Roast AFL 'round zero' What a load of crap ...

Which then leads to journos in Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne talking about the local games and ignoring the games in the Northern states.
That wouldn’t really be a factor though? If the goal was to “take advantage of nrl being in Vegas” for qld and nsw fans, those fans don’t listen or watch Perth, Adelaide or Melbourne journos anyway (or if they do they would probably be footy obsessed who don’t need a round 0)

It's definitely part of the AFL's thinking. Have everyone, nationally working to promote games in the 2 hardest markets while the NRL are playing half the usual games.

The lines are extremely blurred between Melbourne media and National media when it comes to AFL, having 1 game in Melbourne would monopolise their time.

It's definitely part of the AFL's thinking. Have everyone, nationally working to promote games in the 2 hardest markets while the NRL are playing half the usual games.

The lines are extremely blurred between Melbourne media and National media when it comes to AFL, having 1 game in Melbourne would monopolise their time.
It’s embarrassing. The AFL is the biggest sport in Australia and they have blatantly ripped off NRL’s magic round idea and then completely changed the whole fixture & some how made it unfairer, all because the NRL is in Vegas.

Maybe don’t worry about the NRL & have free to air games on Saturday if you want to maintain market share.

Yeah.. bet you feel real stupid now don't you... :tearsofjoy:

Um. Nope. I was just making a joke about Round 0........which should be renamed Round Oh.....what a total waste of time. :$ :thumbsdown::drunk:

Massive flop this year with only two games and 85% of the competition not involved and 85% of fans not interested.

BTW how you feeling ATM? Enjoying the season launch?

Corbin Middlemas just made a suggestion on Offsiders. He reckons the Opening Round games should be moved to one of the mid-season Bye Rounds from 2026 onwards, with the northern states hosting all games on one of the Bye weekends. It might also be good for tourism, with Victorians travelling to warmer - or slightly less cold - states to follow their clubs on a weekend, plus a few days before or after.

Sounds sensible to me but probably makes too much sense for the AFL to consider it.

Dude i don't think you get it. I'm not even taking notice of the benefits, i still don't know exactly what benefits you are talking about so no that's not the reason I don't care. I don't care because all I care about is tuning into my team. Politics is boring.

You already made it clear you are one eyed, bias and dont give a rats arse about any other team other than your own.

Congrats. You obviously have no issues being selfish and arrogant with your veiws.

So no need to keep repeating it. We get it. And Its an unfortunate insight into your character as a person and attitude to life and others.

Corbin Middlemas just made a suggestion on Offsiders. He reckons the Opening Round games should be moved to one of the mid-season Bye Rounds from 2026 onwards, with the northern states hosting all games on one of the Bye weekends. It might also be good for tourism, with Victorians travelling to warmer - or slightly less cold - states to follow their clubs on a weekend, plus a few days before or after.

Sounds sensible to me but probably makes too much sense for the AFL to consider it.
I think he also floated it yesterday on the radio show too. If I recall it was to have only 2 midseason bye weeks, one of which was the 4 Northern games and then the other round would be 5 games

It’s embarrassing. The AFL is the biggest sport in Australia and they have blatantly ripped off NRL’s magic round idea and then completely changed the whole fixture & some how made it unfairer, all because the NRL is in Vegas.

Maybe don’t worry about the NRL & have free to air games on Saturday if you want to maintain market share.
The NRL only has 2 games in Vegas and is playing this weekend.

Not sure that the reason to take advantage of the NRL being out of town is a valid one?

It’s just some ******* AFL Exec that came up with a shit idea and has too much of an ego to admit it’s a cluster****.

I think the people have spoken and this abomination will be for the trash pile next year.

You already made it clear you are one eyed, bias and dont give a rats arse about any other team other than your own.

Congrats. You obviously have no issues being selfish and arrogant with your veiws.

So no need to keep repeating it. We get it. And Its an unfortunate insight into your character as a person and attitude to life and others.
Hahaha how hard did you feel typing that up you absolute sad sack. It's just footy. I'd move on tomorrow if my club folded today.

I'll keep enjoying life with the good and the bad whilst you're judging how impeccable the character of people are based on bigfooty posts. Have a beer and breathe in the fresh air, spud.

I don't see why you couldn't have the top four victorian teams go north and have those four games in marquee slots across Thurs/Fri/Sat.

Have the two SA teams play in Perth. Maybe even as a double header on Sunday.

And then just fit the remaining games into Victoria across the weekend. There is even a public holiday monday in Victoria this year that they could have used.

The whole thing is just stupid and will obviously not last much longer than a year or two in its current form.

Further to my post above, this is what I would do with opening round.

Every team plays.

The Victorian teams are ordered 1-10 based off previous year ladder position and go to NSW/Qld, WA, SA in that order. i.e Top NSW/QLD team plays top victorian team. 2nd top NSW/QLD plays 2nd top Victorian team etc.

With a double header in SA or WA on the Sunday.

The final two victorian teams just play at Docklands regardless.

So it would look something like this eastern time. (I did this in about 90 seconds).

Thursday NightBrisbaneGeelong
Friday NightSydneyHawthorn
Saturday 1pmPortSt Kilda
Saturday twilightGold CoastCarlton
Saturday NightGWSBulldogs
Sunday 12pmNorthRichmond
Sunday 3pmFreoCollingwood
Sunday twilightAdelaideMelbourne
Sunday night 7.30pmWest CoastEssendon

The NRL only has 2 games in Vegas and is playing this weekend.

