Play Nice AFL Womens - General Discussion

Longterm injury list I assume, could play the end of the season if fit but have to rest the existing topup player?

Anyway, the season is almost here but before we begin there are a few practice matches.

AFLW Pre-season Practice Matches
  • Bulldogs vs Collingwood at Eureka Stadium, Ballarat this Saturday (Jan 12th 19th, 5pm)
  • Melbourne AFLW vs VFLW intraclub match at their family day out in Casey this Saturday event begins 10am?
  • Carlton vs Geelong at Princes Park (unknown time, Sat Jan 19th)
  • Adelaide vs Fremantle in Darwin (unknown time, date and location)
  • Brisbane vs GWS in Brisbane (unknown time, date and location)
  • North Melbourne Tasmania Kangaroos: Unknown, intraclub like Melbourne or a separate practice match against Melbourne later on?
I'm sure clubs will tweet out details closer to each event. Sarah Black (AFL media) is trying ti find out concrete details for these matches and will post them on afl.com when she finds out.

Edit: Apparently Bulldogs vs Pies is next Saturday not this.

Melbourne vs North practice match has definitely been mentioned in interviews etc. Assume it'll be played on the weekend of the 19th, but I know of no official announcements.

Thanks for the info.

The Brisbane vs GWS game is 3pm-5pm at Leyshon Park

Freo are playing the WA academy team tomorrow at 9:30am wst:

Thanks for the info.

The Brisbane vs GWS game is 3pm-5pm at Leyshon Park

Freo are playing the WA academy team tomorrow at 9:30am wst:

Male players with long hair should have team coloured hair ties as part of their uniform

2 weekends to go until the first game. Has anybody seen any official promos for the league from the AFL? I have seen a few adds on Fox, by Fox, and lots of social media commentary from the clubs and individuals. but I have seen pretty much jack s**t from the AFL. Do they remember it is on?

I understand they could not really justify replicating the media promotion they gave the first season, financial realities being what they are. But a couple of weeks out, and nothing?

AFLX is getting more, and I have never come across anyone that likes it, the most positive attitude I have seen is indifference.

Male players with long hair should have team coloured hair ties as part of their uniform
I saw a brief clip of Collingwood going on a 2 k run, shot from behind. Buns and sports bras, I thought it was the womens team. Then realised it was man buns and GPS vests. If they wear coloured hair ribbons as well?

2 weekends to go until the first game. Has anybody seen any official promos for the league from the AFL? I have seen a few adds on Fox, by Fox, and lots of social media commentary from the clubs and individuals. but I have seen pretty much jack s**t from the AFL. Do they remember it is on?

I understand they could not really justify replicating the media promotion they gave the first season, financial realities being what they are. But a couple of weeks out, and nothing?

AFLX is getting more, and I have never come across anyone that likes it, the most positive attitude I have seen is indifference.

Surely it's worth holding your fire at the AFL re the AFLW?

There is still three weeks to go!

In my opinion the AFL have been effective this year in spacing announcements to keep the AFLW in the media since the AFL season finished.

Both 7 Mate and foxtel have already started advertising but when is the ideal time for the AFL itself to launch the season and start advertising? I would argue it is less than three weeks out given 1) the games are not ticketed so ticket sales that might warrant earlier build up are of no consequence and 2) there is a whole grand slam tennis tournament that starts and finishes before the season starts

Just had a look at twitter and the AFL women's handle posted a "2 weekends to go" tweet which got piled on by a similar sentiment

Perhaps they are deliberately leaving it to the clubs and media to promote at this stage to avoid the stimulus-response style torrents of negativity that inevitable flows from those that supposedly support AFLW when the AFL puts its head above the parapets? Last year was unhinged

Someone on Twitter mentioned there's been the odd promo by Ch7 about their AFLW coverage (though I haven't personally seen it).

At best, the clubs have put out stories about individual players, but only 4 of the 10 clubs have publicly promoted when/where their practice matches will be this weekend.

