AFL Decides no

Very interesting.

There is big money behind getting Cousins to Richmond. Its more than just the player i assure you.

I reckon its a lost cause now.

Just can't see how we could take him after coming out and saying we wouldn't.

Forget Cousins and get on with the pre season.

We never had him so never lost him.

Let's be honest here. If Richmond DON'T take Cousin's tommorrow it is an EPIC FAIL by the AFL and their treating of Ben Cousin's. It will not look good for them at all if Cousin's doesn't play AFL next year.

If we take Goo or Klemke, we take Goo or Klemke, if it's Cuz, it's Cuz, theres nothing we can do about it now.

But I'm pretty sure it won't be Cousins now...

It would teach the AFL a lesson though

No it wont Ben will disappear into the past as a wasted talent, AFL will take the week or so of bad publicity and then move on.

I actually feel sorry for the guy, perhaps he should have denied everything from day one and told the Eagles and AFL to prove he is a drug addict.

My only issue is people who actually think pick 6 in the PSD means a 10 year player to the club, the kid could be another JON taking up space on our list for nothing.

The ferals have spoken! Damn the list! Damn the long-term! Success now ****en!

Sorry flogs, but suck it up. We will make finals next year.

Supporters that think pick 6 in the PSD is so valuable to the future development of our club need to grab a brain :thumbsu:

considering we delisted Gourdis already:rolleyes:

since polak and pettifer will spend the entire 08 season on the LTI list - and we will have to promote 2 18 year olds in their place - probably makes more sense to take cousins now.

2 senior players gone for the season - and who knows where cogs is at?

get cousins

redraft either of meyer or gourdis with the first rookie draft - then go with kids for the final 4 spots.

that way we atleast replace polly and petts with cousins and meyer/gourdis

if freo want Gourdy so much - let them have him, does it really matter?

why is it stupid? i didn't say i want him to - my gut feeling is he might.

its called putting the team before yourself. Polly could still sign for Coburg, and if he gets fit and goes well at coburg - we could draft him again next year - no one would dare try and trade him against his will.

i just think polly will not feel comfortable costing the team a player like cousins.

next year we already have 2 players on the LTI :rolleyes:
Well no.1: he's still a contracted player and to retire defeats the purpose of the whole issue and no.2: The people and the players have been saying they are confeindent that he will be playing for Coburg by round 11.

The problem i see is everyone is in a mad rush to get kids because of this draft freeze for team 17 and 18. My feeling is, we allready have one of the youngest lists in the league. why not put some stars amungst the kids we have to help the grow. Im sick of getting kids. it feels like we have been rebuilding the list since 1980. eneogh allready. Take cousins. Add him to the talent we allready have. Play some finals 09 and have a real crack at 2010. Its time

I DONT UNDERSTAND!

Until about a week ago, this was a non-issue. Are we forgetting last season we made alot of improvement WITH OUR YOUNGSTERS... WE DID NOT HAVE BEN! And we were still buoyish about our chances of making the 8 next season!

And now SEN has these flogs ringing in claiming they will not re-new their membership if we do not pick up Cousins in the PSD. Absolutely ridiculous some of this shit.

With or without Cousins, i know ill still be re-newing my membership...

Re: AFL say's "NO" to Brain Damage

i don't care about cousins.

this is about Polak

the heading of this thread is the publicity the AFL deserve :thumbsd:

Sorry mate, i am a touch mad :D

Im just getting sick of the likes of Doran, Robbo and all the others on SEN saying that we should just put Polak on the LTIL like its no different to him being on the rookie list.

They are right to a degree. If Polak is on the LTIL then he has to remain on there for 10 games. At round 11 you can elevate a rookie for the rest of the year without placing anyone one on the LTIL. So in effect. Polak misses 10 games and rookie can play the whole year.

**** all this ben cousins talk - THIS is what they said no to.

They said no to a player who had been in a coma for close to a week less than 6 months ago.

They said no to a player who is still recovering from intense bruising to the brain.

They said no to an organisation trying to keep a wounded employer on its payroll -and an outlet and a foundation for Polak's rehab.

They said no to the player we all donated over $700 to a gift for his recovery - a player we got a specially made jumper for, printed on, and framed - to show we are right behind him, and we want him to help him recover the only way we can help - with support, understanding and respect.

How has today's decision changed any of that?

He is still on your list and he is still on your payroll for next season :confused:

when is the PSD and when is the rookie draft?
how many rookies can we have?
how many do we have?
If a player is on the LTIL list how do you get him back onto the main list?
Why can't a player on the LTI play in the reserves if he becomes fit enough?
Why cant petrified be put on the LTIL he won't be fit till 2010 anyway?

The problem i see is everyone is in a mad rush to get kids because of this draft freeze for team 17 and 18. My feeling is, we allready have one of the youngest lists in the league. why not put some stars amungst the kids we have to help the grow. Im sick of getting kids. it feels like we have been rebuilding the list since 1980. eneogh allready. Take cousins. Add him to the talent we allready have. Play some finals 09 and have a real crack at 2010. Its time
Good point

Some of the ferals on SEN calling in an having a sook saying we have to get Cousins for the future are the kind of supporters that need to get a pair of balls. Same with the flogs here.

So those that want Cousins are ferals? A touch elist methinks.(The avatar's a giveaway)
You're an first class tool Beaver.
Beaver, King of the wet blankets.

Hope we get cuzzo with pick 6 then pick up which ever rookie we want in the rookie draft.
Then like everyone is saying out Polak on the long term injury list and upgrade the rookie.
Don't know why we didn't think of that before.
and **** you andrew demetriu

They said no to an organisation trying to keep a wounded employer on its payroll -and an outlet and a foundation for Polak's rehab.

Ummm what? Doesn't this mean Polak actually keeps his spot on the list and thus the payroll.

Polak hasn't been downgraded, i would have thought that's a positive for him.

What kids do you speak of? Richmond has taken the average amount of kids comparable to other clubs over the last 5 years.

I was just asking a clarifying question. Did you mean on SEN?

Oooops yeah I meant on SEN. The first call they took was one repeating exactly what Doran was saying.

Sorry about the confusion.