Analysis AFL vs NRL in Qld

Big league is an nrl troll mate, him and his little group of mates that pop up here in the off season to stir trouble, aren't gonna like that comment one bit 😅.
Denial is the first stage of grief and we've seen the NRL panic by rushing the Dolphins in and trying to fix the Titans. Compare the NRL panic about the Titans to the way they simply don't care about rabbles such as the Tigers and Knights since both are based in areas where the AFL isn't seen as a threat.

But don’t a lot of Sydney/NSW people move to Queensland as well?
In my experience on the Gold Coast, the Sydneysiders who are moving here aren't as passionate about the NRL as the Victorians are about the AFL. Not entirely sure why - perhaps it's a demographic situation that has to do with it being expensive to live here and rugby league is more of a working class game so the people who are moving here are less likely to be diehard NRL fans? I'm really not sure, but it's fairly obvious to me that the Sydneysiders I've encountered who move to the Gold Coast seem less passionate about the NRL than the Vics who move here are about the AFL.

One thing that's really surprised me in the last five years or so is how many Sydneysiders that have moved here are willing to give Aussie rules a go. I think you'd have an easier time convincing a Sydneysider to attend a Suns game than you would trying to convince a Victorian to attend a Titans game.

Denial is the first stage of grief and we've seen the NRL panic by rushing the Dolphins in and trying to fix the Titans. Compare the NRL panic about the Titans to the way they simply don't care about rabbles such as the Tigers and Knights since both are based in areas where the AFL isn't seen as a threat.
Dw watch the AFL do the same once the Perth Bears come, the WAFC is already terrified and deliberately only charging Freo and not West Coast money because fear of the Perth Bears.

I never realised there was much NRL support in Perth? I've always seen it as a rusted on AFL city much like Adelaide and very parochial.

The template:

• Make a profile that's either a new giants one, or one of the other northern teams - swans, lions or suns, in an attempt to "throw off the scent".
  • Only monitor and post in threads that crossover to both sports.
  • Always come up with a counter if the afl is being spoken about positively, to remind everybody that "the nrl is really on top".
  • Either be a blatant one or a subtle one that pretends to have fake interest in both sports.
  • Have a posting record with heaps less likes than posts made, different to every other poster on the forum.
  • Never visit your own clubs forum, coz you don't actually support that club and more specifically hate the afl.
  • Head back over to LU to have a giggle together about winding up the Bigfooty community.

Dylan Patterson's draft interview on stage is probably a great indication of what's starting to happen in Queensland. He said it was a 50/50 decision at 15yo when he was playing both Aussies rules and rugby league at high levels and four NRL clubs offered him contracts. He later said that although he was tempted by the prospect of making money at that age and potentially playing in the NRL before 18yo, he ultimately chose to pursue Aussie rules and believed he probably would have chosen rugby league if it hadn't been for the academy pathway. Check out the video below if you want to see how ridiculously talented he was in that sport as well.

So we're now retaining exceptional multi sport athletes from the northern states that would've previously chosen to play rugby league like Kalyn Ponga or Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow who were in the same situation and chose RL. Being able to recruit/retain the best athletes from other sports is going to be huge for the growth of the game up here and I get the feeling that the Dylan Patterson situation is just the beginning of what we're going to see in Queensland.

Dylan Patterson's draft interview on stage is probably a great indication of what's starting to happen in Queensland. He said it was a 50/50 decision at 15yo when he was playing both Aussies rules and rugby league at high levels and four NRL clubs offered him contracts. He later said that although he was tempted by the prospect of making money at that age and potentially playing in the NRL before 18yo, he ultimately chose to pursue Aussie rules and believed he probably would have chosen rugby league if it hadn't been for the academy pathway. Check out the video below if you want to see how ridiculously talented he was in that sport as well.

So we're now retaining exceptional multi sport athletes from the northern states that would've previously chosen to play rugby league like Kalyn Ponga or Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow who were in the same situation and chose RL. Being able to recruit/retain the best athletes from other sports is going to be huge for the growth of the game up here and I get the feeling that the Dylan Patterson situation is just the beginning of what we're going to see in Queensland.

The crazy thing is that, predominantly, VFL fans still don’t believe this happens or seemingly understand the NRL pathway.

The AFL would be quietly stoked about GCS academy and what it’s producing.

The crazy thing is that, predominantly, VFL fans still don’t believe this happens or seemingly understand the NRL pathway.

To think the gc would be producing just about more talent per capita than pretty much anywhere else in Australia now, yes it's a win.

They just can't wrap their head around the concept that a teenager might chose another sport other than footy because that would only happen like 1% of the time down there. We're lucky to even have a 50/50 situation up here because a team like the Broncos can just sign them when they are 15 and it's all over. Very few multi sport 15yos in Brisbane or the Gold Coast would turn down the opportunity to be signed by the Broncos, especially considering they know it requires a further 2-3 years of playing to maybe get drafted into the AFL.

