AFL Canberra

I agree completely. I said before if their are injuries to the senior side and a side like the Magpies, Tigers (if they come to play), and Eastlake (maybe) could rattle them.

I'm bloody excited about the final series a week out. Like many others i've talked to, there is a confidence of beating the Swans that just hasn't been there too much this year. It looks like the planning that has gone into this year from a few different clubs seems to be paying dividends now, with a few sides looking like they are peaking at just the right time.

Is anyone else excited about the Belco Swans game? I wish i could get down to the SCG to watch that one actually. Not a supporter of the Magpies but would love to see them have a red hot crack at the swans, and maybe shake them up a bit before finals.

Hopefully the excitement that seems to be building gets a few more people to games over the next month and a bit!

I agree completely. I said before if their are injuries to the senior side and a side like the Magpies, Tigers (if they come to play), and Eastlake (maybe) could rattle them.

I'm bloody excited about the final series a week out. Like many others i've talked to, there is a confidence of beating the Swans that just hasn't been there too much this year. It looks like the planning that has gone into this year from a few different clubs seems to be paying dividends now, with a few sides looking like they are peaking at just the right time.

Is anyone else excited about the Belco Swans game? I wish i could get down to the SCG to watch that one actually. Not a supporter of the Magpies but would love to see them have a red hot crack at the swans, and maybe shake them up a bit before finals.

Hopefully the excitement that seems to be building gets a few more people to games over the next month and a bit!

This would support the last two posts I reckon. Sydney injury list plus the Firsts will play on the Saturday or Sunday of the AFL Canberra finals.

SYDNEY:

Leo Barry (hamstring) - test
Matthew Laidlaw (hamstring) - test
Michael O'Loughlin (lungs) - test
Luke Brennan (hamstring) - to be confirmed
Barry Hall (hamstring) - 1 week
Tadhg Kennelly (knee) - 2-4 weeks
Daniel Currie (groin) - season
Stephen Doyle (knee) - season
Daniel O'Keefe (groin) - season

Interesting...

Bit of a storm in a teacup really. The league had cleared the players during the week but Murrumbidgee went with the protest anyway. There are definitely a few handy boys we've got back though.

Should be a good one against ANU this week. They were a few short last time we got over the top of them and were mighty impressive in the 2nd semi last week.

I actually thought Harman had most of the play yesterday. They just couldn't convert in front of goal - had it stuck down in their forward 50 for ages but couldn't spot up a target or get the finish they needed. Good effort by them though. Both games should be crackers next week. Hopefully at Manuka!

Storm in a tea cup 3rd Grade Maggy, I heard the GF may get postponed this weekend due to Murrumbidgee getting an injunction. Hope you guys have a good lawyer

Bit disappointed with you ABH, a very logical posting and so true. Looks like Queanbeyan have stuck there hand up for a crack at the title. Will be waiting for the result of the Swans v Belco match so filter through, will set the scenes for the finals.
Hate to disappoint you ABH, wasn't part of the soft Magpies of the era unfortunately- I moved down here the season Kenny Meredith went ape on a couple of supporters out at Footy Park.

Bit disappointed with you ABH, a very logical posting and so true. Looks like Queanbeyan have stuck there hand up for a crack at the title. Will be waiting for the result of the Swans v Belco match so filter through, will set the scenes for the finals.
Hate to disappoint you ABH, wasn't part of the soft Magpies of the era unfortunately- I moved down here the season Kenny Meredith went ape on a couple of supporters out at Footy Park.

Tigers haven't done enough against the top 2 for me to be considered a serious threat. While they have the ability they haven't shown the consistancy to maintain it over 4 quarters. Their best is definitely good enough.
I reckon Swans are cherry ripe for Belco to roll them this week. My money is on them, cant believe I just said that. Must be getting soft in later years.

Ken Merideth, now there was a bloke I enjoyed playing against. He enjoyed it hard and tough and would then have a conversation over a beer with you. Had a few coming togethers with him on the field and respect was definitely there between us. Nice bloke...

"I hit him with a hard left, followed by an angry right."

Best tribunal testimony ever.

How many did he get that time?
Who was the player?

A couple of blokes from Eastlake - they'd been on the sauce all day hanging over the fence, giving him crap and he didn't blink an eye. Then they said something about his wife. He played on but after the game came out of the sheds, found the two and took them both. Not sure of the suspension - just remember the line!

Look for the leagues sake i hope Belconnen beat them but for this forums sake i really hope they don't. Can imagine all the big headed fu&k wits that are already on here having something to spruik about.:eek:

A couple of blokes from Eastlake - they'd been on the sauce all day hanging over the fence, giving him crap and he didn't blink an eye. Then they said something about his wife. He played on but after the game came out of the sheds, found the two and took them both. Not sure of the suspension - just remember the line!

Didn't they go up to him when he came out of the sheds, tried to shake his hand and he just put them on there arse then went home.
Was great to watch, not sure what happened to him but didn't see much of him again.

Good solid win by the Swans today to finish unbeaten. Belconnen gave it a good shot, I think they are a pretty good chance to beat the Swans especially given the finals are played in Canberra.

I was pretty confident that the Swans winning streak would come to an end. Given the players that were out with injuries and suspension in their senior side, this may have been the window of opportunity.

Im sure Belco will be dissapointed that they didnt crack them.

Now Im not as confident as I was this time last week

Thats a good win by the swans

Did anyone else notice that Bill Neely wasnt mentioned in the best players for Ainlsie on the weekend, yet somehow managed to record 6 votes for the Canberra times player of the year, and ended up winning it? Something smells - but oh well, what do you expect from Ainslie? At least they won something this year

Got to get fair dinkum on these things. I saw the joint winner,until the countback, Mitch Daniher on saturday and he got leather poisoning with 40 touches yet gets 8 votes instead of 9 and loses the award. He was robbed and thats without even looking at the Neely smelly issue.
Don't publish the votes over the last few weeks I say..keep em guessing.
I can't follow why some blokes get the votes they do anyway, they are at a different game to me.

Neely played like **** on the weekend anyway, probably 17 or 18 posessions, but Ainslie would inflate that to 52 coz they love him. Nah the Wildcats lost that game in the last qtr had nothing to do with Ainslie winning it.

Wouldn't say he played like ****. wasn't at his best because of a groin injury thats why he was kicking on his left all game. would of had a few more than 17/18 possies though he gets a lot of handballs that dont stand out and brings other blokes into the game.. think if you were in the crowd like i was you would say that ainslie won it they were in front all game and should have kicked away but lapses in concentration kept the wildcats in it..

Now thats an early season pickup!!! Myrtleford went pretty ordinary this year didn't they?

I see Lucky Jeffreys has made a return for the Magpies and hitting some pretty good form.

i've heard that ainslie have already signed two key position players from adelaide and are in negotiations with an on baller from WA for 2008? Heaven knows they need something! dont know how much truth is in that, but i'm sure they would have the cheque book out.

anyone have any thoughts on who the swans are likely to delist at the end of 2007? i reckon matthew davis would have to be a shoe in for the 1st one gone!

Andy Carey is an absolute gun Queanbeyan must have put up a preety good offer for him to leave myrt an unsung hero of the town

Ye have to agree Andy Carey is an absolute star, in The top 3 players in the O&M Can play forward but plays his best footy in the middle, will be one of the best in Canberra easily.