Roast AFL admits umps wrong

Typical really, always in our game this shit happens too, then you don't see another game all year unpired the same way until round 18 when they try and pull some other bullshit rule and manipulate it for a weekend.

*unpired isn't a typo either

Actually love how Hardwick handled it - because the way he commented kept him out of trouble and just further highlighted the umpires inadequacies, especially now that he AFL have come out with this.
Yep. Perfect response. Put them on notice without incriminating himself.

I don't understand how the McIntosh one was considered marginal, if anything that was the worst one of the lot.
McIntosh was outside the protected area, if the player with the ball moves, the protected area doesn't move with him, he's the one initiating how close he is to the running player.
If they are going to rule this way then it could be used by players deliberately if they are smart to try and get an easy 50m penalty

Probably the worst full game of umpiring I’ve ever seen. And for the few calls they got right it took them like 4 seconds to blow the whistle. I’d rather we didn’t get half the frees we got if it meant the umps didn’t slow the game to a Carlton crawl.

It’s about time we got rid of amateur umpires and start paying them real money.

Rosebury is normally one of the better ones going around he also had a stinker. Can you be out of form as an ump? Fisher is hopeless but I can’t recall seeing hosking before. He had an absolute mare

Probably the worst full game of umpiring I’ve ever seen. And for the few calls they got right it took them like 4 seconds to blow the whistle. I’d rather we didn’t get half the frees we got if it meant the umps didn’t slow the game to a Carlton crawl.

It’s about time we got rid of amateur umpires and start paying them real money.
Interesting thought. Finals umpiring where they let a lot go lets us take advantage of the game with our speed, fitness and pressure.

Just gotta make the 8 and it's BTB :D

It wouldn't surprise if the umps 'corrected' next week and paid a few softies our way, especially after Dimma was a good boy and didn't dump them in it (well...not directly...).

The fun part is we play the Cows, and can you imagine the saltiness of their reaction if we get a few soft frees going our way?

All based around gambling. This is why I don’t bet on footy. Richmond $2 for over 30 points looked a moral and easy pickings until the umps came along.

definitely seemed fishy. worst part is no one will remember by next week and they'll get away with it

Week 1 - Worst team on ground - Umpires 'Richmond v Carlton'.

I was chatting to a couple of mates about it and they reckon its prety bad when the winning team complain about the umpires.

Game was only in the balance because of them. I agree it’s such an anomaly the afl had to look into it.

Fair play to most CFC fans that have two brain cells to rub together that recognised it was bullshit. And not just the 50 m penalties

The afl is just out of touch with supporters. I go to 50 games a year and have literally never ever once thought gee there needs to be a 10m protected area around the player who has just been paid a mark/free

Just tell players to clear out if they are to close, if they then influence the game pay a 50,but just running past and copping a 50m penalty is ridiculous

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Game was only in the balance because of them. I agree it’s such an anomaly the afl had to look into it.

Fair play to most CFC fans that have two brain cells to rub together that recognised it was bullshit. And not just the 50 m penalties

Yeah Mrs GN272 is a blue and we were at the game - she was scratching her head too....

Some would suggest that it's a ###### disgrace that blokes, some who get paid 10 or 20 times the amount these guys do, miss targets by foot from 10 metres, or can't hit another bloke five metres away with a handball, or miss goals from set shots in the goal square of 15 metres out! But one and all laud them.
Everyone makes mistakes.
Totally irrelevant comment. Totally.
We are talking about umpires incompetency here. That is all. Players' incompetence is another discussion.

Seriously what a bunch of incompetent campaigners. How many times do we get dry rooted on farcical costly decisions to have the umps dept later apologise during the week.
Jack shepherd v freo, goal reversed
The bs touched goal reversed and overstep mark v gws
In 2016 v pies, cotch had free out of guts 30 sec left , about 4 oppo encroached the protected zone , completely ignored

It’s gotta stop. Our club should demand A grade umpires officiate our games , we re the ****en jewel in the crown to the afl and deserve better , much better
Sorry mate but players are there to stretch the rules, umpires are there to enforce...the rules, not make up rules, which is what they are doing

The afl said they made errors for Carlton, I would like to know their thoughts on that one given the way they ‘interperted’ The rule all night,

Sorry but this is bordering on cheating, or dare I say matchfixing
Yea we have reason to feel strongly , 3G that were later apologised for could have cost us victory , in many cases it would. Not good enough the interpretation could be so far wrong then worse still inconsistently applied

The afl said they made errors for Carlton, I would like to know their thoughts on that one given the way they ‘interperted’ The rule all night,

Sorry but this is bordering on cheating, or dare I say matchfixing

We were just caught out in a new interpretation of the rule. It could just easily been Carlton. Before the season started, and probably before the game, "remember to watch the 10m zone" I bet was mentioned to the umpires. The went stupid on it and nearly cost us the game.

Other games now are back to normal programming. So not so much cheating as incompetence.

We were just caught out in a new interpretation of the rule. It could just easily been Carlton. Before the season started, and probably before the game, "remember to watch the 10m zone" I bet was mentioned to the umpires. The went stupid on it and nearly cost us the game.

Other games now are back to normal programming. So not so much cheating as incompetence.
Go and look at the butler kick with Murphy standing next to him and explain the interpertation to me?

It’s in the post I quoted from Bojangles17

So don’t say we were caught out, why were we and not the other club?

Call it for what it is cheating, I know we as australians NEVER cheat , cue Australian Cricket Team, essendon, but call it for what it is

Go and look at the butler kick with Murphy standing next to him and explain the interpertation to me?

It’s in the post I quoted from Bojangles17

So don’t say we were caught out, why were we and not the other club?

Call it for what it is cheating, I know we as australians NEVER cheat , cue Australian Cricket Team, essendon, but call it for what it is

OK. If we are going down the conspiracy theory route. Perhaps the AFL have "suggested" to the umpire boss, "as you know we want an open free flowing high scoring game, so Richmond are using high pressure defensive tactics working against that, so really make sure you police them when you get the chance, especially on the 10m zone when they are trying to flood back".

So explain Murphy standing next to butler, it was the same game and at that point in time they had not admitted they were wrong, I’m not suggesting the AFL I’m suggesting umpires and betting. Just FYI Richmond under 39 paid $2-50 Richmond winningpaid $1.19

cant completely rule that out, ill look at some clips of finals to see any evidence of that. it makes sense if a player drifts past you've effectively eliminated a % of options as the player with ball looks elsewhere