Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 11 - North v Pies Sat May 24th 7:35pm AEST (Marvel)

Who will win and by how much?

• North by a goal or less

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • North by 7 - 20

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • North by a lot

Votes: 1 2.2%
  • Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 4 8.7%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 18 39.1%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 16 34.8%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 2.2%

Terminatoooor!
terminator GIF

Yet the Pies have recruited so called finished recycled players, and it seems to be working
Apples and oranges really given the respective positions the two clubs are in

The list depth at the pies is insane. Definitely the deepest in the comp and the players not playing right now are stars.

Pies looking likely for September.

Unironically would like to see this, but it’d take a lot more money going into the professional development of the state leagues. It’d take decades.

But you could have a 20 team league, then the WAFL, SANFL, NEAFL and VFL state leagues as the second tier.

Bottom two relegated back to whatever league they’re from (Tasmania to VFL), the four state premiers playoff for the two promotional spots.

It’d take decades but maybe in twenty years North won’t be bottom two anymore.
Feel like this is possible way in the future. Not sure there is enough talent pool for this for ages.

The team we beat by nine goals on their home patch?
Well when you put it like that....

Hawthorn are a bogey side for them (like they are for us). Another test next week, one worth resting players for.

I'm delighted we beat a side that seems to stay with us and gave us a heart attack last year.

Great that we were able to click with such an important group out.
Trust Believe GIF

Feel like this is possible way in the future. Not sure there is enough talent pool for this for ages.
Yeah, could bring back Fitzroy to the VFL that way.

Although it depends, I’ve thought about mascots.

For example, Fitzroy Lions, Brisbane Lions, Subiaco Lions. Or say, Peel Thunder, NT Thunder. Another example, Southport Sharks, East Fremantle Sharks.

Could clubs use the same mascots if they wanted? What if the South Fremantle Bulldogs are playing the Footscray Bulldogs?

And could star players from relegated clubs be loaned to another club for one year?

My take on last nights game is:

North took it up to the Pies for first half.
North were out on their feet in the third.
Pies missed some easy goals in the 3rd.
Was alaways going to happen the Pies got a sniff at 3 q time.
Kicked an early goal in the last.
just went on with it from there on in.
North was at full strength too.
pies had mostly vfl in there.
Tore them apart pies.
If we play like that v Hawks i think Pies win.
Pies are unstoppable when they have their tails up.

Yeah, could bring back Fitzroy to the VFL that way.

Although it depends, I’ve thought about mascots.

For example, Fitzroy Lions, Brisbane Lions, Subiaco Lions. Or say, Peel Thunder, NT Thunder. Another example, Southport Sharks, East Fremantle Sharks.

Could clubs use the same mascots if they wanted? What if the South Fremantle Bulldogs are playing the Footscray Bulldogs?

And could star players from relegated clubs be loaned to another club for one year?
Think this would require some level of international development too, two teams in NZ, one in PNG etc and have a conference system.

Yeah for sure, a conference system in the second tier would allow for them to have a Super Bowl type playoff between the best state sides.

The winner and loser of that superbowl would be promoted into the AFL.

Would probably be something like:

VFL conference (with Tassie)
WAFL conference
SANFL conference
NAFL conference (QLD and NT)
EAFL conference (NSW/ACT)
International conference

Yeah for sure, a conference system in the second tier would allow for them to have a Super Bowl type playoff between the best state sides.

The winner and loser of that superbowl would be promoted into the AFL.

Would probably be something like:

VFL conference (with Tassie)
WAFL conference
SANFL conference
NAFL conference (QLD and NT)
EAFL conference (NSW/ACT)
International conference
Wouldn't mind a conference system in the AFL too. The current travel schedule can really **** up the teams on the west, sure WCE have still been a power house but still feel like its good for competitive balance.

four or five teams in Perth and Adelaide
NT team and 4 QLD teams
Vic Conference
NSW/QLD Conference

overall ladder but also guaranteed finals if you finish top of your conference.

Definitely don't have the population to sustain it but I could see it in the future.

Wouldn't mind a conference system in the AFL too. The current travel schedule can really **** up the teams on the west, sure WCE have still been a power house but still feel like its good for competitive balance.

NT team and 4 QLD teams
Vic Conference
NSW/QLD Conference

Definitely don't have the population to sustain it but I could see it in the future.
I would look at a conference system at 22 teams, with ACT and then two new Perth teams being added together in the northern and eastern corridors of Perth.

5 Vic + Tasmania
5 Vic (+ NZ)
4 WA, 2 SA
2 NSW, 2 QLD, 1 ACT (+ NA)

Add New Zealand to the other Vic conference and a Darwin/Cairns/Alice team to the northern conference and you’ve got four conferences with six teams each.

This would not only require significant boosts to population and growth in the game, though, but also improvements to the speed of plane trips as the northern team would be battered for travel.

The only problem is, Sydney 3, Brisbane 2 and Adelaide 3 and others are all more viable than before a northern Australian side would be.

So you’d have to slice and dice the conferences and swap clubs around with the aim of 5-6 clubs per conference within a reasonable proximity. Don’t put NZ or Tasmania in the same conference as Perth or northern Australia, for example.

NT team and 4 QLD teams
Vic Conference
NSW/QLD Conference

I would look at a conference system at 22 teams, with ACT and then two new Perth teams being added together in the northern and eastern corridors of Perth.

5 Vic + Tasmania
5 Vic (+ NZ)
4 WA, 2 SA
2 NSW, 2 QLD, 1 ACT (+ NA)

Add New Zealand to the other Vic conference and a Darwin/Cairns/Alice team to the northern conference and you’ve got four conferences with six teams each.

This would not only require significant boosts to population and growth in the game, though, but also improvements to the speed of plane trips as the northern team would be battered for travel.

