AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&s...BBRnHO62g&sig2=cZKGA9s5FFKXIYO_4AHg2w&cad=rja

this will help,

yes it was, to stop the poaching that was rife back a few years ago. Garry Young (league pres) formulated the scheme based on what happening south where he was involved

And NO it wasn't brought in because of SJ, it was announced before he was named coach at Souths

The points system was formulated in 2008 and implicated in 2009.... SJ was coaching in 2007.. so whether it was bought in because of SJ,, that is open to everyone's opinion.. but the facts are that he's was coaching 2 years before the points system come into AFL Cairns

Centrals' problem has been their depth in the 1sts. I doubt many of their bottom senior players will make much difference in the twos.

Without the top 5 or 6 guys from their seniors, they wouldn't beat Port or Saints reserves with their senior team.

I'd feel more concerned about the 6 or 7 guys who won't get a game in the twos for the rest of the year and may have played their last game for the club because they've brought in some new players.

Hopefully the GC Suns get over the line in a close one this Saturday. Looking forward to watching that.

Centrals I think will have a good win this week. Especially if some of their new recruits have been cleared (haven't looked at the clearances list this week).

Hawks.... as I have said before I am a realist, we all know City wont get close, but it will be a positive for the Lions if we could go down by only 60-80 points.

& Saints to easily account for Norths.

Ok you blokes you can't keep going on blaming SJ for everything. The man is no longer here to defend himself. He is a personal friend of mine whom I sure will be only too willing to discuss Australian Football with you. Let me know and I'll pass on the message.

And Lachrilly, I nearly fell out of my chair when I seen on here that you agreed with me......LOL

Ok you blokes you can't keep going on blaming SJ for everything. The man is no longer here to defend himself. He is a personal friend of mine whom I sure will be only too willing to discuss Australian Football with you. Let me know and I'll pass on the message.

And Lachrilly, I nearly fell out of my chair when I seen on here that you agreed with me......LOL

I know i had to double check just to make sure

Ok fellas I got a question everyone should have a crack at. Who in recent times lets say the last 5 years would u consider to be the most talented. I was gonna say who is the "best"player but that could mean many things. So I'll ask for the most talented or u could say freakish or athletic however u want to say it. This will be interesting seeing everyone's opinions. I'll go first now I not being picking this fella just cause he an ex hawk and I played with him but I would say the biggest freak of an athlete that I have ever seen would be Ryan cypher. He in my oppinion could walk into any afl club. He was unstoppable and Mick percel the coach at the time would simply let him do whatever he wanted out on the field he would play wherever he wanted....freak enough said have your turn.

Tamba made the statement that Sj was'nt here when the point system was'tn in... which was wrong.. so how was it that we were having at The league or individuals involved in impluctating the points system regardles of infulention coaches

Tamba.... i opologies.... it is Flintstone i am refering to ... my humble apologies

Ok fellas I got a question everyone should have a crack at. Who in recent times lets say the last 5 years would u consider to be the most talented. I was gonna say who is the "best"player but that could mean many things. So I'll ask for the most talented or u could say freakish or athletic however u want to say it. This will be interesting seeing everyone's opinions. I'll go first now I not being picking this fella just cause he an ex hawk and I played with him but I would say the biggest freak of an athlete that I have ever seen would be Ryan cypher. He in my oppinion could walk into any afl club. He was unstoppable and Mick percel the coach at the time would simply let him do whatever he wanted out on the field he would play wherever he wanted....freak enough said have your turn.

Josh Dicketts...... Enough Said

Tamba.... i opologies.... it is Flintstone i am refering to ... my humble apologies

Blueeyes I never said SJ wasn't here when the points system was introduced. I'm at a lost in regards to your post, are there some typo's??

Josh Dicketts...... Enough Said

Dicketts easily end of story... why else would Hawks set out to run through him in the GF and put him in hospital. Was his last game of AFL to... sad way for his career to end

The question from Jackblack should have been outside of Josh Dicketts who was the most talented....

