Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 4 - Suns v Crows Sat April 5th 1:20pm AEDT (Peoples First)

Who will win and by how much?

• Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 4 6.8%
  • Crows by a goal or less

• Suns by 7 - 20

Votes: 28 47.5%
  • Crows by 7 - 20

Votes: 15 25.4%
  • Suns by a lot

• Crows by a lot

Votes: 2 3.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 3.4%

Probably one of the worst-officiated games of football I’ve seen in my time. There were moments when I genuinely questioned whether the game was fixed. The Rankine mark followed by the free kick in the final seconds was the worst call of the match. As a Suns supporter, you shouldn’t feel good about that win. The umpires essentially handed it to you.

In the last 2 years the AFL have had to come out and publicly apologise on 3 occasions that I can remember off the top of my head (and I'm sure there is a 4th) for umpiring errors costing the Crows a chance at winning a game in the final minute. These are:

The Sydney post call which clearly wasn't a post.
Sam Draper diving on the ball with no HTB call made.
Dawson getting hit in the face with 10 seconds left against Collingwood at the G in 2023, but no high contact free given.

AFL said all of these were clearly wrong. I don't remember them coming out and apologising in the last few years for a club playing against the Crows getting a bad call that cost them the game.
They tried to hand you a game against Collingwood at AO and you didn’t capitalise. Forgotten that one? Or selective memory activated?

Scoreboard says otherwise.
Just double checked.
They scored more.
More scoring shots.
More inside 50s.

You were unlucky with umpiring but if they weren’t wasteful it wouldn’t have mattered.

Anyway.. you lost. Quit bitching on an internet forum and move on.

Mark my words: Adelaide will run away with this game. I think the Suns are overrated. They get hyped up because of their midfield—which is good—but what about the rest of their team?
Probably one of the worst-officiated games of football I’ve seen in my time. There were moments when I genuinely questioned whether the game was fixed. The Rankine mark followed by the free kick in the final seconds was the worst call of the match. As a Suns supporter, you shouldn’t feel good about that win. The umpires essentially handed it to you.
Tough round of tipping mate?

Just double checked.
They scored more.
More scoring shots.
More inside 50s.

You were unlucky with umpiring but if they weren’t wasteful it wouldn’t have mattered.

Anyway.. you lost. Quit bitching on an internet forum and move on.
I can't remember if it's this poster but one Crow has these umpiring meltdowns most weeks and they often last all weekend.

Sadly missed the game but all I can say is how many fecken times.
Today.
Keays vs Sydney.
Rankine running too far vs Collingwood.
Dawson missed free kick vs Collingwood
Draper diving over the ball.
Troy Pannell Bulldogs 2016.
Puopolo game Hawthorn 2016.
Jack Anthony Collingwood 2009.
+ things like Cotchin being allowed to play the GF after concussing Shiel.
Having draft picks stripped from us and never receiving any priority picks.

We are the most screwed over team in the league

Really good game.

Adelaide fans will have a sook about the umpiring, but let's face it, they always do.
What would you know you’ve probably only started following football for a couple of years - even your club resorted to “bring a mate for free” and you got 16,000.

Sadly missed the game but all I can say is how many fecken times.
Today.
Keays vs Sydney.
Rankine running too far vs Collingwood.
Dawson missed free kick vs Collingwood
Draper diving over the ball.
Troy Pannell Bulldogs 2016.
Puopolo game Hawthorn 2016.
Jack Anthony Collingwood 2009.
+ things like Cotchin being allowed to play the GF after concussing Shiel.
Having draft picks stripped from us and never receiving any priority picks.

We are the most screwed over team in the league

Keays vs Sydney = Obvious and destroyed our 2024 season, probably needed that kind of season.
Rankine running too far = 50/50
Dawson missed free = Incorrect (but they'd never call that for the visiting side)
Draper diving over the ball = Incorrect and the stupid dance I reckon cost Essendon the season.
Troy Pannell Bulldogs 2016 = not his only flop, 2017 vs Sydney Swans that call on Betts.
Puopolo game Hawthorn 2016 = correct but he staged it, probably not called if on other end of ground.
Anthony call = was correct, was held.
If Cotchin missed the GF we would have still been beaten, we were very very bad and got way too complacent.

Don't forget that 2012 preliminary final as well, esp some of the calls in the first half of the game.

Overheard some Crows fans who were sitting up the scoreboard end on the way out out of the stadium today and I thought it sounded familiar...

Regardless of whether it was or wasn't a mark/free kick, and I'm sure there will be plenty of discourse about that all week, as a Suns fan it's nice to finally see that we have a genuine home ground advantage up here after going more than a decade without one and constantly facing teams that do have genuine influence on the umpires when we travel interstate. I've watched plenty of bs calls go against us when we play the Crows at Adelaide Oval over the years. I've come to accept that it's just the way footy is and there's no guarantee Rankine would've kicked the goal from the boundary AND there's no guarantee we wouldn't have gone up the other end and kicked a game winning goal in response. There was still 1:45 on the clock when the Rankine situation played out so you can't definitively say it decided the result of the game.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 4 - Suns v Crows Sat April 5th 1:20pm AEDT (Peoples First)