Opinion AFL 2025 Round 20 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Until the last quarter of the last game, this round was UGLY. It was supposed to be an unofficial Rivalry Round, but it quickly became Roll Over Round, with blowouts as far as the eye could see. The multiple hometown derbies turned into hometown demolitions (44 points was the closest margin in any of them). Never mind the fixturing… cellar dwellers clogging up prime time spots, multiple games overlapping for no apparent reason… Yeah whatever. I’m done ranting. Let’s just call this Garbage Round and wrap the whole rotten thing up.

Hawks v Blues, Thursday night: Lots to like about how the Hawks put the game to bed early and then went into cruise mode. Three out of their last four games are genuinely tough matchups, so an energy-conserving win was hugely valuable here. Was also nice that Sam Docherty’s farewell didn’t turn into a pantsing. Would have been an awful way for a top bloke to bow out.

Bombers v Dogs, Friday night: Imagine losing by 93 points and only being the third biggest defeat of the weekend. It’s the little wins I guess. The downhill skiers ski onwards, the shell shocked Bombers crawl one week closer to the end of a miserable year.

Giants v Swans, Friday night: Goodness me. What an AWESOME third quarter. Best 30 minutes of footy any side has played this year. The Giants kicked nine goals to one and looked absolutely unstoppable. They don’t need to be at that high-octane level 100% of the time, but if they can find it just often enough between now and Grand Final day they could genuinely do a Brisbane 2024.

1753601652153.jpeg

Suns v Lions, Saturday arvo: I’ll fully admit I didn’t see this coming. The Suns had a few key pieces missing and they were playing the side that I rated as the best in the business. To beat them was a huge effort; to comprehensively dismantle them was breathtaking! The Suns have now beaten the last two premiers in three weeks. With a game in hand on the rest of the top 8 they’re right in the hunt for a top 4 spot. Wouldn’t just be making up the numbers either.

Freo v Eagles, Saturday arvo: The Eagles were competitive in patches but it was obvious from very early on that there wasn’t going to be boil over in this one. Important win for the Dockers. They can all but sew up a finals spot with a couple more soft matchups in the coming weeks.

North v Cats, Saturday night: Oh my God.

Crows v Port, Saturday night: Have there ever been two such severe hammerings in one Saturday night? Somebody go back through the records, I can’t be bothered. What I do know is that Adelaide are going to finish first on the ladder at the end of the year. Bookmark it.

1753601924622.jpeg

Tigers v Pies, Sunday arvo: Of all the games that were entitled to finish in a mauling, 1st vs 16th would have been right up there. The Tigers were thereabouts for most of the game though, and gave another solid account of themselves despite going down by six goals. With a brutal three weeks ahead, the Magpies simply had to win and did so.

Saints v Demons, Sunday twilight: After a truly awful round of footy, who would have thought that a game between St Kilda and Melbourne was capable of saving it! After a decent body of work against strong opposition over the last few weeks, the Saints finally came up against a gettable opponent. This was their chance for a win to warm the spirits, so it was disappointing when it looked they weren’t going to fire a shot through the first three quarters. But the game came alive in the final term as the Sainters came from the clouds! The greatest three quarter time comback in history. Give Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera whatever the heck he wants, what an absolute weapon. I’ve seen a few extraordinary finishes in my time but that last minute (heck, even the last 8 seconds) had just about everything. What the bloody hell was THAT.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 20!

Liked: Hawthorn banking another win and still the clubhouse leader of the competition.

Learnt: Dangerfirld just trying to be thr modern day Bomber Thompson by eating during game play. Hope he doesn't follow more of his footsteps and join the ice water business post retirement.

Hated: ch 7 commentary.

Liked: NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS, GWS playing probably the best quarter of footy this year, Adelaide stamping their authority, the Suns manhandling their older bro

Learned: We're primed for an all-time final series, whoever misses out will be kicking themselves, Gold Coast are the real deal, Organge Tsunami, should call it Orange Noah's Flood, Goodwin must go

Hated: My club's spineless effort after HT, Could Greene be less of a menace to society please

Liked: Hawthorn banking another win and still the clubhouse leader of the competition.

