Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 3 - Hawks v Giants Sat March 29th 7:35pm AEDT (UTAS Tasmania)

Who will win and by how much?

• Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 8 12.5%
  • GWS by a goal or less

Votes: 6 9.4%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 31 48.4%
  • GWS by 7 - 20

Votes: 10 15.6%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 5 7.8%
  • GWS by a lot

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 3 4.7%

Selwood said this for 10 years. And to be fair the umpires have ignored Watson in 2 of our 4 games this year.
It's not really ducking though. He lowers his body into the tackle and throws his head back. That part is what I hate the most. You have to tackle those players differently.

Bit harsh on Watson. Like most players in his position these days he can shrug the tacklers arm up, not unique. I think the risk for opposition players is he is so short (listed 170 cm) that even average sized players (eg Coniglio, 182 cm) struggle to get low enough to effect a legal tackle. Compounding this, he's clearly courageous enough to drive forcefully through the tackle, embracing the hit. I have never seen that "drive" with Ginny for example. Watson is a ripper.

Blues supporters reek of jealously, just because we have good smalls and you guys have a bunch of vfl plumbers running around.

Not to mention that we also have their first and 2nd draft picks, while they have nothing to compensate for this years performance..

Bit harsh on Watson. Like most players in his position these days he can shrug the tacklers arm up, not unique. I think the risk for opposition players is he is so short (listed 170 cm) that even average sized players (eg Coniglio, 182 cm) struggle to get low enough to effect a legal tackle. Compounding this, he's clearly courageous enough to drive forcefully through the tackle, embracing the hit. I have never seen that "drive" with Ginny for example. Watson is a ripper.
Watson is better than Ginnivan with the flops but both are shockers at it. Watson would be a gun regardless so I'd much rather he ditch the tactic and play without it.

Not to mention that we also have their first and 2nd draft picks, while they have nothing to compensate for this years performance..
We have 4 father sons and NGA kids this year and the likely pick 1 favourite next year, I'm not sure Blues fans should be losing too much sleep over that one.

That said, I have seen about 3 'Sack Voss's painted on the road on Twitter so im tipping they'll happily be mad about just about anything atm.

It's not really ducking though. He lowers his body into the tackle and throws his head back. That part is what I hate the most. You have to tackle those players differently.
A lot of the frees he gets he starts low often when getting the ball and then stays low or comes up slightly and drives through the tackle. He is not actually ducking but comes up slower than the tackler expects

Bending your knees and leaning forward is comical running form?
Apparently it's cheating to bend your knees while running

Straight leg running only allowed.

But tackling someone around the head should be fine if they are in fact, running with bent knees and leaning forward.

Watson is better than Ginnivan with the flops but both are shockers at it. Watson would be a gun regardless so I'd much rather he ditch the tactic and play without it.
Yeah but, he plays in front of goal much of the time. Do you think Sam Mitchell is saying to him "mate, have some honour and don't embellish contact, we don't want free kicks"?

He might get a free kick or 2 in front of goal but on the balance of it, I think he plays tough, skillful footy.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 3 - Hawks v Giants Sat March 29th 7:35pm AEDT (UTAS Tasmania)