Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 1 - Hawks v Bombers Fri March 14th 7:40pm AEDT (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 2 2.0%
  • Bombers by a goal or less

Votes: 3 3.0%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 32 32.3%
  • Bombers by 7 - 20

Votes: 6 6.1%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 53 53.5%
  • Bombers by a lot

Votes: 3 3.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

Essendon kept in touch, controlled the Hawks but lacked some cutting edge. They couldn't make the most of their tall mobile forwards. They looked alright for bits and pieces.

Hawks looked to be cruising, they slipped in and out of top gear. I reckon the top tier sides could get a hold of them.

Thought the bommer's were alright tonight, even with a gap between both sides.
going to be a interesting year watching what direction the Don's take.

Good in patches is not going to cover up the first half that was farking shit house
There’s a lot of good after that though, I’m glad we got you early as I think you’ll actually be decent.

I think this is one of those rare games where both teams could be happy

Enjoy him whilst he lasts mate. His back is cooked and he’ll be lucky to see out half of that contract
Yeah I remember when Burgoyne only had 1-2 years max left…

IMG_8340.jpeg

Yeah I remember when Burgoyne only had 1-2 years max left…

View attachment 2249895
Got any other examples? I have plenty of evidence of players approaching 30 with existing issues falling apart quite quickly.

Will come out in the wash regardless. Only need to hit one of your picks this year for it to be worth it to our list

Got any other examples? I have plenty of evidence of players approaching 30 with existing issues falling apart quite quickly.

Will come out in the wash regardless. Only need to hit one of your picks this year for it to be worth it to our list
Only need him to play most games for it to be worthwhile to us. But enjoy the bottom of the ladder again, and thanks for Harley

Hawks too good. Always able to respond to the challenge. On to next week.

A bit for you to like.

Caldwell is genuine A grade potential. Kako a very impressive debut. If Caddy hadn't have had that corcky, who knows how he would've gone (wouldn't have affected the overall result, but might have been a goal or two closrr).

was stupid to have gresham as a sub, can't have just 1 small forward in this day and age.

Yes, but Gresham a lot of run and freshness compared to our sub, Frost as a KPD. Interesting to see if B Scott persists with this role.

The man himself says that his back issues were overblown to help with the trade.

Unlucky.

Essendon kept in touch, controlled the Hawks but lacked some cutting edge. They couldn't make the most of their tall mobile forwards. They looked alright for bits and pieces.

Hawks looked to be cruising, they slipped in and out of top gear. I reckon the top tier sides could get a hold of them.

This wasn't the best match for us despite the win, and I think Brisbane, Geelong, GWS, and Port wouldn't be too troubled on tonight's showing, but we are a lot better than 12 months ago. Having said that, it does remain to be seen if the improvement we've had in that time frame continues apace, and tbf to Hawthorn, we normally get better as the season progresses; but as a fan I really hope tonight was closer to our floor than our ceiling.

The man himself says that his back issues were overblown to help with the trade.

Unlucky.
Is that why he missed games late in the season for us? That just a cop out to keep blokes like you happy. He’s hardly going to come out and say “yeah backs ****ed, I’m just here for the paycheck”

Madness that you have this sort of arrogance when your side has done more than enough to lose both games.

It’s not often 17 supporter bases agree on something but Hawthorn getting a ride is one of them
Sooking about umpiring, crying about could have lost and basically praying for career ending injuries to a former player…

Do better mate

Did they lack the Essendon Edge* Hawks had that game won from the first 10 minutes; they seemed bored.

*Tm

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 1 - Hawks v Bombers Fri March 14th 7:40pm AEDT (MCG)