AFL Chairman Mike Fitzpatrick resigns.

Hird went stabby stabby after he realised all this .......

1. Players have no rights against self-incrimination.
2. There is no need for actual physical evidence.
3. The burden of proof is lowered.
4. Players face double jeopardy.
5. The presumption of innocence is reversed.
6. The enforcement agency can engage in jurisdiction hopping and engage in “judge” hopping.
7. Trials are held in secret.

Hird was right, whether you are guilty, not guilty or a bit in between every Australian has that right.

Except Essendon it appears.
No. 2 especially galling- they flushed the stash for nothing?!

I have no issue with your list, drugs in sport is a cancer. If EFC had gotten away with their PED program, within years half the clubs would have been on similar.

AFL warned Hirdy personally about peptides, then made sure EFC didn't fold when the warning was ignored. EFC fans should be thanking Fitzy et al that they didn't go the way of their former VFL affiliate.

The Sydney trade ban thing though...still don't get that

I have no issue with your list, drugs in sport is a cancer. If EFC had gotten away with their PED program, within years half the clubs would have been on similar.

AFL warned Hirdy personally about peptides, then made sure EFC didn't fold when the warning was ignored. EFC fans should be thanking Fitzy et al that they didn't go the way of their former VFL affiliate.

He wasn't warned about peptides by the AFL.

Brett Clothier only added that after - bet you he has a good job now, bit like the players mum that was never identified - Sarah - Liz Lukin has a good job

You have to take into account the number of games played in Tassie, Canberra, Darwin the Gold Coast and Western Sydney. If North and Hawthorn played these games at the G and there were no fledgling teams trying to establish themselves the averages would be much closer. The game is still healthier than it has ever been Just wait and see what the first round attendance is this year-probably an all time record.
This is a good rejoinder (but is only partially correct). It could also be added that, since 2013, the Big 4 (Coll., Carlton, Essendon & Richmond) have generally been poor -thus having a direct & detrimental impact on attendances.

Over the long term, however, AF attendances have been falling in Vic., SA, WA,& Tas. PER CAPITA (ie AFL attendance growth rates, since 1970, have been FALLING, compared to the population growth rates of these states. Tas. football crowd numbers have even fallen in raw figures. Also, until the late 80's, the VFA had strong numbers for its exclusive Sunday competition).

Crowds, & AF regd. player numbers, have boomed (both in raw figures; & per capita with their respective population growth) in NSW, Qld., & the NT since 1970.

You have to take into account the number of games played in Tassie, Canberra, Darwin the Gold Coast and Western Sydney. If North and Hawthorn played these games at the G and there were no fledgling teams trying to establish themselves the averages would be much closer. The game is still healthier than it has ever been Just wait and see what the first round attendance is this year-probably an all time record.

Yeah nah. The supposed expansion of the game has resulted in fewer fans attending games.

The AFL throws huge advantages to the fledgling teams but the crowds are still pitiful and there's no guarantee that they will be sustainable in the long term.

The game can only claim to be 'healthier than it has ever been' because of the revenue from its corporate partners. This is Fitzpatrick's legacy. But as a ordinary fan how does this improve your experience?

As far as attendances are going, they have dropped in Victoria, but picked up in SA and NSW to a smaller extent, the new stadium in WA will help them pick up.

If the big 4 have a couple of good seasons between them, Victoria will pick up.

I think a number of factors have contributed to attendance falls in Vic, although i believe Fitzpatrick did a good job overall there has been a growing disquiet amongst Vic footy fans, including the loss of their suburban grounds, looking at the crowd at the AFLW game at Princess Park and the sellout at Arden Street Goyder could do worse than float plans for a 3rd Boutique type stadium in Melbourne.

Yeah nah. The supposed expansion of the game has resulted in fewer fans attending games.

The AFL throws huge advantages to the fledgling teams but the crowds are still pitiful and there's no guarantee that they will be sustainable in the long term.

The game can only claim to be 'healthier than it has ever been' because of the revenue from its corporate partners. This is Fitzpatrick's legacy. But as a ordinary fan how does this improve your experience?
Don't let your personal dislike of a person blind you to the fact that footy is in the best shape it has been in in its entire history.

So Mike says the biggest achievement of his tenure was the new broadcast deal, which sees the AFL tablet app, a growing medium that should be embraced and be at the forefront of pushing the game to a wider audience, broadcast at iPhone size!

Further proof that he's a complete arsehole, but nah you morons just keep arguing over Essendon.