AFL Mackay

Re: AFL Mackay - 2010 Season

Ahh so you were one of them yeah!
Yeah didnt that make my day!
Talk about bad timing, i walk out of my office and into a dozen drunk Bakers boys on their mad monday pub crawl leaving Maguires.
Its bad enough i get abused on the footy every Saturday arfternoon and now its happening on the streets.
I crossed the road quick smart, luckily most of were to drunk to recognise me until i was in the distance!

Just a bit of fun PH. We didn't actually abuse you, but a few verbals never hurt anyone. I actually didn't realise you until someone said 'theres that spud coach from Swans' by then you were practically out of sight.

On another footy note, i was surprised to see Loughman from W/S dropped at the weekend. He's no star but certainly shouldn't have been turfed. Even though he's a battler, he adds something to W/S.

PH, you went from chocolates to boiled lollies fairly quickly. Hawks looked the goods on the weekend and think they'll go on with it.

Just a bit of fun PH. We didn't actually abuse you, but a few verbals never hurt anyone. I actually didn't realise you until someone said 'theres that spud coach from Swans' by then you were practically out of sight.

On another footy note, i was surprised to see Loughman from W/S dropped at the weekend. He's no star but certainly shouldn't have been turfed. Even though he's a battler, he adds something to W/S.

PH, you went from chocolates to boiled lollies fairly quickly. Hawks looked the goods on the weekend and think they'll go on with it.
What a messy scenario this conjures up ,extreme drunks baring their bums to poor old Dave in Wood st....ha..ha.
One thing is for sure Bakers creek boys will never be out celebrating a flag even though they all carry boiled lollies.
I will jump on the bandwagon..go Hawkies..:p

What a messy scenario this conjures up ,extreme drunks baring their bums to poor old Dave in Wood st....ha..ha.
One thing is for sure Bakers creek boys will never be out celebrating a flag even though they all carry boiled lollies.
I will jump on the bandwagon..go Hawkies..:p

PH took it in the right vein, so that's good. We'll win one soon John, but 2010 wasn't to be. Why dont you give W/S a chance, actually my wording should be, why dont you think W/S can win it?

Spud coach hey!! well i'll take that as a compliment cos every one loves potatoes!

I doubt Loughman was dropped, he's missed a few this season due to injury so i'd imagine he was injured again.

Hawkes have got themselves into a good position to win the flag but i would'nt ride off Whitsunday just yet. I doubt they will want to waste another opportunity and will come out firing against the Saints this week.

Spud coach hey!! well i'll take that as a compliment cos every one loves potatoes!

I doubt Loughman was dropped, he's missed a few this season due to injury so i'd imagine he was injured again.

Hawkes have got themselves into a good position to win the flag but i would'nt ride off Whitsunday just yet. I doubt they will want to waste another opportunity and will come out firing against the Saints this week.

We thought that you chirp off that much on the field that you may want to give us a gob full off the field, all in the name of fun mate:thumbsu:.

Instead of calling you a spud coach next time we see you, we'll say 'hey there's that awesome Premiership coach, wow he's the greatest'.

As for Loughman he's not a great loss for W/S. Hawks all the way because W/S are to arrogant for their own good. Nice to see a Hawks v Saints GF:thumbsu::).

Im tipping you would have changed sides of the street pretty quickly PH when you realized it was the Bakers boys.

I did miss the semi final injured, done my ankle in the first quarter against the Hawks at home.

We have alot of work to do to get up this weekend against the Saints, there will be alot of added heat to the game with the Jenkins vs Bond tension brewing.

Im tipping you would have changed sides of the street pretty quickly PH when you realized it was the Bakers boys.

I did miss the semi final injured, done my ankle in the first quarter against the Hawks at home.

We have alot of work to do to get up this weekend against the Saints, there will be alot of added heat to the game with the Jenkins vs Bond tension brewing.
There is no place for spitters in this game...dribblers maybe but spitting on someone is the ultimate insult.If Whitsumday cant beat the Saints comfortably watch out next week.:rolleyes:

Here's my Grand final prediction agree or not to agree!

My tip is Whitsunday, this is my reasoning.

The loss to Hawks a fortnight ago may have done the Eagles the world of good due to this season the Eagles have had to earn their spot in the Granny more so than last season where they cruised into the Granny and one could argue they sat there waiting for their opponents with big heads.

The Eagles found and produced some good form against the Saints last Saturday which they will gain alot of confidence from especially the form of Nic O'Reilly who was dominant at chf/ff in the first half when the game was to be won.
As good as rest can be in the finals momentum is also a key factor and thats one thing the Eagles will have over the Hawks going into this weeks clash.
Whitsunday will be determined not to waste another season and finals campaign, they way they responded against the Saints last Saturday sent a clear message to all the Hawks players and supporters watching on that forget the past couple encounters, this week they will be the real deal.
The Hawks would've been watching closely hoping for either a huge upset by the Saints or atleast a hard tough battle where the Eagles would just get home and limp into the Granny with a few sore bodies but the total opposite happened and the Hawks would've had, and deservedly so, some of their previous confidence dented some what after witnessing the dominent display from Whitsunday.
This is where one could argue are you better of watching the team your waiting to play or not going to the game at all and not having a mental perception of what could be ahead?
It could either make your over confident or overly concerned, interesting debate.

I dont think a grand final is the time to take too many risks but having said that as a coach i also wouldn't want to be to predictable.

