AFL @ Adelaide's Oval - That time is now.

Thanks again very much Dayton. That explanation makes sense - at least I now understand the process a bit better. :( We were in the open northern stand which is the very first three or four rows out in the open front of the stand and rarely got wet and didn't care when we did (except for the Freo game! Brrrr!) And at least you've confirmed what I thought - we are much further away from the ground than we were at AAMI.

I'll have another go at using that virtual thingo and see if I can find something a bit closer to the ground that's affordable and where we might be able to see.

Thanks again very much Dayton. That explanation makes sense - at least I now understand the process a bit better. :( We were in the open northern stand which is the very first three or four rows out in the open front of the stand and rarely got wet and didn't care when we did (except for the Freo game! Brrrr!) And at least you've confirmed what I thought - we are much further away from the ground than we were at AAMI.

I'll have another go at using that virtual thingo and see if I can find something a bit closer to the ground that's affordable and where we might be able to see.

No worries! I hope you find a pair of seats that suit you. :)

Why do people want to be on the aisle? Is it because you get up during quarters to grab beers? Fair enough if so.

Can't think of any other reason.

Would hate it personally. Have people pushing past you the entire time. Much prefer to be in the middle of a bay. Grab food on the way in and don't budge until the game's over (or 3/4 time if we're losing).

No one needs to push past you ever, except the morons who can't work out what half of 30 is and go to the wrong aisle.

Hi all. Need to pick the brains of Bigfooty - we're really disappointed with our seat allocation: top tier eastern stand 533 row q - I'm concerned we'll be oxygen deprived up there, not to mention old middle aged glasses wearing eyes not being able to tell one ant from another facing into the sun :(. And it seems I can't do anything about it until 5pm Thursday. We were really happy in the open northern grandstand at AAMI and would like something vaguely equivalent.

I really suck at this stuff - and if I'd known how damn difficult it would all be I doubt I'd have bothered.

Please could someone recommend a seating area for us (2 seats) - happy to pay more within reason. If we can't solve the problem we'll watch and party from home and save the money rather than watching blurry ants. :(
Oxygen? Well, sit in Row Q this week vs Melbourne so you can judge for yourself, I don't need it to sit in the back row, but it could be dependant on your lungs.

Eye sight? Trust me, unless you're in the front section of the Northern Grandstand in those front few rows, it'll be better at the new seats. The Eastern Grandstand at AO is closer to the action than the Northern at AAMI is to it there. Plus rather than being on the end of the oval, you're on the side. At AAMI, front row of the grandstand would require you to see about 200m to the Southern goals. Front row of the Eastern Grandstand at AO would give you about 150m to the far other side of Adelaide Oval or about 130m to the goals (though, if you're 533, lets go about 170m to the Northern goals). I'm willing to say anything in rows a-m would trump row a of the Northern Grandstand. Beyond that, just add 1 to the northern grand stand. So if you're given row Q, I'd say that's equivalent to about Row E at AAMI in terms of eyesight.

Di
Oxygen? Well, sit in Row Q this week vs Melbourne so you can judge for yourself, I don't need it to sit in the back row, but it could be dependant on your lungs.

Eye sight? Trust me, unless you're in the front section of the Northern Grandstand in those front few rows, it'll be better at the new seats. The Eastern Grandstand at AO is closer to the action than the Northern at AAMI is to it there. Plus rather than being on the end of the oval, you're on the side. At AAMI, front row of the grandstand would require you to see about 200m to the Southern goals. Front row of the Eastern Grandstand at AO would give you about 150m to the far other side of Adelaide Oval or about 130m to the goals (though, if you're 533, lets go about 170m to the Northern goals). I'm willing to say anything in rows a-m would trump row a of the Northern Grandstand. Beyond that, just add 1 to the northern grand stand. So if you're given row Q, I'd say that's equivalent to about Row E at AAMI in terms of eyesight.

Thanks dirty bird but there's no need to sound so short. It was a reasonable request for some help. As I said in my first post I suck at judging this stuff, yes we are/were in the second front row of the OPEN northern grandstand - row BB - a couple of rows IN FRONT of row A. We did that deliberately so we think we've been given the equivalent of at least half to three quarters of the way up the northern stand proper. Neither of us see well enough to be that far away (You just wait until you get to an age where its an issue for you too - and it will roll round quicker than you think) BTW the O2 comment was a joke about being in the top of the stand. :rolleyes:

Hi all. Need to pick the brains of Bigfooty - we're really disappointed with our seat allocation: top tier eastern stand 533 row q - I'm concerned we'll be oxygen deprived up there, not to mention old middle aged glasses wearing eyes not being able to tell one ant from another facing into the sun :(. And it seems I can't do anything about it until 5pm Thursday. We were really happy in the open northern grandstand at AAMI and would like something vaguely equivalent.

I really suck at this stuff - and if I'd known how damn difficult it would all be I doubt I'd have bothered.

