AFL Equalization

I think most would agree those incidents should not result in suspension, GF or not. But if that is the rule it must be enforced strictly and consistently. In play, then fine, play on. Dirty play only is cited. But you can't just pull the results based card then. Gut punching; any love tap is punishable - great, butyou can't decide penalties based on how much force has been subjectively perceived to have been used.

And it did. Under the MRP guidelines here is what he should have been suspended for, IMO:
Classifiable Offence - Forceful front-on contact
Conduct - Careless
Impact - Medium High contact
Penalty - 2 down to 1

I am just interested why you don't think his tackle doesn't qualify?

Okay you're right, everything you've said there is correct.

I just simply don't think Sloane should've been suspended for it, and he wasn't so I'm happy :thumbsu:

Both Cotchin & Ellis should've been suspended (or Ellis fined at least). But I just knew the AFL would let them off of course...

Ah well, bring on the GF, go Crows :thumbsu:

The MRP decisions today were wrong by the very criteria they use to determine outcomes. If supporters are prepared to accept the MRP giving the thumbs up to such incidents then the BS decisions will continue. There should be no allowance simply because a GF spot is at stake.

If you do the crime you do the time. Too bad if it's almost Xmas.

I'm fed up with the AFL: today Sloane will not be cited and Cotchin will get off again. Cotchin has been protected all season, his jumper punch was much worse ( more forceful ) than Tom Hawkins' and his gut punch was very lucky to be given a fine considering the force. I'm so sick of the AFL manipulating the game to suit their Equalization policy that I don't think I'll bother watching the Grand Final.
It's grand final week. The afl stopped penalising players after dunkley went to court 20 years ago.
Get over it.

They don't deserve to miss because the rules are bullshit. Just like the many other cases this season that have resulted in suspensions.

Chapman deliberately went for the bump, not deliberately jumped into his head. There was no injury.

You can argue Cotchin and Ellis were 'in the contest' as the AFL has decided to put it, but that would be the grand final translation of 'went low and at the player with a lowered and tucked shoulder, arms in - as you would with a bump - made contact, dispossessed player, resulted in concussion, careless, medium impact, two weeks down to one."
I agree with you here. I think the AFL has a big judicial problem with the inherent contradiction between encouraging going hard at the footy, encouraging tackling, but making any head-high contact a reportable offence.

The generally crap quality of football the last few years? That's equalisation.
I reckon the generally crap quality of the footy is due to coaches becoming so much smarter about defensive setup. Once Lyon and Clarkson realised that modern AFL footballers are fit enough to squeeze down AFL grounds into an 80 * 80m zone, that changed everything.

I'm fed up with the AFL: today Sloane will not be cited and Cotchin will get off again. Cotchin has been protected all season, his jumper punch was much worse ( more forceful ) than Tom Hawkins' and his gut punch was very lucky to be given a fine considering the force. I'm so sick of the AFL manipulating the game to suit their Equalization policy that I don't think I'll bother watching the Grand Final.
Nakia said it perfectly. Jimmy Bartel stepped down from the MRP because it's obvious how corrupt they have become.

I've never been one to look for agendas but their behaviour this year has changed that

Nakia said it perfectly. Jimmy Bartel stepped down from the MRP because it's obvious how corrupt they have become.

I've never been one to look for agendas but their behaviour this year has changed that
If that was the case, surely he'd say something?
Incompetent, probably. Corrupt?

When you let Cotchin get away with what he's gotten away with this year......not once, not twice, but 3 times you're intentionally ignoring evidence.

They are clearly turning a blind eye to some players while dealing harshly with others

That is manipulating the system, and that in its very essence is corruption

Unfortunately, both umpires, the AFL, Media and the MRP have soft spots and allegiances to certain sides ... it's only natural because they are of course only human.

