AFL and Chinese TV form a new deal following millions tuning in to watch Port

Have you ever been to China?

For oldies, the TV is always on while they eat dinner and play mahjong.

For younger chinese, they don't like CCTV, and prefer the other stations that are seen as more relevant to them. In the words of my wife, she never wants to see another ancient China soap, ww2 drama, or hour long update on what the president ate for breakie.

TV watching is still big, just that its migrating from the national broadcaster. Shows like that stupid dating show, that stupid kids show, and various singing talent shows are very big other there.

As for kids, they live on tablets and PCs these days. Gaming addiction is a massive issue over there

The more things change the more they stay the same .... cooking shows, talent shows, games shows, gambling via crown bet etc, kids on playstation - no, not China but Australia.

I think, however, the AFL should not allow Port to broadcast products or sell rights to do so, the national and international broadcasting of the game should be the sole domain of the commission, it would set a dangerous precedent in which if the AFL does not fight for it's right to be the sole broadcaster, then other clubs in the future could challenge the AFL's authority to do so in other markets.

Up till now the international market has been left to the AFL to come up with valid ideas how to export the game for a profit. Result: nothing workable.

Why shouldn't the AFL club that invested in opening a particular foreign market have first dibs on it? Why shouldn't the club that's taken the risk, been wise enough to take local advice and act on it long-term - I say again: long-term - and design and build the stage have the right to declare its terms when the AFL tells them: Thanks very much, we have decided to examine the viability of playing a game in your foreign marketplace for premiership points.

I have personally been involved in this project since it started in September 2013. Some dare to suggest I started it. That might be true, or partly true, or not true at all, depending if you're David Koch or not.
I have been a resident of Hong Kong for 45 years, visited Beijing on business for the first time in 1980, Shanghai for the first time in 1984, and just about everywhere else in China since then from coal mines in the north to chicken farms in the south, from silk factories in the east to soup canneries in the west.
Why the hell should I assist the football club I have supported since I was a kid 60+ years ago to establish a market for itself in Hong Kong and China, just to let the sluggards from the other 17 clubs come in subsequently and claim equality?

Do your own work. Do your own thinking outside the box. Do your own research. Find your own crazy lifelong club supporter who has set up his or her home and family in some other market, and take his or her advice, take advantage of his or her contacts. Imprint your own brand there ... and lay down your own terms to the AFL - who have, by the way, adopted for the time being the Port Adelaide method as its future template for selected international markets. At present I understand these are India (Essendon / Richmond) and New Zealand (St Kilda, now planning their second attempt having screwed up the first when they chose the wrong city).

Take interest in the AFL International Cup being played in Victoria next year. See which countries have a base on which to build. Who cares if it's mostly played by expats there. Of course it is. Find the right expat at the tournament, one of the coaches or managers. Treat him to a tour of your club facilities, buy him a beer, send him home with a big head and a mission. If he's the right expat with the right contacts and a brain, and if he's a true supporter of your club ... you've made your own start.

I'm pretty happy with how things have gone and are going for my club in China. I just decided to reward myself for my involvement by reading this thread, every comment. Some are worse than others. You see, I'm not just crazy, I'm a masochist.

Up till now the international market has been left to the AFL to come up with valid ideas how to export the game for a profit. Result: nothing workable.

Great post, keep up the good work and Im sure there is a very good opportunity to grow our great game is a massive new market.

Who knows down the track there might be a couple failed Melbourne teams relocated to China playing out of the big Chinese cities like Beijing and Shanghai

Dissapointed to see some of the negative and redneck comments on here. I am a Saints fan but Port should be commended for taking the greatest game in the world to the biggest market in the world. I for one would love to see the game on the world stage (no better starting point than China). Anyone that doesn't wants to have a good hard look at themselves. Well done Port Adelaide and well done to the Chinese community for getting behind it.

Asia in general is where our code makes sense expanding too from an international perspective (geographic and business wise). Bigger markets like China, Japan, Korea and India to tap into than the US or Europe. Port should be getting a lot more credit for breaking into China at all because I don't believe anyone bar Nostradamus saw that coming. But as a Port fan I will admit to finding it funny that we're the "away" team for this.

Although, the Shanghai Suns has a nice ring about it.

The Chinese playing rugby is actually good for our game I would have thought - the changeover is less dramatic and lets face it our game is far superior IMHO.

You don't reckon a nation of 1.5 billion is capable of playing a few team sports?

Having seen his posts over a period of time, i am pretty sure he doesn't even like football, so i would have thought he thinks anything but footy will do OK.

Well they're not fat.

Why shouldn't the AFL club that invested in opening a particular foreign market have first dibs on it? Why shouldn't the club that's taken the risk, been wise enough to take local advice and act on it long-term - I say again: long-term - and design and build the stage have the right to declare its terms when the AFL tells them: Thanks very much, we have decided to examine the viability of playing a game in your foreign marketplace for premiership points.

