Opinion AFL 2025 Round 1 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Finally our first full round of games, and it was a round of some gargantuan blowouts with a few thrilling finishes sprinkled in. Let’s go wrapping…

Tigers v Blues, Thursday night: Pity the poor old Blues fans that saw their team was 7 goals up and figured it was safe enough to switch off and go grab dinner in Lygon street. Powered by Dusty 2.0 the Tigers were unstoppable from midway through the second quarter. So good to see a rebuilding team give 100% effort and get splendidly rewarded for it. But where to for the Blues from here? They now only have wins against North and West Coast from their last 10 games of footy dating back to mid last year. Ouch.

Hawks v Bombers, Friday night: The marauding Hawks left the Dons shellshocked early in the game, and despite the odd scare they were never really threatened after that. Thought Essendon stuck to their guns pretty well against a pretty hot footy side though; all is not lost for 2025 just yet.

Cats v Dockers, Saturday arvo: Lucky Freo played so vanilla in the Indigenous All Stars match and didn’t give their game plan away. It was really worth the wait. The Cats were warm favourites down at Unfair Advantage Stadium, but I don’t think anybody saw THAT kind of margin coming. Were they really really good or were Fremantle really really bad? Bit of both I reckon.

1742117719394.jpeg

Swans v Lions, Saturday twilight: This was a funny old scrap played in Saharan conditions. The Swans pinched an early break but it felt like the Lions just had marginally better of the arm wrestle for the rest of the afternoon - no mean feat given they lost a few players during the game and Lachie Neale was well blanketed. 0-2 for Sydney and just quietly I reckon there’s worse to come yet.

Dogs v Roos, Saturday night: Looks like North are on the right track to bag a few wins this year, but the Doggies held them at arm’s length all night. No idea if Bevo’s men will be a contender in season 2025 or just another middle of the road side; guess we’ll find out when they get some players back from that hefty injury list. As usual they’ve got a lot of the key ingredients, but something you can’t quite put your finger on always seems to be missing.

Pies v Port, Saturday night: Port’s last 3 visits to the MCG to play Collingwood have resulted in a 71 point loss, a 42 point loss (after they led by 30), and now a 91 point loss. Time the AFL introduced a forfeit rule because there’s clearly no point showing up to this fixture. Remember this was a Collingwood side that got their pants comprehensively pulled down at the hands of an injury hit opponent last week, so it wasn’t like Port were playing world beaters. Long year ahead for them.

1742117772660.jpeg

Crows v Saints, Sunday arvo: Another blowout, although this one was a little easier to see coming. The injury-riddled and underdone Saints were no match for an inspired Adelaide. Sure they didn’t beat much, but there are very different vibes around the Crows than there were this time last year. They had to win and win big and that’s exactly what they did. Might finally be going places.

Demons v Giants, Sunday arvo: The official AFL figures say there were 23,000 at this game. The MCG must be even bigger than I thought then, because it sure as heck didn’t look like that many. Still, it was played in Noah’s Ark conditions so maybe Dees supporters that had prepaid tickets opted for a hot chocolate in their lounge rooms instead of a trip in the Range Rover to watch the game live. Anyway, I digress… Reckon this loss will sting a bit for Melbourne because it felt like they were the better team for lengthy patches. Still, it was a plucky performance from a side that I thought looked fairly short on improvement this year. Their new kids looked great! For the Giants it’s another early season win with a few key personnel missing, and those are as valuable as your great Gran’s antique necklace.

Eagles v Suns, Sunday twilight: Loved this from the Suns. Loved it! Yes, it was ‘only’ the young Eagles. Yes it was a game they should be fully expected to win, but it was exactly the sort of game they would (and did) drop last year. A big away win was just what they needed to start the year and they delivered handsomely. Bravo.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 1!

Yeah we’re in a lot of bother. No good things to beat Freo next week despite how bad they were yesterday.
I disagree. Lions were 0-3 & 2-5 last year before clicking into gear. Swans have the parts, just need to get the machine in sync.

Fair, will withhold judgement for a little longer. Just haven’t liked what I’ve seen, albeit injury-affected. But you make a good point, I’m sure Lions fans wouldn’t have liked what they were seeing at this stage in 2023 or 2024 either, and they both turned out to be excellent seasons.

Liked - The cubs put on a show on Thursday night led by Lalor. Funny going back to draft night and all the talk was there was no clear number 1 pick, only 1 game in but I think the tigers nailed it.

Learnt - pressure + intensity + effort can overcome all obstacles even against much more fancied opposition.

Hated - The blues fans not sticking around to sing the song.