I've said this story before but I met a former umpire who officiated in the 97 prelim final. He was a Bulldogs supporter at heart and he said, and I quote, 'I'd have loved to have got them over the line but I had too much integrity and pride in my performance to stoop that low.' 'I have a strong suspicion that certain umpires aren't as inclined as myself given I know who they support.'

Nathan Burke still hasn't gotten over 2009 and Wayne Henwood is a moose.

I think most would agree those incidents should not result in suspension, GF or not. But if that is the rule it must be enforced strictly and consistently. In play, then fine, play on. Dirty play only is cited. But you can't just pull the results based card then. Gut punching; any love tap is punishable - great, butyou can't decide penalties based on how much force has been subjectively perceived to have been used.
In isolation it's not a suspension.
As a 3rd strike rule ......it is.

AFL lean whichever way the breeze is blowing. The path of least resistance is whatever this corrupt organisation will take.

If the AFL is fair dinkum they absolutely should have suspended Cotchin. He was in 2 strikes and went in with a clenched fist, tucked in shoulder and got Shiel high resulting in him getting concussion. Any other round and he's gone. But the AFL don't wanna deal with the fallout of old codgers like KB and the like and the feral Richmond fan base going bezerk. They know Richmond is next to no chance of beating Adelaide without Cotchin.

If the AFL wanna be fair dinkum then Sloane also had to be in trouble. He lined up Danger and got him high. All the ferals in Adelaide loved it and were cheering on hoping Danger was concussed. Sloane is a golden boy who got away with breaking Blitz leg and now lining up Danger.

Yet Danger loses a Brownlow potentially because he tackled some unco giraffe who couldn't keep his feet and lands square on his head. If Cotchins was a football incident then FMD dangers tackle was also a footballing incident! What a friggen joke! The AFL are corrupt and no doubt part of their equalisation strategy is making sure we get pinged with all the line ball calls!

AFL lean whichever way the breeze is blowing. The path of least resistance is whatever this corrupt organisation will take.

If the AFL is fair dinkum they absolutely should have suspended Cotchin. He was in 2 strikes and went in with a clenched fist, tucked in shoulder and got Shiel high resulting in him getting concussion. Any other round and he's gone. But the AFL don't wanna deal with the fallout of old codgers like KB and the like and the feral Richmond fan base going bezerk. They know Richmond is next to no chance of beating Adelaide without Cotchin.

If the AFL wanna be fair dinkum then Sloane also had to be in trouble. He lined up Danger and got him high. All the ferals in Adelaide loved it and were cheering on hoping Danger was concussed. Sloane is a golden boy who got away with breaking Blitz leg and now lining up Danger.

Yet Danger loses a Brownlow potentially because he tackled some unco giraffe who couldn't keep his feet and lands square on his head. If Cotchins was a football incident then FMD dangers tackle was also a footballing incident! What a friggen joke! The AFL are corrupt and no doubt part of their equalisation strategy is making sure we get pinged with all the line ball calls!
Spot on post. They are full of hypocritical, social engineering shit. But of course if we were playing in the GF I would be in love with them.

Lol if we were in the grand final I guarantee we'd get no leniency. It all comes down to what the media makes of it, and the media loves to throw us to the wolves, just like they love flogging off the Tigers

In isolation it's not a suspension.
As a 3rd strike rule ......it is.
yes, I believe I was making the point in a more general sense of rules are black and white, not flexible to using whatever shading of grey you want to suit your agenda, or adding gradations based on what appears on a video file. whatever the rule is that is what you adjudicate, no matter how cockamamie it is written.

Neither player cited, that's pathetic. Sloane raised his forearm in a bump and made contact to the head, Cotchin dropped his shoulder and made contact to the head, both medium/high impact , if this was during home and away and certainly if it was a geelong play they would be suspended.
And this is the point. Different standards for different players at different times of the year.

... because they do not take precedents into consideration. In terms of natural justice and/or duty of care the AFL could probably be legally challenged, but I suspect it's all a bigger game than we think at the top.