Review AFL Round 3 autopsy - Collingwood defeated by Geelong by 11 points

Ah yes, these two. I try very hard to be accepting of Bad Johnno given how good Good Johnno is, but geez he made it hard at times tonight. Caddy nearly gave up 2 goals in two minutes doing exactly the same thing - trying to do too much deep in defence and coughing it up. Know your limitations son!

50/50 Caddys fault there I reckon, both times he went the handball that we run systems for, just no-one was there when they were supposed to.
So clearly his fault for not looking elsewhere (the old "walls falling in" tunnel vision) and his team-mates for not getting into position for the get out handball.
Apart from that I thought he had a pretty good game, few clangers but he'll get there, it is his job to burrow in hard so will get most of his ball under duress. It is definitely something that will improve.

Edit: Also slightly off topic but how good was it to see Varcoe follow up last weeks good game with a pretty good showing tonight. I don't dare to say he's back but maybe he is preparing his comeback speech.

Eagles have 3 !!!

And according to a Kangaroos supporter mate of mine, Cox owns McIntosh.
To be fair, Cox has owned most ruckmen over the past decade!

Just another point.
I'm curious who Geelong had on Lalabumba tonight, as it definitely worked against us, and who everyone thinks would be a better match up?
Thought it was mostly Bartel and thought it was 50/50.

Just got home from the game, funny how much of a different perspective it gives you with a bit of a birds eye view. I don't know why but I wasn't really nervous at any stage through it?? Just never really felt like we would lose, thought we were the better side throughout the game and the only reason they were in it at all was because of us butchering it going forward.

Not a fan of Sheringham, I still don't know why we kept him over someone like Eardley or freeing up another list spot. Yes, he did some decent things defensively but he cost us a couple of goals going forward I reckon that you wouldn't have seen on TV. Either missed an easy target or took the completely wrong option when we were attacking a few times which should have resulted in pretty easy goals. Bews, Thurlow, Schroeder should all be ahead of him in the pecking order not only for talent and potential but also age.

Love what Hmac is offering around the ground, he is fast becoming VERY valuable. Worth the wait, hope he stays fit.

Little dissapointed Caddy hasn't really grabbed a game by the scruff of the neck like in the preseason but it will come, that being said Duncan stood up instead. Also like where Murdoch is heading.

Guthrie :thumbsu::footy::rainbow::drunk:

Cloke got his arse handed to him so badly by Domsy, to the point he got bronx cheered by the pies supporters when he finally took a mark on the wing in the last. Classy. Seriously, I hope we never do that, do we?

I love SJ but again, he does some really dumb, costly shit sometimes, mainly in the first half this time. I know, i know take the good with the bad blah blah

Ah yes, these two. I try very hard to be accepting of Bad Johnno given how good Good Johnno is, but geez he made it hard at times tonight. Caddy nearly gave up 2 goals in two minutes doing exactly the same thing - trying to do too much deep in defence and coughing it up. Know your limitations son!

Couldn't believe the second errant handball from Caddy only 2 minutes after the first! Keep him away from the back 50 Scotty at the moment I say.

Like you, I largely accept Johnson's brain fades as "that's just him". But god he knows how to rile me. When it works, as that kick in the first at right angles to Horlin-Smith in the forward 50 for a goal it looks magnificent. When he hold off giving it to a player clearly in a good position only to f&ck it up 5 seconds later trying the equivalent of 5 somersaults with 7 pikes off the lower diving board then I go bananas...

Interesting.
Can see why, and why it worked both ways, Lullaby clearly better at running off but Bartel has the footy smarts and ability to get into space for marks that Layby lacks.
Interesting.

Is it just me, or does Lullaby look like Leon Davis since he's had a haircut?

Fairly significant night, some great signs from Varcoe and Hawkins. Duncan come of age. And the group below Guthrie, Horlin-Smith and Murdoch were simply fantastic.

Thought Sheringham was great, could be a regular.

I don't see a role for Rivers and Brown in our best side, thought we looked a little top heavy.

I like the two rucks so I would nick a tall from the forward line to fit them in. Murdoch would be a better aerial target than Brown anyway.

A win is a win is a win.
But crikey we have a bit to work on

We seem to go missing in second quarters.

It is like we burst out of the blocks in the first quarter, run out of steam in the second, and allows the opposition back in, and then get our second wind after half time.

We seem to go missing in second quarters.

It is like we burst out of the blocks in the first quarter, run out of steam in the second, and allows the opposition back in, and then get our second wind after half time.

There are 2 teams out there ya know.
It's more likely that we start as normal, opposition counter what we are doing and then we move around their counter.
Same as the "turn-overs kill us" argument, it goes both ways, turn-overs are the weakness of EVERY single team in the AFL, yet we are the best at securing and scoring from them.

Yeah Caddy was good in the first half but disappeared in the second. But he wasn't alone, a few players had up and down moments. He really does have to learn to use the ball instead of looking for tackles to beat so he can impress us - cost us a clear goal.

Having said that, no Enright, no Taylor Hunt, no Motlop, no Christensen - and still we won. I'll take that.

P.S. Selwood is a machine.

Q. How good was Duncan's play at the death?

A. Very, very good.
I'm on the way home from the game, was just going to post that Duncan played like a man possessed tonight-he was brilliant :thumbsu: (his torn jumper added to his desperate look-loved it ;)).

Special mention to our 2 "new" boys in Sheringham and Burbury-thought their pressure was awesome. Worth noting that Burbury had the 3rd highest tackles for us. That's an amazing effort considering his recent broken jaw. Wasn't tentative at all :thumbsu:.

Im over the moon tbh, doesnt matter how its done but its 4 pts. we are 3rd so we doing alright.
not much more to add that hasnt been said really, except the 3 HTB decisions against us were farcical, but the umpiring ok apart from that.
wish i was at the game though as channel 7 coverage was S.H.I.T.E. Yes, Stevie J was aggrivated. do we have to see it from every angle and mentioned every 5 mins? not once did they mention the outstanding job Guthrie did on Pendles.

And does this forum have to keep the tradition of picking on a player after every match (even if its a win)? Yes, Sheringham might not be on the list forever, we get it, but tonight he performed his role. yes he made a few fumbles, but i think its a safe bet everyone butchered the ball at some stage.

Review AFL Round 3 autopsy - Collingwood defeated by Geelong by 11 points