Analysis AFL vs NRL in Qld

How many of the "registered players" are just in Auskick?

I think auskick has around 30,000 kids. I know Queensland are going to match W.A at 90,000 participants this year.

I dunno how they crunch the numbers on total figures, coz if you include the schools and what not the participation is up in the hundreds of thousands.

I know Rob Auld the head of AFL development goes to great lengths to point out the AFL has the strictest participation figures criteria of any of the football codes in Australia.

I'm hoping that the eventual Perth Bears team can grow the Rugby League game over here, I've always found the code wars to be fairly stupid, we're sports fans first and foremost, I want every sport to thrive.
It will unite Perth for another code. WCE and Freo supporters coming together like we do with the Wildcats and Scorchers, making them the best attended teams in the NBL and BBL. It makes sense that the Bears will have decent crowds with a few W's.

Decent point, but what helps the scorchers and wildcats is that they play over the summer and not in direct competition with the AFL (and to a lesser degree WAFL & PFL, which combined together probably mobilise around 10-15,000 spectators each weekend)

Why has this become a thread about the Perth bears. I'm sure the afl will remember their treatment from the rugby/ league fraternity in nsw and qld across the past 100 years to actively try to kill off our native sport, so won't be giving them a leg up and either should the local footy media. But I do agree they'll get some good initial interest at least. The fact footy isn't even on the 7's main channel most of the time in Perth doesn't help the afl's cause, in attracting new fans in that market.

Two posts.
That doesn’t it turn the topic into a Bears discussion.

Or is it three posts now?

Good discussion this.

Picked my son (Grade 5) up from after school care last night and all the kids were out kicking AFL balls on the open grass area. Don't think I have seen any form of Rugby balls at that school but have seen AFL balls. Soccer is that big one at the school though as alot of the kids that go to that school play at the local club. Next time I go past the school oval I will have to check what goals they have as have never thought to look. Oval is sort of detached from the school over a main road behind a shopping centre but dont think it has rugby goals. In Redlands.

Even in local parks etc. I have seen more kids kick a footy around than any other ball sport.

Did the same happen for the Force? (legit curious).

Union kind of has its own following in perf.
Has always been relevant in the golden triangle area (rich western suburbs between the city and Cottesloe), where people will often watch both footy and rugby.
But then there is all the kiwis, saffas and Brits who live here (trust me there are heaps) who sort of boost their numbers a bit, although most of them hold onto the teams they supported before moving here.
Force started with a bang attendance wise (although attendances never got near the AFL) but as the years have ticked on with no success interest has waned.

See I think an NRL team here will start with a bang, but unless they win things early-ish people will slowly just stop caring (see force, see glory)...and whilst the eastern staters and kiwis who live here might support them initially to help try and get league a foot hold I doubt many will ditch their old clubs for them, which means their "support" of the bears will be temporary.

I am surprised to see that the popularity of AFL in Qld is so close to NRL. AFL is nearing a 50/50 split with NRL as far as popularity goes.
For instance, there are more registered AFL players (over 120,000) than NRL players (98,000) in Qld.

The average TV audience for an AFL game is 397,000, while the GF had 456,000, while the NRL GF had 567,000 viewers in Qld.

While the NRL has a slight advantage, the AFL is absolutely getting closer to it year after year.

Does this seem to be true on the ground in Qld?
disagree, in queensland nrl is far popular, redclifee, ipswitch, sunshine coast, cairns and townsville is dominated by afl, also alot of victorians moved to queensland boosting its popularity, yes its growing but no where 50/50 to nrl, not even close. especially since theres 4 nrl teams in qld 2 in brisbane and origin. more victorian watch nrl grand final in 2025 than queenslanders did for afl grand final

For a range of reasons the grassroots and junior footy is doing extremely well and has great growth. One of those reasons is there are now real and legitimate talent pathways into the big leagues.

AFL is far less relevant in the media and that is with the Lions at the peak of their influence having played finals every year since 2019, including 2 grand finals. Suns much more irrelevant.

At the top level the lions can’t do much more to draw in support. Still lags the NRL. Will be interesting to see what happens when the Lions go back down the ladder.

I think the growth in the grassroots and junior footy is the most important part for the entire league going forward both commercially and in terms of increased talent coming from Qld.

Building this market has and will take decades. You’d be crazy to do anything which jeopardises or pulls that back.
Geelong supporters complaining about Brisbane's academies and father sons might lead to the AFL doing something to pull the Lions back, similar to when the AFL removed the retention allowance. Geelong supporters have no right to complain about the father son rule after they received the likes of Hawkins, Scarlett and Ablett for a bag of chips, but it's to be expected when they're the most entitled supporter base in Australia.

I don’t know: given your post count about us, you on your own are making the Bulldogs a close f**king second at the moment and that’s just based on your Cats posts. God only knows what you post about other clubs

Mate, get a life. This thread has nothing to do with Geelong.

I can see Brisbane becoming like Melbourne in the near future thanks to all the people from Victoria who continue to flock there in droves.
It'll take a while for Victorians to outnumber Queenslanders and New South Welshmen in Brisbane. It's going to happen on the Gold Coast far quicker than it will in Brisbane. I suspect we're about 10 years away from that on the GC.

What would be the split you see of AFL goals vs League goal posts driving around?

Do the schools have a good mix of AFL and League goals on their grounds?

It'd still be 90/10 to League if not more.
This is not my experience of Brisbane at all, especially in the 'newer' suburbs. That said, it's not always a big marker - because any cricket ground becomes an AFL ground, any soccer ground becomes a League ground.

However, it's important to bear in mind that most of Queensland lives outside of Brisbane.

The major, major driver of this, IMO, is AusKick.

I play soccer with a number of Dads of primary school aged kids in Brisbane - and AusKick is just huge among that cohort. It's cheap, it's simple, and above all, it's free babysitting and child exhaustion for ninety minutes on a Saturday. That is just a massive parental lure and it's paying huge dividends.

It'll take a while for Victorians to outnumber Queenslanders and New South Welshmen in Brisbane. It's going to happen on the Gold Coast far quicker than it will in Brisbane. I suspect we're about 10 years away from that on the GC.
You know how ridiculous this sounds right? So where are the millions of locals going? Victorians also aren’t the only people moving to qld & the GC each year, the place is full of kiwis & islanders.

Victorians are flocking to Queensland in droves which is why I expect Brisbane to become like Melbourne and Gold Coast to become like Geelong.

Analysis AFL vs NRL in Qld