Opinion AFL 2024 Round 13 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A delayed Monday evening edition of the Weekend Wrap, as we were rudely kept waiting by a random old Englishman’s birthday… which is actually not until November, if anyone’s interested. Oh well, at least we all got an extra day off. Let’s wrap.

Dogs v Hawks, Thursday night: Plenty of people calling the Dogs pretenders after this loss, and you can understand why. They had their chance to prove themselves against a fellow finals contender and they blew it. The Hawks had been horribly out of form but they brought some excellent pressure and intensity which was all too much for the Bulldogs.

Crows v Lions, Friday night: A heavyweight battle in which Brisbane looked the better side for large chunks of the game, until everything changed in the last quarter. The Crows steeled themselves and slammed through 5 unanswered goals to take the game by the throat. They’re set up perfectly now; third on the ladder with a fairly soft run home and a percentage that’s the envy of everyone.

1749450600035.jpeg

Tigers v Swans, Saturday arvo: Given Richmond had been in plucky form while Sydney had been rather disgusting, you’d have been forgiven for thinking the Tigers were red hot chances in this. They began brightly too, looking comfortably the stronger team in the first term. It all fell apart after that though, and the Swans piled on the next 10 goals to win by plenty.

Cats v Suns, Saturday twilight: In dismal conditions, the Suns gave this a decent crack but just weren’t good enough to roll the Cats on their own dunghill. Not sure they’re quite ready to match it with top opposition, especially away from home. They were playing a darn good side in Geelong though - no mean feat to lose Bailey Smith before the game then coolly brush aside a fellow top 4 contender.

Giants v Port, Saturday night: Ok we need to talk about the Giants. They need a bye - badly. The writing was on the wall last round when they struggled to get over the top of Richmond, who didn’t exactly make that form look good with a miserable showing against lowly opposition this week. Port Adelaide have made an artform out of losing by gargantuan margins this year, and I’m sorry to sound disrespectful but a genuine finals side simply shouldn’t be dropping games to them.

1749450612743.jpeg

North v Eagles, Sunday arvo: In glorious Bunbury conditions, these two teams put on an absolutely rancid game of football. The home side North Bunbury scrambled over the line, not because they were any good but rather because the Eagles blew it. They were allergic to kicking a goal early, with eight consecutive behinds before finally finding a major. Then, just as they looked the likely winners, they ran out of legs. The Kangaroos get another home game next week, this time at their Optus Stadium fortress. Hope their huge WA fan base gets down to support them.

Blues v Bombers, Sunday night: The undermanned Bombers actually outscored Carlton for most of the evening… except for the first quarter when they were blown to shreds. Hard to come back from nearly six goals down at the first change, but they chipped away all night and nearly did. Tom de Koning predictably outplayed Essendon’s 54 year old ruck coach Tod Goldstein and had a sizable influence on the outcome.

Demons v Pies, Monday arvo: Stupid Collingwood and their stupid record in stupid close games… oh sorry don’t mind me. No prizes for guessing what my “hated” this week is going to be. Anyway… a great crowd turned out for the Big Freeze, and they were treated to a ripping finish. It was a great pity the Dees couldn’t upset the Magpie apple cart Well done Collingwood on yet another close win!

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 13!

Liked: North winning. They had to. You can't sell games and lose them. Need to sell the message that 4 points matter.

Learnt: Carlton are done. This group has peaked. All those players in the last 24 months that took unders to keep the group together will be secretly rueing those decisions by themselves. There's a few that have locked themselves into rebuilds and no success at Carlton or elsewhere.

Hated: The weather on the long weekend. Led to historically low scoring and not many games resulted in climactic and enjoyable endings. Lots of games with long periods of dull play.

Liked: our pink jumper being worn again. Likely to be permanent away next year
Learnt: we are still a bit off top 4-5 teams, but certainly in the mix of teams 5-8
Hated: no synchronised public holidays in this country so couldn't watch most of todays game, only the last quarter

Liked. Cats win without Smith and with zero impact by Cameron and Dangerfield

Learnt: do not like the bye system. It will be weeks before every team is back on an equal footing.