Learnt: Dangerfirld just trying to be thr modern day Bomber Thompson by eating during game play. Hope he doesn't follow more of his footsteps and join the ice water business post retirement.

Hated: ch 7 commentary.

The cryptic ‘ice’ joke isn’t quite as funny or cryptic when you actually use the word ‘ice’ in it: it’s ’frozen water’ Einstein

Learnt

We need Timokane
Had a look outside its gonna rain
I love you Mary Jane
Go for a run causing my legs to pain
Don't be a bum no need to be vain
The dees got slain after a run away train
Didn't stay in their own lane
The Saints had a lot to gain

liked saints last quarter, was only qtr of game i watched and it was epic. wanganeen Milera serious talent.

Essendon are still rubbish, but geez North barely put up a whimper and Port copped a flogging in pouring rain.

The gap feels quite wide between the top 9-10 and rest of the comp. Doggies pummelled dons and probably won't even make finals if can't beat giants this week.

liked saints last quarter, was only qtr of game i watched and it was epic. wanganeen Milera serious talent.

Essendon are still rubbish, but geez North barely put up a whimper and Port copped a flogging in pouring rain.

The gap feels quite wide between the top 9-10 and rest of the comp. Doggies pummelled dons and probably won't even make finals if can't beat giants this week.
If the Dogs lose to GWS with no Greene, Kelly and Buckley then put a loine through them at that point

Liked:

Crows were thoroughly ruthless. When Port were down we stood on their head and ground them into the dirt. GWS and Saints comebacks wet great viewing

Learnt:

Tall forwards CAN work in the wet! Riley Thilthorpe is unstoppable in any conditions. Some top 8 teams are coasting a bit. You never flirt with form.

Hated:

Carlton and Essendon getting prime time slots. And don’t quote me on”ratings” because even they were poor.

Bonus:

Happy Gilmore 2 was better than I expected. So thanks Essendon for giving me an excuse to watch it.

Learned: no-one outside the eight “deserves” to be in the eight, ipso facto the teams to likely make up the eight have earned their spots and should make for a cracking September.
And as a Swans supporter I can just sit back and enjoy the contests as a neutral, with no damage to my cardiac health.

Liked: Dead rubbers can be amazing, Yze can coach.

Learned: NWM must stay at the Saints, he is worth more to the club than a contract. He is a season ticket seller, a neutral interest drawcard and the face of the Saints marketing for the next 10 years.

Hated: North are pathetic, they could learn a lot from Richmond and Yze. Clarko is a dinosaur who hasn't moved with the modern game. Brad Scott and Essendon aren't far behind.

LIKED- * the saints - footy still has those magical moments.
*Giants - great fight back
*Suns - impressive win

LEARNT- Pt.Adel- what a wasted,go nowhere season
* Dee's- terrible

HATED- the Roo's just embarrassed there fans once again

Liked: Giants’ explosive third quarter; Suns’ unexpected dismantling of the Lions; Saints’ incredible comeback! And my beloved Tigers showed real resilience and kept pressure on the ladder leaders for most of the game, displaying strong defensive efforts and key goal-scoring moments despite the loss. I felt their fight and intensity were impressive against the Pies!

Learnt: Tough teams can still dominate when firing; bottom teams struggle even on prime spots; and the finals race heating up!

Hated: Blowouts killing competitive spirit; overlapping games confusing scheduling. 😑

Mum's North, Dad's a Sainter, and none of those campaigners have ever felt as embarrassed as I do right now. All Melbourne supporters should feel the same way. We barrack for the biggest bunch of pussies ever assembled on a football field in all of history. ****ing useless pathetic bunch of campaigners.

How dumb is Jack Viney.
Clayton Oliver missing from 20m in front of goal.

Get ****ed Dees.

Mum's North, Dad's a Sainter, and none of those campaigners have ever felt as embarrassed as I do right now. All Melbourne supporters should feel the same way. We barrack for the biggest bunch of pussies ever assembled on a football field in all of history. ****ing useless pathetic bunch of campaigners.

How dumb is Jack Viney.
Clayton Oliver missing from 20m in front of goal.

Get ****ed Dees.
Jesus mate GF day must be a pretty stress free event in your family on most occasions

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 20 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated