AFL Mackay

Re: Afl Macakay

One of the few things that i didnt stuff up for the game. There werent many.

Training was pretty good leading in to the game and the feeling around the group was confident without being over confident. We had alot of grandfinal experience in our side with blokes like Boase (12 grand finals appereances) Ford (6) Ada (5) JR (4) Branchflower (6) some examples so we knew how to go about it and what to expect.

No.20 Batt was one of your better players, agree?

I was suprised grumpy didnt line up on me and more suprised he didnt come on unti half time i think.

No.20 Batt was one of your better players, agree?

I was suprised grumpy didnt line up on me and more suprised he didnt come on unti half time i think.
Blakey Batt was probably one of our better players but still wasnt up to his own standards.
Gav didnt have any selected match ups sorted out for us, we just went to whoever.
Grumpy probably should have started on you just purely because he shut you out of all the games this year.

After reading the David v Goliath comment it definately rang a bell, i even said to my partner that i spoke to a couple before the game that mention that very same thing and this may be a clue but for life of me i can't 100% recall who you are.
I do remember vaguely you were with your wife when you quoted the above.

Are your wife and yourself attending the presentation night friday week.
Will not be at the presentation night PH as me and the missus will be in Melbourne watching the Saints win the flag.Enjoy what should be agreat occasion all round.

John i hate to break your heart mate but i'm leaning towards Geelong this weekend, as much as i'd love to the Saints get up but i think Geelong being in their third granny in a row puts them in good stead to get the bickies this saturday.

Saints celebrated too hard after beating the doggies for my liking where as Geelong just seemed to be relieved the in the granny with a chance to make up for last years missed oppertunity, i believe the difference is Saints are hoping they can win , the cats know they can win.

John i hate to break your heart mate but i'm leaning towards Geelong this weekend, as much as i'd love to the Saints get up but i think Geelong being in their third granny in a row puts them in good stead to get the bickies this saturday.

Saints celebrated too hard after beating the doggies for my liking where as Geelong just seemed to be relieved the in the granny with a chance to make up for last years missed oppertunity, i believe the difference is Saints are hoping they can win , the cats know they can win.
You may well be right PH but after watching your boys knock of ridiculously short priced favourites ,in a GF. I think anything can happen if you stay disciplined and stick to the game plan.

Geelong a re near to a great side but i think in what will be a torrid affair they may have a few underdone players.

A great highlight for this town would be for young Armitage to get a run.Not likely though as we will probarbly see unchanged lineups.:thumbsu:

You may well be right PH but after watching your boys knock of ridiculously short priced favourites ,in a GF. I think anything can happen if you stay disciplined and stick to the game plan.

Geelong a re near to a great side but i think in what will be a torrid affair they may have a few underdone players.

A great highlight for this town would be for young Armitage to get a run.Not likely though as we will probarbly see unchanged lineups.:thumbsu:

Correct John, the Swans are proof that once your in a granny anything can happen.
I would'nt put my house Geelong it's just my gut feeling.

It would be great experience for Armitage to get a run but as you said its unfortunately unlikely, it was good to see on monday night round 21 or 22 Armitage got 3 brownlow votes, its just a shame he's at the saints cos he'd be walk up start as an onballer at most other clubs.

Armitage's parents introduced themselves to me before our granny and we had quick chat which was good of them.
I can see him running around for the gold coast in a couple of years if he does'nt get a regular gig at the Saints.

A question for Toquick, word is that b4 the game on grand final day your club was handing out stubbie holders with 2009 senior/reserve premier's printed on them.
Apparently one was found on the ground after the game where the majority of the Whitsunday supporters were standing under the marquee's.
Can you confirm or deny this?

hey. Im moving up to airlie beach in about a weeks time. just wondering if anyone knows the best way to get in contact with the club up there.
cheers

hey. Im moving up to airlie beach in about a weeks time. just wondering if anyone knows the best way to get in contact with the club up there.
cheers

I noticed next to Cairs saints you've wrote neerim cats, is refering to Neerim Neerim South Football Club, i played half a season there when
Ray "WINDOWS" Payne coached his last season there.

yeah that is neerim neerim south. I didnt play under Ray im only 21 ive played under Paul Whelan, Damien Rhind and Dean Hendrikse in my time at neerim

change of lifestyle, i lived in cairns for a year and really liked it there and have herd airlie is very nice too. Great weather to play footy in. Whelan is still there he is just in the reserves these days though had a bad knee injury a few years back.

A question for Toquick, word is that b4 the game on grand final day your club was handing out stubbie holders with 2009 senior/reserve premier's printed on them.
Apparently one was found on the ground after the game where the majority of the Whitsunday supporters were standing under the marquee's.
Can you confirm or deny this?
The club had stubby holders printed up for the grandfinal. They had printed on them "Seniors and Reserves grandfinal 2009". I have one sitting in my stubby holder draw at home.

change of lifestyle, i lived in cairns for a year and really liked it there and have herd airlie is very nice too. Great weather to play footy in. Whelan is still there he is just in the reserves these days though had a bad knee injury a few years back.
Gday Hayesy,

When you planning on moving to Airlie? I've been here 6 months and love it!

