Opinion AFL 2025 Round 11 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Things started with a bang on Thursday night before petering out a little over the remainder of the weekend. Let’s wrap it up…

Cats v Dogs, Thursday night: It was just about billed as the matchup of the millennium and strangely it nearly lived up to it. In a ripping encounter, the deadly accurate Cats had 6 fewer scoring shots than the Dogs, and despite the Alphabet Stadium fortress looking decidedly vulnerable early in the last term, they steadied late. The Dogs had no answer to Jeremy Cameron, which is nothing new, but can somebody please let me know what a Shannon Neale is?? Kicked his own bag of goals and looked the perfect foil.

Bombers v Tigers, Friday night: Love me some Dreamtime at the G. Discussing the game itself though, well yeah it didn’t reach any great heights. Looking at the stats sheet it would appear that Martin, Merrett, Roberts, McGrath, Caldwell, Duursma and Durham were trying to break the world record for most touches between seven players. Did Richmond even touch the ball with that lot hogging it all night? Well they must have at least once, because Tim Taranto, king of the butchered hack kick, butchered a hack kick through from the boundary line for a goal of the year contender. Funny old game is footy.

1748164580406.jpeg

Blues v Giants, Saturday arvo: Unpopular opinion but I love Toby Greene. If you’re a hater then I’m sorry but you’re not doing footy properly. 250 splendid games from the Giants antagonist protagonist, and this was one of his best. Jesse Hogan and the GWS forwards played their parts to make sure it was a winning afternoon, and even ex-Giant Jeremy Cameron made the trip up the highway to see his good mate’s milestone. See, everyone loves Toby. You should too.

Hawks v Lions, Saturday twilight: Imperious performance from the Lions. We wondered last week if their premiership defence was sputtering a little, but we needn’t have worried. When they need to find a gear they’re still capable of a level beyond anybody else. How regularly they find that gear might just decide whether or not they go back to back. Meanwhile, the Hawks… Not panic stations by any means but with games against the Pies, Dogs and Crows coming up before their bye, things could certainly get worse before they get better.

North v Pies, Saturday night: Collingwood’s depth is a little bit ridiculous isn’t it? I didn’t know some of their replacement players even existed. Don’t lie and tell me you thought Oleg Markov was still a thing. Well anyway, they helped their side to a lazy 7 goal win. North were still right with them at three quarter time but got taken to the cleaners in the run for home.

Walyalup v Yartapuulti, Saturday night: Ah wonderful. The two flakiest teams in the AFL meeting up for a Saturday evening flake-off. The Power seem to try very hard for a quarter or two, but then the moment it becomes apparent that they can’t match their opponents they simply give up and get blown away. The Dockers on the other hand seem to have some momentum going now, but you can’t possibly trust it yet. Let’s see how they measure up in a tough away game next week then re-evaluate them on their bye.

1748164741782.jpeg

Kuwarna v Waalitj Marawar, Sunday arvo: It was the comfortable win for the Crows that everyone expected. Didn’t think the Eagles were all that bad for a side that lost by 11 goals; they did a few nice things. Not much else to say here. We move on.

Narrm v Swans, Sunday arvo: Basically an elimination final given how far back these two are coming from. The Swans tried hard but got nowhere near the Dees, who would have had the game sewn up at half time if not for a wayward second term. Looking miles better than the uninspired rabble they were earlier in the year; genuine top 8 smokey if they keep this resurgence going.

Euro-Yroke v Suns, Sunday twilight: Yet another mature win from the Suns, winning the sort of away game that’s proven to be a banana peel for them in the past despite being heavy favourites. Everyone’s rightly raving about Collingwood but Gold Coast are only one win away from them with a game in hand. Going along beautifully.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 11!

I’ve learnt that Simon Goodwin is still a great coach and anybody who writes off Melbourne will probably regret it

I wish I had your level of optimism, l m.

Sorry, even with the dire state my club is in I would not want Toby Greene.

He'd be one of the first picked in most if not all teams. You'd be foolish to not have him in your team.

Can’t even pretend no dickheads is still a thing given Tom Papley gets regular games

Liked: Season set up for us now. Won the hard games against Pies and Dogs and now are at 7-4 with 6 games vs Ess, Rich, WCE and NM to come. Only 3 games vs current top 8 to go (two in Geelong). Top 4 well in sight now.

