AFL Mackay

Re: AFL Mackay - 2010 Season

Remember they will be indoors today...what a waste of perfect weather conditions !
Should just hold the gathering at Sails bar 'cause that's where all the beautiful young things gather on a Sunday arvo.:thumbsu:

If he takes the entire group surly Sails can cater for 6 blokes:eek:?

Remember they will be indoors today...what a waste of perfect weather conditions !
Should just hold the gathering at Sails bar 'cause that's where all the beautiful young things gather on a Sunday arvo.:thumbsu:

The indoor option was pending weather, as the weather was passable the Roos trainined at a park just up from Lamberts beach lookout.
Almost 20 attended & participated in a fairly solid session.

Was told by a Hawks player that Vonny will betaking over the coaching reigns next season and Gwinny maybe back for the Saints.

That's not a bad roll up pre - christmas PH ,you could be stronger in numbers than another club or twi if the rumours are to be believed.

Other unsubstantiated rumours include;Baker's long time preident isn't going again due to over celebrating Pies flag and Swans will be really struggling for numbers all round.

Also if Pooh Bear Gwynne is back expect a bold showing from North.

Hawks will always be the bridesmaid.:thumbsu::footy::footy::)

That's not a bad roll up pre - christmas PH ,you could be stronger in numbers than another club or twi if the rumours are to be believed.

Other unsubstantiated rumours include;Baker's long time preident isn't going again due to over celebrating Pies flag and Swans will be really struggling for numbers all round.

Also if Pooh Bear Gwynne is back expect a bold showing from North.

Hawks will always be the bridesmaid.:thumbsu::footy::footy::)

Re Russell Pollock, Bakers prez-
Originally i heard Russell was stepping down as Senior prez to concentrate on juniors, recently i heard he is walking away from it all together.

Alot of changes from all clubs at this stage.

Apparently Swans are having a run Thursdat night at Vic park.

The indoor option was pending weather, as the weather was passable the Roos trainined at a park just up from Lamberts beach lookout.
Almost 20 attended & participated in a fairly solid session

Was told by a Hawks player that Vonny will betaking over the coaching reigns next season and Gwinny maybe back for the Saints.

4 Players and their Mrs and 6 blokes with their Mrs that knew the other 4? Was that the 20, brah?:)

So everyone were pissed until spewed?

Stephen my good chap,i think you should be made aware that the new A ndergrove coach is a non -drinking man and would not tolerate that type of behaviour from his young charges.:)

p.s. ; noticed you were on that naughty Bay 13 again last night...tut tut:eek:

Almost 20 attended & participated in a fairly solid session.

The Hawks have appointed David Johnstone as non-playing coach.

Gone very quiet regarding footy in Mackay.

Stephen Shavedham has been red-carded while others are busy doing their Chrissy shopping.

Season's Greetings to those who venture into here and all the best to the rest.:cool:

Gone very quiet regarding footy in Mackay.

Stephen Shavedham has been red-carded while others are busy doing their Chrissy shopping.

Season's Greetings to those who venture into here and all the best to the rest.:cool:

JB, tell PH to stop pinching our players FFS!!!

I would'nt say pinching them, more like welcoming them, there is a big difference.
If players contact Andergrove and want to come play us, the club will welcome most, i would'nt classify that as pinching.

Hey thief, take the balaclava off:mad::mad:. Welcoming, my arse brah:thumbsdown:

Have been away for work for a few weeks and after just getting back can agree with you Stephen that there is what I would like to call definate poaching in some very unsportsman like ways happening.
Also some interesting options for coach in a couple of teams, will see what happens.
Will be very keen to watch the roos first game as it seems they will have players from almost every team playing for them. Players list prior to entering the league my ass.

Have been away for work for a few weeks and after just getting back can agree with you Stephen that there is what I would like to call definate poaching in some very unsportsman like ways happening.
Also some interesting options for coach in a couple of teams, will see what happens.
Will be very keen to watch the roos first game as it seems they will have players from almost every team playing for them. Players list prior to entering the league my ass.

Interesting call Sherrinmackay, what would you classify as unsportsman like poaching

There has always been some player movement from one club to another with City Hawks benefeiting a lot from Bakers Creek's recruiting years ago.
The etablished clubs will have to wear this latest episode and survive as best they can.

Without junior development beats me how they can !:footy:

Agreed JB, if all clubs put more effort into developing their juniors, starting at auskick level we would all have more players, and the kids don't like swapping clubs!

Please do tell who your talking about or its a waste of comment.
Clubs will always complaign about players leaving but never rectify the reasons of players departures.
Down South or Vic even if a player is happy at their current environvent they will still considering leaving purely based by a better offer from another club, more money.
But up here where money isnt thrown around to entice players the only reason a player will leave is cos their not happy where their at.
A club cant please everybody but majority of players will stay loyal at a decent club.
So before you blame an opposition club of poaching find out why players are moving on.

Will be very keen to watch the roos first game as it seems they will have players from almost every team playing for them.

Once agian, the only players crossing to Andergrove from opposing clubs are ones that aint happy with their current environment regardless of how hard they are supposably poached.

Players list prior to entering the league my ass.

Re player list prior to entering , that was never an agreement put forward by Andergrove.That requirement was from the other clubs to allow Andergrove to enter a Senior team in the 2009 competition, Andergrove was to have their own Coach & players, no player could be registered @ Andergrove from another club unless he hadnt played for two seasons prior to registering with Andergrove.
The clubs put that rule in place to protect their own clubs from loosing players, fair enough, but mainly due to being threatened by a club with more to offer, ran correctly etc...
Andergrove didnt except the above proposal/compromise.
In 2011 Andergrove have been accepeted by the league on different circumstances.

Re player list prior to entering , that was never an agreement put forward by Andergrove.That requirement was from the other clubs to allow Andergrove to enter a Senior team in the 2009 competition, Andergrove was to have their own Coach & players, no player could be registered @ Andergrove from another club unless he hadnt played for two seasons prior to registering with Andergrove.
The clubs put that rule in place to protect their own clubs from loosing players, fair enough, but mainly due to being threatened by a club with more to offer, ran correctly etc...
Andergrove didnt except the above proposal/compromise.
In 2011 Andergrove have been accepeted by the league on different circumstances.

The only change was pressure from AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou wasn't it PH because andergrove didn't get things all there own way.

From what i hear 1 club is struggling big time already for next season so the competition could still be only a 6 team comp with possibly a 4 team reserve comp. Trade 1 club for another club? Thats growing the afl brand in Mackay.

The only change was pressure from AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou wasn't it PH because andergrove didn't get things all there own way.

From what i hear 1 club is struggling big time already for next season so the competition could still be only a 6 team comp with possibly a 4 team reserve comp. Trade 1 club for another club? Thats growing the afl brand in Mackay.

Perhaps if the existing clubs had of spent more time promoting their clubs and looking after their players, and less time scheming behind closed doors coming up with ways to keep the Roos out, they may not have so many probs!
You can't blame Andergrove if other clubs can't find committee's and coaches!

This is a very sad state of affairs and shows what a shambles the local administration is.
Perhaps their easy dismissal of 40 year old clubs is of the ''sink or swim'' variety.
The woeful lack of representation in the local media is endemic of the dire straits the league is in .:(

AFL Mackay