AFL Canberra - Season 2011

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Good for him, doesn't mean he gets to write off Shirley as a player in the Canberra competition before a ball has even been kicked in anger. ;)

Definitely wasn't writting him off (why so defensive?)

I have seen it here before, that many higher profile players have come down with the attitude that it is a lower level competition and they can stroll around and be the big fish in the small pond.

If his attitude is as it needs to be then he will be a big asset, if not he may as well stay in SA and get great coin from Country SA.

This league is better than people give it credit for.

After all if he is coming to Ainslie it would only be for the cash...nothing more, nothing less!

jason tutt picked up in the draft from ainslie... pick #31 to Western Bulldogs... congrats to him, another loss for ainslie :thumbsu:

Daniel Archer Appointed Eastlake Coach

The Eastlake Football Club has appointed 32 year old Daniel Archer as non playing coach for the next 2 years.

Daniel is the State Coaching Manager for AFL (NSW/ACT), a level 3 coach with experience in AFL Sydney as

coach of U18 Sydney North team, the AFL Sydney U21 Development Coach, Sydney University , University of NSW as well as Assistant Coach with the AFL Sydney Representative side.

Daniel’s playing career involves stints in Queensland AFL with Mt Gravatt in QAFL, University of Queensland and West Brisbane in QAFL and was a QAFL representative player

EFC Football Manager Keith Miller said Daniel impressed the club with his knowledge and passion for the game. He will move to Canberra in January but will organize pre-Christmas training with the assistance of Eastlake players and other coaching staff.

jason tutt picked up in the draft from ainslie... pick #31 to Western Bulldogs... congrats to him, another loss for ainslie :thumbsu:

That is great news for Tutty..congratulations and best of luck. We will be watching with interest:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Now a rumour or 2 to get tongues wagging -

My mail is that N.Clarke accepted the Belconnen offer after being promised the coaching job in 2011...Anyone out North have the balls to confirm this? Is this Bubba's wishes or is it unknown to him?

He did speak to the Tigers but the club couldn't commit to him coaching the 1st grade in 2011.

Also staying with The Magpies - Both Steve Maher & Ken Merideth were offered the Gungahlin job. Maher indicated he wanted time away from footy and may assist in some way down the track while Merideth also indicated he would help in some small way....Michael Horne was also approached but may have some involvement with AFL Academy Team @ AIS.

The Swans now having a full list to chose from

At times last year the Swans played below their 13 quota and were unable to rotate senior players off the bench as there were none there.

The squad is fuller again and potentially a lot less injured.

However it is very young and at times perhaps the better teams will get too physical for them, not a bad thing for their development though.

Tipping a return to finals football at Eastlake's expense and finishing third ahead of Queanbeyan.

That is great news for Tutty..congratulations and best of luck. We will be watching with interest:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Now a rumour or 2 to get tongues wagging -

My mail is that N.Clarke accepted the Belconnen offer after being promised the coaching job in 2011...Anyone out North have the balls to confirm this? Is this Bubba's wishes or is it unknown to him?

He did speak to the Tigers but the club couldn't commit to him coaching the 1st grade in 2011.

Also staying with The Magpies - Both Steve Maher & Ken Merideth were offered the Gungahlin job. Maher indicated he wanted time away from footy and may assist in some way down the track while Merideth also indicated he would help in some small way....Michael Horne was also approached but may have some involvement with AFL Academy Team @ AIS.

Well done Tutty, he was the first on the track and last to leave every night at training and his drafting is just reward. We started training last week - N Clarke would be a handy addition to any club, especially leadership wise. Interesting that he went for Belco. ABH - I would have thought that Brendan Reed would be aware of the plan going forward as the current premiership coach and I am a little surprised that he didn't get offered the Qbn gig in 2010, 2011, 2012 etc.

On another note - what is happening down at the Valley. I heard they are asking anyone and everyone to come on board to coach. ABH - get yourself down there, even with your dodgy hamstrings I am sure that you could spread some of your footy wisdom to help out the Hawks.

Probably because Armstrong has the gig, that could be a reason dont you think?

Sorry mate - firstly I have never been approached by Tuggers and secondly given my dodgy hamstrings and the Arctic weather down South I suspect it is not a good match up.

Not to mention I have 2 young boys - 20 months and 3 months which I want to spend time with. Besides if I was to stay involved at AFL Canberra level it would be with the Tigers.

any further news on robert shirley strapping on the boots for the tri colours in 2010?

Are the rumours I heard true that Jeremy Roe turned down the Tuggeranong Coaching Job as they couldn't find him work and that he was offered the Assistant Coach role at Belconnen with the promise to take the top job in 2011 before N.Clarke got the gig??

The bloke shopped himself around - Belco, Tricolors, Demons, Tuggers and Qnbo = misses out on all of em !! Maybe thats one for the clubs and not the individual !

Most clubs have lost heaps - surely there are some worthwhile signings by now other than Shirl to Ainslie. Whats the goss guys ?

The bloke shopped himself around - Belco, Tricolors, Demons, Tuggers and Qnbo = misses out on all of em !! Maybe thats one for the clubs and not the individual !

Most clubs have lost heaps - surely there are some worthwhile signings by now other than Shirl to Ainslie. Whats the goss guys ?

Very quiet on player front!!:eek: was it that cold in canberra last winter??
To confirm - J Rowe was told he couldnt have the job organised through the footy club because of the fact his footy commitments would interfere with his job too much ????????:confused::confused:
I have heard also that Qybn have big names missing for majority o 2010 already - Ioppi,Williams & Stevens (obviously) to name a few
What are Eastlake up to with players ?? any new signings? might be a bit difficult to manage with their coach flying in and out until Feb 2010?:rolleyes:
Are we seeing the slow demise of AFL Canberra with more players leaving than arriving - note losses from Belco - Bennet,Maher,Weston.Eastlake - rodgers, clarke brothers, mcmahon, stiller.

Has money become tighter amongst football clubs?

I know a number of smaller licenced clubs are doing it very tough, and from experience sponsorship dollars have also dried up a bit.

Is this having an effect on the ability of clubs to attract interstate talent?

I think there maybe more interstaters these days compared to my day at a guess but its also due to clubs having more resources now than they did then.

Take Belconnen, I would safely say that when I first came they had mainly home grown players. Now with their opporations as a whole club expanding from 1 licensed club to 3, they have more revenue coming in which means they can dedicate more funds to their football.

Eastlake also have grown from 1 licensed club to 2 as have Ainslie so more money is coming into the clubs.

Tigers have also improved their facilities but unfortunately their second venture was not a success possibly causing a cut in funds recently enabling the club to have a look at some kids.

Another factor is maybe the talent at a junior level or dedication isn't as high as we hope.

Take the undefeated Qbn side of several years back in the U/18's. Not to many of those lads have gone onto become 100 gamers at the club.

I remember many coming out to the first training session or two, it was obviously deemed to hard and they were never to return.

The gap between U/18's, Reserves and Seniors in my opinion is growing further apart which makes it difficult also, although there are exceptions to the rule and they are good enough early enough to play 1st grade.

In Canberra there are more sporting options for the juniors these days also and many also get lured into going out with mates, getting on the grog and chasing girls....Unfortunately they are not aware that you can combine football, the drink and girls all successfully;)

Hey guys - I have been on the forum for awhile just looking at threads etc but never reg.

Just thought Id reg because I just opened a strength and conditioning centre in Fyshwick for junior to semi professional athletes and I would just like to welcome all the canberra guys to come and check the centre out!

I opened PowerSports Club because as I said I really wanted a place where I can develop a good athlete that has good natural talent into a good athlete that has good natural talent but is strong as hell, powerfull, fast and has great conditioning!

But as I said all the Canberra guys are welcome to come down for a free session and check it out! - its designed for athletes so we have different equipment to "normal" gyms and all different styles of tools for developing strength and power i.e bands, chains, prowlers, strongman equipment etc.

PM me if your keen to come down and I can give you the addy etc.

Cheers!

Joel

I think there maybe more interstaters these days compared to my day at a guess but its also due to clubs having more resources now than they did then.

Take Belconnen, I would safely say that when I first came they had mainly home grown players. Now with their opporations as a whole club expanding from 1 licensed club to 3, they have more revenue coming in which means they can dedicate more funds to their football.

Eastlake also have grown from 1 licensed club to 2 as have Ainslie so more money is coming into the clubs.

Tigers have also improved their facilities but unfortunately their second venture was not a success possibly causing a cut in funds recently enabling the club to have a look at some kids.

