Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 10 - Hawks v Eagles Sun May 21st 1:10pm AEST (UTAS, Tassie)

Who will win and by how much?

• Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Eagles by a goal or less

Votes: 4 9.8%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 11 26.8%
  • Eagles by 7 - 20

Votes: 4 9.8%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 12 29.3%
  • Eagles by a lot

Votes: 1 2.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 9 22.0%

Has a team ever lost by 100 to the bottom team?
Not quite 100 but this game springs to kind. 1994, Hawthorn were on the bottom and were flogged by collectively 270 points in the preceding 3 weeks and had a percentage of 61.3 vs. West Coast’s 174.6 with the match to be played at Subi. Hawks won by 10 goals with Paul Dear flattening Peter Matera. It was an amazing turn up. WCE went on to win the flag that year.

AFL Tables - West Coast v Hawthorn - Sun, 24-Apr-1994 2:15 PM (4:15 PM) - Match Stats

Hawks are playing perfectly to the conditions. Chilly, you want to get that blood pumping, just winning the ball and flicking it on quickly by hand is the way to go. Eagles have no lineup flexibility so can't field the right side to combat that and only a few runners with both the pace and slowed-down creativity in traffic (one of which they've already lost today). They keep baulking the risk and stopping up and eventually turning it over.

Weddel really enjoying his day, you love to see it. Hawks are stacked with young prospects that could see the team come good quickly.

I think both coaches are performing well under their respective rebuild circumstances, would be very harsh to sack either of them before the season is out. Eagles it feels a tad like another thwarted year of development with the injury list strain, but you really get a naked look at the leadership qualities of various players in different age bands. Feeling the absence of Barrass, arguably our closest to a reliable durable elite right now, but the style the Hawks are playing that assurance down back would barely stem the tide.

The roos will finish last, so it's weird that they are showing the footage in the hawks/Eagles game
For that to happen, we'd have to lose every game this year, and WC would have to win 2 more to climb over us because their % is so bad. Unlikely. Unless we retain our Interchange Manager.

Connor West based on that half of footy, should not get another game for WCE and be delisted at years end.

His inability to show any want to chase the ball out of our forward line has ben deplorable.

He just doesn't chase just watches and let Hawks get overlap and 2 on 1 out of defence

So seriously bad

Not quite 100 but this game springs to kind. 1994, Hawthorn were on the bottom and were flogged by collectively 270 points in the preceding 3 weeks and had a percentage of 61.3 vs. West Coast’s 174.6 with the match to be played at Subi. Hawks won by 10 goals with Paul Dear flattening Peter Matera. It was an amazing turn up. WCE went on to win the flag that year.

AFL Tables - West Coast v Hawthorn - Sun, 24-Apr-1994 2:15 PM (4:15 PM) - Match Stats

Hawks made finals that year too. I remember Malthouse kept the scores up on the scoreboard

Hawks made finals that year too.

Malthouse kept that game’s score on the scoreboard for the week after the game. We had some bad losses that year but still managed to finish first. Then the Cats did us a favour and knocked out our two main threats so we could waltz to a bonus flag. Good times.

Wasn’t really directed at hawthorn, Jim.
The hawks have accepted that pick 1 is gone … such is life …
Fair enough, yeah, with our draw I never thought we would get pick 1. If we do, cool, if we don’t, eh.

Hawks made finals that year too. I remember Malthouse kept the scores up on the scoreboard

Hawks made finals that year too.

Malthouse kept that game’s score on the scoreboard for the week after the game. We had some bad losses that year but still managed to finish first. Then the Cats did us a favour and knocked out our two main threats so we could waltz to a bonus flag. Good times.
Yeah, we made the finals and had to play North at Waverley. It was the first ever tied final with extra time having to be played.

Carey ran amok in ET and killed us. Still reckon WCE had North done as Glen Jakovich seemed to have Carey’s measure at the time.

I was pretty flat after the game but went to the ‘G to watch Geelong vs. Footscray and Billy Brownless kick Geelong home after the final siren had blown. What a day of finals footy.