Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 4 - Suns v Crows Sat April 5th 1:20pm AEDT (Peoples First)

Who will win and by how much?

• Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 4 6.8%
  • Crows by a goal or less

• Suns by 7 - 20

Votes: 28 47.5%
  • Crows by 7 - 20

Votes: 15 25.4%
  • Suns by a lot

• Crows by a lot

Votes: 2 3.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 3.4%

Overheard some Crows fans who were sitting up the scoreboard end on the way out out of the stadium today and I thought it sounded familiar...

Regardless of whether it was or wasn't a mark/free kick, and I'm sure there will be plenty of discourse about that all week, as a Suns fan it's nice to finally see that we have a genuine home ground advantage up here after going more than a decade without one and constantly facing teams that do have genuine influence on the umpires when we travel interstate. I've watched plenty of bs calls go against us when we play the Crows at Adelaide Oval over the years. I've come to accept that it's just the way footy is and there's no guarantee Rankine would've kicked the goal from the boundary AND there's no guarantee we wouldn't have gone up the other end and kicked a game winning goal in response. There was still 1:45 on the clock when the Rankine situation played out so you can't definitively say it decided the result of the game.

It would've been good to have had the chance to see, though. He would've taken his time, and knowing how good he is, he could quite possibly have kicked it. Then it would've been odds on as to whether or not the Suns could get a goal. WE'LL NEVER KNOW NOW, WILL WE?

Sadly missed the game but all I can say is how many fecken times.
Today.
Keays vs Sydney.
Rankine running too far vs Collingwood.
Dawson missed free kick vs Collingwood
Draper diving over the ball.
Troy Pannell Bulldogs 2016.
Puopolo game Hawthorn 2016.
Jack Anthony Collingwood 2009.
+ things like Cotchin being allowed to play the GF after concussing Shiel.
Having draft picks stripped from us and never receiving any priority picks.

We are the most screwed over team in the league
You forgot my favourite- losing an assistant coach because Melbourne tanked lmao.

It would've been good to have had the chance to see, though. He would've taken his time, and knowing how good he is, he could quite possibly have kicked it. Then it would've been odds on as to whether or not the Suns could get a goal. WE'LL NEVER KNOW NOW, WILL WE?
So let's play out this hypothetical situation and give the Crows every benefit of the doubt. 1:45 on the clock and Rankine gets paid the mark/free kick. He likely goes for the snap from the boundary about 40m out (although I have seen him slot a drop punt from that pocket of the stadium) and he takes his allotted 30s before kicking truly to put the Crows up by 5 points with approximately 1:10 on the clock. Now what? 6-6-6 in the middle of the ground and it's been a seesawing affair back and forth with both teams kicking quick response goals in the fourth quarter. Could the Crows have held on from there? Of course, but IMO the Suns were just as likely to go down the other end and kick a goal to snatch a 1 point win after seeing the back and forth nature of that fourth quarter.

The point is, even if you give Adelaide the benefit of the doubt with all the available information we do have, you CAN'T definitively say the Crows would've won. I'm not totally convinced Rankine would've even kicked the goal if I'm being honest with you, but I'm not going to attach my opinion to that because it's speculative. Just like it's speculative to suggest Rankine would've kicked the goal and the Crows would've hung on to win with approximately 1:10 left on the clock after a hypothetical Rankine goal.

So let's play out this hypothetical situation and give the Crows every benefit of the doubt. 1:45 on the clock and Rankine gets paid the mark/free kick. He likely goes for the snap from the boundary about 40m out (although I have seen him slot drop punt from that pocket of the stadium) and he takes his allotted 30s before kicking truly to put the Crows up by 5 points with approximately 1:10 on the clock. Now what? 6-6-6 in the middle of the ground and it's been a seesawing affair back and forth with both teams kicking quick response goals in the fourth quarter. Could the Crows have held on from there? Of course, but IMO the Suns were just as likely to go down the other end and kick a goal to snatch a 1 point win after seeing the back and forth nature of that fourth quarter.

