AFL friendly pubs/bars on the Gold Coast

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
So I have seen quite a few threads on Bigfooty that resulted in people outside of the Gold Coast asking about pubs/bars near Metricon/Broadbeach/Surfers where they can enjoy a drink and watch the footy. I thought it was about time someone who knew a little on the topic revealed some information for the greater good of the footy community.

There is good news and bad news. The bad news is that Metricon Stadium is virtually no where near any pubs/bars (I know, tell me about it). The good news is that there are quite a few alternatives. If you are just simply looking to have a few drinks before the game then Emerald Lakes Golf Club is the way to go. It is located literally across the road from Metricon Stadium and is a first class facility. From the stadium you just need to cross the only pedestrian crossing on Nerang-Broadbeach Road (the main road Metricon is on) and the Emerald Lakes car park will be on your left. You will definitely be able to have a few drinks before heading over to the ground for the game. Emerald Lakes pictured below and one of Metricon's light towers in the background.

emerald-lakes-golf-course.jpg

Now the exciting part... Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise! As far as I'm aware the only bar in Broadbeach that will show AFL games on the big screen is TC's in the Sofitel Hotel. I believe they have an agreement with the Gold Coast Suns because they show all Suns games on the big screen and have a cardboard cut out of Gary Ablett in the bar. It makes sense seeing as the shuttle bus that takes patrons to Metricon on game day is located literally outside the Sofitel Hotel on Victoria Avenue. If you enter the Sofitel main entry and walk through the lobby you will find a door the leads into TC's. Alternatively, you could enter through the shopping centre complex but that is too hard to explain. Another advantage of watching the game at TC's in Sofitel is that the hotel is literally located across the road from Jupiters casino. Sofitel Hotel pictured below.

hero-300.jpg

To the best of my knowledge, Surfers Paradise is basically a lottery in terms of AFL coverage. Sometimes it'll be shown and other times they'll just stick to Rugby League/Union. I hope I'm wrong though.

Another option is the Southport Sharks. A really great facility but really out of the way in terms of Metricon and Surfers/Broadbeach. Southport Sharks pictured below.

southportsharksna-395.jpg

This thread is intended to be informative and educational. Above all else, it'd be nice to have some clarity on which pubs/bars on the Gold Coast should be used by AFL fans.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
I'd love to have a vote on what should become the unofficial pub/bar of the Gold Coast Suns/footy fans on the GC. I would vote for TC's in Broadbeach. It is in a great location in terms of the casino, nightclubs and the shuttle to Metricon. It is also very close to the tram line which takes patrons up to Surfers Paradise. It's the best location for AFL fans to have a drink and watch the Suns on the big screen, especially if they plan on doing something afterwards. Get around it!

DrAshy

Jun 27, 2010
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Altos and Envy are 2 others in broady that get into their afl! Envy do a big screen. Altos has a more relaxed vibe. Ex-afl player owns altos.
Never thought about checking out TCs. I've only ever been through there when I'm using it as a shortcut.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Altos and Envy are 2 others in broady that get into their afl! Envy do a big screen. Altos has a more relaxed vibe. Ex-afl player owns altos.
Never thought about checking out TCs. I've only ever been through there when I'm using it as a shortcut.

I did not know that. TC's is a little small for my liking but they guarantee every Suns game on the big screen so that's why I gave them my vote. Although, Envy has a better location than TC's and Altos. I guess it depends what you are actually looking for but Envy seems like a great location to watch the footy and have some drinks for the younger generation. TC's just basically a sports bar with pokies.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Although I read here before that Broadbeach is ground zero for a biker gang war, and I lived right on Surf Parade so.......glad I missed that.

But yeah, used to go to Envy all of the time.

Well hopefully the whole bikie situation is cleaned up by the time the 2014 season rolls around. Having said that, it won't stop a lot of people from going out in Broadbeach. Thought I'd give a little idea on what Envy is like considering it seems to be a crowd favourite at the moment. Envy Hotel is broken into three levels - the bottom floor contains a bar area, the second level contains a lounge area with a bar and the third floor is a sports bar. I believe there is also a dance floor on the third level. Sports bar pictured below.

showimage.php

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
I ventured over to the Emerald Lakes Golf Club after the Collingwood practice game and I didn't realise how how great of a venue it was until I stepped foot inside. Obviously the air conditioning is a big plus considering it can get quite warm up here and (unsurprisingly) a lot of Suns fans headed over to Emerald Lakes to have lunch and/or a drink after the game. The venue does have TVs showing sport around the bar area so I imagine they would show AFL games. Apparently it is open until 12:30am on Saturdays so it is perfect for any game. SUNS, have you been there pre/post match and what did you think?

