AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

I have spoken to umpire coach and he sent an email, training starts soon i think, i have no ideas on numbers but he did say they lost heaps 2 years ago so numbers are not great, perhaps if i lose the other 15kg i might be able to do double headers!!. will let you know more when i find out. Does anyone have any contact details for whoever is organising cooma carnival

Baby steps DJ lol... no double headers straight away :p

I'd like to know which teams are playing in the Cooma carnival! Is it open to anyone? Also is it possible for other comps teams to come down and have a crack?

The Cooma Carnival is planned to be small for 09, and if a success, hoping to grow in future years.

I believe they are aiming for either 4 or 6 teams, with one from Sydney and one from the far South Coast confirmed, and potentially 3 other sides from the Canberra competition. All is to be confirmed in the near future.

I have spoken to umpire coach and he sent an email, training starts soon i think, i have no ideas on numbers but he did say they lost heaps 2 years ago so numbers are not great, perhaps if i lose the other 15kg i might be able to do double headers!!. will let you know more when i find out. Does anyone have any contact details for whoever is organising cooma carnival
Hey dj i think you will make a good umpire because you haven;t even blown a whistle yet and your already giving me the sh**s.

Double headers who are you kidding ,:rolleyes: And don;t bother responding i dont want to hear it.
Applaud the weight loss but please please get over yourself.:D

Hey dj i think you will make a good umpire because you haven;t even blown a whistle yet and your already giving me the sh**s.

Double headers who are you kidding ,:rolleyes: And don;t bother responding i dont want to hear it.

Gold lol :p

oh heck now youve done it!!!!!! whyyyyyyy!!!!!

hi juicy, how can i not reply to that, and i thought we were becoming friends. a little news for everyone, i read on forum that ben holland (afl) is playing at katamatite (population about 200 ) picola league and nick davis may be playing with deniliquin ( murray league) and if things go to plan shane crawford may be going home to play a few games for finley.

<i>i read on forum that ben holland (afl) is playing at katamatite (population about 200 ) picola league and nick davis may be playing with deniliquin ( murray league) and if things go to plan shane crawford may be going home to play a few games for finley</i>

I didn't realise these three bum fcuk idaho towns had joined the Canberra District League.

You will make a good ump Ando - no idea of what is going on, no ability to keep the conversation flowing and enjoyable, and pointlessly blowing the whistle on obscure news and rules that nobody knows about! :D

<i>i read on forum that ben holland (afl) is playing at katamatite (population about 200 ) picola league and nick davis may be playing with deniliquin ( murray league) and if things go to plan shane crawford may be going home to play a few games for finley</i>

I didn't realise these three bum fcuk idaho towns had joined the Canberra District League.

You will make a good ump Ando - no idea of what is going on, no ability to keep the conversation flowing and enjoyable, and pointlessly blowing the whistle on obscure news and rules that nobody knows about! :D

best. sledge. ever

Hey all,

I've been following this forum for a short while. It's most entertaining and quite informative.

I thought I'd join in, but I'm not hiding behind a pseudonym. I'm happy for you to know who I am.

I've noticed the occasional comment about umpires. Any of you who know me might be aware that after retiring from playing a few years ago I've now joined the dark side and become an umpire.

My motivation for becoming an umpire was a desire to get back on the footy field to have a run around. But I knew I had become too old, slow and fragile to play the game any more so umpiring was the logical choice. Some of you might say I was old, slow and fragile a long time before I actually gave the game away!!

It's been enjoyable having a look at our great game from a different perspective, getting to know how others think about the game, learning how and why rules are interpretted in a particular way, getting accustomed to running to completely different positions than you would as a player and generally giving back to the game in a way not many players get to do.

If there's anyone out there thinking about retiring or has recently retired, if you've just about succumbed to those injuries that have dogged you for the last few years or if you are just looking for a way to keep fit I'd highly recommend giving umpiring a go. As one of my current umpiring colleagues said "ex-players make good umpires...we just have to teach them the rules first".

Anyway, from a former player and coach's perspective I'm happy to answer any questions you might have about the transition to umpiring and would wlecome any of you at training, which at the moment is one run a week but will move to Tuesdays and Thursdays as from 5 Feb.

Michael

Good to have your on board.

For info, I have centrally umpired a couple of games when out injured and we did not have umpires, run (walked the boundary) a couple of times, and performed goal umpire duties once over the last 12 years.

I'm well aware its not an easy job - my jibe was aimed more at Ando than the general fraternity.

Many of the umpires we had in 08 were good to very good and let the game flow. The only times where I saw games decend into farce (late hits, cheap shots etc) were games where the umpires had failed to let games flow and players get on with their jobs. Players became frustrated by the over-zealous interpretations and ridiculous nitpicking, and from there emotions spill over into 50's and reports.

