Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Probabilities of the new final 10
1st - 18.75%
2nd - 18.75%
3rd - 18.75%
4th - 18.75%
5th - 6.25%
6th - 6.25%
7th - 3.125%
8th - 3.125%
9th - 3.125%
10th - 3.125%
11th - 0%
12th - 0%
13th - 0%
14th - 0%
15th - 0%
16th - 0%
17th - 0%
18th - 0%
So this narrative about "rewarding mediocrity" is extremely misleading. There is a clear staggered set of mathematical advantages. To suggest a team finishing 10th with a 1 in 32 chance of winning the premiership is being "rewarded" is a stretch. Yes, there is a "reward", but that reward is having a 3.125% chance (1 in 32) instead of zero. Hardly a big reward. The top 4's reward is SIX times more likely.
The staggered set of rewards when you see them like this written down does not seem unfair. There are now three sets of mathematical advantages instead of two.
We may be at cross purposes, because I completely agree that the AFL is a master of taking supporter bases for granted.Again, the AFL don’t care that you hate them, precisely because you care about your club, not the AFL.
Honest question, how many people would keep watching the AFL if their club folded tomorrow? Vs how many people would watch their team in a brand new competition that’s not the AFL?
wanna hurt the AFL? Boycott their sponsors, visibly.
If someone started a #boycottToyota campaign because of this idiotic idea, and it led to a demonstrated negative impact to Toyota, watch how quickly the AFL will “listen to its fans”.
The point some are making is that teams 9 and 10 should be on 0%.
Personally, I don't like that you can finish in 10th which is mathematically 'below average' and still qualify for the post season.I just don't get the uproar. It's two extra games of knockout footy on what was a bye week and it just gives a bit more meaning to some late season dead rubbers.
Just a handful of pliant simpsI can't be bothered checking, but we are now 21 pages into this thread. Does anyone agree with this 'unanimous' decision the AFL is currently patting itself on the back over?

I reckon it's fantastic.I can't be bothered checking, but we are now 21 pages into this thread. Does anyone agree with this 'unanimous' decision the AFL is currently patting itself on the back over?
I mean, the reward is literally an infinitely greater chance of winning the flag.So this narrative about "rewarding mediocrity" is extremely misleading. There is a clear staggered set of mathematical advantages. To suggest a team finishing 10th with a 1 in 32 chance of winning the premiership is being "rewarded" is a stretch. Yes, there is a "reward", but that reward is having a 3.125% chance (1 in 32) instead of zero. Hardly a big reward. The top 4's reward is SIX times more likely.
The staggered set of rewards when you see them like this written down does not seem unfair. There are now three sets of mathematical advantages instead of two.
We also had 4 teams making it in a 12-team league (33%). For much, much longer than any other combination.
And all that did was increase the quality, make the games more important, and generally, far more memorable. Now half the finals are forgotten by November.
To make the finals under that arrangement (and even with the final 5 - 41.66%), you actually had to be a pretty decent team. Now moderate is all you need.
And it isn't being against change. It's change for its own sake versus improvement. I haven't seen anything close to an improvement for a long time.
From "hardly a "reward" to "small but appropriate reward" in three sentences.The point I am making is that increasing the probability of 9th and 10th from zero to 3.125% is hardly a "reward"
It's a small reward, yes, but a very small one. I mean, think about it. What people are sooking about is that 10th has gone from zero chance to a 1-in-32 chance. Big whoop.
It's a small but appropriate reward for a middling ladder position.
People losing their minds because the word wildcard has been used and it's seen as "American". It's just an extra week of finals. If people are so opposed to the game representing anything American then get rid of finals all together and just award the premiership to the minor premier.
What do you mean it's a small reward??? They go from zero chance at the flag, to at least a chance. That is infinitely greater than it was before, the reward is huge!The point I am making is that increasing the probability of 9th and 10th from zero to 3.125% is hardly a "reward"
It's a small reward, yes, but a very small one. I mean, think about it. What people are sooking about is that 10th has gone from zero chance to a 1-in-32 chance. Big whoop.
It's a small but appropriate reward for a middling ladder position.
Or we could go back to just starting the finals without a bye.The pre finals bye was crap, and now we have two games to enjoy.
God I wish we did follow the Americans. In the NFL, 7 of the 16 teams in each conference make finals. Home field advantage throughout. No "ground rationalisation". Strictly enforced schedule that maximises fairness and is not compromised by artificial rivalries or marquee games.it's seen as "American". It's just an extra week of finals. If people are so opposed to the game representing anything American then get rid of finals all together and just award the premiership to the minor premier.
Can anyone tell me why this is a good idea?
Compromising the integrity of the entire competition for 2 meaningless matches?
People losing their minds because the word wildcard has been used and it's seen as "American". It's just an extra week of finals. If people are so opposed to the game representing anything American then get rid of finals all together and just award the premiership to the minor premier.
Or we could go back to just starting the finals without a bye.
God I wish we did follow the Americans. In the NFL, 7 of the 16 teams in each conference make finals. Home field advantage throughout. No "ground rationalisation". Strictly enforced schedule that maximises fairness and is not compromised by artificial rivalries or marquee games.