AFL Grand Final - Post Match Thread

I thought we played really well today. I thought Geelong was better. It was disappointing not to go home with it after Podsiadly went off. We should have been able to take advantage of that. But our injured players really hurt us. Reid wasn't right and Hawkins played out of his skin. Jolly wasn't as bad as made out but not at his peak for certain.

That said I don't know what else we could have done at selection differently. Reid was simply a must given our alternatives because of Browns injury. Wood could have come in for Jolly but I don't think his output would have been any greater than Jollys today.

It really was simply a matter of getting beaten by the better side on the day. And for that respect needs to go to Geelong. I think we would have beaten any other side in the league with that performance but Geelong are a fantastic side. Lets get em back next year!!

Completely agree. Effort on some just seemed like they didn't want it. Hugely disappointing.

Hard to keep up the mental stamina after being the hunted all year and having this succession plan amongst other things creating distractions.

The Hawthorn game took a lot out of you.

Mate, people here are not idiots.

They are hurting and entitled to their opinion, which imo have been well measured and moderate and gracious.

I agree, quite proud reading this thread.

Varcoes 2 easy goals in the first showed up davis badly, and set the tone on a day when we were capable of grinding out a healthy lead by 3 quarter time and might have structured up differently in the last if that was the case..

Bigger bodies at geelong played a part on a day when swan really didn't seem to throw his weight around
regular season interuptions to team stability and injuries became very clear in the white hot heat of a great game.
Geelong, the core of which have already won 2 and narrowly lost a third, who were let down by bomber and had to wave goodbye to ablett last year... just a remarkable story and the writing off of them at the start of the year... craziness. well done geelong.

Nathan Brown will be a welcome return in 2012 - maccaffer...

keefe, fasolo, sinclair, and 4 or 5 others, ready for a steep A grade learning curve under bucks.
Heard that Davis might want to go home to WA? if so maybe a 3 way trade to get Rhyce shaw back?... not as skillful and much maligned but a similar role..
have a hunch that beams wants a ticket out... just a hunch, plenty of high draft picks floating around this year as trade currency, may get very interesting.
hopefully didaks year was an anomaly and dawes can take the giant strides that Cloke did at about the same stage of his career. Maybe a sober fev parked in the goal square will make life a bit easier...

Still feel like crap thinking about yesterday :(

Think it's gonna take me a while to get over this. Not every year that you get a chance at back to back and a part of AFL history.

Just wished we went on with it in the second quarter when we were leading by 15 points.Really thought we had them by the throat with also Pods getting injured. Those 2 late goals killed us and gave them the momentum for the third quarter:thumbsdown:

Bad luck guys, I know you will be there again next year. I thought I'd pop over and offer a few neutral supporter thoughts...

Cloke was super in the first half. I don't think he played any worse in the 2nd half, the opportunities wern't there and Geelong provided better cover.

Didak probably shouldn't have played. For some reason he isn't the same player. It's great that Mick had faith that he would get back to it but he has been painful to watch in recent weeks.

Pendles, Thomas and Ball again proved they are big game players. They were great for most of the day.

All in all, it was an entertaining game of footy. Geelong's leaders got them back into the game in that second quarter when it wasn't looking good for them. I think the Pies were 2 goals away from a very dominant position.

If a team like the current Collingwood squad doesn't win the flag it just shows you how bloody tough they are to win. The same can be said for many teams over the years. The great ones bounce back and win another. The Cats have done it, the Essendon side of the late 90's and early 00's couldn't. I get the feeling this Pies side will be one that does.

Didn't want to start a new thread on it so I'll just ask it here.

Why is it MM moved Davis forward so early on in the game ? I know he shanked a few and wasn't playing tight on his man but he's and AA backmen. We also all know how he has played in the forward line in grand finals.

I only watched it on tv and noticed him forward early on and than heard the commentators say it so I'm not sure how long he stayed there for.

This is not a troll guys but a genuine question. I'm sure you will bounce back with the super team you guys have. Remember Geelong never even went back to back...

Mate, people here are not idiots.

They are hurting and entitled to their opinion, which imo have been well measured and moderate and gracious.
But isn't there a difference between hurting and just bagging players?

I'm hurting but I fully understand that everyone out there in a Collingwood jumper gave there very best.
I get the impression that some posters think we had players out there that didn't try which of course, I'm sure you will agree, is just nonsense.

But isn't there a difference between hurting and just bagging players?

I'm hurting but I fully understand that everyone out there in a Collingwood jumper gave there very best.
I get the impression that some posters think we had players out there that didn't try which of course, I'm sure you will agree, is just nonsense.