As I mentioned before, the venue has bar facilities along with a range of dining options to suit your needs. There is even a takeaway pizza shop called Slice (see below) located at the venue. There is also a poker machines room if you are that way inclined. Obviously there is also the option to play a round of Golf with the final tee off occurring at 7pm. There are Tennis courts as well. You will need to book in if you would like to play some rounds of Golf/Tennis or have dinner at a reserved table.

NZY2nGX.jpg

So, as you can see, it's a pretty ideal venue for pre/post match events. The view from the balcony is quite picturesque (see below) if you choose not to eat/drink inside.

mnBX5d6.jpg

Just in case anyone is unsure of where it is located, here are directions:

HQrstNF.png

Sep 30, 2010
Katherine, NT
Gold Coast
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, TB Lightning,
I ventured over to the Emerald Lakes Golf Club after the Collingwood practice game and I didn't realise how how great of a venue it was until I stepped foot inside. Obviously the air conditioning is a big plus considering it can get quite warm up here and (unsurprisingly) a lot of Suns fans headed over to Emerald Lakes to have lunch and/or a drink after the game. The venue does have TVs showing sport around the bar area so I imagine they would show AFL games. According to their website, it is only open until 9pm every day of the week so that obviously makes 7:40pm game starts a no go but luckily there are only two of those at Metricon this season. SUNS, have you been there pre/post match and what did you think?

As I mentioned before, the venue has bar facilities along with a range of dining options to suit your needs. There is even a takeaway pizza shop called Slice (see below) located at the venue. There is also a poker machines room if you are that way inclined. Obviously there is also the option to play a round of Golf with the final tee off occurring at 7pm. There are Tennis courts as well. You will need to book in if you would like to play some rounds of Golf/Tennis or have dinner at a reserved table.

NZY2nGX.jpg

So, as you can see, it's a pretty ideal venue for pre/post match events. The view from the balcony is quite picturesque (see below) if you choose not to eat/drink inside.

mnBX5d6.jpg

Just in case anyone is unsure of where it is located, here are directions:

HQrstNF.png

Not yet, but having my engagement party there after Q-Clash round 3. Hahaha

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Not yet, but having my engagement party there after Q-Clash round 3. Hahaha
Oh wow! Good stuff haha.

I've heard it's pretty good for that sort of stuff. Given it's a 3:40pm game, you'd be looking at a 7pm start I'm guessing.

Sep 30, 2010
Katherine, NT
Gold Coast
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, TB Lightning,
Oh wow! Good stuff haha.

I've heard it's pretty good for that sort of stuff. Given it's a 3:40pm game, you'd be looking at a 7pm start I'm guessing.

7:30. Few things to set up and organise, but all my guests can chill in the normal bar or elsewhere whilst our small function area gets set up. Only expecting 50-70 guests so nothing too big

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
7:30. Few things to set up and organise, but all my guests can chill in the normal bar or elsewhere whilst our small function area gets set up. Only expecting 50-70 guests so nothing too big
That's awesome. Hopefully the Suns beat the Lions and your day is be unforgettable haha. Do you know if the place definitely shuts at 9pm on Saturdays?

MrCrow

Mar 10, 2012
Gold Coast
Yep, the golf club is a great venue, atmosphere is always buzzing post game. Their beer fridge has gotta be one of the coldest beer fridges on the Coast. At least it was when I was last there.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Yep, the golf club is a great venue, atmosphere is always buzzing post game. Their beer fridge has gotta be one of the coldest beer fridges on the Coast. At least it was when I was last there.
Good to hear. Any chance you could tell us a little more if I haven't already covered it? I think I might end up there more often after being exposed to it last time I went to Metricon.