Not sure that the reason to take advantage of the NRL being out of town is a valid one?

It’s just some ******* AFL Exec that came up with a shit idea and has too much of an ego to admit it’s a cluster****.

I think the people have spoken and this abomination will be for the trash pile next year.
Are they though ?
I haven’t seen too much AFL media lately but I’m not seeing anything from Journalists, coaches , commentators calling it out for the joke that it is ?

The only article I’ve seen was from Lee Spur saying the name was dumb .

need someone like Eddie McGuire ( gag) to tee off at the AFL and tell them it’s a shit format and change it back to Round 1

I like some of the ideas on here for the match ups , wish the AFL would listen

PS : ( I sent them the link to this thread 😉)

I find it crazy how scared they seem to be of the NRL. You have basically the entire market in 5 states (including Tassie and the NT) and have a solid share of the rugby states.

Why is anything they do dictating your decisions. Literally do nothing and you’ll come out ahead.

Um. Nope. I was just making a joke about Round 0........which should be renamed Round Oh.....what a total waste of time. :$ :thumbsdown::drunk:

Massive flop this year with only two games and 85% of the competition not involved and 85% of fans not interested.

BTW how you feeling ATM? Enjoying the season launch?
Sorry mate that was meant to be tongue in cheek (my bad, hard to get across on the internet but tried with the italics) I agree with you on all things re: Round 0.

My point was you shouldn't feel stupid at all because the whole thing is stupid

So having a look at the fixture if actually played.

The Northern clubs plus Hawks, Cats and Pies were all scheduled to play two games most in plum TV time slots.

All get two games PRIOR to Saint Kilda, Melbourne and the Eagles get their 1st game in the dead Sunday time slots.

That is getting very close to restraint of trade.

Not easy selling memberships when other clubs get double the exposure in prime time before you get a chance to market your club and product with a live game.

A half decent lawyer could seriously embarrass the AFL exposing the fixture as what it is. A marketing tool used to favour a small group of teams at the detriment of the majority of other clubs. For $$$$$$$.

Hahaha how hard did you feel typing that up you absolute sad sack. It's just footy. I'd move on tomorrow if my club folded today.

I'll keep enjoying life with the good and the bad whilst you're judging how impeccable the character of people are based on bigfooty posts. Have a beer and breathe in the fresh air, spud.

Go reread our own posts buddy ....... then stop and apply them to yourself.

Because you are everything you are describing.

Dont bother replying your on ignore as you have nothing interesting to say.

"Can you believe the AFL didn't foresee a Brisbane-Gold Coast cyclone???" is new. I don't foresee the AFL giving the NRL a two weekend drop.
Why not?
The AFL season has always started 2-3 weeks after NRL, and it’s been the far more popular and successful comp over decades.
If doesn’t matter when they start it.
Honestly, league is at its most embarrassing when they’re falling all over themselves to compare themselves favourably with AFL.
There’s just no need for is to go down that path.

So having a look at the fixture if actually played.

The Northern clubs plus Hawks, Cats and Pies were all scheduled to play two games most in plum TV time slots.

All get two games PRIOR to Saint Kilda, Melbourne and the Eagles get their 1st game in the dead Sunday time slots.

That is getting very close to restraint of trade.

Not easy selling memberships when other clubs get double the exposure in prime time before you get a chance to market your club and product with a live game.

A half decent lawyer could seriously embarrass the AFL exposing the fixture as what it is. A marketing tool used to favour a small group of teams at the detriment of the majority of other clubs. For $$$$$$$.
Listen, I don’t want to get in the way of a good melt, but Hawthorn have had SFA prime time games for the last 3-4 years, so I’m not sure you can say we’ve been given a favourable fixture for quite some time.

Also, the bush lawyer but st the end, chefs kiss, the cherry on top of a good whinge.

Further to my post above, this is what I would do with opening round.

Every team plays.

The Victorian teams are ordered 1-10 based off previous year ladder position and go to NSW/Qld, WA, SA in that order. i.e Top NSW/QLD team plays top victorian team. 2nd top NSW/QLD plays 2nd top Victorian team etc.

With a double header in SA or WA on the Sunday.

The final two victorian teams just play at Docklands regardless.

So it would look something like this eastern time. (I did this in about 90 seconds).

Thursday NightBrisbaneGeelong
Friday NightSydneyHawthorn
Saturday 1pmPortSt Kilda
Saturday twilightGold CoastCarlton
Saturday NightGWSBulldogs
Sunday 12pmNorthRichmond
Sunday 3pmFreoCollingwood
Sunday twilightAdelaideMelbourne
Sunday night 7.30pmWest CoastEssendon
Great idea.

I'd give the Premiers a home game in a prime time slot first up... Richmond and Carlton have been playing their game since 2008, it's a tradition but it hasn't even been going on for 20 years.

From a bias point of view I like OR as it gives the Lions the first game of the season.

But Vossy's idea of playing games in every state is a great compromise.

Draw is already compromised enough, the staggered byes from OR make it even worse, unnecessarily.

Roast AFL 'round zero' What a load of crap ...

Write your reply...