Brisbane Lions
Original article can be found here:
http://www.crikey.com.au/business/aflmembers.html

AFL members continue to get a raw deal

by Mr MOB
Disgruntled AFL Full Member

The AFL has slowly screwed their most loyal constituency, AFL Members, over the years but now they are beginning to fight for their rights as guest contributor Mr MOB explains.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By and large, AFL members are just ordinary folk who love to watch their football live. However, unlike members of AFL Clubs, the MCC and other similar bodies, AFL Members have no voice or representation on its governing body, no voting rights, no AGM and no formal means of airing grievances.
Despite AFL Members being among the game's most dependable supporters - and despite paying our money up front each year in good faith - the AFL Commission has chosen to ride roughshod over its own members for years, consistently eroding benefits while continuing to increase the annual fee and other charges.

There are two levels of membership. After a waiting period as a Restricted Member - at one stage up to 15 years - Full membership is offered. The key difference between the two is access to the Grand Final. Until 1997, this was virtually guaranteed for Full Members on a walk-up basis, and Restricted Members had the chance of getting a ticket in a ballot.

[Until then there had only been one Grand Final where some Full Members missed out. The single exception was 1992 when the AFL sold guest passes, worried they wouldn't get a full house with an interstate side (West Coast) competing for the first time. Even then, it was only a few hundred who were turned away and the AFL - under CEO Ross Oakley - apologised profusely for what he called an "error of judgement".]

In 1997, Wayne Jackson became CEO of the Australian Football League and since then has constantly cut away Members' entitlements, especially access to the Grand Final. In fact, the Full Member of 2001 has about the same rights and conditions that a Restricted Member had in 1998, despite paying hundreds of dollars more for the privilege.

Other areas of concern to members that have occurred during Jackson's reign include:

· introducing booking fees over and above the annual subscription for finals and "blockbuster" games

· closing Waverley (purpose-built with VFL Membership), yet giving AFL members an incredibly raw deal over seating at Colonial Stadium

· lowering the Junior Membership subscription age from 7 to 4

· drastically reducing eligibility for absentee membership

· reducing access to VFL (reserves) games: in 2000 it was free access to all games; in 2001, only home games of the reserve side affiliated with your nominated club

· sending out renewal letters in November, requiring full payment in less than four weeks. Once they used to have a competition to entice you to pay early, but now they demand our cash up front ($16 million) although members don't get any real benefit, ie going to a football match, until almost March

· And, most telling of all, last year without any fanfare or explanation the AFL Members Reserve was subtly renamed the "AFL Reserve".

[The one sop the AFL has offered is increasing the number of games a member can attend from 24 to 30 a season. But, according to the AFL's own statistics the average member attends only 10 games a year. So there probably aren't too many of us overwhelmed by this largely empty gesture, which costs the AFL effectively nothing.]

The last straw for many AFL Members was when, in an attempt to make the flagging $5000 a year Medallion Club at Colonial Stadium more attractive, it was decided to grant "priority Grand Final access" to Medallion Club members - in the AFL Members Reserve. (Pathetic isn't it that the best way to market premium memberships at "the world's most technically advanced stadium" is to include a match played at some other ground...)

In one fell swoop, up to 5000 seats in the Members Reserve disappeared to ordinary Full Members, many of whom had had to wait for up to 15 years on the restricted list to receive this privilege.

Last year, despite Wayne Jackson assuring members that he was confident the "vast majority" wanting to reserve a Grand Final seat would be able to do so, thousands of AFL Full Members queued and missed out.

The last thing the AFL needs is more television footage of disgruntled football fans, so this year there is a new telephone Ticket Ballot system. Although the telephone ballot might deflect some bad PR for the AFL, it does nothing to address members' grievances about Grand Final entry.

Rather than assure me of entry to the Grand Final, the hefty premium I must pay to be a Full Member ($136 more than Restricted) now entitles me to take my chances in a ballot. $136 is a lot of money for a glorified raffle ticket. And in the event I'm successful, I'm obliged to pay a FURTHER $29 to 'reserve' the seat the AFL balloting system has already allocated to me.

The new "Ticket Ballot Guide" uses the ambiguous phrase "available AFL Members Grand Final Tickets", but nowhere does it state the actual number of tickets that will be available to AFL Members on Grand Final Day.

