Opinion AFL 2025 Grand Final - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated GRAND FINAL EDITION

Well maybe I'm wrong, but we are now at nearly organically-grown 3 dynasties in the last 15 years that have feasted on Geelong in finals.

Maybe I'm wrong, but also maybe, building teams where the top 6 are recent imports with a love for surf, fishing and farms, might not stack up when it really gets hot in finals?

Danger's motivations for coming to Geelong were different, true, but he is clearly already well satisfied career-wise and wanting to see '2nd celebrated'.

I do think there is a difference in the hunger of a team, based on how you build it.

(and you can't say Richmond's dynasty benefitted from the old priority system !! - it succeeded despite it, famously the only bottom team in history forced to give their number 1 pick away (to Carlton), and later forced to give their second pick away (to Melbourne), and then when they finally got a priority pick of their own, it suddenly got moved from the start to the end of first round, 18 places demotion in the space of a year !! - Tigers just got damn lucky that they still ended up with Cotchin, Martin, Rance, respectively, despite all of that!)

Ahh I thought the Cotchin pick was a Priority.

As for organically grown: How are you defining that? Which dynasty teams are we talking about, that haven't traded in stars?

The Lions have plenty.

The Tigers brought in Nankervis, Prestia & Caddy. Then followed up with Tom Lynch.

If you go back to the Hawks they had Roughead as a priority pick, traded in a priority pick to get Hodge, and also had contributions from stars from other clubs in McEvoy, Lake, Gibson, Frawley...

Ahh I thought the Cotchin pick was a Priority.

As for organically grown: How are you defining that? Which dynasty teams are we talking about, that haven't traded in stars?

The Lions have plenty.

The Tigers brought in Nankervis, Prestia & Caddy. Then followed up with Tom Lynch.

If you go back to the Hawks they had Roughead as a priority pick, traded in a priority pick to get Hodge, and also had contributions from stars from other clubs in McEvoy, Lake, Gibson, Frawley...
true, a bit hard to define 'organically grown', Lynch I would not characterise as organically grown, that was a clear cherry pick (horticultural idioms...).

let me put it this way, the media can't wait to characterise as a virtue the 'lifestyle' choice that brings so many top 50 players to Geelong for seemingly way under normal salary cap constraints.

but does that virtue stack up in hot finals? If you are at a club for the lifestyle..

Buddy at Sydney, unbelievable contribution, but never won them a flag...Dimma at the Gold Coast..not yet, but trending

How many players are at Brissy for the lifestyle? Maybe I'm wrong.

Me Meow, Mr Tilley and Footy Lad just wanted you to know ow your misplaced arrogance makes this oh the more so enjoyable. Know your place.

Loved- Bailey Sniff getting to touch greatness, not the cup but Harris Andrew’s, should never wash that hand again. Loser
Jesus Christ mate, enjoy the win. No need to be such a sore winner

Liked:
-Raynor's tackling. Charlie Cameron's decisive goals.

Learnt:
-Chris Scott does not have a good enough game plan for Grand Finals.
- Chris Scott resorts to excuses when he loses big games.

Hated:
Norm Smith Voting.
-Zorko was b.o.g. . Charlie Cameron deserved votes.
- Jeremy Cameron being 'brave' but at the same time helping his team lose by not subbing himself out.
- The pile on on Dangerfield who was obviously injured.

This, 1000% this!

Lions have been STACKED full of first round picks including multiple father sons and academy kids.
Guess how many father sons or academy kids Geelong had playing today? ZERO

Not their fault but when people say dumb shit like old mate above it just frustrates the hell out of me.
Just blantantly pushing bullshit narratives.
Lions have traded in more players than Geelong have, Geelong have drafted and developed more kids that require extra work as they don’t get to jump to the top of the order every year to stack another superstar to the team.

They have to do it the hard way, non first rounders, rookie picks, cat b blokes.

Not Brisbane’s fault of course just don’t like when people make up shit.

Brisbane had 3 academy selections out there yesterday, that were taken with picks 25, 42 and 61. Our highest rated academy player is Eric Hipwood back in 2015 (pick 14).

There's no denying we've had a lot of luck from father sons, but we're not stacked full of first round academy players (yet).

