AFL Canberra - Season 2011

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Rice has signed for Narrandera according to the Wagga Advertiser last Friday.

Good signing for Narrandera, even if he is at the end of his career.

Does any one think that this could see Tuggers in trouble for next season?? Given that Kickett has retired and Rice has moved on.. I know they were towards the end of their careers but they were probably 2 of their top 5 players a long with pocock, masters and cleaver..

Horne signed as coach of Belconnen for next season...?

Any truth with the rumour of Ben Hughes signing with Peel Thunder with a 2 year contract? also news coming out of the tricolours is Rob Shirley already signed on as coach and speaking with SA pair Jarrhan Jacky and Glenn Dawson?
belconnen loosing a few players, not 100% with Jennings from what i hear. Underwoods brother has moved back for work, expect him to pull on the boots next season.

Hughes, Adelaide boys and Medhurst; all nonsense.

Congrats to Toby Conroy who capped off a great first season with the Tigers by winning the B&F from Mitchy Daniher. Third was Kav and 4th was Ryan Quade.

Fantastic night and the tributes to Merv and Noel Miller were outstanding.

Well done to all involved but special mention must goto to Chook who is and has always been the engine room.

Well done mate:thumbsu:

Congrats to Toby Conroy who capped off a great first season with the Tigers by winning the B&F from Mitchy Daniher. Third was Kav and 4th was Ryan Quade.

Fantastic night and the tributes to Merv and Noel Miller were outstanding.

Well done to all involved but special mention must goto to Chook who is and has always been the engine room.

Well done mate:thumbsu:

ABH, would you put any hard earneds on Merv saddling up just as a player for one more year? Also on Chook, probably one of just a few across the league that is welcome in any of the Clubs.

You can never say never but he is very keen to spend time with his family. He and Jason Gilbert will be dual coaching the under 8's and both their sons are in that grade and after speaking to Merv last night he is looking forward to it very much.

I have no doubt he could go around again but he will be 35 and the competition demands will only increase with the new format. Given what he has achieved in the game I think its the right decision. He will miss it trust me but come June, July he will be happy with his choice.

On Chook, well I cant speak of the other clubs representatives but Chook is definitely a popular person not only around our club but in Canberra football.

The Tigers have many quality people in my opinion but 3 names have been stand outs in my time there....Ron Fowlie, Noel Miller and the late Alan Muir.

Champion, genuine, loyal people.

Does anyone know of any substance to the rumour that Belco have signed " an absolute superstar"? Or am I being gee'd up Maggie by insiders?

I heard Paul Medhurst's name mentioned somewhere

Have heard his name mentioned but for Ainslie.

If true he is coming to Canberra, would be great for the league but what a fall from grace for Medhurst.

2008 All Australian, 2008 Collingwood Leading Goalkicker playing in front of 80K+ crowds regularly to......... well need I continue.

Have heard his name mentioned but for Ainslie.

If true he is coming to Canberra, would be great for the league but what a fall from grace for Medhurst.

2008 All Australian, 2008 Collingwood Leading Goalkicker playing in front of 80K+ crowds regularly to......... well need I continue.

Would be great for the league, but not Ainslie pleaseee!
:(

Why would he retire from Collingwood stating he wants to travel, only to go to Ainslie on about a 10th of what he was paid before? Makes absolutely no sense.

No sense at all, but I guess it is the same as a guy like Mal Michael, a triple premiership player and AA, playing in the WBFL for Heywood. They would have a bit of coin for him, but nothing compared to what he was getting at the height of his career.

AFC have said they haven't spoken to Medhurst, it is just talk here, same as my original question about Belco. Do we know of any confirmed "quality" signings anywhere?

Anyone know why no Sydney sides are in the Eastern Conference?

Without knowing facts i would say playing standard and financial viability. can sydney clubs compete with the Canberra Clubs budgets i don't know, as i know jack about Sydney football.

Good for Canberra Clubs with it becoming more attractive for players recruiting wise and retention wise.

How would the Sydney clubs fit into this structure. For all intents and purposes, the two separate comps (AFL Canberra & QAFL) are still running with their own flags up for grabs. Perhaps one thing they could have done was have a rep Sydney team (or two) fill in the gaps given that there are 7 Eastern Conference Teams and 10 Northern Conference Teams meaning that 3 Northern teams will miss out (have a bye?) when the crossover games happen.

Word is, 2012 will see 1 or 2 Sydney AFL teams, most likely Sydney Uni and East Coast. Certainly wouldn't have the budget of some Canberra teams, but they (Eagles) have plenty of cash, with a very good facility. Would you think an Albury, or Lavington, or even some GV teams would have a crack at this?

Hi Guys,
I'm from Melbourne and moving up to Canberra in Jan and am looking for somewhere to play footy. I'm very keen to have a crack at playing in the top div but who knows if I'll be good enough or not. Anyhow I was wondering if anyone could help me out with some info on some of the clubs and also some contact details so I can get in touch with the right people.

Cheers.

Apparently a mass exodus out Belconnen way. Pl;ayers leaving or retiring.

Can anyone confirm the below list??

Leaving - Jennings, Jeffrey, Rice, Raadts, Love (O.S), Ainger, Underwood.

Retiring - Henning, Campbell, Rhodes

Also heard that Bubba's speech at Presentation night was interesting....Really got stuck into Gary Davidson by all reports..Anyone care to expand on it?

Apparently a mass exodus out Belconnen way. Pl;ayers leaving or retiring.

Can anyone confirm the below list??

Leaving - Jennings, Jeffrey, Rice, Raadts, Love (O.S), Ainger, Underwood.

Retiring - Henning, Campbell, Rhodes

Also heard that Bubba's speech at Presentation night was interesting....Really got stuck into Gary Davidson by all reports..Anyone care to expand on it?

That is what I have heard too. Jennings going home to coach his old club? Ainger signed with South Adelaide? Interesting that Henning has retired, I thought he was a gun! What is going to happen down south with Tugg given they have lost Rice and Kickett? I know they are towards the end of their careers but they were in their best 3 or 4 players easily

Hi Guys,
I'm from Melbourne and moving up to Canberra in Jan and am looking for somewhere to play footy. I'm very keen to have a crack at playing in the top div but who knows if I'll be good enough or not. Anyhow I was wondering if anyone could help me out with some info on some of the clubs and also some contact details so I can get in touch with the right people.

Cheers.

There are only five teams to choose from, all easily located: Tuggeranong (in the far south); Belconnen (in the North); Ainslie (in the inner North); Eastlake (in the inner South); and Queanbeyan, just East over the border in NSW.

I know that Tuggeranong are always looking for players, if you want to have a crack at the top level. ACTAFL is a surprisingly good level given its small size, I'd say around Ovens and Murray standard.

Otherwise, there are stacks of very good clubs at the amateur level, prime amongst these is the ANU club.

Speaking of Ainsle, does anyone know anything about Jake King who has nominated for the draft? I had a look for him in the rep sqaud lists and can't find anything about him. Did he play any 1's for Ainsle this year?
West Coast scholarship holder