I haven’t seen any promo on fox. Are they only showing it on free to air?

On another note, Freos women looked pretty slick on the weekend against the state academy side. It’ll be interesting to see how they go this year with a new coach etc.

I haven’t seen any promo on fox. Are they only showing it on free to air?

On another note, Freos women looked pretty slick on the weekend against the state academy side. It’ll be interesting to see how they go this year with a new coach etc.
I have seen it on Fox, but only about twice, so they are certainly not going all out on it.

I've seen more posters with AFLW players for Special K than I have any ads or even mentions online that the AFLW is back soon.

----

Updated practice match details for this weekend:

Carlton vs Geelong, Jan 19th, 11am at Princes Park

Brisbane vs GWS, Jan 19th, 3pm at Leyshon Park, Yeronga QLD

Bulldogs vs Collingwood, Jan 19th, 5pm (gates open 4pm) at Eureka Stadium Ballarat

Dockers vs Crows, Jan 19th, 7:30pm or 8pm at Darwin

Potential Dees vs North practice match, TBC

Surely it's worth holding your fire at the AFL re the AFLW?

There is still three weeks to go!

In my opinion the AFL have been effective this year in spacing announcements to keep the AFLW in the media since the AFL season finished.

Both 7 Mate and foxtel have already started advertising but when is the ideal time for the AFL itself to launch the season and start advertising? I would argue it is less than three weeks out given 1) the games are not ticketed so ticket sales that might warrant earlier build up are of no consequence and 2) there is a whole grand slam tennis tournament that starts and finishes before the season starts

Just had a look at twitter and the AFL women's handle posted a "2 weekends to go" tweet which got piled on by a similar sentiment

Perhaps they are deliberately leaving it to the clubs and media to promote at this stage to avoid the stimulus-response style torrents of negativity that inevitable flows from those that supposedly support AFLW when the AFL puts its head above the parapets? Last year was unhinged
It's nice that AFLW put out a tweet, but the only people that will notice will be people following the AFLW, and they already know.

My concern is this
I thought the same last year.
They cannot replicate year ones promotion, so it makes sense to go hard a week or 2 out, so that's what I waited for, and it just never happened.

I thought it showed in the first game. I put it down to a learning experience and having to launch AFLX.

I don't have faith that they learnt anything though. I think this is it.

If your following in social media, or go to the AFL website, then you know what's going on, but if not?

Edit: A podcast discussed the issue, and a point they raised is this. A lot of the women that took an interest in AFLW in the first year were women not necessarily into football, or even sport otherwise. They dont follow the AFL on social media, or sports sites in general. If you dont promote where they are, you dont reach them at all. That takes a broader and deeper campaign than we are going to get. It really is going to be down to word of mouth, which isnt good enough for a pro sport in my opinion.
Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

I don't have faith that they learnt anything though. [Harsh]I think this is it.
If your following in social media, or go to the AFL website, then you know what's going on, but if not?
(1) You have raised good points, but I will give the AFL the benefit of the doubt, re no serious AFLW promotion yet.

My reasoning is that the AFL has not released its own, official Registered Participation nos. yet, which is very unusual. I suspect there will be another significant increase in female GR playing nos.- & they intend to release these nos. at the same time as the serious AFLW promotion starts (about 23.1?).
This release will help promulgate the narrative of the female AF juggernaut/bandwagon effect/excitement for the start of the booming AFLW/sate the public's desire for a "footy fix, at the ol' time ovals".

Of course, if one wants to support your above view that the AFL is incompetent ("I don't have faith that they learnt anything though"), there are obvious examples in the AFL's promotional shortcomings ie:-

.scheduling excessive AFLW games during the day in the Aust. summer (strong heat undeniably has a serious, negative impact on skill execution; & making the game spectacle as attractive as possible). Three practice games this weekend will be at 11am, 3 pm & 5pm.