Hated: seeing Steven May and Gawn after Dees loss. One can only imagine May, who is easily one of the most detestable AFL footballers, had a go at Gawn for the ill-directed kick in the dying moments of the game

LIKED: Tom Stewart back to his best and one of the best fair bumps your likely to see
LEARNED: Carlton are not going anywhere this year
HATED: Steven May having a crack at Max Gawn post-game

Liked: Cats winning well in difficult conditions, Tom Stewart's bump reminded me of real footballers.

Learnt: Martin might end up being another good pick up?

Hated: White shorts at home again, (when will this madness stop?) horrible Gold Coast pink strip, hysteria over Stewart's perfect bump, the shocking weather...

Hated the utter hysteria over Stewart’s awesome and perfectly legal bump.

Also the standard umpire amateur hour most games, but first half of the Dees Pies game was next level bad. I wonder who it favoured 🤔

Liked: Virtually all games contested, and some nail biters.
Learned: I wrote off Hawthorn's defence too quickly, and rated the Dogs too much.
Hated: In the context of what's going on in the world, not exactly sheep stations - but the noise around the Tom Stewart bump was just silly.

Liked:
The emergent threat of Crows, watchable or what!
Hawks are resilient. Other things annoy me about the modern team, but gotta like their positive attitude, they don't stay down long.

Learnt, actually, I already knew this, Giants are a mere shadow of what they were the last 2 seasons. They haven't kept up the agile approach to tactics and strategy the other top teams are doing. Getting Jerry Springer in the off season was for me a harbinger of what'd come, of the mind set of the club. Going backwards quickly.

Disliked: a generally aenemic round of footy, saved partially by the last game with the Dees showing fair dinkum ticker against a brilliant Pies, but for the goal kicking.

Liked
  • The Pies being able to go into the bye, knowing they will come back still on top.
  • Fritsch brain fart and spudding it up.
  • A sea of blue at the G. Neale you are a true legend :thumbsu:.
Learnt
  • Neither Essendon or Carlton are going to trouble anyone come finals time.
  • Steve May is a flog, of the highest order.
  • Game Day threads are unwatchable, as all it is is umpire this, umpire that (so many sad sacks of sh!ts on this forum).
Hated
  • A star player having to carry a backpack around all day (we go to the football to watch the stars play, let them play). Langdon doesn't touch the ball for three quarters and apparently he had a great game.

Liked:
The emergent threat of Crows, watchable or what!
Hawks are resilient. Other things annoy me about the modern team, but gotta like their positive attitude, they don't stay down long.

Learnt, actually, I already knew this, Giants are a mere shadow of what they were the last 2 seasons. They haven't kept up the agile approach to tactics and strategy the other top teams are doing. Getting Jerry Springer in the off season was for me a harbinger of what'd come, of the mind set of the club. Going backwards quickly.

Disliked: a generally aenemic round of footy, saved partially by the last game with the Dees showing fair dinkum ticker against a brilliant Pies, but for the goal kicking.
I think a lot of people forgot the Dees were in cracking form before last weeks game against the Saints

liked- Crows taking another step forward to playing in the finals.

learnt- Giants are disappointing and are done for a run on the flag

hated- young Richmond prospect Judson Clarke doing his ACL for the 3rd time in the vfl .. heart breaking to see!

Liked: The Crows’ five goal ambush to snatch victory from the Lions - ruthless, efficient, and the kind of surge that fuels September dreams.

Learnt: The Giants are spent - legs gone, hope fading, and the cracks are glaring. Finals contenders don’t drop games to Port by choice.

Hated: Tigers started strong, then completely disappeared - letting the Swans kick 10 in a row was painful to watch.

Liked: helped by a wet day, but Geelong tightened the screws defensively after being a bit leaky at the back in 2025. Stewart is building form again since returning. Holmes, Stengle and Miers are in great runs of form ala 2024.

Learnt: The Suns are still a year or two away from contending - pretenders for now, but hopefully they do get some finals experience in 2025.

Hated: The Bulldogs players letting their supporters down after getting hyped...AGAIN.

Learnt: The competition needs Freo playing. Otherwise we get an utterly unexciting week like this.
Agreed. Attended Saints/Freo and that was thrilling start to finish.

Liked - Neil Daniher and his family, beautiful beautiful people.
Learnt - Foxtel is a waste of money when you throw the remote at the tv most Sundays.
Hated - This round of footy in general.

Opinion AFL 2024 Round 13 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated