AFL Dream Team 2006

Some advice please guys. My last trade and the max I can spend is $237,600 and need to get a back. These are the blokes who I am considering:

Dean Polo
Joel Smith
Drew Banfield
Luke McPharlin
Craig Bolton

Any thoughts on who the best bloke to get is?

I already have:

Hodge
Milburn
C Cornes
McPhee
L Fisher
M Johnson

Cheers.

Funkalicous said:
It's such a shame that I couldn't make the Grand Final this year. I started really well, but I made too many stupid trades, and didn't leave enough for injury. -Made the top 4, then left in straight sets. :(

It was a lot of fun as always though. We all spent a lot of time writing articles, recording statistics, and just giving each other plenty of rib. We really went overboard pumping up the Grand Final. Check it out. Click Lol :p Good fun. Can't wait until next season to have my sweet revenge.

I like it, every time I hear that track I think about Eskimo & Requiem for a Dream.

Dale Chapman said:
Na mate, he is top class, just doesnt get recognised

Oh no doubt he is a good footballer. He is not a star yet though.
Doesnt influance a game as much as he could off half back. His posetions are not yet too damaging.
Once he starts having a real infulance over a match then I will call him a star.
We havent seen what he is like with a defensive minded opponent yet either.

Hard Ball Get said:
Do I play McPharlin back in form scoring 90's and 137 or Tarrant back from poor form and injury.
Leaning to Tarrant still but his form before his break was poor.
Flip a coin :thumbsu:

My team is so good now.

BACKS
S.Burgoyne (PA)
L.Hodge (Haw)
J.Bowden (Rich)
L.Gilbee (Dogs)
C.Cornes (PA)
M.Johnson (Fre)
B.Waters (WC)

CENTRES
N.Dal Santo (StK)
C.Judd (WC)
A.Walker (Car)
B.McLean (Mel)

RUCKS
J.Fraser (Coll)
J.White (Mel)
D.Hille (Ess)
D.Jolly (Syd)

FORWARDS
C.Bruce (Mel)
B.Johnson (Dogs)
N.Riewoldt (StK) (C)
S.Lucas (Ess)
B.Hall (Syd)
M.Pavlich (Fre)
A.Rocca (Coll)

EMERGENCIES
Back - T.Kenelly (Syd)
Centre - N.Jones (Mel)
Ruck - M.Bailey (Haw)
Forward - R.Hooper (Bris)

Anyone with a better side, post it.

My bro is in a bit of a tangle for his Granny.
I dont know what to do so im no help to hom.
1 trade left.
Does he:
Trade Hentschel to any back bar Swan (Burgoyne, Johnson) and play with Howet in the 22 (ave 70's in 4 games)

Or

Trade Symes for any centre (Cross, Cornes, West, Bartel etc) and replace Hentschel with Brennan in the 22.

I was leaning towards 1 and he was thinking 2.

goal sneak said:
My team is so good now.

BACKS
S.Burgoyne (PA)
L.Hodge (Haw)
J.Bowden (Rich)
L.Gilbee (Dogs)
C.Cornes (PA)
M.Johnson (Fre)
B.Waters (WC)

CENTRES
N.Dal Santo (StK)
C.Judd (WC)
A.Walker (Car)
B.McLean (Mel)

RUCKS
J.Fraser (Coll)
J.White (Mel)
D.Hille (Ess)
D.Jolly (Syd)

FORWARDS
C.Bruce (Mel)
B.Johnson (Dogs)
N.Riewoldt (StK) (C)
S.Lucas (Ess)
B.Hall (Syd)
M.Pavlich (Fre)
A.Rocca (Coll)

EMERGENCIES
Back - T.Kenelly (Syd)
Centre - N.Jones (Mel)
Ruck - M.Bailey (Haw)
Forward - R.Hooper (Bris)

Anyone with a better side, post it.
My side is better than that and I'm coming 1000th...

Waverley73 said:
Some advice please guys. My last trade and the max I can spend is $237,600 and need to get a back. These are the blokes who I am considering:

Dean Polo
Joel Smith
Drew Banfield
Luke McPharlin
Craig Bolton

Any thoughts on who the best bloke to get is?