Give Croz (president) a call with the details given above and he will be able to put you on the right track.

The club had stubby holders printed up for the grandfinal. They had printed on them "Seniors and Reserves grandfinal 2009". I have one sitting in my stubby holder draw at home.

So it's fair to say you guys were confident going into the granny and rightly so being underfeated and all.

Any word if Gav is coaching again?

Yeah the weather up here for footy season compared to Vic is great, you won't miss those cold saturdays in the fog and arvo mist at Neerim!

You'll have a ball in Airlie, good footy club too, there all good blokes except that no.6 he's a bit weird shares too much man love i hear.

Yeah the weather up here for footy season compared to Vic is great, you won't miss those cold saturdays in the fog and arvo mist at Neerim!

You'll have a ball in Airlie, good footy club too, there all good blokes except that no.6 he's a bit weird shares too much man love i hear.
He was described in the Grand Final Footy Record pen pictures as.....#6..Brent Loughnan -SILKY smooth skills,running defenderwith PENETRATING Delivery...you will get on like a house on fire haysey.:eek:

hey thanks guys. got into airlie today, loving it allready. Have to start running soon to get used to the heat im guessing, ive been in contact with the president going to meet him later this week thanks. Living in a backpackers at the moment though haha so if you know anyone looking for a house mate let me know cheers.
Certaintly not gana miss the cold days and fog, played in snow one day out there fun as haha

So it's fair to say you guys were confident going into the granny and rightly so being underfeated and all.

Any word if Gav is coaching again?
The playing group had no idea they were getting printed until they were getting handed out on the morning of the grandfinal. If you are trying to imply that we were getting to far ahead of our self i would be very careful because things like that dont get taken lightly. We were confident but knew it wouldnt be easy if we were going to be the side that got to hold the cup up, but as it turned out we are just one of those sides that went undefeated only to lose the big dance!

No word on Gav.

hey thanks guys. got into airlie today, loving it allready. Have to start running soon to get used to the heat im guessing, ive been in contact with the president going to meet him later this week thanks. Living in a backpackers at the moment though haha so if you know anyone looking for a house mate let me know cheers.
Certaintly not gana miss the cold days and fog, played in snow one day out there fun as haha
I will give Croz a buzz and see when he is meeting up with you and come down and have a couple of beers.

The playing group had no idea they were getting printed until they were getting handed out on the morning of the grandfinal. If you are trying to imply that we were getting to far ahead of our self i would be very careful because things like that dont get taken lightly. We were confident but knew it wouldnt be easy if we were going to be the side that got to hold the cup up, but as it turned out we are just one of those sides that went undefeated only to lose the big dance!

No word on Gav.

If the playing group weren't aware of the the stubbie holders then i'm not implying you guys got ahead of yourselves but an outsider could argue the club was, honestly if i was in Gav's position and seen stubbie holders with what was printed on them being handed out prior to the granny i wouldv'e been too happy but it's all history now.

Are you aware , or the club for that matter, that Andergrove have put in an application for a senior team next season?
Would be good to get a few more teams involved especially to prevent playing some clubs 4 times plus finals.

If the playing group weren't aware of the the stubbie holders then i'm not implying you guys got ahead of yourselves but an outsider could argue the club was, honestly if i was in Gav's position and seen stubbie holders with what was printed on them being handed out prior to the granny i wouldv'e been too happy but it's all history now.

Are you aware , or the club for that matter, that Andergrove have put in an application for a senior team next season?
Would be good to get a few more teams involved especially to prevent playing some clubs 4 times plus finals.
If the stubby holders had printed on them "Premiers 2009" i would agree but to have that opinion and stating it on a public forum when all that was on them was "Grand Final Seniors and Reserves 2009" is just trying to make us look bad.
Yeah i have heard that Andergrove have applied for a senior team I would think they will struggle a fair bit. It will also affect the juniors with Andergrove being the feeder side for Bakers Creek.

If the stubby holders had printed on them "Premiers 2009" i would agree but to have that opinion and stating it on a public forum when all that was on them was "Grand Final Seniors and Reserves 2009" is just trying to make us look bad.
Yeah i have heard that Andergrove have applied for a senior team I would think they will struggle a fair bit. It will also affect the juniors with Andergrove being the feeder side for Bakers Creek.
Some good points there regarding the Andergrove Kangaroos ,couldn't agree more.

If they were to enter the league the result would be the collapse of Bakers Creek who appear to be really struggling and this would be their demise.

Would be far more prudent IMO to assist Moranbah somehow to become more competitive.Better still would be to lock up a lucrative long term deal with Harrup Park that would see more games played there.:):footy::cool:

My misunderstanding, as you stated earlier the stubbie holders read grand final not premiers so its no big deal at all, i didnt put the question to you on a public forum to bad name the club it was more so to confirm if the stubbie holders had any truth to it or it was a myth, plus im presuming this section isnt the most popular on bigfooty so not many would be observing what i posted!
Looking back it now i possably shouldve private messaged you instead.

Do you blokes get together for a few runs b4 Xmas, as you know back in vic most clubs start back early november but id get shoot or sacked i reckon if told the boys we where starting pre season , 3 nights a wekk, in 4weeks time!

AFL Mackay