Game Day AFL Round 16 - Collingwood vs West Coast Matchday Discussion (sub is Blair)

If you're a supporter who can get to the game, but refuses to because of a stadium, they're not exactly a model supporter...
Here's a real model supporter.

upload_2015-7-18_10-27-44.jpeg

They said before our last 3 weeks we had a soft draw but has anyone had a look at the Eagles draw : Dogs, Blues, Freo, Bris, Gws, Port, Suns, Saints, Cats, North, Ess, Rich, Melb, Adel... Pretty soft draw except for the Freo game which they lost and the Port Game which they won NO Sydney or Hawthorn yet. Yes you can only beat who you are playing but if we turn up the way we have the last 3 weeks we will win easily.

In the US at the moment for work and will miss the game. Ironically the bar around the corner called "Aussies" doesnt show anything lol.

Well then, you'll just have to come on here for an objective and balanced account of the game as it unfolds...oh wait...

Also in the US. I have a WatchAFL subscription, so I'll be watching it by myself at a hostel in Chicago starting at 1.30am. I tell you what, it's been tough to get up an into a full day after watching the game the last three weeks, but of course I'll be backing up again.

Not a huge fan of this stat...

Twice this year we've played there and both times got flogged, from Adelaide and the doggies in the nab cup.

Round one last year we copped a huge flogging against Freo there, and the doggies scoring an upset later in the season, with our win against the Saints the only decent one of note at the venue in the last 2 years.

This year we've scored a huge majority of our goals from marks inside 50, we're last for scores from general play, the tighter confines of the surface i believe means we may struggle to take some grabs inside 50 as we did against Adelaide earlier in the season.

Huge task this game.

On the bright side, the Eagles are last in the league for stopping their opponent marking on the lead in their defensive 50.

It's time for Witts or Grundy to stand up as a forward and take some pressure off Cloke and White.

If one of them is doing much better against Nic Nat than the other then keep the other forward far more than normal.

We need to develop them as forwards nearly as much as ruck options if they're to co exist into the future.
Too true - both have some potential there, but need repetition in games.

Yeah I never understood this thinking. Fair enough if people have other commitments, but not going because of public transport or expensive food or it's a "shitty stadium" 'is very weak. I always enjoyed going there.
Moving from Melbourne to Perth, I miss going to the footy nearly every weekend.
I can't even get to watch it on tv in my current location, so yeah, it would be nice to have the option, but when you live anywhere at all you always end up seeing things from that perspective, I guess.

I spend over $300 on a season ticket and barely go to any matches.

I used to be able to deal with people screaming in my ear, long lines to take a piss, expensive food, the freezing cold, listening to flogs abuse umpires and players for every single thing before I found fox footy.

Then you have to listen to the Idiot Commentators Bashing Collingwood then

They said before our last 3 weeks we had a soft draw but has anyone had a look at the Eagles draw : Dogs, Blues, Freo, Bris, Gws, Port, Suns, Saints, Cats, North, Ess, Rich, Melb, Adel... Pretty soft draw except for the Freo game which they lost and the Port Game which they won NO Sydney or Hawthorn yet. Yes you can only beat who you are playing but if we turn up the way we have the last 3 weeks we will win easily.
Didn't Collingwood lose to Geelong and Adelaide who WC beat easily? Pies have not played Sydney or Bulldogs yet either.

Huge game this for us, yes we can sort of afford to lose it and still play finals, but we have to end this losing streak eventually.

I reckon this will be a classic game, we will try and shut it down and make it lower scoring then they want (over 200 points in total) while they will try and break free at every occasion.

I reckon this is the week we really play above ourselves, we haven't had one of those absolutely epic performances so far this season and today may well be the day.

Pendles has had a 9 day break and that bodes well for us, because he is simply the best player out there today.

Start well, pressure the ball carrier, use the ball well when we have it and we can and should win this.

I'll be at Etihad, if you see someone asleep in Aisle 10 it's probably me (damn cricket, golf, TDF).

Go Pies.:)

Keep it a Close game so we don’t lose much % as % might get us into the Finals as we have good %

I hate Foxtel only games. Physically going to a twilight game just isn't practical for me either.

If I wanted this kind of shabby treatment, I'd go barrack for the Dogs or Saints.

Guys like Yeo, Gaff, McGovern, Cripps, Sheppard and also Wellingham have stepped it up this year to most of our surprise. If you haven't seen many of our games you're going to be surprised with how well our second tier guys are going.

Sides have been letting Yeo and Gaff run unchecked for the most part and they have been cutting them up.
Glad Wellingham is finally stepping it up for you. Thought he was a decent player for us, so good to see him finally giving you some value.

How soft supporters have become. Not going to a pies game because they don't like the stadium. Harden up.
I think this is hilarious. Etihad is one of my favourite stadiums. Compared to Subi it is PURE LUXARY!

You lot are spoilt as supporters, that's all there is to it.:p

On the bright side, the Eagles are last in the league for stopping their opponent marking on the lead in their defensive 50.
That's because we put so much energy into keeping the ball in our forward fifty. If you manage to get it out, we are vulnerable to the fast break, over the back goal. It happens every match, but not usually enough times for us to lose because of it.

So you have almost the Exact same game plan we had in 2010-2011 then

I am old and my memory sucks, but I seem to remember the Pies going along the boundary line during that time. We are all for fast movement down the guts whenever possible. Players will play on as soon as they get it to get it in to the forward line as quickly as possible. Then if we don't score, keep it there until we do.