Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 1 - Cats v Pies Fri March 17th 7:40pm AEDT (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 8 6.6%
  • Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 12 9.8%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 41 33.6%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 26 21.3%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 24 19.7%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 6 4.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 5 4.1%

You just carried on a big rant about the administration behind the scenes getting a good deal.. which has nothing to do with carrying on about Ollie Henry. So what is it?? Are you angry about geelongs deal or are you angry about Henry wanting out?? If it’s Henry wanting out then incredibly hypocritical. Wtf are you on about a delay? He requested it as soon as trade period opened which is common. I am sure collingwood was not stupid and could work out why he wouldn’t sign a contract all year as well mate.

Also bizzare you think you got screwed when you got pick 21 + a brownlow medalist A grade mid in return.. very odd
Henry knew he was going to Geelong when he was drafted. There's a long delay between the end of the season and the opening of trade period mate. Collingwood genuinely hoped he would re sign. Henry knew he was going to request a trade but chose not to do it prior to trade period mate. They have the option to do the right thing by their club and give them a heads up and the opportunity to get best value. Most players feel that's the right way to go about exiting.

There's a reason for the way Henry played his trade mate. It's called Geelongs GWS trade priorities. It ain't because Ollie was unsure about what he was doing. It's not rocket science mate.

As for your Nathan Krueger equivalence....😂
You got your man. We don't like the way Henry/Geelong went about it. Nothing more to say. Suck it up and stop whining like your coach.

Henry knew he was going to Geelong when he was drafted. There's a long delay between the end of the season and the opening of trade period mate. Collingwood genuinely hoped he would re sign. Henry knew he was going to request a trade but chose not to do it prior to trade period mate. They have the option to do the right thing by their club and give them a heads up and the opportunity to get best value. Most players feel that's the right way to go about exiting.

There's a reason for the way Henry played his trade mate. It's called Geelongs GWS trade priorities. It ain't because Ollie was unsure about what he was doing. It's not rocket science mate.

You got your man. We don't like the way Henry/Geelong went about it. Nothing more to say. Suck it up and stop whining like your coach.
Collingwood knew he was leaving, the club is not stupid. It was more a case of trying to pressure him to change his mind till the last minute.

What exactly was going to be different or was some sort of issue?? You still are struggling to make much sense. Bruhn went for our first pick because we rated him higher. Not much was going to change there.

Henry was a second year medium forward who was not in your best 22. You ended up getting pick 21 and a brownlow medalist midfield for him.. again not sure how you believe you get screwed. Tom mitchel was worth more than Ollie Henry.

You guys need to realize players are allowed to leave collingwood. It goes both ways. Not just players coming to collingwood is the only morally correct thing.

That’s just not true

Collingwood knew he was leaving, the club is not stupid. It was more a case of trying to pressure him to change his mind till the last minute.

What exactly was going to be different or was some sort of issue?? You still are struggling to make much sense. Bruhn went for our first pick because we rated him higher. Not much was going to change there.

Henry was a second year medium forward who was not in your best 22. You ended up getting pick 21 and a brownlow medalist midfield for him.. again not sure how you believe you get screwed. Tom mitchel was worth more than Ollie Henry.

You guys need to realize players are allowed to leave collingwood. It goes both ways. Not just players coming to collingwood is the only morally correct thing.
It’s because of how he left. Nobody cares that he requested a trade.

It’s that he is a little sook from mid season or when ever he made up his mind his footy completely turned to s**t. He ended up battling in the VFL because he had thrown the toys out of the cot when on talent he should have still been contributing to a high level.

If he gave it his all for the two years of his contract and then requested a trade nobody would have cared. Footy is a business you bring players in and you lose players you want to keep

Errr he did address the issue, he pointed out your player did the exact same thing and walked out on the club only after a few seasons to go to collingwood.

