Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 14 - Bombers v Cats Sat June 14th 4:15pm AEST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Bombers by a goal or less

Votes: 2 4.7%
  • Bombers by 7 - 20

Votes: 1 2.3%
  • Bombers by a lot

Votes: 3 7.0%
  • Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 1 2.3%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 4 9.3%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 32 74.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

Caddys real strength is his running power. The hope in a few years is that he just gets up and down the ground and actually rewarded for that running. At the moment we don't have the skilled players behind the ball to make it work so we just bomb it to him which is not what his best is.

The thing is Vindicator: one of COS's strengths is his agility which is every bit as good as Caddy's and to why I think he will struggle against COS in future meetings because Nat won't be out marking him in many contests. Mind you we'd love to have Nat Caddy down at the Cattery because the kid going to be a gun AFL player. I've mentioned this before but I reckon COS won't be far behind Matthew Scarlett in career performance by the time he finishes playing.

How does his agility help him against Caddys gut running which is what I said his strength will be.

Long term it will be a great contest if we can fix our other issues around the ground. Connor will win most of the aerial contests but Caddy will try to gas him and outwork him around the ground.

How does his agility help him against Caddys gut running which is what I said his strength will be.

Long term it will be a great contest if we can fix our other issues around the ground. Connor will win most of the aerial contests but Caddy will try to gas him and outwork him around the ground.

Sorry about that Vindicater: I forgot to mention that COS is every bit as good as Nat Caddy when it comes to gut running so he won't have any advantage 'at all' in that area of the game if and when they play against each other. But there's no knock on Nat because he's going to be a gun AFL player.

In 2001, I saw Essendon run over us. Behind me were two guys in their mid-20s who had obviously picked the Bombres in the 1980s.

They talked about how they had to aim for a threepeat in 2002 to make up for not winning 1999. They traded lengthy insights with each other about how Sheedy and Essendon had modernised the game

I stayed to the end, but they left early. One of them said to me, "I feel sorry for your club, mate."

drops mic
Following footy is a bit like show business.

Be nice to people on your way up, cause you'll meet them again when you're coming down.....

Caddys real strength is his running power. The hope in a few years is that he just gets up and down the ground and actually rewarded for that running. At the moment we don't have the skilled players behind the ball to make it work so we just bomb it to him which is not what his best is.
I personally love seeing good young players - esp good young talls - come through, so I'm not that interested in those "My Guy Is Better Than Your Guy" games.

I hope Caddy develops into a gun KPP for you guys.....jyou've actually got a pretty good potentially dangerous forward line, if you could just tidy up your delivery inside 50 to them.

Collingwood are the same and all of the recent premiers have excelled in this area. It's one of the main KPIs you need to tick off.
I agree with this, but I find Geelongs method particularly reliant on their home ground and opposition mistakes, I feel like they dont force their opponent to make as many mistakes as collingwood, could easily change by finals.

Except we have played better at the G than in Geelong for 4 years and our pressure/tackling/turnover game is rated up there with the best in the league.

I don't necessarily think Geelong are a better team but you are seriously misdiagnosing our playing profile and how its stood up against the best teams this season. Hoyne from Champion Data said Geelong is ranked #1 for games against the top 9 on relevant KPIs.

Right, yeah, that’s a good point. Finals are pretty new to the Cats. I can see what youre getting at.
previously in this thread I suggested Collingwood and Geelong are the only two teams who look likely. No need to be precious. You will not play Collingwood at GMHBA, that is a big blow I would suggest.

Except we have played better at the G than in Geelong for 4 years and our pressure/tackling/turnover game is rated up there with the best in the league.

I don't necessarily think Geelong are a better team but you are seriously misdiagnosing our playing profile and how its stood up against the best teams this season. Hoyne from Champion Data said Geelong is ranked #1 for games against the top 9 on relevant KPIs.
going off the eye test.

previously in this thread I suggested Collingwood and Geelong are the only two teams who look likely. No need to be precious. You will not play Collingwood at GMHBA, that is a big blow I would suggest.

We never do. We’ve won 6 of our last 8 against you and 5 of those were at the MCG and the two defeats were in a season where we missed the finals. Not a question of being precious I just don’t see the factors you’ve mentioned as being especially applicable

fair

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 14 - Bombers v Cats Sat June 14th 4:15pm AEST (MCG)