Brisbane played 10 former top 20 picks yesterday, Geelong had 7 and that excludes Cameron who was a highly rated GWS pre-selectiom player (and Martin who was taken in the mini draft).

Liked : Lions winning B2B was a top effort after being written off after the QF loss, also important for growth of the game at grass roots in the northern states.

Liked: How much I love footy and how amazing finals footy is compared to the regular season games. First season, day one to the finals.

Learnt: that the Lions are a powerhouse and very fun to team to watch. Also, how much I like the Hawks. I will be back for more seasons.😄

Hated: the final horn. I will miss footy immensely for the next five and half months.

I liked the moments in this grand final.

I’m not a huge hip hop or rap fan but man Snoop was fun as hell. Really good pregame entertainment. I even liked that slightly cringe channel 7 ad with the match ball.

The broken arm of Jeremy Cameron being held together by medical tape as he runs down the wing and tackles with one arm was simply awesome and desperation that unfortunately too few of his mates showed. It would’ve been the moment of the season had Geelong went on to win but it wasn’t to be.

Charlie Cameron having a period of dominance forward. A reminder that he’s one of the best small forwards in the game even if he has gone a bit quiet as of late.

Harris Andrews not giving Bailey Smith anything back after copping a likely unwarranted childish spray from him, and it’d be wrong of me not to acknowledge the iconic tackle that removed his headband in the last quarter. I try to avoid celebrating losses these days and it suck’s that it has to come with his team feeling the burden of defeat but Bailey Smith got what he deserved.

I learned that teams can be utterly dominant and still be very likeable. If it isn’t the Dogs next year then I wouldn’t be upset at Brisbane threepeating. Such an enjoyable team to watch, I know Zorko and Rayner can rub some up the wrong way but they’re just a brilliant outfit across the board.

I thought the umpiring wasn’t even that bad. The numbers were grossly in favour of Geelong in the first half but had I not been shown the numbers I’m not sure I would’ve picked it being so.

I learned (again) not to overpay your rucks. The final four team’s best rucks were likely all paid less than $650k this season. Not really a shot at Fremantle or St Kilda I understand why they’ve done what they’ve done but it’s not really a wise list management decision.

Speaking of wise list management decisions. Josh Dunkley. Just an ultimate pro and we miss him dearly. Stoked for him.

There’s not much I didn’t like. Perhaps if the game was closer in the last quarter but the final margin wasn’t really a true representation of the game. The first half was enthralling and fun to watch.

Sorry for the yapping. Enjoy trade radio everyone 😑

You mean like Ah Chee (GC), Cameron (Adel), Dunkley (WB), Fort (Geel) and Neale (Freo)?

Not to mention Daniher (Ess), Day (GC), Doedee (Adel), Joyce (StK), McCarthy (Geel) and McKenna (Ess) who all played a part over the last few years.

Or bringing in Allen and Draper?

The Cats issue wasn't that they had Cameron, Danger, Stanley, Stengle, Bowes & Martin.

It's that they didn't have anyone backing up Holmes. Give them a few free swings like Fletcher and the Ashcrofts and it's a different story.

Again, nothing against the Lions. Just how the system works.

If a team can string a few FS/NGA kids together, even when they are up the top, then sustained success should be expected.
The biggest issue Geelong had was we exposed them for playing players who aren’t at AFL level in a grand final. O’Connor/Mullin/Bowes/Clark

Liked:

• Snoop Dogg
  • "Where's the match ball?". Gotta admit, it's pretty clever.
  • Vera Blue singing the national anthem. It was beautiful.
  • Bailey Smith getting schooled on the biggest stage.
  • Harris Andrews' not even bothering to react to Bailey Smith's attempted shirt front in the last quarter.
  • Neale's second half.
  • Oscar McInerney getting a Premiership Medal after missing out last year.
  • Will Ashcroft getting a second Norm Smith, and he's only 21.
  • Jezza's one-armed tackle.
  • Not seeing Bailey Smith on the podium.

Hated:

• Bailey Smith being a flog all day and then trying to be a bigger flog towards Harris Andrews while Geelong are 10 goals down.
  • Seeing Jezza continue to play with what was obviously a broken arm. Scott should've pulled rank and taken him off.
  • Another GF blowout
  • Free Kick Geelong. The FK count was 19-9 at one point Geelong's way.
  • Bailey Smith being a flog

This last one isn't a "hate" per se, but I didn't see the point of getting Baker Boy or Jessica Mauboy for the pre-game. Both were overshadowed by Snoop Dogg (which isn't hard anyway) and were kinda just "there". Could've brought them in for the half-time show after the GF sprint.

Did you watch the game?? 6 literal non-entities in a grand final

And yes one was injured in Cameron, but he knew that before halftime and didn't do the team thing, though always hard to blame players for not wanting to go off.

Then you get Bailey Smith trash talking Harris Andrews when his team is 60 points down.

Then you get Danger giving a speech after the game with a big smile saying '2nd doesn't get celebrated enough'

There is a massive problem right there.
In fairness to Danger, I thought his speeches were admirable. His gained alot of respect the last 5 years.

loved- brizzy just getting the job done.
*Fagan congrats, well deserved rise to coaching greatness

learnt- Ashcroft at age 21- amazing achievement, big game player

hated- not to much, was a great day all round...

I liked the moments in this grand final.

I’m not a huge hip hop or rap fan but man Snoop was fun as hell. Really good pregame entertainment. I even liked that slightly cringe channel 7 ad with the match ball.

The broken arm of Jeremy Cameron being held together by medical tape as he runs down the wing and tackles with one arm was simply awesome and desperation that unfortunately too few of his mates showed. It would’ve been the moment of the season had Geelong went on to win but it wasn’t to be.

Charlie Cameron having a period of dominance forward. A reminder that he’s one of the best small forwards in the game even if he has gone a bit quiet as of late.

Harris Andrews not giving Bailey Smith anything back after copping a likely unwarranted childish spray from him, and it’d be wrong of me not to acknowledge the iconic tackle that removed his headband in the last quarter. I try to avoid celebrating losses these days and it suck’s that it has to come with his team feeling the burden of defeat but Bailey Smith got what he deserved.

I learned that teams can be utterly dominant and still be very likeable. If it isn’t the Dogs next year then I wouldn’t be upset at Brisbane threepeating. Such an enjoyable team to watch, I know Zorko and Rayner can rub some up the wrong way but they’re just a brilliant outfit across the board.

I thought the umpiring wasn’t even that bad. The numbers were grossly in favour of Geelong in the first half but had I not been shown the numbers I’m not sure I would’ve picked it being so.

I learned (again) not to overpay your rucks. The final four team’s best rucks were likely all paid less than $650k this season. Not really a shot at Fremantle at St Kilda I understand why they’ve done what they’ve done but it’s not really a wise list management decision.

Speaking of wise list management decisions. Josh Dunkley. Just an ultimate pro and we miss him dearly. Stoked for him.

There’s not much I didn’t like. Perhaps if the game was closer in the last quarter but the final margin wasn’t really a true representation of the game. The first half was enthralling and fun to watch.

Sorry for the yapping. Enjoy trade radio everyone 😑
What most people complaining about the umpiring in the first half are commenting on is the number of 60 / 40 and 50 / 50 decisions that went Geelong's way. The number of holds Geelong benefited from that Brisbane didn't for similar actions. The umpiring wasn't terrible but Geelong did get a kind run in the first half.

The biggest thing I re learnt is that class players stand up when it counts regardless of the price tag or where they were picked in the draft. It's easy to talk about the top end players Brisbane have in their team but there were plenty of players in Brisbane's team that weren't top 20 picks and outplayed Geelong's top 10 picks. That's the main reason Brisbane won, a large majority of their players stood up when they had to and Geelong's didn't.

I enjoyed the gf overall despite it blowing out in the end. It was a really good contest until Brisbane broke the game open in the 3rd and just went on with it. Happens all the time hence the nick name 'premiership quarter'. Geelong will be fine in the long run as annoying as it may be they'll continue to be a contender. Really liked Fletcher's game was their best player early on imo and could have easily been norm Smith. Game kind of reminded me of 03 when Brisbane lost to Collingwood in the qualifying final and then completely turned it around on gf day. Honestly didn't think they had it in them.

Opinion AFL 2025 Grand Final - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated GRAND FINAL EDITION