Another factor is maybe the talent at a junior level or dedication isn't as high as we hope.

Take the undefeated Qbn side of several years back in the U/18's. Not to many of those lads have gone onto become 100 gamers at the club.

I remember many coming out to the first training session or two, it was obviously deemed to hard and they were never to return.

The gap between U/18's, Reserves and Seniors in my opinion is growing further apart which makes it difficult also, although there are exceptions to the rule and they are good enough early enough to play 1st grade.

In Canberra there are more sporting options for the juniors these days also and many also get lured into going out with mates, getting on the grog and chasing girls....Unfortunately they are not aware that you can combine football, the drink and girls all successfully;)

I think it is a good thing to have (good) recruits but in the right proportion to local players. Obviously the recruits lift the standard of footy being played and therefore the young local blokes that play along side the recruits benefit from the experience. On the other hand, if there are not enough locals in the team crowds suffer (lets face it, most of us had our mums and dads come and watch us for most of our careers when we were local - and especially at finals time). And low crowd numbers affects things like revenue and sponsorship - this causes increased fees etc and so it spirals.

In my opinion the worst thing a club can do is get a recruit for one or two years. Aisnlie seem to do this often. I am not having a personal dig at Ainslie but that is what it looks like from the outside looking in. Blokes at BMFC like snake, jenno, and brock have been at the club for many years now, and it is their contributions off the field that are worth just as much as what they do on the field. Local supporters have warmed to these guys and actually come to watch them. Not rtying to blow sunshine up your ass ABH, but I would suspect you would have had a similar following at QBN??

Using Belconnen as an example, I would say that half (11) of their premiership side were local boys. Without a couple of injuries to some other locals (Minga and LJ) and the number could have been higher. Added to this, the coach Bubba is BMFC born and bred. Assistant coaches and Board members were filled with past BMFC juniors players as well. I do not know what the correct ratio of locals to recruits is, but the number of locals in the BMFC premiership side this year was higher than some BMFC teams of recent years and would no doubt contribute to the success.

I think they have had too many "operations" over the border !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Unfortunately, the same can't be said for Tuggeranong. I was playing U19's in the mid 80's when they still had the licenced premises next door to the Vikings club.

It's been all down hill for them since then, sure they have had the odd years playing finals or even a GF in 90's I think I recall.

They should never have allowed the Vikings to buy and redesign the Wanniasa Oval ground. Greenway is in a bad position, and is a shocker in the middle of a cold Canberra Winter.

Unfortunately, they haven't been able to develop strength on the field, using mainly juniors coming through from the Lions/Dogs etc.

With the lack of a licenced club, they cannot generate the money required to develop a successful team. As we know you need the experience also to help develop those juniors coming through.

I don't see anything changing at Tuggeranong for the forseeable future.

Tuggeranong appears to have a healthy following of AFL supporters, and the club should be looking at ALL avenues to entice those supporters to get involved/support the club.

Quick note on BMFC GF team from 09. The guys with an 08 next to them played in BMFC reserve grade premiership, or 3rd grade in 08.

Interstate =10 McAlister, Henning, Curtis, weston, Campbell, Ainger, jennings, Joyce 08, LeFort’
Locals = 12 Mahar, Bennett, Bennett talsma 08, McDevitt08, Viney08, York, Turnbull’ love08, rice, Bunyan08, early08, raadts
7 = reserves from 08.

Quality mix of interstate & locals. we would love to see Ainslie figures for the same day.

Remember people move to Canberra for many different reasons and footy is only 1 part of that. Don’t worry about recruiting I couldn’t imagine QBN posting their recruits on this website. It doesn’t need to be public knowledge for a few months.

Ainslie are oozing with recruits and will easily meet player payment budget in 2010 don’t worry about that.

From the side that was defeated by Ainslie in this years Semi Final are the following -

Interstate Recruit from the last 3 years - Mark Powell

Players from Interstate that have been with the club for at least 10 years - Mark Armstrong (17 years), Chris Davis (16 years), Michael Wescombe (10 years)

Other Interstate Players - James Manie, Paul Franchi (both joined the club in 06 and have come from the u/18's), Paul Williams (joined 04), Mitch Daniher (joined 05), Andrew Lieschke (joined 02) and Jordan Longmore who joined club in 2003.

Club also has James Kavanagh who was recruited from Ainslie 3 years ago.