MrCrow

Mar 10, 2012
Gold Coast
Good to hear. Any chance you could tell us a little more if I haven't already covered it? I think I might end up there more often after being exposed to it last time I went to Metricon.
Mate I think you've covered it all really well. Obviously with so many people making the pilgrimage to the club after the game, their dress code is fairly relaxed. Not sure if thongs are allowed but I wouldn't be surprised if they were. You don't need to sign in or anything. They have a gaming area (poker machines) and TAB facilities. I've tried a couple of the pizzas and they were pretty good from memory (I'd been hitting the $5 stubbies of Great Nothern pretty hard and I was hungry). Their 'beer garden' type area (outdoors, but undercover from memory) is a great place to sit. The Crows had their post-match function there last year, I'd imagine some other clubs would too.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Mate I think you've covered it all really well. Obviously with so many people making the pilgrimage to the club after the game, their dress code is fairly relaxed. Not sure if thongs are allowed but I wouldn't be surprised if they were. You don't need to sign in or anything. They have a gaming area (poker machines) and TAB facilities. I've tried a couple of the pizzas and they were pretty good from memory (I'd been hitting the $5 stubbies of Great Nothern pretty hard and I was hungry). Their 'beer garden' type area (outdoors, but undercover from memory) is a great place to sit. The Crows had their post-match function there last year, I'd imagine some other clubs would too.
Good stuff. Football attire is definitely acceptable at the venue before/after the game.

At this point I can only think of one way to get to Surfers Paradise/Broadbeach from the area (without driving) and that's the shuttle buses that run for one hour after the game outside Metricon. Based on your knowledge, how would you get to Surfers Paradise/Broadbeach from that area if you missed the shuttle?

MrCrow

Mar 10, 2012
Gold Coast
It's actually not too bad. If you were relying on public transport you'd have to walk to Nerang Station (about 2km) and get the 745 Bus to Surfers Paradise. Conveniently this bus also goes through Jupiters Casino on the way so if you were heading to Broadbeach you could get off there. That particular bus route runs pretty late - last bus is just before 2AM on Saturday night/Sunday morning and around 12:15AM Sunday night/Monday morning. Anyone trying to get back to these areas after these hours has bought it upon themselves and is gonna have to either walk or shell out the bucks for a taxi haha

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
It's actually not too bad. If you were relying on public transport you'd have to walk to Nerang Station (about 2km) and get the 745 Bus to Surfers Paradise. Conveniently this bus also goes through Jupiters Casino on the way so if you were heading to Broadbeach you could get off there. That particular bus route runs pretty late - last bus is just before 2AM on Saturday night/Sunday morning and around 12:15AM Sunday night/Monday morning. Anyone trying to get back to these areas after these hours has bought it upon themselves and is gonna have to either walk or shell out the bucks for a taxi haha
I thought Nerang station would be the next best bet but I had no idea about the buses that run from there. Thanks for the info. Hopefully the ferry terminal at Metricon gets built soon so there are more public transport options out of that area.

So there you have it, plenty of stamps of approval for Emerald Lakes Golf Club as a footy friendly venue.

shaqsuns

Jun 13, 2011
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Cleveland Cavaliers
it would be good if Metricon opens up the 5th quarter bar and the big screen whilst we play away games i would love to sit on a bean bag and watch the footy on the big screen with about 100 other people dressed in red and yellow whilst my 2 year old runs around and makes new friends

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
it would be good if Metricon opens up the 5th quarter bar and the big screen whilst we play away games i would love to sit on a bean bag and watch the footy on the big screen with about 100 other people dressed in red and yellow whilst my 2 year old runs around and makes new friends
That would be cool but I'm not sure enough people would consistently show up each away game. The whole fifth quarter area is great though. I'm still shocked how easy it is to get one of those bean bags in front of the big screen which is located right next to the fifth quarter bar. I don't think any other stadium in Australia has a grassy area with public bean bags, a big screen and a drink/food outlet.

shaqsuns

Jun 13, 2011
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Cleveland Cavaliers
That would be cool but I'm not sure enough people would consistently show up each away game. The whole fifth quarter area is great though. I'm still shocked how easy it is to get one of those bean bags in front of the big screen which is located right next to the fifth quarter bar. I don't think any other stadium in Australia has a grassy area with public bean bags, a big screen and a drink/food outlet.
I think it's the best family friendly area in the Australian sporting land scape. I would be there for every away game if the suns thought it would be a good idea