Hawks strength is their mid field and tall agile forwards which has enabled them to kick good scores against the Eagles in past encounters so if the Eagles are going to have a shoot out in the middle then they will need to get their match ups right on the Hawks forwards. I could see Golonski, a regular forward for the Eagles, going back to pick up Best or some one similar for the Hawks.
Golonski is tallish, quick and has a good leap.
Eagles have potential more players to match the Hawks forwards opposed the Hawks dont have the ideal match up to shut down O'Rielly who may well be the key to Saturday's outcome.
If O'Rielly kicks a bag i cant see the Hawks getting up.
At Harrop Park O'Rielly will be suitied to playing the Carey-Pagans paddock role which will give him the license to have a huge influence on the game.
If O'Rielly has a bad day or can be well held then the Hawks will go along to winning.

14 goals will win you a grandfinal.
Eagles by 4-5 goals!

Toquick, you any chance of playing?
Surely you've had that ankle in a hypobaric chamber all week!

The loss to Hawks a fortnight ago may have done the Eagles the world of good due to this season the Eagles have had to earn their spot in the Granny more so than last season where they cruised into the Granny and one could argue they sat there waiting for their opponents with big heads.

The Eagles found and produced some good form against the Saints last Saturday which they will gain alot of confidence from especially the form of Nic O'Reilly who was dominant at chf/ff in the first half when the game was to be won.
As good as rest can be in the finals momentum is also a key factor and thats one thing the Eagles will have over the Hawks going into this weeks clash.
Whitsunday will be determined not to waste another season and finals campaign, they way they responded against the Saints last Saturday sent a clear message to all the Hawks players and supporters watching on that forget the past couple encounters, this week they will be the real deal.
The Hawks would've been watching closely hoping for either a huge upset by the Saints or atleast a hard tough battle where the Eagles would just get home and limp into the Granny with a few sore bodies but the total opposite happened and the Hawks would've had, and deservedly so, some of their previous confidence dented some what after witnessing the dominent display from Whitsunday.
This is where one could argue are you better of watching the team your waiting to play or not going to the game at all and not having a mental perception of what could be ahead?
It could either make your over confident or overly concerned, interesting debate.

I dont think a grand final is the time to take too many risks but having said that as a coach i also wouldn't want to be to predictable.

Hawks strength is their mid field and tall agile forwards which has enabled them to kick good scores against the Eagles in past encounters so if the Eagles are going to have a shoot out in the middle then they will need to get their match ups right on the Hawks forwards. I could see Golonski, a regular forward for the Eagles, going back to pick up Best or some one similar for the Hawks.
Golonski is tallish, quick and has a good leap.
Eagles have potential more players to match the Hawks forwards opposed the Hawks dont have the ideal match up to shut down O'Rielly who may well be the key to Saturday's outcome.
If O'Rielly kicks a bag i cant see the Hawks getting up.
At Harrop Park O'Rielly will be suitied to playing the Carey-Pagans paddock role which will give him the license to have a huge influence on the game.
If O'Rielly has a bad day or can be well held then the Hawks will go along to winning.

14 goals will win you a grandfinal.
Eagles by 4-5 goals!

Toquick, you any chance of playing?
Surely you've had that ankle in a hypobaric chamber all week!
Good to see Ray White pays you to sit on here for half the day PH!

Not sure on the ankle, i tried to train on Thursday night last week but didn't even get through the warm up. I had a cortisone injection on Friday arvo so hoping that helps and i can train this week and put my hand up for selection.

As good as rest can be in the finals momentum is also a k

Stopped reading here to put my fingers down my throat.............

Had a few froffies at the footy today, good day. W/S were to strong in the end and a 10 goal win was well deserved, Hawks wern't as hard as they usually are which suprised me.

Whilst having a few at the game, a couple of people suggested that W/S will lose a lot of players next year for certain reasons. Maybe the last time we see a W/S flag for a number of years. Anyway a good clean game of footy was played and the best team won.

Tigers 2011, bookmark it.

Had a few froffies at the footy today, good day. W/S were to strong in the end and a 10 goal win was well deserved, Hawks wern't as hard as they usually are which suprised me.

Whilst having a few at the game, a couple of people suggested that W/S will lose a lot of players next year for certain reasons. Maybe the last time we see a W/S flag for a number of years. Anyway a good clean game of footy was played and the best team won.

Tigers 2011, bookmark it.
Great day was had by all[unless you were a Hawks fan] at Harrup Park,big enthusiastic crowd and some great footy played in the spirit of the game.
Whitsunday played in a superior manner and laid to rest the''chokers'' tag from the past couple of seasons.Dfinately wont be their last in this decade,in fact can see a real dynasty emerging for their club.
Junior numbers have gone through the roof and the game is booming in the entire area.Clubs in our Rugby mad city are struggling to keep up with their progress and Bakers Creek are the most vulnerable.
The reason being...no juniors..for the past 20 odd years the club has neglected this vital area and will pay the price for another generation.
The old days of buyiong a flagthrough importing players has gone and the future depth for Tigers looks grim unless they can rectify the lack of locally bred players coming through.;)

Congrats to Whitsunday for winning the 2010 premiership.
Well deserved plus the 15's & 18's got up so it was a big day for the club.
I would've hate to been the bus driver on the home, he would've earnt his money for that trip!

Was speakintg to the Andergrove Prez Grandfinal day at Harrop Park and he wouldn't give me a name but did say he was from the Picola league, didn't state whether he was currently coach, a playing coach or 1st time coach.
I hear Bakers & Saints & possilbly Swans coaches aren't continuing on not sure about Hawks , , Eagles & Mooranbah.

Was speakintg to the Andergrove Prez Grandfinal day at Harrop Park and he wouldn't give me a name but did say he was from the Picola league, didn't state whether he was currently coach, a playing coach or 1st time coach.
I hear Bakers & Saints & possilbly Swans coaches aren't continuing on not sure about Hawks , , Eagles & Mooranbah.

Big call there PH, Swans possibly looking for a new inspirational leader:eek:. Are Saints definatly looking?

AFL Mackay