To think the gc would be producing just about more talent per capita than pretty much anywhere else in Australia now, yes it's a win.
Huge win for the AFL. We're making serious inroads here and that should be celebrated.

They just can't wrap their head around the concept that a teenager might chose another sport other than footy because that would only happen like 1% of the time down there. We're lucky to even have a 50/50 situation up here because a team like the Broncos can just sign them when they are 15 and it's all over. Very few multi sport 15yos in Brisbane or the Gold Coast would turn down the opportunity to be signed by the Broncos, especially considering they know it requires a further 2-3 years of playing to maybe get drafted into the AFL.

Huge win for the AFL. We're making serious inroads here and that should be celebrated.

I suspect GCS has likely pitched to the AFL and the AFL likely accepts…that GCS was a feeder club going nowhere. They’ve now stacked the list with homegrown talent. That’s probably how you win in sport on the Gold Coast. Stack the team with local Gold Coast talent.

Funny thing Vlad has always said he thoughts the Giants could be a giant club whilst the Suns more a niche club. I see it completely different. Over the next 20-30 years I can see a world where the Suns are a big club if they capitalise on this generation. The growth of the Gold Coast and SEQ I’m sure is much faster than anyone envisaged back at the turn of the century when these things were being mapped out.

I also suspect some teams fans enjoyed an uncompetitive gcs who would feed them talent at the end of the season every year.

Perhaps. I think any club risks turning into a feeder club if they don't have success for a long period of time. Even the big clubs can fall into these situations as evidenced by players like Zac Merrett trying to leave Essendon a month ago and Daniher a few years back. But even if you do fall into that category, you can work your way out of it as we've seen with Brisbane over the last decade. We all know about the 'go home five' situation that Brisbane had to deal with 10+ years ago, but they got it together and are now a destination club and I suspect we're going to see something similar with the Suns over the next 5-10 years. It's arguably already begun with Petracca choosing the Suns this off season.

One aspect that the AFL academy pathways afford the Suns, that isn't afforded to the Titans, is the fact that the vast majority of the best Aussie rules juniors from the Gold Coast will end up playing for the Suns due to the priority academy access. The best rugby league juniors from the Gold Coast often end up playing elsewhere and it's usually the Broncos. Look at arguably the best player in the NRL right now - Bronco Reece Walsh (Nerang junior) and Melbourne's Xavier Coates (Currumbin junior) as recent examples of really good Gold Coast juniors that aren't playing for the Titans. That's a huge factor when it comes to the success of both clubs. Both were signed by the Broncos as schoolboys and the Titans didn't even get a sniff in.

I think it's also worth noting that the Southport Sharks do have quite a bit of influence in our city and are very wealthy. They're ambitious and continue to grow in really incredible ways for a non-AFL club, but at their core they will always be a football club that will support the growth of the game on the GC. The combined grassroots efforts of the Suns and Sharks, along with the other local teams that are growing like Burleigh, Broadbeach, Palm Beach etc, should give us a great chance to achieve parity/overcome other sports to become the number 1 code in the city one day. That's where I see this going eventually and it starts at the local level. Even the recent example of the Carrara Saints relocating their base to Nerang High shows there's a real appetite to link local clubs with schools and that's been a very successful model in recent times with Palm Beach, Broadbeach, Benowa etc. Anyway, you get the point - there's a lot of work being done at the grassroots level to grow the game and push the Suns to be viewed as a successful brand within the GC market.

If we continue to retain our best juniors then I think you're right. Over the next decade, we have a huge opportunity to change the perception of Aussie rules in this city and set up a really strong grassroots foundation that should keep the game strong for many decades and I think the AFL knows the academy is a massive part of achieving that goal.

Why do they need to worry about the Knights? They were getting huge crowds this year even while playing diabolical football, and have made the finals four of the last 6 years. They had the 5th highest average home attendance this year despite finishing at the arse end of the ladder.

What should they be doing? Building them a bigger stadium? Making extra finals spots in the two seasons they didn’t make it?

What are they supposed to do to help the Tigers who went from last with 6 wins to
The Tigers ranked 10th for home crowds but played in 3 different venues and one of them has a capacity BELOW what their average home crowd actually is, another isn’t really equipped to cram in what their average home crowd is: and that is about to change with the upgrades that are being made to Leichhardt.

I’m not sure what it is you want the NRL to do. Put a draft in and gift players to struggling teams for no other reason than the fact that they are bad, perhaps?

I think the NRL may be concerned which is why next year's Rugby League World Cup Final is being played in Brisbane instead of Sydney.

I'm also wondering how much of the AFL's success in Queensland has to do with Brisbane's success and will it taper off once the Lions start falling down the ladder, although that doesn't look like happening anytime soon.

I think the NRL may be concerned which is why next year's Rugby League World Cup Final is being played in Brisbane instead of Sydney.
The last two Australian rlwc finals have been at Suncorp, it’s a safe bet for a good crowd and as usual with these things qld probably bid more than nsw.

Analysis AFL vs NRL in Qld