Havent' seen enough footy up here but I reckon Matt Walsh, although he is a bit limited to one area of the ground and relies on his midfield to 'look good'. He has good speed, leap, hands, kicking and catches most balls that come his way, I would have loved to see him play a few years ago. He has been consistently the best forward for years from all reports.

On another note, haven't been in town to read the papers but going from the what I hear and see online AFL Cairns have done a fantastic job with the Tigers v Suns game this weekend. Involving the kids with clinics, $2 entry for them, pre game with Holland playing.... it leaves Rugby miles behind. I think we will do it better than NT and we would be stupid not to apply for a NEAFL team in the next 2 years to continue to move forward.

I for one look forward to tomorrow. Well Done to all involved.

JackBlack, this is a hard question. There are a few fellows from different clubs with different outstanding qualities. Kennedy springs to mind. Andrew Browning is another, the big fella knew how to bend his back and get hold of the Sherrin. :confused::confused:

Agree with Browning he was a freak and everyone up here didnt get to see Kennedy or Walsh at their peak.

Browning was a terrific footballer and good bloke the only blip on his time up here was the fact that Matt Hammond toweled him in up in the GF.

Personally I think that is quite inappropriate,
if you are not carrying on with others from all clubs

----make it a series then in might be funny.

I had a bit of respect for Plugger3, you were looking at joining us at the start/ or made inquiries,

But now you have belittled yourself & your age mentality,

GIVE the man a chance, Chris is a good friend of mine since he came on board & will back him, he has tried to improve Souths & football in general here in Cairns, why did he make the local Rep side if he was just a seagull, Andy Viola ( an astute coach ) wouldn't have him as a player in the Rep. squad if he thought this & all, most of you want to bag him, you should be ashamed of the rubbish you put him through or are some of you Blatant jealous of some of his abilities & your short comings

(at least the club has won more games & have been above competitive compared to last year when we were under Robbie Douglas, even his own sons were members of the squad of 16 that walked out on the club, a few even signed contracts, then left & refused to be coached by him & their old man, it was not because of money, they were offered enough, but most were greedy, yes we tightened the reins but there was enough around for all)

Steve Symonds was our choice of coach till loured away to NTFL & fantastic career move for him, because Cairns AFL (you know who) pissed farted around about the job offer here.

Chris only applied as assistant coach & was awarded with that by the 5 member selection panel, till thrown in the deep end, he then accepted the upgrade in roll after assurances he was up to the position of Head Coach of South Cairns by Steve S, Lance the Pres, (alias the Penguin) plus the rest of the Selection panel & committee.

Tamba, I think you should let the selection panel know to start looking for a new coach for next season. As previously said on this forum from various sources the bloke moves town every season. Just check the resume he gave you for evidence.

My sources from AFL Mt Isa said he gave a minimum 2 year committment to the side he coached in 2010 (some may be surprised by that fact), yet lasted one season and left town within days of the season finishing.

Saints got over a determined Norths today by a few goals. Matt Walsh was probably the difference kicking 9. Norths showed some good signs with their pace a concern for Saints
Saints won the 2's easily by about 10 goals or so. Saints played well after half time to run away with it. Norths didnt have the good skills of Saints but Norths did win the report count with one idiot hitting one of Saints young players behind play. Then when a few of the older bigger bodied players stood up to him he complained to the umpire. Very weak effort and hope he gets a number of weeks.

Saints were too strong for Norths but not by much...

I missed this incident but I couldn't miss the Saints water boy in a flying rage repeatedly yelling at the umpire "PROTECT THE *ing KIDS" which got him tossed from the ground, while a bunch of children stood by me on the sidelines with :confused: ?

hmmm whats a worse example for kids, 2 blokes getting into it and the umpire handling it, or 2 blokes getting into it, the umpire handling it and the water boy carrying on at the top of his lungs for 5 minutes while getting escorted off the ground? :rolleyes: Some people need to just think and take a look around before losing it..