The point is, even if you give Adelaide the benefit of the doubt with all the available information we do have, you CAN'T definitively say the Crows would've won. I'm not totally convinced Rankine would've even kicked the goal if I'm being honest with you, but I'm not going to attach my opinion to that because it's speculative. Just like it's speculative to suggest the Crows would've hung on to win with approximately 1:10 left on the clock after a hypothetical Rankine goal.
If you think it was just one dodgy decision that people are talking about, I don't know what else can be said.

This is what the narrative will be all week though, completely ignoring the complete reaming the crows get in the last 5 minutes in particular.

So let's play out this hypothetical situation and give the Crows every benefit of the doubt. 1:45 on the clock and Rankine gets paid the mark/free kick. He likely goes for the snap from the boundary about 40m out (although I have seen him slot drop punt from that pocket of the stadium) and he takes his allotted 30s before kicking truly to put the Crows up by 5 points with approximately 1:10 on the clock. Now what? 6-6-6 in the middle of the ground and it's been a seesawing affair back and forth with both teams kicking quick response goals in the fourth quarter. Could the Crows have held on from there? Of course, but IMO the Suns were just as likely to go down the other end and kick a goal to snatch a 1 point win after seeing the back and forth nature of that fourth quarter.

The point is, even if you give Adelaide the benefit of the doubt with all the available information we do have, you CAN'T definitively say the Crows would've won. I'm not totally convinced Rankine would've even kicked the goal if I'm being honest with you, but I'm not going to attach my opinion to that because it's speculative. Just like it's speculative to suggest the Crows would've hung on to win with approximately 1:10 left on the clock after a hypothetical Rankine goal.
We had 6 more scoring shots and went inside 50 seven more times. We should’ve won it by at least a couple of goals.
Our midfield was down IMO and the Crows were much superior around the stoppages. Great game and atmosphere. Kept setting my Apple Watch off.

Today.
Keays vs Sydney.

Rankine running too far? He ran 25 metres you absolute pancake. That was proven to be a ridiculously correct call.

You can tell someone is a biased flog when they’re complaining that their player who ran 25 metres without bouncing was hard done by. 😂

If you think it was just one dodgy decision that people are talking about, I don't know what else can be said.

This is what the narrative will be all week though, completely ignoring the complete reaming the crows get in the last 5 minutes in particular.
Enjoy your week of overanalysing umpires :thumbsu:

We'll focus on becoming the first team to play footy in the Barossa next weekend and hopefully keeping our undefeated start to the season alive. See you in round 19 on your home turf where you'll have plenty of opportunity to influence the umpires.

You forgot my favourite- losing an assistant coach because Melbourne tanked lmao.
Sadly that was true.

And sadly Dean was never able to come back to football and died of cancer shortly after completing his AFL imposed sentence

But yeah, I guess that was really funny :rolleyes:

I've been watching the AFL for decades, and I guess it just has to be accepted that umpires are going to make mistakes. When they do, it will either affect your team or it won’t—that’s just the nature of the game. I don’t think there’s anything the AFL can do about it either. These blokes are being asked to make potentially game-changing decisions within seconds, and the pressure just gets to them. I don't even like the Crows, but this time they were on the wrong end of the umpiring. Who knows—maybe next game the umpires will make a bunch of ridiculous calls in their favour and get them over the line. Oh, the joys of being a fan of the AFL.

Not especially likely, but if they both have veins of form at the same time it's possible. The Crows already have a rivalry with Port that transcends temporary form.
How do you feel about the Suns v Crows now? Is there a rivalry forming after this game?

Only saw bits, but our Crow friends have a history of overstating the case re umpires.

Is it partly down to the different footy cultures? AFL is very Vic centric, as you'd expect, so there's decisions that offend the sensibilities.

I've noticed the very slick South Australian style handball (we used to be called a "Crow throw") has become generally accepted. It looks cool and takes some skill (I can see why the League allows it) but I wince every time I see Daicos or someone scoop it overhead.