In many cases, its better for the flow of the game for players and spectators if an ump chooses to swallow their whistle, and not over react at any player frustration at their decisions.

Good luck in 09 - and I hope your numbers are boosted and the umpires receive quality training, coaching and feedback on their performances.

(Most the blokes on here know who I am - PM me if you want my name)

Michael

Good to have your on board.

For info, I have centrally umpired a couple of games when out injured and we did not have umpires, run (walked the boundary) a couple of times, and performed goal umpire duties once over the last 12 years.

I'm well aware its not an easy job - my jibe was aimed more at Ando than the general fraternity.

Many of the umpires we had in 08 were good to very good and let the game flow. The only times where I saw games decend into farce (late hits, cheap shots etc) were games where the umpires had failed to let games flow and players get on with their jobs. Players became frustrated by the over-zealous interpretations and ridiculous nitpicking, and from there emotions spill over into 50's and reports.

In many cases, its better for the flow of the game for players and spectators if an ump chooses to swallow their whistle, and not over react at any player frustration at their decisions.

Good luck in 09 - and I hope your numbers are boosted and the umpires receive quality training, coaching and feedback on their performances.

(Most the blokes on here know who I am - PM me if you want my name)
without the umpires we dont have a sport to play so how about some of you blokes get off andos back and give him credit for at least giving it a go!

LOL come on Saint... Just about everyone that has given Ando grief, in the same breath have said good on him for giving it ago.

Ando is a big boy (pun intended :p) and I am sure that If words on an Internet forum were to upset him he would say so.
Kudos to you for defending a mate :thumbsu: but It is only the Internet :rolleyes:

A month or two ago I gave AFL Canberra praise on presenting a fantastic draft draw for the 2009 season....then they go and F#ck it up!

Looks like Round 1 has been moved into the spot where there is normally a general bye for the June long weekend (and rep footy carnival). Not only will this cause issues for the rep team (which is becoming more and more competitive each year after more support was being shown by clubs and players), it also means that the teams that play in Round 9 will also play again in Round 10 (but at different grounds of course).

I guess I cannot be too critical, apparently the movement of Round 1 was due to lack of available grounds, and despite this one flaw, the rest of the draw looks pretty good!

I have provided a link to the draw for 3s, if anyone is interested.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=7569090&sectionID=54793

I think BMFC are keen to send a team to the Cooma comp next month.

Good luck to Ando with his biggest loser aspirations. Ando, you should consider going on the TV program of the same name as well:D

With all teams getting into preseason, are there any interesting "recruits" out there?

Games on the June long weekend? Now that is f**king ridiculous.

Half our team has already booked a trip to Melbourne for that weekend as its the one weekend you are guarenteed off footy over the course of the season...

Wouldn't it be better to move R1 to R18 and move the finals series back a week?

That is what i thought as well, but i bet that would cause issues with ground availability (and resources???) at finals - especially a GF at Manuka, as the Div 1 and Div 2 are listed t oplay their GFs on 5th September.
CD should do a top 5 for finals, that would give an extra week of footy and that means we would have our GF the week after the ACTAFL. A prelim final would be played on Sunday 6th September so it doesnt clash with Div 1 and Div 2 GFs. If you look at the 3s comp last year, any team from first through to seventh would have been competitive in finals in 2008.

I'd had a chat and raised our concerns with the League. I would hope other clubs who read this do so as well...

Very quite on hear at the moment,whats the go ? Im thinking with most into pre season training there must be something of interest to mention.
Any body got any new recruits ,What about players to watch out for during the season?.:)

That is what i thought as well, but i bet that would cause issues with ground availability (and resources???) at finals - especially a GF at Manuka, as the Div 1 and Div 2 are listed t oplay their GFs on 5th September.
CD should do a top 5 for finals, that would give an extra week of footy and that means we would have our GF the week after the ACTAFL. A prelim final would be played on Sunday 6th September so it doesnt clash with Div 1 and Div 2 GFs. If you look at the 3s comp last year, any team from first through to seventh would have been competitive in finals in 2008.
Hey two bobs top 5 would have helped you last year that way ferrets team could have knocked you,s out earlier and saved you the embarsment :p of yet another grand final loss:eek:

Very quite on hear at the moment,whats the go ? Im thinking with most into pre season training there must be something of interest to mention.
Any body got any new recruits ,What about players to watch out for during the season?.:)
Hi Juicy, yes it is very quiet. I was trying to pen a response to the last comment i was slammed on. still thinking.... I trained with yass on tuesday night and morale was very good. :). Jets v yass round one. should be good . I wonder if that may be my first official game as umpy. If so make sure you rib me enough juicy so i can work out who you are.