The only problem is, Sydney 3, Brisbane 2 and Adelaide 3 and others are all more viable than before a northern Australian side would be.

So you’d have to slice and dice the conferences and swap clubs around with the aim of 5-6 clubs per conference within a reasonable proximity. Don’t put NZ or Tasmania in the same conference as Perth or northern Australia, for example.
For the public to get behind this idea, you'd have to have original club conferences i:e the wafl, sanfl, vfl, tfl etc.

You could add in the created franchise clubs into those leagues, Freo WC, Ade .

No use splitting clubs for the purposes of travel, you have conference championships and then playoffs to a championship of the best club in the land.

Not even sure this'd work or garner public support.

If it did, it'd just be like the old days where the vfl gets the most attention, tv, players, coaches etc. because it is the biggest footy market.

It'd probalby have more attention then the 'playoffs' to decide the champion club of the land.

Fans only care about how goog their club is in their competition. So your club wins a flag in your conference and that's the most important bit to you. The playoff of the champion club would be meh. I wouldn't care too much about Collingwood winning it. Would much rather the flag in our league.

Whichever way you boil it down and dissect of whatever conference league set up or the current landscape, the vic market is the biggest revenue.

At least with a conference model, it takes away travel disparity and vic bias etc. Members would be happier because their club is always in home state.

I'd much rather a conference model like I've explained rather than what we've got now.

Anyway probs a discussion for the vic bias thread.

Did they do it with 8 best 22 missing - asking for a friend.
No, they seem to be closer to full strength than us, which is a credit to our depth.

I'm very happy with where we are, we've had a bit of luck, and sitting pretty on top.

I see Brisbane as the favourite,that draw hurt them though. We're definitely in good form though and rightly top.

For the public to get behind this idea, you'd have to have original club conferences i:e the wafl, sanfl, vfl, tfl etc.

You could add in the created franchise clubs into those leagues, Freo WC, Ade .

No use splitting clubs for the purposes of travel, you have conference championships and then playoffs to a championship of the best club in the land.

Not even sure this'd work or garner public support.

If it did, it'd just be like the old days where the vfl gets the most attention, tv, players, coaches etc. because it is the biggest footy market.

It'd probalby have more attention then the 'playoffs' to decide the champion club of the land.

Fans only care about how goog their club is in their competition. So your club wins a flag in your conference and that's the most important bit to you. The playoff of the champion club would be meh. I wouldn't care too much about Collingwood winning it. Would much rather the flag in our league.

Whichever way you boil it down and dissect of whatever conference league set up or the current landscape, the vic market is the biggest revenue.

At least with a conference model, it takes away travel disparity and vic bias etc. Members would be happier because their club is always in home state.

I'd much rather a conference model like I've explained rather than what we've got now.

Anyway probs a discussion for the vic bias thread.
It would be ironic if the AFL ended up resorting to something like this in a few decades when they could’ve done that to begin with in the 80s.

But I would’ve sliced it a bit differently.

VFL (with Tasmania)
WAFL
SANFL
NEAFL

22 rounds you could have a few games between clubs from different conferences but they’re worth two points, not four.

Top of the ladder = conference champions.

Top 16 finals series between best clubs in the land:

Wk 1
QFs 1/8, 2/7, 3/6, 4/5
EFs 9/16, 10/15, 11/14, 12/13

Wk 2
QF losers v EF winners

Wk 3
QF winners v Wk 2 winners

Wk 4
Wk 3 winners

Pre GF bye
Wk 5
GF

But most AFL fans are used to all the clubs playing each other at least once per season so I don’t see that changing.

I think they’ll go to a max of 20-24 teams with no conferences and no promotion and relegation.

But like you said, wrong thread.

It would be ironic if the AFL ended up resorting to something like this in a few decades when they could’ve done that to begin with in the 80s.

But I would’ve sliced it a bit differently.

VFL (with Tasmania)
WAFL
SANFL
NEAFL

22 rounds you could have a few games between clubs from different conferences but they’re worth two points, not four.

Top of the ladder = conference champions.

Top 16 finals series between best clubs in the land:

Wk 1
QFs 1/8, 2/7, 3/6, 4/5
EFs 9/16, 10/15, 11/14, 12/13

Wk 2
QF losers v EF winners

Wk 3
QF winners v Wk 2 winners

Wk 4
Wk 3 winners

Pre GF bye
Wk 5
GF

But most AFL fans are used to all the clubs playing each other at least once per season so I don’t see that changing.

I think they’ll go to a max of 20-24 teams with no conferences and no promotion and relegation.

But like you said, wrong thread.
Well, if it were to be a conference, adding clubs to an already 12 club competition in the vfl is just not viable because that would mean the vic and tas clubs would have to travel and the other leagues don't.

The best way for a conference set up would be the state leagues and then a deciding series to crown the champion club of the land.

Think he was at Maccas when Fly rang.
2 QTR pounders in.
I heard he was 17 hours in on a simultaneous chess tournament against 10 Grand Masters.

When he got the call from Fly he stroked his moustache once, gave a wry smirk, bip bop boop 10 moves on ten boards, half were checkmate and the other half conceded on the spot.

Black Guy Rap Battle GIF

The whole thread is just stupid calls that bite you in the arse. :tearsofjoy:
Actually could do with an AI overview like Amazon have:

Whilst some posters acknowledged North's efforts and there was minimal conspiracy talk or Daicos-bashing, a majority of users report quick degeneration into predictable trolling of North Melbourne and hubris by Collingwood supporters.. Specialised interest in debating of blatantly flawed competition and finals restructuring. Customers appreciated the absence of shitfights but expressed concern at the mental health of both supporter groups

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 11 - North v Pies Sat May 24th 7:35pm AEST (Marvel)