Jerome

Adelaide Crows, Centrals
As part of my Tasmanian Devils membership, I am meant to receive a Tassie Devils cap. After expecting it to turn up in January it turned up today. Which is probably a quick turn around time for your average Tasmanian.

However, that is not my concern. My concern is the with compliment slip that came with it. Usually the stuff that I receive from the Devils comes from Football Tasmania which is the organisation that runs football in Tassie.

The with comp slip did not have a Football Tasmania logo on it. It has an AFL logo on it with "TASMANIA" below it. "AFL TASMANIA".

Now I have'nt picked up The Mercury as much as I should and the Football Tasmania website is damn near useless. I am aware that there is a task force called AFL Tasmania examining an AFL entry and dealing with AFL issues.

I did not know they were running footy in the state. I did not know that Tasmania suddenly has to rely on the AFL logo to promote itself.

Granted I do not know the full story, I could be jumping the gun...but the sight of it! Imagine getting a letter from your local SANFL club and finding out that you were a part of AFL: SOUTH AUSTRALIA.

If football administrators in Tasmania have decided to use the AFL logo to promote and represent Tasmanian footy, they should be sacked!! What a fraggin' insult!! I knew they could be stupid, but I had no idea that they could give up the state like this!

The fools. They have got to stop trying to be a mini AFL and get their own backyard right and play to their strengths! they have a unique character and environment down there and they just don't use it to their advantage.

AFL TASMANIA...:mad:

Jerome

Don't be surprised its already happened in every state and territory except SA, WA and Vic Ie AFL Queensland, AFL NT etc

From what I've heard, the AFL has approached the SANFL to change its name and logo to AFLSA, but they declined.

Unfortunately it seems tho that the WAFL will be renamed AFLWA next season, which is not surprising after the Westar Rules rubbish.

Just another example of the AFL taking further control, we need Packer or Murdoch or someone to start a Super League type thing.

Originally posted by screech
Don't be surprised its already happened in every state and territory except SA, WA and Vic Ie AFL Queensland, AFL NT etc

From what I've heard, the AFL has approached the SANFL to change its name and logo to AFLSA, but they declined.

Unfortunately it seems tho that the WAFL will be renamed AFLWA next season, which is not surprising after the Westar Rules rubbish.

Just another example of the AFL taking further control, we need Packer or Murdoch or someone to start a Super League type thing.

The SANFL changing it's name to AFLSA would just about be the final insult.Gather up all those old premiership flags and the TSHill Trophy,all those old magarey medals and club jumpers and bury them out at the Wingfield dump.Then get into a nice blazer gather 7 or 8 work chums "who 'use' to follow(insert SANFL Club here)"and get a corporate box at AMMI :rolleyes: stadium and turn up when The Crows or Power are a good chance of winning!

What a ****ing disgrace. Hopefully the SANFL will not yield to this request ever. We have lost enough to those greedy bastards.

As Captain Picard said in First Contact (sorry for the geekiness) "The line must be drawn HERE and NO FURTHER".

The VFL were as grumpy as hell when the old NFL tried to tell them what to do in regards to state games, they saw the NFL as being run by the SANFL and eventually realised they could ride roughshod over the NFL rules in regards to transfer fees etc. Now the VFL/AFL runs football in most states and would (as it seems) love to control the WAFL and SANFL.

What happens if they do end up controlling the state leagues of the traditional football states? The SANFL own the Crows and to a lesser extent the Power. Do you think that the AFL are going to allow funds to flow back to the SANFL from these two clubs coffers? No way! They will probably want an extended TAC Cup in SA and WA instead of the current metro leagues acting as player development grounds.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat
What a ****ing disgrace. Hopefully the SANFL will not yield to this request ever. We have lost enough to those greedy bastards.

As Captain Picard said in First Contact (sorry for the geekiness) "The line must be drawn HERE and NO FURTHER".

The VFL were as grumpy as hell when the old NFL tried to tell them what to do in regards to state games, they saw the NFL as being run by the SANFL and eventually realised they could ride roughshod over the NFL rules in regards to transfer fees etc. Now the VFL/AFL runs football in most states and would (as it seems) love to control the WAFL and SANFL.

What happens if they do end up controlling the state leagues of the traditional football states? The SANFL own the Crows and to a lesser extent the Power. Do you think that the AFL are going to allow funds to flow back to the SANFL from these two clubs coffers? No way! They will probably want an extended TAC Cup in SA and WA instead of the current metro leagues acting as player development grounds.

I wholeheartedly Agree with you !

PA1870:mad:

Originally posted by screech

The way W.A. abandoned 100 years of Football to hastily throw their legs open to the VFL in 1987 was nothing short of bizarre,The demise of Football in that state was more or less instant, with the WAFL turning into a total joke.

Changing the names of the Football league over there is commonplace noone seems to care...as long as there is a buck in it..The WAFL has no backbone, no courage, no sense of history or tradition...they believe the Victorians when they say..

Football has not been played in WA until 1987 and SA until 1991

Pathetic Barstards....Had the lilly livered WA administrators stood side by side with Max Basheer and Leigh Whicker back in 1985- 1987 we would now have a national competition that was just that..

The SANFL could see that the VFL were only after money from WA and SA to save their own comp and clubs by expansionism...Nothing to do with a National comp ..Max Basheers fear was the demise of league Football in WA and SA..

He was right........

PA1870

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

Football has not been played in WA until 1987 and SA until 1991

aaaaargh now I am agreeing with you. This is scary.

There was an article in the West a couple of weeks about about the 'fathers of the modern game' which talk about coaches who created tactics that evolved the game into what it is now. It talked about how Ron Barrassi created the running handball in the late 60s and I was ****ing seething. Correct me if I am wrong but Jack Oatey invented that to (succesfully) defeat Port Adelaide, Barrassi merely saw a good thing and copied it.

What irks me is that innovators such as Fos Williams, Jack Oatey, Haydn Bunton et al are being overlooked in this re-writing of history because they were not involved in the VFL/AFL.

History is written by the winners of a war. The war of football was won by the VFL.

There was an article in the West a couple of weeks about about the 'fathers of the modern game' which talk about coaches who created tactics that evolved the game into what it is now. It talked about how Ron Barrassi created the running handball in the late 60s and I was ****ing seething. Correct me if I am wrong but Jack Oatey invented that to (succesfully) defeat Port Adelaide, Barrassi merely saw a good thing and copied it.

What irks me is that innovators such as Fos Williams, Jack Oatey, Haydn Bunton et al are being overlooked in this re-writing of history because they were not involved in the VFL/AFL.

History is written by the winners of a war. The war of football was won by the VFL.

It's alright BB we are allowed to agree with each other if it's for the greater good of the SANFL!:)

Your Ron Barrassi comment is spot on.I'm sick of explaining to my Victorian mates that the 'revolutionary' 1970 VFL Grand Final came after Jack Oatey had employed the same method(run on and handball)to win 4 premierships and was just about to win another.Its hysterical now when you think that at the time Sturt appointed him (end of 1961) there were some that thought he was too old and his best days were behind him.
As for the winners writing history you only have to look at The AFL(??)Hall of Fame to see the trend that has been set.It took Ken Farmer two years to be inducted(the greatest goalkicker of any senior comp in the country).John Coleman is a legend and Ian McKay the man who consistently beat him in state games isn't even in the hall of fame,and Tom Leahy possibily the best ruckman in the country prior to WW1 can't get a gig either.And that's for starters.Oh yeah and it's bias(admittedly).

"The line must be drawn here and no further" .I like it!!

Football Tasmania were always trying to live above themselves! They tried to up the level of the TFL and it collapsed under the weight. The team in the VFL is doing OK - and now THIS!!!

It's about time football supporters all over Australia stood up to this invasion of one's individuality! It's the reason I will NOT pay one silver coin to get into an AFL game. I don't mind it in New South Wales or Queensland. Or the Northern Territory for that matter. They need the support in that sense.

But why do the others need it in the view of the AFL? Pig's butt they need it!!

The WAFC need to be less reliant on the Eagles and the Dockers to get the game over in WA. It does NOT take just two clubs and one venue to make the game survive over there. They need TEN clubs. The two AFL and the eight WAFL - AT LEAST!!

Football Tasmania need to get it through their thick skulls that they have problems. They can't RELY on AFL matches in Tassie in the same way the WAFC is.

At least SA have their feet on the ground!

GET IT RIGHT AFL! YOU ARE NOT THE BOSS! YOU ARE PART OF A TEAM! DAMMIT!!!!!

Originally posted by Jerome
As part of my Tasmanian Devils membership, I am meant to receive a Tassie Devils cap. After expecting it to turn up in January it turned up today. Which is probably a quick turn around time for your average Tasmanian.
At least you got it.

I, and all the Glenelg members I know, are still waiting for the "member's discount card" that was supposed to bring discounts to Glenelg members at local Glenelg businesses.

I don't especially care about it myself. However I know at least one person who took out membership this year, and is unimpressed by this, and a few other aspects of how the club conducts its business. Not to mention the businesses who no doubt entered into a sponsorship arrangement to be part of this promotion - where is the incentive to enter these schemes if nobody uses 'em? And how can anybody use 'em if the club is slack in getting them out?

Perhaps I'll get a Devils' membership for next year. At least I know I'll get a hat, sooner or later :D

What we have from the AFL in regard to SA and WA footballing greats...is Tokenism..

Eventually the re writing of Football History as is being done by the omnipotent AFL will be complete..The Victorians believe their own AFL regurgitation...They honestly believe they Know all there is about football....

The most Balanced views are from those outside of Victoria that always saw Football as Australian and weighed up all states accordingly...the Vics only ever saw what was happening in Melbourne...N.F.I.

regards

PA1870

Re: Re: AFL Tasmania??

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

At least you got it.

I, and all the Glenelg members I know, are still waiting for the "member's discount card" that was supposed to bring discounts to Glenelg members at local Glenelg businesses.

I don't especially care about it myself. However I know at least one person who took out membership this year, and is unimpressed by this, and a few other aspects of how the club conducts its business. Not to mention the businesses who no doubt entered into a sponsorship arrangement to be part of this promotion - where is the incentive to enter these schemes if nobody uses 'em? And how can anybody use 'em if the club is slack in getting them out?

Perhaps I'll get a Devils' membership for next year. At least I know I'll get a hat, sooner or later :D
Reminds me of another certain SANFL club.

Sadly it's a Catch-22 situation, the clubs haven't enough money to provide the level of service they once did and people who want to contribute get frustrated with the lack of support.. and so it goes on the downward spiral.

Die, Nat, die (it's German for 'the Nat, the')

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

It's alright BB we are allowed to agree with each other if it's for the greater good of the SANFL!:)

Your Ron Barrassi comment is spot on.I'm sick of explaining to my Victorian mates that the 'revolutionary' 1970 VFL Grand Final came after Jack Oatey had employed the same method(run on and handball)to win 4 premierships and was just about to win another.Its hysterical now when you think that at the time Sturt appointed him (end of 1961) there were some that thought he was too old and his best days were behind him.
As for the winners writing history you only have to look at The AFL(??)Hall of Fame to see the trend that has been set.It took Ken Farmer two years to be inducted(the greatest goalkicker of any senior comp in the country).John Coleman is a legend and Ian McKay the man who consistently beat him in state games isn't even in the hall of fame,and Tom Leahy possibily the best ruckman in the country prior to WW1 can't get a gig either.And that's for starters.Oh yeah and it's bias(admittedly).

"The line must be drawn here and no further" .I like it!!
Jack oateys revolutionery game WAS copied by Barassi..The Champions of Australia games in the late 60's where Sturt played Richmond , Carlton etc those sides must have been dumbfounded by the slick 10 handballs to 1 Game Sturt were playing..Barassi would have said ...

Yeah ! we can intoduce this thing to the game of Australian Rules Football (AFL Victoria)

Barassi..is all of a sudden a Hero... the Vics here try and tell us they are the innovators and that we are only stealing their thunder about anything to do with Football..

get a life !

PA1870

Historical revisionism at its worst.

The Victorian POV has become the popular version of football history. This has been assisted in no small way by the reams of propaganda one finds in the sport section of the typical bookshop.

Case in point: Ken Piesse's "The Complete A-Z History of Australian Football" (or something like that). South Australian football gets 2 pages. As does the WAFL, QAFL, etc. Whereas VFL stars get up to half a page each, and VFL clubs get several pages each.

Another case in point: Pascoe's "The Winter Game". A very good read, but written wholly from the Victorian perspective. Evolution of the game and it's play is discussed - but only from within the confines of Melbourne. Innovations to the game are treated as having evolved in Melbourne, and are not mentioned except in the context of when they appeared in the Melbourne game. The SANFL and WAFL does get some coverage - like, a page per decade. Curiously, the discussion of WAFL in the '80s is expanded to several pages but the SANFL is simply not mentioned. The book simply ignores anything to do with SANFL after the 1970's.

Dave Warner's "Footy's Hall Of Shame" is a good one, in that it purports to give the SANFL, VFL and WAFL even coverage. However the text is still has a bias towards Victorian coverage, and against SANFL coverage - there is more WAFL stuff than SANFL. As an example, Warner names the seven biggest thugs of the game. Not one of them is South Australian. Robbie Muir gets a mention, but his time at West Torrens is simply glossed over without detail. And how David Granger could not get a mention in this section is something that I simply cannot comprehend.

Look at the rest of the trash in the footy bookshelves. All of it is history of Victorian Footy, Victorian clubs, Victorian players. And this includes anything to do with the Clowns or the Smears. There is nothing which is not written from a skewed, monocular, Victorian point of view.

Is it any wonder that the history of the game has become solely Victorian? The problem is self perpetuating: there is no demand for books catering to a non-AFL market, so such books do not get written. Whereas anything sanctioned by the all-powerful AFL will shift volumes, no matter how trite and commercial.

If you have read this far, then you quite likely are of a similar mind. Then you will appreciate this link:

http://www.fullpointsfooty.net

Be sure to check out these 2 pages:

http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/about_this_site.htm

http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/bibliographical_essay.htm

I'm glad that someone is interested in the proper history of the game - the entire game, and not just the Victorian slice.

Yeah, Fullpointsfooty is a very good site. He's doing a page for each club, just hasn't got around the whole SANFL yet. He has done Woodville, which makes me happy, but generally bags them, which doesn't make me happy.

Originally posted by McAlmanac
Yeah, Fullpointsfooty is a very good site. He's doing a page for each club, just hasn't got around the whole SANFL yet. He has done Woodville, which makes me happy, but generally bags them, which doesn't make me happy.

Perhaps the best Non biased site on Australian Football Yet
Full points Footy .

PA1870

Originally posted by McAlmanac

Curiously, I stumbled across the site when I was searching specifically for information about the old Woodville Peckers.

Undoubtedly the best Footy site on the web.

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Curiously, I stumbled across the site when I was searching specifically for information about the old Woodville Peckers.
Exactly how I found it!

You could have always asked me.... ;)

Get stuffed.

If you think that being Victorian makes one an ignoramus to the path of the game then I pity you.

Maybe some, maybe a lot, maybe most ... and definitely those in office ... but not by any means all.

I don't deserve to be pigeon holed like that, and nor do many others.

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Get stuffed.

If you think that being Victorian makes one an ignoramus to the path of the game then I pity you.

Maybe some, maybe a lot, maybe most ... and definitely those in office ... but not by any means all.

I don't deserve to be pigeon holed like that, and nor do many others.

Dont take it so literaly Mobben, we know you are one of the "Underground" and we know there are many Partisans with you....However the Majority...Yes the Majority are simply subjects of the propaganda..

PA1870:)

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

Dont take it so literaly Mobben, we know you are one of the "Underground" and we know there are many Partisans with you....However the Majority...Yes the Majority are simply subjects of the propaganda..

PA1870:)

well ...

well ...

... allright ...

just touched a nerve is all!

The AFL took over the Northern Territory, Queensland and NSW/ACT leagues because of...

1. The Northern Territory does not have a large population and is not heavily supported.

2. Queensland, NSW & the ACT are traditionally rugby league states as well as having representative sides in a national competition does not help the locals (although the Southport Sharks are supposed to have a pretty large supporter base considering its success)

The struggling leagues might need the AFL to step in and as a consequence have a name change.

We in SA, WA & Victoria have a strong connection to our local league because of football being our top sport and other sports like rugby don't take up a lot of our interest.

BTW...

Robert Groenewegen (board member of AFL Tas.) gave a talk at our footy dinner on Wednesday and it's apparent that the Saints are playing Bulldogs in Tassie next year at York Park. Is this public knowledge?

My brother barracks for the Dogs and I'm a Saints fan so I'm licking my lips with anticipation! Don't get to see much of the Saints at all here in Tassie so I'm buying the tickets early.

Saints also play Hawthorn in a pre-season game as well as Port Adelaide in a regular season match before the Bulldogs game. I can't remember who Hawthorn play, iirc it's two interstate teams (Fremantle and Adelaide?). I found it a bit strange to allow a non-interstate team in the Bulldogs to play here, but it's fine with me. The State Govt. underwrites each match to the tune of $450,000+, so I'm wondering how much of a share that the Bulldogs get.

Also it appears that the Tassie Mariners have carked it. They might be able to get three drafted this year at a stretch, and they haven't really provided enough talent to justify they're existence. They'll play teams from the ACT etc. and a few TAC Cup games or something, it'll be announced on Monday but I'd had a couple too many to remember exact details.

Cheers
Thomas

Originally posted by ThomasR
BTW...

Robert Groenewegen (board member of AFL Tas.) gave a talk at our footy dinner on Wednesday and it's apparent that the Saints are playing Bulldogs in Tassie next year at York Park. Is this public knowledge?

Also it appears that the Tassie Mariners have carked it. They might be able to get three drafted this year at a stretch, and they haven't really provided enough talent to justify they're existence. They'll play teams from the ACT etc. and a few TAC Cup games or something, it'll be announced on Monday but I'd had a couple too many to remember exact details.

Cheers
Thomas

There was some talk of having two melbourne sides play there to test the water. Bulldogs would have a good following down there.

The Mariners are gone?? Unreal. They didnt even last a decade. Every STFL and NTFL club must be jumping for joy.

Jerome