12 were Local Talent - John Elias, Kris Thompson, Jason Satchell, Ryan Quade, Neil Irwin, Luke Whatman, Todd Dickinson, Matt Liddle, Chris Walmsley, Will Griggs, Tim Cook, Renee Ioppi

From Reserves 08 GF side - Whatto, Elias, Davis & Longmore

Players who were absent due to injury

Local - Kaine Stevens, Jeremy Kirkwood, Scott Dickinson, Paul Slater

Other player missing was Roy Jaques who was recruited from Ainslie

My question is how long does a player have to be at a club to be considered a local?? Surely guys like Merv & Bones must now be locals as they aren't going anywhere else to play. They have been at Qbn longer than they played junior footy in Wagga (which is hardly interstate)

All clubs have recruited interstaters who have hung around for a while.

And given that several players who played QBN ressies last year on top of Codola's list above played 1st's in September 09 gives my theory that the gap is widening a fair run for its money.

Maybe is is not as wide as I thought...or is the comp not as strong??

I cant answer that one, maybe those who have been around in both era's are better suited to give that one an answer.

One thing I can say is that its a more complicated game than it use to be and I am not so sure at Canberra level it needs to be.

From the side that was defeated by Ainslie in this years Semi Final are the following -

Interstate Recruit from the last 3 years - Mark Powell

Players from Interstate that have been with the club for at least 10 years - Mark Armstrong (17 years), Chris Davis (16 years), Michael Wescombe (10 years)

Other Interstate Players - James Manie, Paul Franchi (both joined the club in 06 and have come from the u/18's), Paul Williams (joined 04), Mitch Daniher (joined 05), Andrew Lieschke (joined 02) and Jordan Longmore who joined club in 2003.

Club also has James Kavanagh who was recruited from Ainslie 3 years ago.

12 were Local Talent - John Elias, Kris Thompson, Jason Satchell, Ryan Quade, Neil Irwin, Luke Whatman, Todd Dickinson, Matt Liddle, Chris Walmsley, Will Griggs, Tim Cook, Renee Ioppi

From Reserves 08 GF side - Whatto, Elias, Davis & Longmore

Players who were absent due to injury

Local - Kaine Stevens, Jeremy Kirkwood, Scott Dickinson, Paul Slater

Other player missing was Roy Jaques who was recruited from Ainslie

Getting back to the Tuggeranong issues, these five players plus the two tutt's from Ainslie might have been handy for them this season. All of them are tuggeranong juniors.

from what i understand neil irwen and johny elias where both tuggers juniors to, so that would be a qtr of the tigers first grade squad most weeks

also isnt love from albury way and ithought york was interstate as well so at least half or more of belco s grandfinal team came from outside interesting
icon7.gif

Thanks for that post Ryan. EL, Bigunit101 hasnt gone into bat for his beloved coach for a while, any idea why mate? Actually Bigunit didnt seem to make any up beat posts inregards to his coach, or Ainslie, with say 4/5 rounds before seasons end, strange that.

Sorry KP, I do know both the Tutt's but not well enough to be one of them.

Billyray, that is interesting. If you could say one thing for Tuggeranong it is that almost all of their 1st grade and 2nd grade are juniors from their area. If they had the ability to attract 4-5 interstate players I think they would be in a much better position. Steviewonder36 made the point about money and that is obviously what is holding Tuggeranong back.

The following is an interesting comment by my good friend A Bit High.

"My question is how long does a player have to be at a club to be considered a local?? Surely guys like Merv & Bones must now be locals as they aren't going anywhere else to play. They have been at Qbn longer than they played junior footy in Wagga (which is hardly interstate)" Like 17 years with the Tigers !!!!

Happen to know a couple of the players mentioned above who "apparently" played for Tuggers. Elias and Thompson possibly played for Tuggers for two years (at the most) yet the above mentioned Qnbo players have played for 17 years and not regarded as locals ? Dont Irwin and Thomson have a family connections to the Tigers hence their desire to play there ?

Love and York are not Magpie juniors and I think there may be a couple of others but they have played a lot of footy for Belco and more loyal than some junior players.

I think the whole junior crap is crap !! Get over it and make sure your juniors stay with your club, if not bad luck. In saying that I would be interested in the Eastlake junior / senior conversion at the moment beering in mind the Marist connection and where those players originally eventuated from.