Learnt:

1500-2-13973.gif

That's right. St.Kilda become the first to hit loss number 1500 in league football.
Next closest are fellow VFL foundation clubs Syd/Sth (1358) and Melb (1311).

Hated:

Spent most of my life in winter talking footy with dad. Found out over the weekend he's never coming home and has at most weeks, but as little as days to go. Barely watched much footy yesterday or today as a result and not being able to share that passion anymore is going to hit hard.

Liked: Season set up for us now. Won the hard games against Pies and Dogs and now are at 7-4 with 6 games vs Ess, Rich, WCE and NM to come. Only 3 games vs current top 8 to go (two in Geelong). Top 4 well in sight now.

Learnt:

1500-2-13973.gif

That's right. St.Kilda become the first to hit loss number 1500 in league football.

Hated:

Spent most of my life in winter talking footy with dad. Found out over the weekend he's never coming home and has at most weeks, but as little as days to go. Barely watched much footy yesterday or today as a result and not being able to share that passion anymore is going to hit hard.
Really sorry to hear that. Hopefully you still get to watch a couple of games together on TV, I’m sure it would mean the world to him.

Learnt:

1500-2-13973.gif

Hated:

Lost dad last year and every time there’s something on the news, something in trade week or Harley Reid does something or even today when at half time we were still fighting you wanna make that call and you can’t any more.

Learnt:

1500-2-13973.gif

Hated:

Bet you’ve got some amazing memories but that won’t make it any easier. Genuine commiserations and I hope you can squeeze in a bit more time together yet.

I think from a neutral perspective we can agree this was a pretty boring round of football as a spectacle. 2 weeks ago we were treated to a crazy amount of close games, this round the closest margin was 14, and no game went down to the wire in the last few minutes.

Thoughts with you Art Vandelay_

Great poster in here. Big Cat Man, feel like you’ve been in here as long as me, (probably more hinged than me but was at the Cattery last year and you’re all mad as a box of frogs) you could be Half Cat? ;)

Sorry to hear about your old man. Very difficult and will be a tough experience but cherish the memories, relive the moments (07,09,11 and 22) watch some Chris Scott pressers for a laugh, and keep up and about on BF so we can keep an eye on you.

Thanks for sharing. Important to discuss these things.

On to Geelong. They’ll be in the mix for a flag (when are they not?) Nicely organised and enough experience and form players to cause issues.

Liked - Melbourne.
Learnt - Melbourne won’t have Pickett next year so these moments are short lived
Hated - Melbourne (why not?)

Liked: A great win, a great game, BLUE shorts at home! Pressure and accuracy

Learnt: The Hawks are starting to stumble and they have the Pies, Dogs and Crows in the next 3 weeks!

Hated: Pre game stuff, I can understand it before the dreamtime match, but it's overkill! Hopefully that's all over for the year?

Liked: Ross going after the Suns. I have no ill-will towards them, but I hate Dimma

learnt: Melbourne have had an impressive run of form over the last month and a half- only loss was to Hawthorn in that time

hated: Hawthorn through the middle. Woeful effort, barely a tackle laid, stumbled through. Will Day cannot be the panacea we rely on, have to improve without him.

Liked: Riley Hardeman
Learnt: Riley Hardeman can play!
Hated: another horrific loss. That second half against the pies was putrid

Liked: A great win, a great game, BLUE shorts at home! Pressure and accuracy

Learnt: The Hawks are starting to stumble and they have the Pies, Dogs and Crows in the next 3 weeks!

Hated: Pre game stuff, I can understand it before the dreamtime match, but it's overkill! Hopefully that's all over for the year?

I yearn for the days when the pre-game stuff consisted of the Geelong cheersquad members walking the boundary at Kardinia Park with a blanket stretched out between a few of them for the crowd to chuck coins in as a fundraiser. They'd get plenty of coins along with half eaten pies and half drunk cans.

Liked- dream time at the G being on the stand alone Friday.
*events are coming to ahead with the Blues

learnt- *starting to come together for Freo.
*Suns gaining more and more confidence on the road, along with wins.

hated- geelong's run home, can the AFL make it anymore comfortable for them.

I yearn for the days when the pre-game stuff consisted of the Geelong cheersquad members walking the boundary at Kardinia Park with a blanket stretched out between a few of them for the crowd to chuck coins in as a fundraiser. They'd get plenty of coins along with half eaten pies and half drunk cans.
And don't forget the Scottish Highland band, or was that half time?

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 11 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated