AFL Equalization

longtimecat

I'm fed up with the AFL: today Sloane will not be cited and Cotchin will get off again. Cotchin has been protected all season, his jumper punch was much worse ( more forceful ) than Tom Hawkins' and his gut punch was very lucky to be given a fine considering the force. I'm so sick of the AFL manipulating the game to suit their Equalization policy that I don't think I'll bother watching the Grand Final.

No worries mate, I'll still enjoy watching the Grand Final between two great teams.

Sloane doesn't deserve to be suspended or even fined.

As much as I love Cotchin, I think he deserves a fine, but for him that equals a 1 week suspension, so he should be suspended but I can definitely see the AFL helping him out and getting him off.

While Ellis will get a fine for his bump on Whitfield but he'll still be free to play.

So yeah, we'll see what happens, but it won't stop me from watching the Grand Final.

No worries mate, I'll still enjoy watching the Grand Final between two great teams.

Sloane doesn't deserve to be suspended or even fined.

As much as I love Cotchin, I think he deserves a fine, but for him that equals a 1 week suspension, so he should be suspended but I can definitely see the AFL helping him out and getting him off.

While Ellis will get a fine for his bump on Whitfield but he'll still be free to play.

So yeah, we'll see what happens, but it won't stop me from watching the Grand Final.
Sorry, I didn't catch when they changed the high contact rule? Sloane should definitely be cited by the MRP. Contact was high and forceful - why wouldn't it be on the radar?

Not every single high hit has to end up with a suspension. Danger should've got a free kick if anything that's it.

I'm fed up with the AFL: today Sloane will not be cited and Cotchin will get off again. Cotchin has been protected all season, his jumper punch was much worse ( more forceful ) than Tom Hawkins' and his gut punch was very lucky to be given a fine considering the force. I'm so sick of the AFL manipulating the game to suit their Equalization policy that I don't think I'll bother watching the Grand Final.
Neither Sloane nor Cotchin deserve to miss a GF for what happened in either game. The teams they play for and equalisation have nothing to do with it IMO.

Cotchin's jumper punch came before the AFL announced a crackdown and Hawk was the next idiot to dish one out.

Not every single high hit has to end up with a suspension. Danger should've got a free kick if anything that's it.
Any day of the year, if you go in for a tackle and hit them high and cause injury it gets looked at. Danger was clearly concussed, and below par for the remainder of the game. I still don't understand why you think this one is different?

Neither player cited, that's pathetic. Sloane raised his forearm in a bump and made contact to the head, Cotchin dropped his shoulder and made contact to the head, both medium/high impact , if this was during home and away and certainly if it was a geelong play they would be suspended.

Any day of the year, if you go in for a tackle and hit them high and cause injury it gets looked at. Danger was clearly concussed, and below par for the remainder of the game. I still don't understand why you think this one is different?

I'm sure it'll get looked at. But there's not a suspension there.

The possibility of leniency for Paul Chapman, to allow him to play in Geelong's preliminary final on Friday night, disappeared with his snap decision to jump into a bump on Port Adelaide's Robbie Gray.

The influential forward-midfielder has been offered a one-match ban by the match review panel over the incident, in which he made high contact to the Power forward. While Gray was not injured in the incident – a medical report from Port corroborated this – the panel thought there was enough forceful high contact to warrant a charge.

In other news, Sloane gets Danger high and Cotchin lowers his shoulder and takes the oppositions arguably best midfielder out of 3/4 of a prelim...nothing to see here.

Neither Sloane nor Cotchin deserve to miss a GF for what happened in either game. The teams they play for and equalisation have nothing to do with it IMO.

Cotchin's jumper punch came before the AFL announced a crackdown and Hawk was the next idiot to dish one out.
No, Cotchin's punches came after the "crackdown." Hawkins was the week after that.

The possibility of leniency for Paul Chapman, to allow him to play in Geelong's preliminary final on Friday night, disappeared with his snap decision to jump into a bump on Port Adelaide's Robbie Gray.

The influential forward-midfielder has been offered a one-match ban by the match review panel over the incident, in which he made high contact to the Power forward. While Gray was not injured in the incident – a medical report from Port corroborated this – the panel thought there was enough forceful high contact to warrant a charge.

In other news, Sloane gets Danger high and Cotchin lowers his shoulder and takes the oppositions arguably best midfielder out of 3/4 of a prelim...nothing to see here.
That's a good case to bring up. This Ellis decision makes that Chapman one seriously burn.

I'm sorry but if Danger was concussed then why did he remain on the ground?
If he was concussed then the Geelong football club haven't done a good job looking after the players welfare

Sloane and Cotchin were both going hard at the footy which was in contest. Chapman deliberately jumped into the bloke's head.

Regardless, though, of whether Chappy should have been rubbed out or not, there's no doubt in my mind that neither Sloane nor Cotchin deserve to miss.

I agree that neither deserve to miss a GF for it..

But if it was round 3 Cotchin absolutely would have been at worst fined

Sloane and Cotchin were both going hard at the footy which was in contest. Chapman deliberately jumped into the bloke's head.

Regardless, though, of whether Chappy should have been rubbed out or not, there's no doubt in my mind that neither Sloane nor Cotchin deserve to miss.

They don't deserve to miss because the rules are bullshit. Just like the many other cases this season that have resulted in suspensions.

Chapman deliberately went for the bump, not deliberately jumped into his head. There was no injury.

You can argue Cotchin and Ellis were 'in the contest' as the AFL has decided to put it, but that would be the grand final translation of 'went low and at the player with a lowered and tucked shoulder, arms in - as you would with a bump - made contact, dispossessed player, resulted in concussion, careless, medium impact, two weeks down to one." And Ellis- elected to bump, high, low impact, fine. But, they cant say Ellis' 'brace' for the contest was a bump without saying Cotchin's 'brace' was also a bump, therefore both of them are off.

I'm sorry but if Danger was concussed then why did he remain on the ground?
If he was concussed then the Geelong football club haven't done a good job looking after the players welfare
I don't know. You seem to be making this point as a counter to my argument, but I don't get why. Are you saying that he has to be kept off the ground before the MRP will look at high contact?

I'm sure it'll get looked at. But there's not a suspension there.
And it did. Under the MRP guidelines here is what he should have been suspended for, IMO:
Classifiable Offence - Forceful front-on contact
Conduct - Careless
Impact - Medium High contact
Penalty - 2 down to 1

I am just interested why you don't think his tackle doesn't qualify?

Well done podsnap!!

Go Cats!!!!!