There are 24,000 seats in the AFL Members Reserve but we have not been told how many of these are actually available to Full Members for the 2001 Grand Final. (It was bad enough in 1998, when I fluked great seats on the wing. Apart from North losing to bloody Adelaide, my day was marred by the fact we were in a small knot of mixed supporters surrounded by dozens of A-list freeloaders who weren't particularly interested in the game. I don't think the well-lubricated members of the Oarsome Foursome were used to having "Sit down ********" shouted at them by irate Crows fans each time they got up during play to stagger off for more corporate hospitality.)

Last year, it appears that only 16,000 seats were available to members, the rest going to VIPs, sponsors, the clubs, an ever-increasing number of corporate packages and of course 5000 Medallion Club chardonnay sippers.

Because the AFL doesn't give a number, for all we know this year it could be that only 10,000, 2,000 or even 500 seats are actually available to ordinary Full Members. There are 32,000 of us, plus another 16,000 on the restricted list.

AFL Members are getting used to spin and doublespeak in communications from Wayne Jackson and his corporate minions on this issue. One pearler was in this year's initial AFL members newsletter, where Wayne said: "In conclusion, please be aware the AFL understands, and appreciates the value of you, the AFL Members, and is keenly aware of maintaining AS A MINIMUM (my emphasis) Member's benefits".

The cover letter that came with the Ticket Guide was no exception. Shaun Welch, the AFL's new Membership Manager assures us, rather disingenuously, "At the AFL, we are mindful of the high value our Member's (sic) place on having access to apply for the Grand Final".

I think if the AFL took the trouble to ask its Full Members, Shaun would find that we in fact place a high value on having ACCESS TO the Grand Final, not ACCESS TO APPLY FOR tickets, with no guaranteed chance of getting them.

The irony is, long ago the AFL (in its VFL days) happily used Members as a bargaining chip in its tussle with the MCG over building the new Southern Stand, threatening to move the Grand Final to Waverley if they were not better looked after. At the time they stressed that a survey of their members found that "the ability to attend finals matches is of paramount importance ... It appears to be the driving force behind their continuing membership of the AFL".

These days, while the AFL is often accused of not giving a damn about the common fan, it's clear it now stoops to treat its own Members with similar contempt.

Because we have no one batting for us at the AFL, I guess we have to rely on the Membership Manager to air the very genuine concerns of Members at the Commission level and seek redress [*]. Either that, or next time the AFL wants to shaft us I suggest Shaun Welch just be up front about it rather than hiding behind the anodyne statements we find in his letter like "available tickets", "access to apply" and "absolutely committed".

[*] Unfortunately, the Fraud Squad has been called in to investigate Shaun Welch's predecessor, who was abruptly terminated after massive financial irregularities were discovered late last year. It seems that rather than having the members' needs at the forefront, she is alleged to have had our money on the tables down at Crown.

(source: http://www.afl.com.au/news/story_224385.htm)

Acknowledgements:

Thanks to Irwin Hirsh, Michael Agrotis and the other participants in the AFL Members Yahoo e-group for many of the facts and figures used in this article http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aflmembers

MrMOB has been an AFL Member (Kangaroos Club Support) since 1993. He attended the 1996 and 1998 Grand Finals as a Restricted Member (overseas in '97), but missed out on a ticket in 1999 despite his Full Membership status (couldn't go in 2000 because his wife was due to give birth). You can check out the Footy Scrapbook he made for his dad, a former No.12 for the Shinboners, at: http://www.ozemail.com.au/~mrmob/dobfootycard.html

Agree with everything. Bastards :mad:

The thing that pisses me off as well, is that level 2 is "virtually" unatainable at the MCG. There is only a couple of bays at the end which are avaiable to sit in. Give that we pay nearly 400 bucks a year, we should have accces to the best seats.

Why in the heck do we have to pay 29 dollars to "book " seat at the GF, when the cost of going to the GF has already been paid for in the annual subscription?

Just a question here folks...........

Why are u AFL members rather then club members?

I know all about the club supporters package stuff just wanna now why u dont just become a plain club member?

Because as an AFL member you can go to heaps of other matches that don't involve your club (as I do each year) and you can go to all the finals, and the Grand Final. It costs you a bit more than a normal club membership, but for "footy lovers" AFL membership is the best choice.

If only our rights weren't being slowly eroded. :mad:

I was thinking of getting all the AFL members on bigfooty to write to the AFL (I'm guessing there would be about 30 of us) to voice their disapointment at the way things have been. As An Essendon fan, it costs me over 50 bucks a year (on top of the $400) just to book seats (about 5 dollars a seat) for roughly 10 home and away matches. The other home and away matches I can pretty much turn up on the day.

We are Kangaroo members. We have special catergory membership and also an away upgradge, which entitles us to enter the AFL members for our away games at the MCG. We no longer need to have an AFL restricted membership. When we need finals tickets we purchase them from the club.

Following the demise of the Fitzroy Lions the AFL had the audacity to offer Fitzroy members an AFL membership. I know what my response would have been,as I have a healthy self esteem.

Maybe an AFL members pressure group would be the go. I reckon it is an under statement to say you are all being d-icked by Wayne Jackson.

The main reason why I am an AFL member (full member since 92) is that is better value than a club package. You get access to more games and finals than a normal club membership.

However this "value for money" has been eroded over the years due to a number of factors.

The introduction of Colonial Stadium, a changing structure for obtaining final's tickets and other "supporters" taking the space that was once reserved for AFL members have all contributed to this.

The reason why the AFL has made decisions to the determent of AFL members is because it goes by the logic that it is a privilege to be a AFL member and thus they must accept changes by the AFL.

The AFL basically has a free reign to make such decisions without voices of disapproval. Until AFL members are treated like shareholders (who have a say in how the AFL membership reserve is run) they will have to accept what the AFL does.

The club with the most AFL members (Collingwood) has lost a lot of members to AFL section. As a result McGuire is lobbying for club membership to be centralized so it can better compete with the AFL membership.

Originally posted by Dan25
The thing that pisses me off as well, is that level 2 is "virtually" unatainable at the MCG. There is only a couple of bays at the end which are avaiable to sit in. Give that we pay nearly 400 bucks a year, we should have accces to the best seats.

Not just level two Dan. Since '97 I've ended up with tickets in the top deck each year. I'm hoping a contact I've got who has access to corporate box tickets comes thru' if we get in this year ;)

I also now wont be going unless my teams in it for two reasons:

1 Given the limitation on seats due to the medallion pricks getting in I don't want to deprive someone of being able to see their team in it.

2 The AFL see us as nothing more than cash cows so they can go screw themselves.

Why in the heck do we have to pay 29 dollars to "book " seat at the GF, when the cost of going to the GF has already been paid for in the annual subscription?

G.R.E.E.D. Pure & simple. 30 bucks by 20 odd thousand seats is a fair bit of dosh to take down to Crown :eek:

You whingers are breaking my heart. Join a club. All clubs have a membership which guarantees finals tickets, and anyway if your club is not in them you should stay at home and let the club supporters get a chance to go.
AFL membership ??? Who supports the AFL ??

I joined the AFL members like most people in 92 when the great southern stand was completed.
For the first few years it was fantastic, apart from the initial GF stuffup.
I was a full member with the club support package.

Slowly over the last couple of years I began to wonder exactly what benefits was I receiving?
In the end when Colonic stadium came onboard and Medallion Club Members got priority over AFL members, I decided that enough was enough.
I didn't renew my membership last year, opting to upgrade to a premium club package instead, and I must admit, I'm glad I did.

All the money now goes to MY club, and I see the games I want. Even if I have to pay for a general admission ticket to watch other teams, I am still better off.

Perhaps AFL members need to resign "en masse" before the ignorant pigs will recognise your existence.

But for me, I'm glad I resigned. I get more enjoyment supporting my club, not the ungrateful AFL

Originally posted by DarkRider
... All clubs have a membership which guarantees finals tickets ...

Yes. But for how much longer?

For the next few years the MCG capacity is going to be about 70,000 while they rebuild the northern side of the ground. So who's going to miss out?

I bet it won't be the corporate freeloaders.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews

Yes. But for how much longer?

For the next few years the MCG capacity is going to be about 70,000 while they rebuild the northern side of the ground. So who's going to miss out?

I bet it won't be the corporate freeloaders.

The corporate "freeloaders" pay about ten times as much for their seats as we do Alf, so they can hardly be called freeloaders.

No they don't, their shareholders do.

You whingers are breaking my heart. Join a club. All clubs have a membership which guarantees finals tickets, and anyway if your club is not in them you should stay at home and let the club supporters get a chance to go.
AFL membership ??? Who supports the AFL ??

That's not the point (although I am going to take your advice from next season).

We paid hundreds of dollars year after year to be restricted members. Personally, I go to a few non-Carlton games, but not many. What I was paying for was guaranteed Grand Final tickets once I had qualified for Full membership.

Finally happened in 2000. Sure enough, no GF ticket.

I have now decided I'm happy to let competing club supporters go to GFs instead of me, though I would still like to go. I just want my money back that I paid for this right over the years.

Imagine if this happened to MCC members. The State Government would fall.

Originally posted by Fat Red

That's not the point (although I am going to take your advice from next season).

HEY! Who will I sit with in the AFL members????

All of the above info infuriates me even more with those p.ricks at the AFL.

Dark Rider, your club membership certainly does not "guarantee" finals tickets. And why can't we complain about having our rights screwed by the AFL? We've paid a lot of money over the years.

Originally posted by Blues2001

HEY! Who will I sit with in the AFL members????

You can sit with your social club friends:rolleyes:

Or your Essendon girlfriend.

Anyway, you haven't offered a comment about my avatar;)

Originally posted by Fat Red

You can sit with your social club friends:rolleyes:

Or your Essendon girlfriend.

Anyway, you haven't offered a comment about my avatar;)

HEY! Where were you on the weekend???? I wanted to sit with you but you wouldn't turn up!

My Essendon g/f won't sit through the whole game if Essendon is losing (ie. she left early when we beat them in round 3) anyway.

You better not be serious, there is NO way that you are giving up that membership!

And yes, I love your avartar.....even if it is a bit similar to mine. Its red, just not fat red!

I don't really understand all the issues here, as I'm a club member and have never wanted to become an AFL member. But why can't they reduce the membership fees and make EVERY AFL member nominate a club support package. Come Grand Final time, AFL Members with support packages for the competing clubs get priority on tickets until Wednesday, then the remaining AFL Members who have entered the ballot get access.

I know all the AFL Members have paid a lot of money and are getting stiffed by the AFL, but what do you expect when you are a member of an organisation notorious for not caring about the public?

It just really annoys when I know people who go to the Grand Final every year and they don't even follow a competing club whilst thousands of club members, who have supported their club all year, miss out.

In a perfect world the AFL would scrap the AFL members tomorrow, or change it so if you want to watch games not involving your club (ie people like Dan25) you pay an extra amount that guarantees you entry to H&A games. But this is never going to happen, because the AFL will continue to rip off its members until they can handle it no more.

As for the MCC members, I reckon the same rule should apply, make them nominate a competing club, and if that club is in the Grand Final they get priority until Wednesday.

Everyone says the Grand Finals of the past few years have had a poor atmosphere due to so many neutral supporters, when is the AFL going to act to ensure that more club members, and AFL & MCC members who support a competing club, get priority access?

HEY! Where were you on the weekend???? I wanted to sit with you but you wouldn't turn up!

My Essendon g/f won't sit through the whole game if Essendon is losing (ie. she left early when we beat them in round 3) anyway.

You better not be serious, there is NO way that you are giving up that membership!

And yes, I love your avartar.....even if it is a bit similar to mine. Its red, just not fat red!

That's not very nice, bagging your girlfriend when she is not here to defend herself - might have to find some room in the 21st speech for that! :D ;) Hey Fat Red, when do you want to meet up...I've almost finished what I want to say...but it's pretty tame.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Everyone says the Grand Finals of the past few years have had a poor atmosphere due to so many neutral supporters, when is the AFL going to act to ensure that more club members, and AFL & MCC members who support a competing club, get priority access?

Answer, sadly, is never.

Blues2001, why do you want your AFL membership? Only thing it's useful for is away games at the 'G--and with the money you save you can pay for reserved seats at these anyway, and sit with non-AFL member friends. And the mighty Blues get the money.

Dark Rider, your club membership certainly does not "guarantee" finals tickets. And why can't we complain about having our rights screwed by the AFL? We've paid a lot of money over the years.

Sorry, but my membership (about $210) absolutely, unequivocably, in writing, guarantees me a finals ticket for every final game in which my club participates. I have put it to the test several times in recent years, and they have always delivered. This is not your basic $85 membership of course, but every club has memberships like this.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
I don't really understand all the issues here, as I'm a club member and have never wanted to become an AFL member. But why can't they reduce the membership fees and make EVERY AFL member nominate a club support package. Come Grand Final time, AFL Members with support packages for the competing clubs get priority on tickets until Wednesday, then the remaining AFL Members who have entered the ballot get access.

<snip>

In a perfect world the AFL would scrap the AFL members tomorrow, or change it so if you want to watch games not involving your club (ie people like Dan25) you pay an extra amount that guarantees you entry to H&A games. But this is never going to happen, because the AFL will continue to rip off its members until they can handle it no more.

As for the MCC members, I reckon the same rule should apply, <snip>

If an AFL Member elects to take out a Club Support package part of what they are paying for includes a club membership. The selected club gets $110 (or whatever the membership costs) from the AFL. And that AFL Member gets included in the count of her/his clubs members. For instance, last year Hawthorn had 26,879 members, 2,186 of whom had taken out a Hawthorn Club Support package as part of their AFL Membership.

From this season the Club Support members of the two completing clubs do get priority on tickets sold to AFL Members. But this change is only a reaction to the AFL Members Lock Out last season. In the previous seasons it is fair to say that every Club Support member of the two competing clubs who wanted to go to the GF was able to do so. In 1998 and 99 some (but not all) of the appropriate Club Support Restricted Members were also able to go.

If the AFL ever gets rid of the AFL Membership it won't be the standard club members who'll get the benefit of the extra available seats. The tickets will be sold to the corporates, etc. Remember: all the clubs skim the best tickets to sell as part of expensive brunch packages - even the two clubs that are competing.

Originally posted by hotham

<snip>
Maybe an AFL members pressure group would be the go. I reckon it is an under statement to say you are all being d-icked by Wayne Jackson.

An AFL Members pressure group is a possibility. The article that starts this thread is an example of the growing disenchantment AFL Members feel about the way the AFL treats them.

In the acknowledgements of the article Mr MOB mentions an AFL Members yahoogroup, which can be found at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aflmembers . There'll you find the following description of the group:

This mailing list is for AFL Members who are interested
in discussing their membership, the way it is managed,
football, getting to know their fellow members, and
anything else of interest.

It is open to anyone, whether or not they are members
of the AFL.

To join send a blank email to
aflmembers-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

I encourage anyone with an interest to join the group.

the underlying problem, as I see it, is that you are not actually purchasing a membership at all.

Exactly what are you a member of and what rights does it give you ?????

I am a member of a club called the "Port Adelaide Football Club (est 1870)". This does not, on its own, give me access to any games. It is just a club membership. It does give me a say in how my club is run (I get to vote (sorry Crows, Eagles and Dockers....support a real club).

The AFL "membership" does not make you a "member" of the AFL. It gives you absolutely no say in how the AFL is run. It is effectively a season ticket for a package of games. If you view it this way, you can then take a view as to whether you get value for money. The value of my PAFC membership does not erode over time....it is identical to what it was 10 years ago (I get to vote). A season ticket for Port games is a different matter. If they charged $1000 for a season ticket then no-one would buy them. So don't complain about the "erosion" of your "membership". In reality, each year you make a concious decision to buy an AFL season ticket, and each year you make that decision based on the expected utility of that ticket vs the associated cost.

What this topic should be about is how do we get voting rights associated with an AFL membership. Then the members of the AFL (no...bugger it....all members of AFL clubs) can elect the AFL Commission, and then we can make them accountable.

Who gives a stuff if the AFL "membership" includes the GF or not ?If the odds get too low then don't buy the membership !

Supply and Demand....use the market to your advantage.

ptw