I have personally been involved in this project since it started in September 2013. Some dare to suggest I started it. That might be true, or partly true, or not true at all, depending if you're David Koch or not.
I have been a resident of Hong Kong for 45 years, visited Beijing on business for the first time in 1980, Shanghai for the first time in 1984, and just about everywhere else in China since then from coal mines in the north to chicken farms in the south, from silk factories in the east to soup canneries in the west.
Why the hell should I assist the football club I have supported since I was a kid 60+ years ago to establish a market for itself in Hong Kong and China, just to let the sluggards from the other 17 clubs come in subsequently and claim equality?

Do your own work. Do your own thinking outside the box. Do your own research. Find your own crazy lifelong club supporter who has set up his or her home and family in some other market, and take his or her advice, take advantage of his or her contacts. Imprint your own brand there ... and lay down your own terms to the AFL - who have, by the way, adopted for the time being the Port Adelaide method as its future template for selected international markets. At present I understand these are India (Essendon / Richmond) and New Zealand (St Kilda, now planning their second attempt having screwed up the first when they chose the wrong city).

Take interest in the AFL International Cup being played in Victoria next year. See which countries have a base on which to build. Who cares if it's mostly played by expats there. Of course it is. Find the right expat at the tournament, one of the coaches or managers. Treat him to a tour of your club facilities, buy him a beer, send him home with a big head and a mission. If he's the right expat with the right contacts and a brain, and if he's a true supporter of your club ... you've made your own start.

I'm pretty happy with how things have gone and are going for my club in China. I just decided to reward myself for my involvement by reading this thread, every comment. Some are worse than others. You see, I'm not just crazy, I'm a masochist.

Considering the ups & downs of PA I think you should thank the AFL for helping to establish & support the club through its 'undulating' path in the AFL to date. With this in mind your somewhat self interested comments about other clubs/ the AFL being involved for some gain seem rather selfish.

Looking as a casual observer of the ups & downs of the Chinese 'miracle', having visited their, & heard of many various business ventures, adventures & disasters, who would Port rely on for help if this venture actually becomes one of those disasters.?

Is this perhaps a case of 'privatise your profits' & 'socialise your losses'? ;)

I mean I hope it does well, but Im not so confident seeing some of the Chinese politics of ventures & businesses that come from outside that country.

Also, do the Chinese provide the oxygen masks for players in that very polluted city?

Considering the ups & downs of PA I think you should thank the AFL for helping to establish & support the club through its 'undulating' path in the AFL to date. With this in mind your somewhat self interested comments about other clubs/ the AFL being involved for some gain seem rather selfish.

Looking as a casual observer of the ups & downs of the Chinese 'miracle', having visited their, & heard of many various business ventures, adventures & disasters, who would Port rely on for help if this venture actually becomes one of those disasters.?

Is this perhaps a case of 'privatise your profits' & 'socialise your losses'? ;)

I mean I hope it does well, but Im not so confident seeing some of the Chinese politics of ventures & businesses that come from outside that country.

Also, do the Chinese provide the oxygen masks for players in that very polluted city?

Speaking to a mate yesterday, just back from a china trip he reckons the pollution is incredibly bad and not spoken about, people are extremely hospitable, but life is cheap and business must be built up over a period of time with credible sources as what you may buy ( bulk) may not turn out to work or look like was offered etc.

Define 'disaster'?

Would have thought it's that no-one shows up. Big deal, so they never play there again. It isn't even one of their home games. What help do you think they need?

You don't reckon a nation of 1.5 billion is capable of playing a few team sports?
I do, but we have to accept that to get anywhere near RU and Soccer in China the AFL are going to have to spend millions would you agree?

Having seen his posts over a period of time, i am pretty sure he doesn't even like football, so i would have thought he thinks anything but footy will do OK.
You do appear to struggle with my veracious comments.

Good luck to Port with it. It might work, it might not. A city of 14m gives it some chance. It will need to be a long term investment before anything can be said either way.
The only issue I have is using an away game for it.

That's a big word, 100% sure you are using it in the wrong context, this from a bloke who thinks a sellout is only when a stadium is full to capacity rather than a stadium who has sold out of tickets

I do, but we have to accept that to get anywhere near RU and Soccer in China the AFL are going to have to spend millions would you agree?

The point is not to get "anywhere near" soccer and rugby in china. At the very least it's Port Adelaide and Gold Coast making a buck. To the extent any interest takes in terms of participation or tv viewing is a bonus

That's a big word, 100% sure you are using it in the wrong context, this from a bloke who thinks a sellout is only when a stadium is full to capacity rather than a stadium who has sold out of tickets
I'm 100% sure I'm using it in the right context.
You have shown from many of your previous posts you do struggle to understand things at times, and again even on this thread your appear to be struggling.
I just ask the question "Is English your first language?

I'm 100% sure I'm using it in the right context.
You have shown from many of your previous posts you do struggle to understand things at times, and again even on this thread your appear to be struggling.
I just ask the question "Is English your first language?

I actually like football, that is why I post on this site.

What are your reasons ?.

Why do you even bother with the charade ?