Royals FC, West Indies
Some extraordinary games took place in the second week of Sir Doug Nicholls round. No time to waste, let’s wrap…

Hawks v Kuwarna, Thursday night: Despite the glacial conditions this was a very watchable affair. The Crows jumped away to a great start but the Hawks reeled them in and set up a decent lead of their own before Kuwarna (missing Rankine for most of the second half) nearly got back over the top of them. Great see-sawing stuff.

Tigers v Bombers, Friday night: Yeah ok, it’s always brave for a side with basically no fit players on the bench to soldier on. But it’s not like the Bombers were looking crash hot in this game even before the injuries started rolling in. Full credit to the Tigers for bringing the heat from the get go and then sustaining it most of the night. Well deserved win.

Walyalup v Euro-Yroke, Friday night: In quite a few games this year the Dockers have just cruised along matching their opponents, barring a short period where they put the foot down, ram on a few goals and put a gap on the scoreboard. Sign of a really good side I reckon. Can we start saying premiership favourites yet?

1779609254657.webp

North v Suns, Saturday arvo: WHAT THE BLOODY HELL WAS THAT. The Roos were a million points down and came from the clouds to get up. You wouldn’t have given a brass razoo for their chances when they were seven goals down in the second quarter. Incredible comeback.

Cats v Swans, Saturday twilight: A game that revealed a fair bit about both sides it must be said. The Cats aren’t just a solid top 4 side, they’re a flag threat. The Swans had a few weaknesses exposed and there’s a clear blueprint on how to beat them now. It was a pity that there was an overlap in the schedule, and hence what shaped as match of the round had to go head to head with the Pendlebury game. In the end this was a bit of a fizzer anyway - Geelong were just too good.

Pies v Waalitj Marawar, Saturday twilight: Plenty has been said about the most famous basketball dropout in history, so let’s focus on the game itself - the Eagles were magnificent in a losing cause. Nobody expected them to get within cooee of a Collingwood side that were just going to turn up and ‘do it for Pendles’ but the men from the west very nearly spoiled the party. Gutting news on the injury front with that knee for Jamie Elliott late in the game. Grim.

Yartapuulti v Blues, Saturday night: Didn’t catch much of this one, but that’s now two very good wins in two weeks for the Blues. It took poor old Michael Voss stepping down for them to start playing with freedom and putting together four quarters instead of just a decent half here and there, but they’re really showing something now.

1779609318542.webp

Giants v Lions, Sunday arvo: For the second time this week WHAT THE BLOODY HELL WAS THAT. If you didn’t watch the game and thought the final score was remarkable enough, imagine learning that the Giants kicked 14 goals to zip in the highest scoring third term in history? That’s against the back to back reigning premiers, with Lachie Whitfield a late withdrawal, a swag of best 23 players missing, Buckley going down during the game, and having lost to the West Coast Eagles the previous week. Take a bow, that’s the tsunami’s finest performance. Genuine alarm bells for the Lions now.

Dogs v Narrm, Sunday arvo: What a gem to close out the round! Just a thrilling game to kick back and enjoy on a Sunday evening. The Doggies looked to be injecting some much-needed life back into their season when they skipped away to a six goal lead in the second term, but the Dees roared back into it, and the two sides traded punches after that. The last term had a stack of lead changes, but the Dogs clung on to win an epic.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 11!

Liked - meritorious win over a contender.

Pendles breaking the record.

Learnt - Lions struggles aren't a slow start anymore. In a rut that will soon derail a season.

Dogs despite winning did nothing to suggest they're a contender.

Hated - Raft of injuries in the dream time game. Multiple players in hospital is concerning.

Elliott's career in danger. Sad end if that's it.

Liked - The Eagles making the Pies work hard for the win at the G, I was ready for another 100 point thrashing tbh. Pendles 433 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 Absolutely amazing effort.
Learnt - Carlton/Voss hung on too long trying to turn a pigs arse ear into a silk purse.
Hated - Jamie Elliot doing his ACL, we all were so upset for him watching the game. He got a couple of amazing goals in, he’s a champ no matter what team you support.

Liked:
North's comeback win - what a way to lift spirits after last week's thumping.

Dogs-Dees was exhilarating.

Giants' barn-storming third quarter. They've been lacklustre at best this year for the most part, but that's what they're capable of.

West Coast nearly pulling off the upset. They'll still have the occasional shocker, but you can see that they're building.

