Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Just for a change last night, I turned off the 'pooter and switched on the telly (life in the fast lane, I know :o). Found myself watching a couple of Sydney based 'sports-comedy' shows in 'The Fat' and 'The Monday Dump'.

It was pretty much my first glimpse of either show, so I don't know whether it's the norm or not; but on last night's episodes, the AFL was very much given the short shrift!

To me, both programs looked like just another excuse for those north-of-the-Murray TV types to bombard us with a barrage of bumsniffing. Reminiscent of Nine's by gee, by jingo, by crikey 'Wide World of Sports', such was their devotion to talking up the imported codes. Only a token mention was given to the Australian game.

I wonder how northerners would react if Seven's Melbourne produced 'Sportsworld' shoved Aussie Rules down the populations' throat in like manner?

Oh well, maybe I just caught these shows on the wrong night.

While we're on the subject of rugger on the box, did any Pies fans take note of the TV ratings figures for the Wallabies-British Lions match; the game that was shown live in preference to Collingwood's clash with Adelaide? An average of just over 300,000 Melburnians tuned in to the rugby test on Saturday; a figure which pales in comparison to the 550,000 that viewed Collingwood's last Saturday night match at Footy Park, when they took on Port a few weeks ago.

Another brilliant piece of programming by Channel 7's Sydney execs. :rolleyes:

You raise some very good points there.

If the only 'footy' they talk about is 'rugby', I shake my head. Being a Geelong AFL supporter, I wanted to watch AFL saturday night and had to put up with some rugby sh_t which the local side did not even win. I stayed up until after midnight watching a real good game of aussie rules (and the VICTORIAN team winning!!)

AFL is FOOTY! Why do they call rugby 'Footy'?? Its a bloody throwing game!

I watch THE FAT every week and generally its not as bad as it was last night. It was too Sydney biased last night. It doesnt help their regular panellists are Peter Wilkins and that Rebecca Sheila who are both RL oreientated. Dr Turf is a regular as is Dale Lewis, and funky Colin Miller while Matt Hardy, Merrick n Rosso also fly the AFL flag when they are on. Then there is Kerry O Keefe. he is the funniest bastard on the show. He comes up with the best one liners then laughs at his own jokes with the maddest laugh you have ever heard. No real controversy in the AFL over the last week would not have helped last night either esp with all this Alfie Langer whoha. I reckon you should give it another shot next week. Cant say too much on the Monday Dump as I have only watched it once or twice.

Ripper,

You have caught both of these on a bad night. The Fat in particular makes an effort to be fairly even-handed. Roy & HG just talk about what ever catches their eye. (a la Goran Ivanisevic - what a pisser)

You probably wouldn't realise the Allan Langer returns for Qld story has been absolutely HUGE up here. Possibly the biggest story since super league. Non-interested people were actually talking about rugby league for the first time in years.

What it has been like in Queensland I shudder to think.

Bit of a non-controversial weekend in the AFL too, probably didn't help