Your reply was it’s ok because Krueger was a lower pick… ok so which is it?? Are you upset because of how he left or are you upset that a first round draft pick left?? If it’s because his a first round pick then just say so, don’t go on a hypocritical rant about how he left because the exact same thing can be said for Krueger and others who came to collingwood.
🤦🏼
It’s sad that I actually have to point out the difference here.
Kreuger - 3 years on the list at Geelong (so extended initial contract), 2 AFL games, left for more opportunity, Geelong basically got the capital they spent on him back. It’s a scenario that most fans, while being disappointed to see said player leave, wish no ill will, and understand the reasons.
Henry - Did not contemplate staying on past initial contract. Was given plenty of opportunity (top 3 from his draft year in games played). Cited home sickness (Geelong is an hour away ffs) as a reason for wanting a trade. And yes, it also leaves a bitter taste in the mouth that he was a high draft pick, who we didn’t get full value back for, despite looking like a top 10 player from his draft year.

There are plenty of players who have left Collingwood under the same circumstances as Kreuger left Geelong, and the fans understand the reasons and have no grudges. If you can’t get your small brain to process the difference in circumstance and why fans have different reactions to these scenarios I really can’t help you.

It was pick 25, which ended up being pushed out to pick 30, and Mitchell, while still being a great player, is 30 years old in a moth or two, and a far cry from the Brownlow medallist version you keep banging on about. In no way shape or form is he worth more than a 20 year old, very likely 200+ game player with an extremely high ceiling in a trade.

Blah blah....
I'll reiterate....
You got your man, You and he went about it the wrong way. Consequently Collingwood is not happy about it so gave it to Henry.
This is what always happens mate. Nothing new or unjustified there. He will get it for us for the next few years, then we won't care anymore .. that's how it goes in supporter land capiche.
So suck it up and stop whining about it like your coach.

Blah blah....
I'll reiterate....
You got your man, You and he went about it the wrong way. Consequently Collingwood is not happy about it so gave it to Henry.
This is what always happens mate. Nothing new or unjustified there. He will get it for us for the next few years, then we won't care anymore .. that's how it goes in supporter land capiche.
So suck it up and stop whining about it like your coach.
Ok… we will stop pointing out your supporters excessive whining and let you slowly get over a player leaving collingwood in the timespan of approx 2 years?? Lol gotcha mate. Take all the time you need, more than several years if you need it. We won’t upset you and point it out anymore. We will also all clap and cheer those heroes who left other clubs to go to collingwood because they are all entirely “different”.

Apologies if already posted, match stats.

Pies won every metric except centre clearances -4, contested marks -3 and marks i50 - even.

I think this points to the Pies leg and ball speed, in turn this gives them possession win ability (ucp 233-170! diff of 63!) plus stoppage clearance across the park (titch and tay) also gives them outside ball.

This is a statement against one of the best transition (and pressure) teams in the comp.

On Henry, it's one of those things that you can't really have both ways.

He's either a gun, and you're well within your rights to feel hurt at losing him (although some of the comments are over the top)

...Or he's a spud, soft, better off without him etc and you just forget he was ever there (Like Cats supporters with Tim Kelly)

I'll admit it is always tough with footy. There's so much passion that logic is always going to go be thrown out the window at some point.

But the reality is it's just footy. He doesn't hate the Collingwood Football Club. He didn't commit a heinous crime...he just wanted to play with his brother.

It says a lot about our country really. We have footballers running around beating women, taking drugs, grooming underage girls and breaking up families....but a player moving clubs is where we really draw the line.

Just feels like the energy and hatred could be put into something that actually matters, but I do understand why it is the way it is.

Not a direct shot at Collingwood by any means, they're hardly alone in this department. More just another contributor in a greater issue we have.

Oli Henry has talent to be a very good third forward. I don't see him having the attributes for much else and that's the issue really - there's a limited ceiling really.
He’s the perfect replacement for Gary Rohan, but he won’t have Jez Cameron and Tom Hawkins taking the better defenders or feeding him.

The Cats need to stay in touch while they’re getting players back (games against GC, Hawthorn and the Eagles in rounds 3,4,5 will help). If they do then they should still be a moral for the top 4, especially with a run home that has them playing at Kardinia a lot. Back to back is difficult and they’re not my tip for the flag but they’ll be up there contending.

Can’t be more impressed with Collingwood. I said earlier in the thread that tonight well and truly put to bed any questions as to whether last year was a fluke and that they can still clearly run games out better than anyone. If they get a bit of luck with injury (poor start there) then I don’t see why they can’t make another prelim if not a granny.
Great... so they get to play 3 bottom 4 sides while they've got players out injured and then a dream run home playing at Kardinia Park :rolleyes:

KOTD by the footy gods big time.