AFL star’s anti-vax views cost him friendship

In the peak fortnight of the outbreak to date (25 August to 7 September), the COVID-19 case rate among 2-dose vaccinated people was 49.5 per 100,000 while in unvaccinated people it was 561 per 100,000, a more than 10-fold difference. The rates of COVID-19 ICU admissions or deaths peaked in the fortnight 8 September to 21 September at 0.9 per 100,000 in 2-dose vaccinated people compared to 15.6 per 100,000 in unvaccinated people, a greater than 16-fold difference.

I'm suggesting you are welcome to put your faith in a specialist. And if you do that blindly, I will have an opinion about that choice.

If it was a friend or loved one who received the advice of statins for life, no other option, and they qualified for a more optimal treatment option, I would suggest otherwise to them. You can get as upset about that as you like, but I'm comfortable with that because, while you will accuse me dick swinging, when the specialist is amazed and the person is back to relative health, I think these are good outcomes, not bad.
There's been a push against statins for several years from con-artists and from antiscience nutters with no understanding of how they work and what they do.
It's life saving medication. I take the highest dose possible and fully intend to for the rest of my life. In fact I'm going to a 21st birthday tonight of a late friend's daughter. He'd likely still be here if he was taking a statin.

Some people, with a poor understanding of basic science can't seem to understand why you can't just take them, and other medications such as anti hypertensives, anti-thrombotics etc, once and be 'cured' of the risk factor. "I don't want to start that medication because when I start, I'll be on them for the rest of my life".
They're a good target for anti science nutters and grifters trying to flog alternative medicine because they typically don't make you feel any different. They're preventative medications.

What stains do is not just lower cholesterol but reduce and stabiise fatty plaques that form in damaged blood vessels. Thereby significantly reducing the risk of stroke and heart attack in moderate to high risk individuals.

I hope people with heart failure and diabetes don't take your advice to stop their statins as they would be putting themselves at significantly increased risk of heart attack and stroke. Just like those who you encourage to be like you and not to get vaccinated (no I don't for a minute believe that you're vaccinated, just like I don't believe for a minute that you've got any credible medical qualifications) are putting themselves at a much higher risk of catching Covid and a much, much higher risk of being harmed if they do catch it. Basic statistics will tell you that.
But I suspect even the most basic and obvious facts and stats will not deter you from prothletising your fundamentalist, anti science, quasi religious opinions. Unfortunately to the harm of those in your orbit, foolish enough to follow your advice.

There's been a push against statins for several years from con-artists and from antiscience nutters with no understanding of how they work and what they do.

I hope people with heart failure and diabetes don't take your advice ...

Science is not a fixed monolith. It is a process. If it is at all a thing, it is data, which we both know you are unable to interpret.

As already stated a number of times, I don't advise people to stop their medication. Like half the s**t you post, this is imagined.

I am genuinely sorry to hear about your friend. Without knowing anything about it, I would not argue that taking statins alone may have extended his life beyond what he had. I hope both you and his daughter have a good night without too much pain for your loss.

For those people you hope wouldn't follow my advice, they've been taken off their medications by their specialists because clinical indications of the disease are no longer present. They are living far healthier and happier lives than prior to the intervention. Their specialists were pleased and one stated he wished all his patients were like that. If you stood in a room saying this to those people and their doctors it would actually be offensive to them all.

This is getting weird…

I have done that.

What's next? Be hostile to everyone who hasn't yet? Harass them until they submit to my will? Mock the unvaxed who die from Covid?

No mate. I think I can be a better man than that. And I would encourage you to be also.
I won’t mock them for dying.

But I hope they will.

Why?

Because I believe in science. I believe in Darwin’s theory of evolution.

The un-vaxxed are simply the weakest amongst us (mentally) and by them all dying off quickly, the rest of us improve as a herd.

And yes, that includes my dumb as dog 5hit relos that are anti-vaxxers.

It’s 100% their choice and they can make it. But I won’t feel sorry for them when they die.

But I hope they will.

Why?

The un-vaxxed are simply the weakest amongst us (mentally) and by them all dying off quickly, the rest of us improve as a herd.

It’s 100% their choice and they can make it. But I won’t feel sorry for them when they die.
Funny, people in this thread have been saying people like you don’t exist.

But I hope they will.

Why?

But I hope they will.

Why?

Holy sh#t I hope this is some sort of sick attempt at humour. You are deadset screwed in the head if this is serious

Why? It’s their choice to not get vaccinated. Which is their right. No problem. Play on.

But don’t expect me to mourn them if they die from something that was preventable.

Much the same way I don’t expect people to mourn me from dying from a heart attack because I’m a fat kent.

Why? It’s their choice to not get vaccinated. Which is their right. No problem. Play on.

But don’t expect me to mourn them if they die from something that was preventable.

Much the same way I don’t expect people to mourn me from dying from a heart attack because I’m a fat kent.
So what if they die after getting 2 jabs because the jabs aren't good enough?

And yes, they are.

And nowhere have I said that they aren’t.

But I was attacked for mine (not by you)
You believe the 'un-vaxed' are the weakest among us. I believe the weakest among us are the people who believe everything they are told without questioning it, whether they are vaxed or un-vaxed. Another word for these people is sheep, but I wont hope they die.

No dramas mate. Your choice either way. I don’t really care.

Theres more to someones character than a jab mate. If you would welcome one of your relatives dying because they didnt get vaxxed you have some sort of serious personality disorder. Theres pedophiles and murderers in prison who have had the jab and that certainly doesnt equate to them somehow being better people than those who choose to remain unvaccinated. Character is a summation of peoples actions and although you are entitled to believe thats a poor choice if they are loving and caring people in other facets of their lifes, then the idea you would happily just accept their deaths as survival of the fittest is genuinely warped.

I like irony. And I would laugh, a lot, if the un-vaxxed started dropping like flies.

I look at someone like my long deceased grandmother who would’ve been vaccinated against the Spanish Flu and who saw her uncle contract polio and in her life both a debilitating, life threatening disease & a pandemic all whisked away in the blink of an eye thanks to a vaccination.

Somehow, through lies & gossip mongering vaccinations are seen to be an enemy.

And we’ve moved in to a generation of blaming someone else for all of my problems. Probably driven by the US & their litigious society. I mean “may contain traces of nuts” on a Snickers Bar & “Do
Not consume wrapper” on a Subway Sub….I mean, people that need those warning labels, well, they’re as bright as anti-vaxxers in my book. Yet we have to have these warning labels so they don’t get sued.

What happened to being responsible for your own decisions?

If you don’t want the jab. No worries,don’t get it. But don’t expect me to have a modicum of sympathy if you start dying from a disease you could’ve prevented yourself from dying from.