AFL Grand Final - Post Match Thread

On to Trading and Drafting part of the AFL Season:D

Your specialty Dave :D

Proud of our boys but there are a couple of decisions that should have been made by our coaching staff that could have changed things.

Hudson's biased commentary was unprofessional imo.

Well having nobody to stand up in the final 1/4 and a bit in a Grand Final hurts
What happened to Cloke in the 2nd half? Was on fire early and then just seemed to drop off.

Bad luck guys - epic game. Paid the price I think taking an injured jolly and Reid into the game cost you a little. You were looking really good towards the end of the second and early in the third and thought you were going to run away with it but there big name players stepped up and took control.

Would like to say all the best for next season but think it could be a pies/hawk year - see you in 12

Commiserations Pies fans. You guys were fantastic all year. I don't reckon I've ever seen A GF played with such skill and composure from both teams from the first bounce.

Good luck next year and with some new blood in Buckley!

Ffs malthouse too stubborn to make any moves. Tarrant on stevie j while hawkins rips reid apart... Hawkins single handedly swung the game in geelonga favour. flipping very disapointed right now

We were out coached, leaving a limp Reid on Hawkins for so long was major fk up.

Maxwell played like a tird and bombed it in every time never looked to hit up a target (not suprising).

Put simply Geelong have superior skills, bigger bodies and had more hunger in the 2nd half.

Dawes needs to attack the footy instead of always trying to protect the ball drop, jump at the flipping ball mate.

Swan did fk all, thought the players would go down swinging but in the end played limp footy in the last quarter.

Leaving Fasolo off when Didak (who was lucky to get a game) did fk allfor 3 quarters was a major blunder.

We actually lack pace and didn't run as hard as the Geelong players.

Bring on Nathan Buckley and hopefully the end of the MCG car park route to goal.

Ffs malthouse too stubborn to make any moves. Tarrant on stevie j while hawkins rips reid apart... Hawkins single handedly swung the game in geelonga favour. flipping very disapointed right now

That has been Malthouse biggest Flaw while at Collingwood. Never had a Plan B

That was strange, but I had a sick feeling you guys would come over the top after Tommy missed those first 2 shots. Hell of a contest for 3 quarters, I guess the prelim took too much out of you. A lot like our '08 season, dominant but ultimately empty. It's a crap feeling for sure, but most of your guns will be around for a few years yet. Good luck next year:thumbsu:

Simple we where Crap.

Should never Played Reid and Jolly.

And I am very Dissapointed in:

-Swan
-Wellingham
-Dawes
-Toovey
-Didak
-Davis

You could tell in the Start we where never going to win today

Agree 100%.

You could add Blair, Maxwell and O'Brien to that list. We actually have some players who are more ordinary than we thought. The team was exposed for a lack of class today. We did not have a winner in the 2nd half. Poor year for the club because a distant 2nd is no reward.

I did not read the thread re Davis going to stay with the Pies but I hope it is not true. He is a soft player and today we had too many players content to be 2nd to a contest.

Some dissapointing performances particuraly late in the game but all in all well done to geelong they just wouldnt let go when i thought we had a chance to run away with it in the 2nd quarter.

Such a long wait to next year :( lets hope for a productive and injury free pre season.

Bring on round 1 2012

I am sitting overseas at 3 am having had to pay to watch this on the net. The first half I was loving it but concerned, the second half wondering WTF Mick wanted his last game in charge to be remembered by. Unfit and out of form players, not making moves to get players into/out of the game. I think the coach and some of the players got too caught up in it all, but Geelong were simply outstanding when it mattered. We need to have a good look at the way they went about this season, and learn and excel on that.

The only positive I can see out of this game - given I need to be up and at a meeting in 5 hours - is that I am ovedrseas for another week with the a phone no one knows number of!!!

2012 - Bucks first flag:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Too those defending Davis, the rot began with 2 early goals to Varcoe when Davis was his opponent. Toovey must also have been responsible for Stokes, who carved us up, at some stage . Davis was sent forward and did nothing. I cannot recall a single courageous act by him or Didak that would warrant them staying on next year.

Game was one true 50/50 contest for alot of it, at times even with the Pies on top. Difference was the Pies running out of legs just before 3/4 time and that blew the margin out well beyond what it should've been.

I hate to say it but I would almost gladly have changed my name to MyManSomethingelse if Dawes could be traded before he signed. Too late now. Dawes was well beaten by anyone who played on him. He is no Twin Tower.

Bad luck today, a great team all year but not good enough today. 2012 awaits though and still such a strong list.

Paid the price for taking in injured players. I feel the game got away from us when Hawkins kept getting easy marks and in return scores. All because Reid couldn't keep with it. Jolly was below average, another injured player, he didn't want to kick it. For next year we need a young KPD for times like these, because really who else on our list did we have to replace Reid with, apart from Nath Brown.

Most of our boys didn't stand up when it was needed, Swanny, Blair, Didak, Neon, Dawes, Cloke, Jolly, Reid.

The boys were disappointing, we just let them go in the end, going back to the injuries. I genuinely felt sorry for some of the boys like Shaw, Steele, Ball, Pendlebury, Thomas. Who really did try till the end.

LEIGH BROWN, thanks for the memories, buddy.
MICK MALTHOUSE, it's over too soon, thanks for everything. This game should've been for you.

Let's just hope there is a hunger there for us next year. GO PIES.

**** this shit.

**** it to hell.

Takes 20 years to win a flag and we really threw that away. Should've dominated when we were 15 points up.

****ing Geelong flogs behind me and in front of me complaining about every single decision, geez I wanted to belt the shit out of him every time he'd turn around. DAMN IT. DAMN IT. DAMNIT. SO ANGRY ****.

The guys should've come out ready to walk through walls and yet 15 points up against a team without their sub and we couldn't do it. So disappointed.

So bitterly disappointed. Grats to Mick but God he tried to do us in keeping Reid on, probably shouldn't have even taken him in. That mark in the 3rd where we had 2 on one and should've reloaded for our goal instead goes up the other end wtf?

That seriously did us in hard. Needed that. But they ****ing kicked goals from everywhere in the game. Hardly missed an opportunity. Dunno why Brown didn't knock the shit out of Stevie J.

ARGHGHAGRHAGRHAGRAHGRHAGHGRAHGRAHG. Another year wasted. At least it'll make the next back-back 12/13 so much more sweeter. Remember the pain, because the next win is gonna be SO ****ING SWEET.

GO PIES /tear.

When you guys were 15 points up I thought you would run away with it .... was a great GF to watch and will be remembered.

You guys had an awesome year but injuries played their part towards the end ... bad luck I am sure it hurts just as much as when those dickwad baby bombers beat us in 93 when we were favourites.

Lets hope for a Blues V Collingwood GF next year :thumbsu:

AFL Grand Final - Post Match Thread