I already have:

Hodge
Milburn
C Cornes
McPhee
L Fisher
M Johnson

Cheers.
..anyone?..

Hard Ball Get said:
I'd go Bolton or McPharlin.
Bolton has been pretty good this year and I made a massive error when in the lasr 30 mins before round 1 I traded him for McGregor. McPharlin looks to have hit form with a score in the 90's and a 137.
I'd probably take Bolton.
So you'd stay away from Polo? Bolton does have an average of 68.7 (and an average of 66.4 over the last 4 weeks) and Polo has an average of 67.5 (and an average of 71.6 over the last 4 weeks).

It is now probably down to either Bolton or Polo.

4 weeks ago I would have said Craig Bolton. With Pagan's men flooding back sides have had high possession rates against the blues. So anyone on the half back line will get heaps of cheap kicks and marks.

Carlton have opened up a bit in the last couple of weeks however.

Port like to put numbers back which makes McPharlin appealing. Smith? Not at Geelong. Polo depends on what role he plays? Risky. Banfield doesn't appeal.

Bolton or McPharlin.

Sheik Mathious said:
4 weeks ago I would have said Craig Bolton. With Pagan's men flooding back sides have had high possession rates against the blues. So anyone on the half back line will get heaps of cheap kicks and marks.

Carlton have opened up a bit in the last couple of weeks however.

Port like to put numbers back which makes McPharlin appealing. Smith? Not at Geelong. Polo depends on what role he plays? Risky. Banfield doesn't appeal.

Bolton or McPharlin.
Thanks for that. Bolton is starting to look like the man. Thanx to HBG too.

My side going for 15 slabs of grog:
Swan, Hodge, Milburn, J.Bowden, C.Cornes, Clement, Massie (Hurn)
Goodwin, Goodes, Mitchell, J.Johnson (Stiller)
Lade, Fraser, Hille, Jolly
Chapman, B.Johnson, Riewoldt, Hall, O`Keefe, P.Bowden, Didak (Bate)

Hard Ball Get said:
1 trade left.
Does he:
Trade Hentschel to any back bar Swan (Burgoyne, Johnson) and play with Howet in the 22 (ave 70's in 4 games)

Or

Trade Symes for any centre (Cross, Cornes, West, Bartel etc) and replace Hentschel with Brennan in the 22.

What about this one?

chooka_delic said:
The wide expanses of Subiaco make McPharlin more appealing though ;)
Plus McPharlin is a much, much better DTer than Bolton.

Hard Ball Get said:
1 trade left.
Does he:

Or

I reckon 2. Getting someone like Cross in is like giving you a bonus 100 points, and replacing Hentshall with Brennan in the starting line-up is neither here nor there (except you have a half decent sub).

Howat has only played 4 games and he'd be a bit risky I reckon.

Cassius_Clay said:
Plus McPharlin is a much, much better DTer than Bolton.
How can McPharlin be a much better dt'er if his average is 10 below Bolton?

EDIT: Bolton has also scored more than 100 on 3 occasions (McPharlin 1) and has a higher median score 65 to 52.

Hi guys ... I have 2 trades available to me and $39,400 in the bank ... with a GF to play I wanna get this baby bolstered ... what's the thoughts?

Swan, S Burgoyne, Hodge, McVeigh, Polo, Birchall, L Fisher (Roe, M Warren)

Goodwin, Goodes, Edwards, Howat (kerr, bentley)

Lade, Fraser, Seaby, King (McDonald, Warnock)

B Johnson, Riewoldt, Lucas, Hall, Watson, Petrie, S Stevens (Dunn, Hughes)

Had every intention of upgrading Stevens and Seaby this week but now that Kerr is out that complicates matters - I either play Howat and still upgrade Seaby and Stevens - although the options are limited ... am leaning towards trading Kerr for Judd and then looking at an alternative ruckman ... and hope that Stevens pulls out a 70 or so

would appreciate any advice!