Get what you're saying 100%. But would just point out that we have a great diversity of posters on BF and in any large group of people, there will be a diversity of methods of coping with hurt like this.

Just like out there in the real world - some people internalise, some shout, some wanna fight, some blame, some rationalise, some just disappear say nothing..

To each their own.

Didn't want to start a new thread on it so I'll just ask it here.

Why is it MM moved Davis forward so early on in the game ? I know he shanked a few and wasn't playing tight on his man but he's and AA backmen. We also all know how he has played in the forward line in grand finals.

I only watched it on tv and noticed him forward early on and than heard the commentators say it so I'm not sure how long he stayed there for.

This is not a troll guys but a genuine question. I'm sure you will bounce back with the super team you guys have. Remember Geelong never even went back to back...

I think it might have been to play a defensive forward role on Scarlett. Didak started on him and he wasn't doing a good job, Scarlett still got to the ball. Later on Leroy Brown played the defensive role on Scarlett and was quite successful.

Get what you're saying 100%. But would just point out that we have a great diversity of posters on BF and in any large group of people, there will be a diversity of methods of coping with hurt like this.

Just like out there in the real world - some people internalise, some shout, some wanna fight, some blame, some rationalise, some just disappear say nothing..

To each their own.

Yes, agree with that and we are indeed a very broad church.
While I sometimes despair at some of the posts I read here I fully accept people have a right to say it. I just don't see that bagging players has any real upside unless, as you say, its just to vent.

To explain my POV, I guess I'm just of those that see a shining light even in our darkest hours.

Knew we were in trouble with Leon after the first 30 seconds of the game.

Why did he give Varcoe so much space? I thought he didn't play well once again when it mattered the most. Just my opinion.

Never Play Davis in a Grand Final

Knew we were in trouble with Leon after the first 30 seconds of the game.

Why did he give Varcoe so much space? I thought he didn't play well once again when it mattered the most. Just my opinion.
He went to cover Selwood because he was running clear into goal from the centre clearance. There really wasn't much he could do, either stay on Varcoe and watch Selwood run in and have a shot on goal, or try and cause a turnover and let his man free instead. Personally given the option I would rather him do what he did, at least it could have caused the ball being turned over.

It's easy to bag Davis but he played a decent game. 20 disposals and 11 tackles, if we won everyone would be toasting him.

Nothing went right for you guys this season with all the media speculation and injuries to players at crucial times of the year. The pressure is now well and truly on Bucks to deliver and I reckon anything less than a GF appearance will be deemed to be a failure.

Well, after the Hawthorn game I knew it was going to be an uphill battle to win against Geelong, but seeing us lose another one after the season we had. Sigh, going to be copping it for a long, long time over this.

I also give Malthouse part of the blame. Instead of shutting his mouth or coming straight out with that he was not staying at Collingwood, all the focus was on him rather than the playing group that was under performing as a team over the last 2 months. We had a few passengers on Saturday.

Just wanted to come in and say thanks for the game.

The third quarter is the best quarter of footy i've ever watched in nearly 500 VFL/AFL games.

It was truly a heavyweight bout between two champion prizefighters, going toe to toe and trading punches.

I think you'll find a way to bounce back and win it next season.

It was a great game for 3 quarters, it's just a shame that Reid couldn't go with Hawkins in the last. If he could, I have no doubt that it would have been extremely close and easily one of the best games ever.

The players should be forced to read every bullshit article thats going to be written in the coming months about Geelong being the 'bestest team evar' and think about how many more times they want to get reamed by this side. They've used as us a stepladder to a flag 3 times now, how many times do they have to knock us out before the players start wanting some revenge?

Article in the sun by Pendles stating that they need to (finally) get bigger bodies and stronger to physically not be pushed off the ball and need a bit more aggression like Geelong who look to "go through you in tackles".

Thomas was the only one who seemed desperate and willing to put his body on the line.

Played a great third quarter. Really lifted when the pressure was on.

I don't think there was any one act that made the difference, Geelong just seemed that little bit fresher in the last. Critically we got contributions from our lower end players (Duncan, Christensen and so on) and I don't think you guys did.

The other factors were Lonergan being able to nullify Cloke and Hawkins cutting loose in the second half. Bartel was great too obviously.

Bad luck on the result. See you next year.

This Geelong side is probably the most gifted and talented side that has ever played in AFL history (13 odd all australian players). Its just unlucky you guys had to play them!

AFL Grand Final - Post Match Thread