

Learnt Essendon are building a culture of winning at all costs.Friday night No interchange rotations due to injuries for a fair bit of the game. Flog St Kilda.
Im predicting a rise from the ashes for the New Bombers. Love watching Tippa too.

Hated the use of the term dissapointing. All I've heard all year, from football media to players. Lighten up. Been a cracker season if you think about it. Injuries are getting out of control though and our game is becoming really dangerous so put your resources into that, AFL, media etc

Loved: jack. Always have always will. A good lad. And cotch. And my 3rd child.
Liked: want an even comp? We have it. Dont underestimate hawks or pies. Big chance. Nor giants or wce. Very open and edgy.
Hated: myself for self-pleasing every other day after the cats win.
Learnt: footys in good shape as is that bird next door asleep against the wheel of her ford escort.

Liked:

WC getting it done after the siren missing Gaff, Nic Nat and JJK.
The way Alex Johnson's team mates got around him and their genuine grief for their mate, moving stuff.

Hated:

Alex Johnson's knee, deserves better.

Learnt:

Not sure anyone can win the flag other than Tigers, all guns blazing at the pointy end, in better form at the moment than this time last year.

Liked: Sydney winning when down two players for Three Quarters of the game.
Learnt: Melbourne have benefited from a incredibly soft draw.
Hated: Injury to AJ , how much bad luck can one person have?

Liked - Winning the game

Learnt - We cannot go deep in September without Josh Kennedy

Hated - Alex Johnson another knee, just cannot believe it poor bugger, wish him and his family well

Liked: beating Geelong twice this year.
James Worpel going harder and lower than Joel Selwood making him look foolish.
Heeny mark of the year.
The play no one is talking about. Bontempelli had 3 possessions from a centre clearance resulting in a goal. Only 4 possessions total in the chain. Was like watching local footy when the best player in the league comes back from an injury and play reserves and absolutely dominates. Loved it.

Hated: Johnson's knee.
Melbourne losing.
Love the Dogs, but North losing. Keeping Geelong right in the hunt.
Gawn as Supercoach captain.
St.Kildas effort against a depleted Bombers in the last quarter.

Learnt: We can contend because our kids believe and our top end talent are playing incredible football. Smith, Gunston and Bruest were bigger superstars than we all realised. Just needed Hodge, Mitch and Lewis to leave first.
Bad kicking is bad football (Melb).
I was right about Port Adelaide. Overrated recruits. Had them missing finals this year and looks like a real possibility.
Collingwood get some stars back and they are a real threat.

Liked: :D4 points for us.

Learnt: Finals performances remain a mystery until they happen. I'm quietly confident if we can hold up for the next two weeks though. We've evolved as a team and are no longer the team of talented youth that needed on-field coaching from the likes of Heater and Stevie J, albeit we will miss Heaters playing ability.
This year we can afford to use those spots on the twin terriers in Langdon and Danieks to add the defensive forward pressure that improves our structure a lot.
The playing group has played 5 finals in two years and is now battle hardened.
Doesn't mean we'll win cos there are some excellent sides, particularly WC and the Tigers, but we wont be easy beats.

Hated: This time of the year is always a bit sad as some teams drop out if the finals race. It's the nature of the competition though.

Injuries, but I dont want to dwell on that, the good teams will cope and the lucky teams wont have to.

Learnt; saints and Gold Coast are in more trouble than Carlton
This, unfortunately to true.
With free agency sucking the life blood out of the comp and destroying the effectiveness of the draft, the "Battler" clubs have little or no hope of getting off the lower rungs of the ladder.

Liked: Jack's 10 and Coleman medal contention

Learnt: GWS are the biggest threat to the Tigers by far, and with the pre-finals bye they will freshen up and be a serious flag contender.

Hated: The Demons being the Demons, genuinely want them to get some September action, their fans deserve it.

This, unfortunately is true

Oh sorry clarifying, the only reason i thought the saints were in trouble was just the teams goalkicking on Friday night.

Didnt matter either Where the setshot was or who was kicking it, they found a way to utensil it up.
Easy set shot?
Id rather snap, an easy drop punt.

Not sure whats wrong with the players in the comps rational that thinks it gives then a better chance to get the goal.

Kick the drop punt lads.

ha ha , i dunno, Izzy has a pretty good list of achievements, more premierships than Gaz for a start!

but seriously, people trying to justify this flop are kidding themselves...nice elbow to the jaw as well

Hard to see from the camera angle as Scott Selwood is obscuring the view, but are we sure Ablett didn't just trip over Narkle's feet when he was back-pedalling, which caused him to fall over?