Please could someone recommend a seating area for us (2 seats) - happy to pay more within reason. If we can't solve the problem we'll watch and party from home and save the money rather than watching blurry ants. :(

As you only have 2 seats you should be able to find something in the lower concourse area..although it will most probably be in the middle of the row as everyone is grabbing aisle seats...
its worth going to mid-tier for just the year...remember legends membership would probably get you first priority to change the following year in 2015

Thanks very much WC - I've rung the club to clarify and will try and swap seats tomorrow night. Yes hopefully should be easier with only two of us. :)

If tomorrow night is when it opens for you to change seats then you will find it easy when you start going through the program as it just shows all available spots in green. A comparable spot for you maybe moving to the Southern goals in the Mid-upper tier and I noted seats in areas which would be comparable to yours at AAMI.

Remember this is just the first phase which allows you to move and the second is later in September when everyone has been through phase 1 so more seats maybe available in preferably spots.

Just speaking to my contact int he aFC now.
For those worried about the family friendly area on the hill, don't worry.
They're splitting the hill. North-Eastern area = Drunk, North-Western area = Family friendly.
Who knows, they might put a jumping castle on it for the little ones ;)

They're splitting the hill. North-Eastern area = Drunk, North-Western area = Family friendly.

alex_is_on_fire

If tomorrow night is when it opens for you to change seats then you will find it easy when you start going through the program as it just shows all available spots in green. A comparable spot for you maybe moving to the Southern goals in the Mid-upper tier and I noted seats in areas which would be comparable to yours at AAMI.

Remember this is just the first phase which allows you to move and the second is later in September when everyone has been through phase 1 so more seats maybe available in preferably spots.

Yay! Thanks tons Troy. Will have a look tomorrow night ans see what's available in upper part of the mid teir of the southern stand. :)

Why do people want to be on the aisle? Is it because you get up during quarters to grab beers? Fair enough if so.

For me, leg room. I can sit in such a way that one leg is out in the aisle, which leaves a better angle for the other leg, taking pressure off of both of my knees, which would otherwise be pressed firmly into the back of the seat in front. It's painful for long periods, I try to avoid it where possible, and I've no doubt that the bottom tier seats, raked as they are, will have limited leg room compared to the comparatively spacious 2nd tier and heavily raked 3rd tier.

Thats why the 2nd tier gets another tick you dont even have to move to allow someone to walk past

the hill area is going to get nasty especially during showdowns...i wonder if footy fans will turn into the cricket type of fans on the hill

Which has always been the case at Adelaide Oval

Still not happy. Still moving seats.

Going to the members centre on Saturday before the game.

thats a bit unfair they should open it up for you again in phase 1, i think there should have been more detailed screen instructions in the pack that got emailed out....
I got timed out twice going through check out

I ended up getting my seats switched. It didn't matter that I had already paid the deposit, it was just I was trying to take a single seat in a group of 2, meaning 1 would be left which is something they don't allow in Phase 1. Ended up finding a spot in the next bay over that's still got a good view, so i'm all sorted now.

Still not happy. Still moving seats.

Going to the members centre on Saturday before the game.
I would recommend calling.
This is the first (and last) home game since seat allocations. A fair few might be using your logic. So the wait might be just a tad long....

I would recommend calling.
This is the first (and last) home game since seat allocations. A fair few might be using your logic. So the wait might be just a tad long....

Have to go anyway.

If the line is massive, we won't worry. Then head in latter on in the month or the month after that. If we can not obtain seats we desire, we won't be buying a membership.

Simple as that.

The way I'm feeling about the club right now, it's not going to be my loss. I sure I can spend $1500 on something else.

Have to go anyway.

If the line is massive, we won't worry. Then head in latter on in the month or the month after that. If we can not obtain seats we desire, we won't be buying a membership.

Simple as that.

The way I'm feeling about the club right now, it's not going to be my loss. I sure I can spend $1500 on something else.

I'm beginning to feel the same way.

Fair enough

Now that you mention it, I always like having the aisle seat on a plane for the same reason. Just have to remember to pull the knees in when the food trolley rolls by.

I sat in the front row of the northern stand for the last couple of seasons and it was awesome. I reckon at least an extra foot of leg room compared to the other rows plus a ledge for food and drinks.

My dad (6'3'') is the same as you guys, wants aisle seats to put the leg in the aisle. Same as on a plane.
Yet myself (6'5'') just doesn't want to move out of peoples way but find there's actually enough room (as long as the imbecile in front of you on the plane doesn't put the ****ing recliner back!)

There's only 2 circumstances where I've wanted more room.
1) 2011 on a Dragonair flight (not the Pokémon, the airline based out of Hong Kong). I had a window seat and had to have my legs at 45 degree angles. After the meal, I asked to move as the plane was like only 30% full, so I moved to a bulkhead seat.
2) My current seats in 2012-13 at AAMI. Row B in the Terraces where I am are ****ed. My knees are right in the back of the seat in front of me. If my dad gets his legs in place first, I'm ****ed. Luckily the season ticket holders behind me in Row C only turn up for 4-5 games in the last 2 years and that bay has A LOT more leg room, so most of the time I can just move there. Only 3 games this year or last where I couldn't move there.

AFL @ Adelaide's Oval - That time is now.