7/9 tips. Picked some underdogs to gain some ground which paid off.

Learnt:
Many say that Brisbane will just flick the switch eventually and win it again, but I'm far from convinced. The hunger and drive just doesn't seem to be there. Next week against Freo will tell us a lot.

Sometimes the coach is the issue, and other times, it's just simply that the cattle isn't there. It looks like coaching was the issue at Carlton, especially when the likes of Cripps have been back to their best in the last two weeks after looking cooked. Mind you, Carlton did this under Teague too when he took over from Bolton mid-season.

Gold Coast need to get the hell out of Darwin. All well and good to win there, but it derails their season.

Hated:
Swath of injuries. None are good, but Elliott's confirmed ACL the most deflating. That's likely career over, and it's been a great one. A clutch forward if I've ever seen one.

The Crows continue to lose the same way against decent teams (especially away) every time and nothing gets done about it. We'll continue to be mediocre until coaching changes are made.

Liked - The Eagles making the Pies work hard for the win at the G, I was ready for another 100 point thrashing tbh.
Learnt - Carlton/Voss hung on too long trying to turn a pigs arse ear into a silk purse.
Hated - Jamie Elliot doing his ACL, we all were so upset for him watching the game. He got a couple of amazing goals in, he’s a champ no matter what team you support.
Appreciate you Wosh . Eagles were resolute on Saturday

Liked: Ive enjoyed some marvellous food while in Melbourne

Learnt: love visiting but yeh, too cold for me - and it isnt even as cold as it has been in prior trips down - 3 days is enough

Hated : um nothing comes to mind

Appreciate you Wosh . Eagles were resolute on Saturday
I loved the Harley/Maynard biff too 😁 It was a fun game to watch and scream at the tv to, it’s been a while since we’ve done that 2 games in a row.
But then it was all ‘Oh no shit, no no that looks bad’ and yeah kinda ruined the ending of a spirited game. Would that be the end of his career?

I loved the Harley/Maynard biff too 😁 It was a fun game to watch and scream at the tv to, it’s been a while since we’ve done that 2 games in a row.
But then it was all ‘Oh no shit, no no that looks bad’ and yeah kinda ruined the ending of a spirited game. Would that be the end of his career?
Loved Ginbey coming in to fly the flag, no idea what set them off, didn’t seem to be anything but concern for Elliott, but when someone had a crack at a teammate, Ginbey stepped up. Kid’s a leader already.

Liked: Cats Doug Nicholls round playing strip and a good win against another top side.

Learnt: Footy is still a funny game, the Giants 3rd QTR was insane!

Hated: Not much again this week...

I hope not but I imagine being 34 at year’s end he’s going to be contemplating if that’s enough given the rehab required to get back to an elite level. Might be a bridge too far. I pray he does get back so he can retire on his terms - it was likely to have been next year anyway.

Guess it just depends how the rehab progresses

Loved Ginbey coming in to fly the flag, no idea what set them off, didn’t seem to be anything but concern for Elliott, but when someone had a crack at a teammate, Ginbey stepped up. Kid’s a leader already.
He’s a gem and looking like a big part of our future.

Liked: Ive enjoyed some marvellous food while in Melbourne

Learnt: love visiting but yeh, too cold for me - and it isnt even as cold as it has been in prior trips down - 3 days is enough

Hated : um nothing comes to mind
Great game to go down for 🔴⚪🔵 😀

To be fair it's also the first time this season they've lost with Heeney playing, so there was no reason to be pessimistic. The injuries from the game will hurt though.

Eh it's footy if you can't back your own team in what's the point, but dust settles and we got well beaten by a better side unfortunately. Just thought we might have been more on (Warner turn up etc) at least it didn't get out like it looked like it could at one stage.

Injuries will be interesting both were kinda non factors before they went off, hopefully not too bad. We keep losing the small guys exclusively . But you need depth to win a flag

Liked: A win against the Saints. We're missing a few, they're missing a few and it all evened out.
Signs of life at the lower end of the ladder (with one exception).

Learnt: Voss was the problem at Carlton or Port are diabolical? Maybe both?
The Suns are doing their regular fadeaway.

Hated: A free kick call and then advantage paid after the players stop. You can't explain the nuffery of AFL umpires to people new to footy.
Ah well, the umpiring is the best it's ever been......... apparently.