Opinion AFL 2025 Round 21 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Hated: Navicular is a cross between navigate and vehicular. How does Hawthorn navigate into the finals when its star vehicle, its Ferrari Will Day, is locked up in the garage…yet again!

Yes I’d say we might struggle to make it from here!!

I reckon you meant the Pies (another bird species albeit a much lesser one) and I agree they’re on shaky ground all of a sudden.

Lol, that definitely should’ve read ‘Pies’—thanks for catching my bird mix-up! On the bright side, at least I know someone’s actually reading my posts! 😂

Hated: Navicular is a cross between navigate and vehicular. How does Hawthorn navigate into the finals when its star vehicle, its Ferrari Will Day, is locked up in the garage…yet again!
Was he brought back too early? Hawks medcom emphasised the care and external experts that were consulted. But still, it's extremely untimely for the fellow and the club.

Honestly don’t know. All the signs out of the club was he was ready and raring to go. Had surgery on it back in April.

Part of the debate is whether he pushes himself almost too hard for his own good, he’s such a competitor.

I guess it’s all just speculation until we know more and even then I’d have to defer to the medical and training/performance experts.

Liked :: The Queensland teams doing very well that I follow. Suns and Lions both with Big wins to look like a Finals chance.

Learnt :: MCG has best football. and so We're in for a Ripper Game Hawthorn and Collingwood this week .

Hates :: the poor teams so bashed by injury they are getting beat up on (like Richmond was) and a few games coming up will be like
TRAINING Drills again for Geelong (v Ess) , Bulldogs ( v Dees), Giants ( V roos) , Saints ( v Tiges) , Crows ( V West Coast)

They'll be playing to Not get Injured I spose .

Likes : Suns have Carlton for a Solid Hit-out , and a 2024 Grand Final grudge replay is on too !!! Up the Lions !! :brisbane: :)

Liked: Another huge win, but the interstate teams are circling the Top 4 and The Cats are in the middle of it.

Learnt: Nothing will change with Greg Swann in charge, the umpires can't bounce it, so i guess they will throw it up which is most unfortunate. It's a very uneven competition.

Hated: White shorts at home again, Bevo's response to BT, he's snubbing Dogs fans, not BT himself. Port have thrown in the towel, but they've never really wanted to be a part of the AFL since they joined. Send them back to the SANFL! Gold Coast strip has to be the worst playing strip of all time!
I dont think Dogs fans feel like they are being snubbed att all, whilst not speaking for all.supporters, Bevo has a lot of support for his stance.

I dont think Dogs fans feel like they are being smubbedvst all, whilst not speaking for all.supporters, Bevo has a lot of support for his stance.
That support for Bevo on this issue is misguided. A few words about the game to fans who can't go in person is all part of the fan euphoria of seeing their team winning the game. Bevo needs to take his personal views of media personalities and put it where the sun don't shine. Not good enough.

Luke gives HEAPS of time to our supporters - I have no problem with him brushing off the channel 7 flogs and campaigners. Case in point - my daughter has been to Bulldog training 3 times this year and Luke has stopped to chat with her every time - and the third time he even remembered her name.

Liked - the Bulldogs' full ground defense finally worked as intended. Every time the Giants tried to surge the Dogs would cover their usual exits and turn the ball over. Keeping that team to only 6 goals was great for a team that has been criticized for its defense all season.

Hated - More serious injuries. Will Day can't take a trick. Hayden Young seems to have avoided a serious soft tissue injury though. Also hated "chook lotto with free kicks" - there were number of instances of players running through protected zones but only a handful were penalized.

Not learnt but rather confirmed - Thursday night football is a disaster for attracting crowds. Dogs v Adelaide on a Saturday afternoon gets 41K. Dogs v GWS on a Thursday gets just under $24K.

Luke gives HEAPS of time to our supporters - I have no problem with him brushing off the channel 7 flogs and campaigners. Case in point - my daughter has been to Bulldog training 3 times this year and Luke has stopped to chat with her every time - and the third time he even remembered her name.

Liked - the Bulldogs' full ground defense finally worked as intended. Every time the Giants tried to surge the Dogs would cover their usual exits and turn the ball over. Keeping that team to only 6 goals was great for a team that has been criticized for its defense all season.

Hated - More serious injuries. Will Day can't take a trick. Hayden Young seems to have avoided a serious soft tissue injury though. Also hated "chook lotto with free kicks" - there were number of instances of players running through protected zones but only a handful were penalized.

Not learnt but rather confirmed - Thursday night football is a disaster for attracting crowds. Dogs v Adelaide on a Saturday afternoon gets 41K. Dogs v GWS on a Thursday gets just under $24K.
Not good enough Bevo and the AFL should step in and remind the Bulldogs of the importance of it's coach talking to to their fans via the media after a game if approached. Matthew Nicks was 100% better the following night. Bevo seem like a nasty little man at times.

Agree to disagree. These 'journalists' think they are bigger than the game, somebody with balls needs to call them out.

Not good enough Bevo and the AFL should step in and remind the Bulldogs of the importance of it's coach talking to to their fans via the media after a game if approached. Matthew Nicks was 100% better the following night. Bevo seem like a nasty little man at times.
He talked to fans via the media through the proper post-game press conference.

Not good enough to snub a major broadcaster, you telling me Bevo couldn't give up 20 seconds? He's a nasty bloke.
Again, agree to disagree. I see Chris Scott was pissed off by the media during the week, and threatened to restrict media access. Good on him.

Learnt: TBD if the MRO has any balls/consistency. Stewart should get multiple weeks for yet another dog effort, Curtis and Zurhaar should each get 4+. Reminder that Lynch got 5 for the potential to cause injury so we'll see what BS the MRO cooks up to get these 3 off.
Learnt update: Call me Nostradamus. All 3 essentially get off cause Michael Christian is a joke.

Liked Freo still flying under the radar with most media/supporters despite sitting 5th and winning 10 of the last 11 games.

Hated Hawks dropping off.
And a 2 point 2nd quarter! Concentration lacking.
Hated Will Day's injury. Gone again.

Like the challenge Thursday night Collingwood will bring!
It will tell the real story.

Sometimes Hawks do not know or seem to know, that,
sides do rally, and come back. Got to bury them.

Did it against Freo too, we have a way to go. Lets see.

Hated Hawks dropping off.
And a 2 point 2nd quarter! Concentration lacking.
Hated Will Day's injury. Gone again.

Like the challenge Thursday night Collingwood will bring!
It will tell the real story.

Sometimes Hawks do not know or seem to know, that,
sides do rally, and come back. Got to bury them.

Did it against Freo too, we have a way to go. Lets see.
Hawthorn did not score two points in the second quarter.

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 21 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated