Competitions AFL Mock Draft 2021

Turbocat Pure_Ownage we'll do it a bit differently for this one (rather than just wiping out all picks), as Windhager remains. PO is correct that it'll be Pick 60 or so, which ironically will come back to the very picks Saints just gave up, once I remove them from the list, haha.

Owens matched at 28, still 3 picks remain for you PO!

*****************************UPDATED ORDER AFTER OWENS BID***********************************

1. North Melbourne - Jason Horne-Francis
2. Western Bulldogs (GWS bid matched for Sam Darcy and all selections exhausted by default)
3. Collingwood (GWS bid matched for Nick Daicos and all selections exhausted by default)
4. GWS - Finn Callaghan
5. Gold Coast - Josh Gibcus
6. Adelaide - Neil Erasmus
7. Hawthorn - Josh Rachele
8. Fremantle - Mac Andrew
9. Richmond - Ben Hobbs
10. Fremantle - Tyler Sonsie
11. St Kilda - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
12. West Coast - Matthew Johnson
13. Essendon - Jacob Van-Rooyen
14. Port Adelaide - Arlo Draper
15. GWS - Jye Amiss
16. Brisbane - Josh Sinn
17. Richmond - Josh Ward
18. Sydney - Darcy Wilmot
19. GWS - (Melbourne bid matched for Josh Fahey - 46, 47 and 62 - all GWS selections now exhausted as result of match)
20. Melbourne - Tom Brown
21. Brisbane - Sam Butler
22. Fremantle - Josh Goater
23. North Melbourne - Rhett Bazzo
24. Hawthorn - Campbell Chesser
25. Geelong - Zac Taylor
26. Hawthorn - Cooper Murley
27. Carlton - Matthew Roberts
28. St Kilda - (Richmond bid matched for Mitchito Owens - 52 and 56, with 57 moving to 60 - will be 57 after bids come back in - as a residual pick)
29. Richmond - Mitchell Knevitt
30. Richmond - Leek Aleer
31. Richmond - Brady Hough
32. West Coast - Angus Sheldrick
33. Geelong - Blake Howes
34. Sydney - Charlie Dean
35. Geelong - Alastair Lord
36. Adelaide - Shay Linke
37. Geelong - Jack Williams
38. West Coast - Jesse Motlop
39. Melbourne - Toby Conway
40. Sydney
41. Brisbane
42. North Melbourne
43. North Melbourne
44. Melbourne
45. Geelong
46. Essendon
47. Essendon
48. Melbourne
49. Hawthorn
50. Brisbane
51. Fremantle
52. Port Adelaide
53. Carlton
54. Hawthorn
55. West Coast
56. Fremantle
57. St Kilda (residual pick)
58. Sydney
59. North Melbourne
60. Port Adelaide
61. Port Adelaide
62. Adelaide
63. Brisbane

Seeing as we're around mid-way through and we're in a bit of a lull, thought I'd compile a list of who your club has selected thus far and what picks your club has remaining:

Adelaide foodles05 - Neil Erasmus - Picks remaining: 36, 62

Brisbane Shai - Josh Sinn, Sam Butler - Picks remaining: 41, 50, 63

Carlton Pure_Ownage - Matthew Roberts - Picks remaining: 53

Essendon Vdubs - Jacob Van-Rooyen - Picks remaining: 46, 47

Fremantle Turbocat - Mac Andrew, Tyler Sonsie, Josh Goater - Picks remaining: 51, 56

Geelong Shadow89 - Zac Taylor - Picks remaining: 33, 35, 37, 45

Gold Coast Shadow89 - Josh Gibcus - Picks remaining: N/A

GWS Cameron_Jezza - Finn Callaghan, Jye Amiss, Josh Fahey - Picks remaining: N/A

Hawthorn Gee Class Loco - Josh Rachele, Campbell Chesser, Cooper Murley - Picks remaining: 49, 54

Melbourne Two Planks - Tom Brown - Picks remaining: 39, 44, 48

North Melbourne year of the cat - Jason Horne-Francis, Rhett Bazzo - Picks remaining: 42, 43, 59

Port Adelaide Gee Class Loco - Arlo Draper - Picks remaining: 52, 60, 61

Richmond Pure_Ownage - Ben Hobbs, Josh Ward, Mitch Knevitt, Leek Aleer, Brady Hough - Picks remaining: N/A

St Kilda Turbocat - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, Mitchito Owens - Picks remaining: 57

Sydney ShaunWDT - Darcy Wilmot - Picks remaining: 34, 40, 58

West Coast CleverCount - Matthew Johnson - Picks remaining: 32, 38, 55

How's everyone feel with their haul thus far? Are there players they would rather? Who do you think has the best draft picks outside of Richmond and Freo? I was actually quite surprised at how good Hawthorn, Melbourne and North's hands were, after all the bids came in. I reckon we (Geelong) have the 7th strongest hand in the draft as it stands (Richmond, Freo, GWS, North, Hawthorn, Melbourne, Geelong, in that order) - how do others rate it?

Curious to see people's thoughts :)

Seeing as we're around mid-way through and we're in a bit of a lull, thought I'd compile a list of who your club has selected thus far and what picks your club has remaining:

Adelaide foodles05 - Neil Erasmus - Picks remaining: 36, 62

Brisbane Shai - Josh Sinn, Sam Butler - Picks remaining: 41, 50, 63

Carlton Pure_Ownage - Matthew Roberts - Picks remaining: 53

Essendon Vdubs - Jacob Van-Rooyen - Picks remaining: 46, 47

Fremantle Turbocat - Mac Andrew, Tyler Sonsie, Josh Goater - Picks remaining: 51, 56

Geelong Shadow89 - Zac Taylor - Picks remaining: 33, 35, 37, 45

Gold Coast Shadow89 - Josh Gibcus - Picks remaining: N/A

GWS Cameron_Jezza - Finn Callaghan, Jye Amiss, Josh Fahey - Picks remaining: N/A

Hawthorn Gee Class Loco - Josh Rachele, Campbell Chesser, Cooper Murley - Picks remaining: 49, 54

Melbourne Two Planks - Tom Brown - Picks remaining: 39, 44, 48

North Melbourne year of the cat - Jason Horne-Francis, Rhett Bazzo - Picks remaining: 42, 43, 59

Port Adelaide Gee Class Loco - Arlo Draper - Picks remaining: 52, 60, 61

Richmond Pure_Ownage - Ben Hobbs, Josh Ward - Picks remaining: 29, 30, 31

St Kilda Turbocat - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, Mitchito Owens - Picks remaining: 57

Sydney ShaunWDT - Darcy Wilmot - Picks remaining: 34, 40, 58

West Coast CleverCount - Matthew Johnson - Picks remaining: 32, 38, 55

How's everyone feel with their haul thus far? Are there players they would rather? Who do you think has the best draft picks outside of Richmond and Freo? I was actually quite surprised at how good Hawthorn, Melbourne and North's hands were, after all the bids came in. I reckon we (Geelong) have the 6th strongest hand in the draft as it stands - how do others rate it?

Curious to see people's thoughts :)
You are doing an awesome job.
Don’t know how you keep on top of it.
Hard enough selecting one player!
Good fun though.
Nearly gave up when Turbo nabbed Sonsie.

Richmonds last 3 picks
#29 Mitchell Knevitt 193cm inside mid (geelong falcons)
#30 Leek Aleer 195cm kpd (central district sanfl)
#31 Brady Hough 189cm utility peel thunder WA

CleverCount youre up

So interesting last 3 picks. I wasnt planning to take another mid but knevitt (who was #16 on my board) is too good to overlook. I know he polarises some people but apart from his height i absolutely love his ability to win the ball overhead and his power to get out of contest situations. I see him as an inside mid at afl level but his athleticism and his tank tell me he could well end up as a good 3rd tall forward initially who eventually becomes a full time mid and thats the role i see him starting at at richmond.

I absolutely must take a kpd here given astbury is gone and garthwaite delisted and grimes and tarrant and broad are all ageing. For those who havent seen aleer he is raw had a lot of injury in his draft year but as an overager has broken through at senior level in the sanfl. Broke the vertical jump record at the combine. Has a great ability to read the play and intercept mark which richmond love in their system..is quick so he can play tall or small..i see him as an ideal fit for richmonds system. He is raw and needs some work on his consistency so this is a projection high floor high ceiling pick. But the upside with him is very high and he's both capable of playing senior footy next year but has a lot of scope to develop long term. I almost took charlie dean here who i really rate and hope finds a home but i think aleer is a slightly better fit for what richmond tend to want in their defence.

Hough is a classic utility..at his height and his athleticism can genuinely play in all 3 parts of the ground..i see him as a HF initially at richmond potentially becoming a winger eventually..similar to the type of role mcintosh plays for them. He made his senior debut for peel and got 22 disposals and 9 marks indicating his ability to quickly adapt against senior bodies. His disposal and ability to find the right option really impress me theres a bit of mitch duncan about him imo. Im surprised he hasnt been more talked about on here and it wouldnt surprise to see him go first round on the night.

I would like to take a key forward for richmonds list but with JVR gone theres none i rate as worth this pick range but i have a KPF in mind for the rookie draft (if we do one). I also looked at a small forward option and was close to taking motlop but hough is just such a solid pick i couldnt do it.

Players i would have liked to take in this range if i had more picks: hugh jackson (very underrated), corey warner, sam banks, ned long, jesse motlop, blake howes, lachlan rankin, angus sheldrick, shay linke, toby conway, judson clarke to name a few and id bid on windhager. Theres some good depth still in the draft at this point.

Richmonds last 3 picks
#29 Mitchell Knevitt 193cm inside mid (geelong falcons)
#30 Leek Aleer 195cm kpd (central district sanfl)
#31 Brady Hough 189cm utility peel thunder WA

CleverCount youre up

....son of a...

I knew it'd happen. I knew you'd choose two out of the 3 I wanted (would be happy to grab Knevitt at our first 30's pick but not pick in the 20's), and there it is! Sh*t even Hough was high on my board after Bastyy's info on the main board. Bah!! :tearsofjoy:

...who will I choose now...

You are doing an awesome job.
Don’t know how you keep on top of it.
Hard enough selecting one player!
Good fun though.
Nearly gave up when Turbo nabbed Sonsie.

Cheers mate, really appreciate it :)

Sonsie is gonna be so good, but JVR is actually a really solid choice for Essendon - especially with Hooker gone and Hurley pretty much done for too

Pure_Ownage , I swear if Richmond end up with something similar to this on draft night (they could not have had a better draft and you could not have done better) - we're all screwed:

Ben Hobbs, Josh Ward, Mitch Knevitt, Leek Aleer, Brady Hough

Pure_Ownage , I swear if Richmond end up with something similar to this on draft night - we're all screwed:

Ben Hobbs, Josh Ward, Mitch Knevitt, Leek Aleer, Brady Hough

The aleer pick is a bit of a gamble (but lets be honest somebody else and probably geelong was taking him R2 if i didnt so its not that much of a reach) but im very happy with the rest. Really addressed richmonds contested ball issues and given them some players with good leadership potential too. Shows theres decent depth in this draft and even at geelongs 30s picks (if we dont trade up) some good players to be had.

Plenty of sides need key defenders but IMHO after Gibcus and Bazzo the talent pool is very questionable.

....son of a...

I knew it'd happen. I knew you'd choose two out of the 3 I wanted (would be happy to grab Knevitt at our first 30's pick but not pick in the 20's), and there it is! Sh*t even Hough was high on my board after Bastyy's info on the main board. Bah!! :tearsofjoy:

Sorry i knew you wanted knevitt and a kpd so it was hard i wanted to let them all through to geelong 😂 but i figured to make this real i better try and address richmonds list needs and they do really need midfielders and a key back urgently. I didnt expect knevitt to still be available frankly i would have taken either him or wilmot (who i really rate)at #17 if ward wasnt there.

Pick 32 - West Coast: Angus Sheldrick

*Yet again another tough choice here.. I’m torn between a few but there’s something about this guy that gives me Serong vibes but bigger body! Super competitive, consistent, a real inside bull who can break out of clearances and setup teammates..
He’s exactly what WC will need going forward.. team him up with Johnson and 👨🏻‍🍳💋👌*

oh I forgot Shadow89 your next 👀🙈

Plenty of sides need key defenders but IMHO after Gibcus and Bazzo the talent pool is very questionable.

It is which is why aleer will go earlier this year (ie 20-35 and not late draft) than he would in a normal year but he does have some real tools to work with-melbourne and the dogs have shown the value of intercept defenders in the modern game.

*Yet again another tough choice here.. I’m torn between a few but there’s something about this guy that gives me Serong vibes but bigger body! Super competitive, consistent, a real inside bull who can break out of clearances and setup teammates..
He’s exactly what WC will need going forward.. team him up with Johnson and 👨🏻‍🍳💋👌*

Great choice. I very nearly took him over hough i just wanted more of a POD to complement the other mids i took but hes a great fit for wce. I reckon he plays very early on.

....son of a...

Thats the classic draft conundrum... ist as much about whether you think a player is worth your pick..as to wether he will last till you next pick. Its an interest process to to give an insight into the process. Id say about the last to 5 to 10 picks ...plenty of clubs would be selling their grandmother for an extra pick. Does illustrate why Geelong might do well in a trade for one of the picks in the 30's. I think I could name 5 players that id be happy to pick with our first 30 something pick

oh I forgot Shadow89 your next 👀🙈

Such a slider and such a good pick - (will go with the Carlton pick or 3 Richmond picks IMO) - Knightmare is huge on him, and he's definitely a very good prospect...

Gonna need a few to figure out what the hell I do with my next 3 of 5 picks.... :tearsofjoy:

Thats the classic draft conundrum... ist as much about whether you think a player is worth your pick..as to wether he will last till you next pick. Its an interest process to to give an insight into the process. Id say about the last to 5 to 10 picks ...plenty of clubs would be selling their grandmother for an extra pick. Does illustrate why Geelong might do well in a trade for one of the picks in the 30's. I think I could name 5 players that id be happy to pick with our first 30 something pick

This is why I'm super keen for us to get up to early-mid 20's (before Richmond's picks), as we'll end up in this exact scenario come draft night IMO - where Rich take the 3 picks we'd want a bit later in the 30's (Aleer and Knevitt perfect examples)

This range of the draft is really no mans land to me, lot of guys with good potential but no real stand outs.