It's taken ages though and "the Vic version" is applied in most cases. I suppose we don't even see when something happens to outrage the Crows, I know I hear boos sometimes and I'm baffled.

The famous "right in front of me" outrage was just passion, understandable, but that was a free in any state as long as ive been alive.

I suppose theres also the little state thing, "everyone hates us" nah mate Crows don't register with most Vic sides as a rival.

The Rankine one was a mark but I can why the umps might’ve missed it, like they missed the clear push on Witts moments before.

Was the game mean spirited? Mac Andrew was being an arse, and that bearded idiot headbutting his shin was tomfoolery.

I've been watching the AFL for decades, and I guess it just has to be accepted that umpires are going to make mistakes. When they do, it will either affect your team or it won’t—that’s just the nature of the game. I don’t think there’s anything the AFL can do about it either. These blokes are being asked to make potentially game-changing decisions within seconds, and the pressure just gets to them. I don't even like the Crows, but this time they were on the wrong end of the umpiring. Who knows—maybe next game the umpires will make a bunch of ridiculous calls in their favour and get them over the line. Oh, the joys of being a fan of the AFL.
We've had a pretty unfair run this year, umps favoured us heavily round 1 and 2 (in particular), then Carlton benefited this round which upset our crowd.

Haven't seem too many games changed by the umps: its really rare.

North has been robbed against us twice, last year (diabolical) and the Shannon Grant game: that really was "right in front of me", so many bad decisions.

and the umpires blew it in all proceeding seconds
But even then, the Crows had the chance to pinch the game with 18 seconds to go through Cumming, but he decided to chip it to a contested play which was the worst idea with no time left. On review, he also had 2 uncontested Crows players in the middle of the forward line.

Today.
Keays vs Sydney.

I still feel hard done by in that ‘97 SF in Adelaide with the Colbert mark and many other home town decisions after finishing 2nd.
Dogs fans are still bleeding after the Libba goal.

There’s been some good footy karma.

But yeah, I guess that was really funny :rolleyes:
The tragedy of Dean's life being cut short to cancer, and the AFL imposing a sanction on him for "not tanking" that affected not the club that directed him to tank, but Adelaide instead, are two separate things.

Sure .. but the AFL relentlessly chasing him ultimately through legal channels was appalling

The AFL needed a fall guy

The fall guy should've been the CEO Cameron Schwab not Dean Bailey. The problem was that Cameron Schwab's name was on Melbourne's gambling "pokie" licenses and the AFL was shit scared they'd lose them if they went after Schwab.

The AFL were pumping more money than they cared for into Melbourne at the time and were loath to have to commit more money to the club if they lost their "pokie" revenue

Fair enough if you find it funny that Adelaide were the club penalised for the behaviours of your shit club :thumbsu:

From your perspective. When you get a good run you probably just don’t see it. I’ve seen your side get the rub of the green lots of times, particularly at AO.

Definitely unlucky today but you have a soft draw (AO games against sides you’re clearly better than) coming up and you’re very likely to finish top 4. Lots to look forward to.
It’s not about the rub of the green that we care about, it’s about the integrity of the competition being damaged through poor inconsistent umpiring no matter who plays.

Cracking game and both teams will play finals.

Regarding Rankine non decision the Umps were wrong. It was either a mark or a free. No way it was play on and i expect the AFL to confirm this during the week. Umps are humans and freeze in the moment like players do as well and stuff up and this was clearly a stuff up.

It happens and it sucks when you are on the wrong end of it but if that exact moment / incident happened in SA it is paid. You just dont get those calls on the road and just reinforces the frustration as fans regarding what is paid a free and what is let go.

Crows fans rest easy though as you are definitely playing finals this season and i have you guys penciled in for very close to a top 4 spot.
We’ve had several apologies over the last couple of seasons for incorrect calls in close games… they mean nothing

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 4 - Suns v Crows Sat April 5th 1:20pm AEDT (Peoples First)