Hated: Suns theme song...seriously...
Unpopular opinion but I kind of like it

Jennifer Lawrence Oops GIF

Not sure our players have the same level of smarts and fortitude the Lions squad have.

Liked: Hawks at 2-0. Murphy Reid.

Learnt: This will be the year Adelaide and Gold Coast transition to finals. Gold Coast in particular could be scary good.

I actually think Essendon are pretty good, Hawks beat them through efficiency but lost a lot of key metrics.

Also, I appreciate that unlike the Riolis or Abletts they’re not all related, but the name ‘Reid’ is the new byword for football talent.

Hated: Dismal starts for the Saints and Roos - feels like Oh no, not again.

Liked:
Did what we had to do against an underdone side at home. Good win with lots of promising signs.
Richmond's comeback win. Youthful exuberance is a joy to watch.
Brisbane grinding out a tough win despite injuries and Neale being blanketed.
Very impressive win for the Suns. The Eagles were complete dogshit, but they lost that fixture last year. That's progression.
Dees-Giants match.

Hated:
The Hawks already playing two matches before most teams even played one. Just horrendous fixturing.

Learnt:
Never underestimate any team no matter how great the odds are.
It's still too early to write teams off (i.e. the Swans) after what Brisbane did last year.
To contradict my previous point, the Eagles could have a very rough few years ahead. They haven't even really started to rebuild yet. That said, unlike the Swans, no one actually rated the Eagles any higher than bottom four anyway.

Liked: Good win first up against a bit of a bogey team

Learnt: Despite two close games, there were some unbelievable shockers which is a worry

Hated: Cats in white shorts at home again, Attendance at Kardinia Park? Demons Green socks mean nothing when they wear them all down. The AFL should make socks up mandatory!

Liked Loved - Richmond.
All you can ask for as a fan of a rebuilding side is effort & intensity and the side delivered it in spades on Thursday night.
To hang onto the win even when we were clinging on late in the game is a huge positive for the group rather than 'the honourable loss' cliche it could've been.
Fully aware it's a long season and we will be on the end of some beltings but hey let's enjoy the good times and positives while they last!

Learnt - How frequent games can blow out.
Freo, Port, St Kilda & West Coast all getting smashed just seems unusual so early in a season and the margins were totally unexpected for all of these fixtures.
78, 91, 63 and 87 point margins for these teams are a real shock to me.
I really am intrigued on who will fire up on the bounce and who may unravel.

Unimpressed by Carltons endeavour was seriously very very bad....
West Coast are looking very average at the moment and I can't see where they win more than 4 games this year having said that we played our grand final and still think we will get the spoon
Saints are in trouble they served up absolute tripe
Essendon playing some great football and surprised me a lot shame about the result if they get some confidence after a few wins I think they will be the bolter this year....
Adelaide are in this bracket as well but to a lesser extent waiting for a away record to confirm this
Cats ,hawks ,lions swans should be definitely there in September swans had two very tough games...
Pies are always march heroes September fools will reserve judgement but they were awesome this week
Kangas are showing some signs that the worst is behind them

Liked
Adelaide finally capitalising on a weakend side. With St Kilda heavily hampered by injuries, we really needed to take full toll, so that was pleasing.

Richmond's aptitude alone was great, but seeing it rewarded in that fashion was fantastic.

Learnt
The Geelong juggernaut will continue beyond even the heat death of the universe.

Hated
The performances from both of the WA teams. Fremantle did lift in the third quarter, but outside of that, both were really disappointing.

Fair, will withhold judgement for a little longer. Just haven’t liked what I’ve seen, albeit injury-affected. But you make a good point, I’m sure Lions fans wouldn’t have liked what they were seeing at this stage in 2023 or 2024 either, and they both turned out to be excellent seasons.

Majority of us had written off 2024 and were looking forward to the draft and 2025.

The Lions side that had quality defence, midfield and forward lines - who had played in a highly competitive grand final?

This Sydney side reminds me more of the 2023 Swans than the 2024 Lions. Really their forward line and defence are not premiership worthy. Maybe making grand finals was even over achieving.

liked- Richmond lighting the comp up and giving the comp a Huge laugh at the expense of Carlton at the same time.

learn - plenty of teams put in a limp wrist performance in round 1.

hated- the turn out for the dee's v gws game - seriously Dees your teams first hit out and most if you couldn't care less.

Liked - Richmond's upset win, seriously entertaining watching that unfold.

Learnt - GWS are the real deal this year, should be top 4.

Hated - Sick of North losing, wasn't our worst performance but our 1st qtr sucked and getting back Into the game just to leak dumb goals was frustrating.

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 1 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated