afl.com.au

Richmondfan#1

Jul 6, 2000
I was wondering what you guys thought of afl.com.

For a start it is no where as good as BB!!

I think it is a very informative website with plenty of cool things to do. Some of which include: news, fixtures, results, players, clubs, tv times (very good when I can't be bothered looking at the tv guide), photos and the footy store (but I can't really visit it as I see all these cool things I want but of which I can't afford!).

Overall= 8 out of 10.
But Bigfooty gets= 9 and a half.

What do you think?

Just a personal note:
I've almost reached 450 posts!
Hopefully a large majority of my posts have been interesting and lively, not dull and boring.

RF,

How could you give it (afl.com.au) an 8? They next to never update it with all the latest news. You can bet every damm dollar you have that you will see the latest news, results etc HERE before you see it at alf.com.au. And if you want to buy some footy gear, just go to you local sport store! (not many people like using their credit cards over the net anyway!)

I give it a 4.5 out of 10

As goes for this site, I give it a 9 out of 10.

a couple of things:
Ive always thought the afl site was pretty good- I actually ordered the bombers key chain off there (i was sick one day- got bored and thought it be cool to order something online- plus Ive never seen the key chain I got in the shops anywhere !!). Plus they take articles from all papers across the nation, which is quite handy.

What SHITS me is the AFL "premiers club" (pronounced in a dull sarcastic tone for those reading)- which makes us PAY $70 for the privilege of listening to netcasts for certain games. This was free in 1999. Usually essendon games which arnt on tv or radio here because of an eags or dockers schedule clash, are the "premiers club" games, and it totally shits me.

One of my fave footy sites is realfooty.com.au which is the age site i think, but has pretty good stuff, including a matty lloyd mailbag and team pages.

I used to go to afl.com.au all the time and thought it was good, until it started to go down. It used to be a really good site. Then I found this site, it is definately far better than afl.com.au so instead of afl.com.au being my homepage this site is. Good stuff Bluey, we have needed a site like this for a long time. I tell many of my footy friends to come here as it is so good. 9 and a half out of 10 for bigfooty.

afl.com.au is great if you are happy with the officially sanctioned, sanitised and censored version of whats going on in football.

Its an 'official mouthpiece' and as such is a load of rubbish - brought to you courtesy of Rupert Murdoch, Wayne Jackson and Kerry Stokes.

I agree with Arch where he says that AFL.com.au is good to read articles from all papers across the nation. But apart from that and check out the teams and tv times and get live scores on the odd saturday arvo, I much prefer to come here and discuss footy
smile.gif

I have tried quite often to get into afl live chat thing at afl.com.au and it is just pathetis, I thnk. So many people at once saying things everyone misses heaps. This is much better. BB are good as you don't miss what was said earlier and you get more say in it.

afl.com.au