All up though was a great day at Watson's with some of my mates kids playing in the junior footy earlier in the day I got to hang around the whole day, its great to see that Norths as a club are moving on in a great way!

How good was the umpiring in the 1s! :thumbsdown:

Saints were too strong for Norths but not by much...

I missed this incident but I couldn't miss the Saints water boy in a flying rage repeatedly yelling at the umpire "PROTECT THE *ing KIDS" which got him tossed from the ground, while a bunch of children stood by me on the sidelines with :confused: ?

hmmm whats a worse example for kids, 2 blokes getting into it and the umpire handling it, or 2 blokes getting into it, the umpire handling it and the water boy carrying on at the top of his lungs for 5 minutes while getting escorted off the ground? :rolleyes: Some people need to just think and take a look around before losing it..

All up though was a great day at Watson's with some of my mates kids playing in the junior footy earlier in the day I got to hang around the whole day, its great to see that Norths as a club are moving on in a great way!

How good was the umpiring in the 1s! :thumbsdown:

The water boy was the first to go up to the umpires after the game and say sorry (I'm not saying what he did was acceptable)... Standing there when the ball is 100m away and watching a thug with tats all up his neck punch a 17yr old who weighs 60kgs wringing wet in the face though I would be more disapointed if nothing was said just maybe once would ahve been enough. The thug then put his arms in the air to celebrate when some of the delightful Nth supporters on the hill cheered for what he had done....

Nth's took it up to the Saints in both games however in the words of their coach at 3 quarter time 'they just lay there and took it up the ar*e' haha All is not well down at Nths either with players complaining about certain players only kicking to each other.. was very obvious yesterday

All too common theme on this board is standing up for violence and equating it with verbal abuse.

One is so entirely different to the other that it's ridiculous to contemplate them being compared.

An adult physically striking another adult is innumerable times worse for kids to see than a waterboy carrying on verbally and being sent from the field.

'two blokes getting into it'. It is this type of attitude which is the problem, that two people fighting on the field (resulting in a report) is a common thing and entirely ok, but when the waterboy starts yelling, that's a terrible crime?!?!

Tamba, I think you should let the selection panel know to start looking for a new coach for next season. As previously said on this forum from various sources the bloke moves town every season. Just check the resume he gave you for evidence.

My sources from AFL Mt Isa said he gave a minimum 2 year committment to the side he coached in 2010 (some may be surprised by that fact), yet lasted one season and left town within days of the season finishing.

Bruno first off, it is written in the Cutters constitution that they advertise each year for a Senior and Reserve's coach. This has been written on this forum previously.

Secondly, would you stay in Mt Isa for 2 years? Seriously mate, I've been to Mt Isa and wouldn't blame anyone for wanting to leave there. It's a dirty s**t hole. I was only too happy to get out of there when I was there.

All too common theme on this board is standing up for violence and equating it with verbal abuse.

One is so entirely different to the other that it's ridiculous to contemplate them being compared.

An adult physically striking another adult is innumerable times worse for kids to see than a waterboy carrying on verbally and being sent from the field.

'two blokes getting into it'. It is this type of attitude which is the problem, that two people fighting on the field (resulting in a report) is a common thing and entirely ok, but when the waterboy starts yelling, that's a terrible crime?!?!

I don't know why, but I actually agree with Saint on this one. It's sometimes hard to control your emotions, without being at the game, it sounds like it got quite emotive. Out and out thuggery should be stopped at all levels of the game and this includes juniors. So many times this year I have seen juniors as young as nine play dirty. This is obviously something that is encouraged at the respective clubs. Without naming these clubs, they should really be ashamed of themselves. If you prevent it from happening at junior level, it will have been worked out of the game when these kids go onto playing senior footy. As always it continues to be a cycle that won't be broken. Responsible clubs should be teaching the kids the right way. I say to the clubs that promote dirty tactics, if you want to continue this way, don't whinge when your kid gets their comeuppence. Going out and taking somebody out for the sake of taking them out is the wrong message to be sending to the future of our great game. One thing to think about is the retention rates.