.TV broadcast teams should always be set up (on elevated, covered scaffolding, as in the traditional VFA broadcasts) on the sparse Outers- always panning back to the much more crowded/animated/"colourful" grandstand side of the ground.
"Sell the sizzle, as much as the sausage". This created a much better atmosphere for the TV viewers, and greatly helped the VFA to get good Sunday TV Ratings ( & overall crowds- build the "buzz").

(2)http://www.footballfedvic.com.au/football-player-numbers-rise-20-in-two-years/
This 29.9.2016 preamble for the above FFV soccer link states
"Registered, season long female football participants in Victoria...on the role they have helped in making football Victoria's PREMIER (my emphasis) sport".
If one googles "FFA Soccer participation Numbers", the above preamble appears.

This link has been closed down.
It would be appreciated if anyone can help me open it, to read the full preamble, and all the text. Soccer is not, & never has been, on any metric, "Victoria's premier sport".

Soccer officials, specialist soccer commentators/ journalists, other general sports' journalists etc. have also claimed, on numerous occasions, that soccer has more players than AF, RL, & RU combined- this is also a falsehood.

(1) You have raised good points, but I will give the AFL the benefit of the doubt, re no serious AFLW promotion yet.

My reasoning is that the AFL has not released its own, official Registered Participation nos. yet, which is very unusual. I suspect there will be another significant increase in female GR playing nos.- & they intend to release these nos. at the same time as the serious AFLW promotion starts (about 23.1?).
This release will help promulgate the narrative of the female AF juggernaut/bandwagon effect/excitement for the start of the booming AFLW/sate the public's desire for a "footy fix, at the ol' time ovals".

Of course, if one wants to support your above view that the AFL is incompetent ("I don't have faith that they learnt anything though"), there are obvious examples in the AFL's promotional shortcomings ie:-

.scheduling excessive AFLW games during the day in the Aust. summer (which undeniably has a serious, negative impact on skill execution; & making the game spectacle as attractive as possible). Two practice games this weekend will be at 11am, 3 pm & 5pm.

.TV broadcast teams should always be set up (on elevated, covered scaffolding, as in the traditional VFA broadcasts) on the sparse Outers- always panning back to the much more crowded/animated/"colourful" grandstand side of the ground.
"Sell the sizzle, as much as the sausage". This created a much better atmosphere for the TV viewers, and greatly helped the VFA to get good Sunday TV Ratings ( & overall crowds- build the "buzz").

(2)http://www.footballfedvic.com.au/football-player-numbers-rise-20-in-two-years/
This 29.9.2016 preamble for the above FFV soccer link states
"Registered, season long female football participants in Victoria...on the role they have helped in making football Victoria's PREMIER (my emphasis) sport".
If one googles "FFA Soccer participation Numbers", the above preamble appears.

This link has been closed down.
It would be appreciated if anyone can help me open it, to read the full preamble, and all the text. Soccer is not, & never has been, on any metric, "Victoria's premier sport".

They probably talk is down because it was bollocks. Just propaganda to stave of the exodus of girls and women to aus football

Soccer has nowhere near the participants of Australian football in Victoria, particularly kids. It is a fair way below basketball as well

https://www.clearinghouseforsport.gov.au/research/smi/ausplay/results/state

I've seen more posters with AFLW players for Special K than I have any ads or even mentions online that the AFLW is back soon.

----

Updated practice match details for this weekend:

Carlton vs Geelong, Jan 19th, 11am at Princes Park

Brisbane vs GWS, Jan 19th, 3pm at Leyshon Park, Yeronga QLD

Bulldogs vs Collingwood, Jan 19th, 5pm (gates open 4pm) at Eureka Stadium Ballarat

Dockers vs Crows, Jan 19th, 7:30pm or 8pm at Darwin

Potential Dees vs North practice match, TBC

I'll have confirmation tomorrow on which two practice matches will have radio coverage on Saturday.

Bri Davey said on radio this morning she'll play a limited game on the weekend as well for carlton, but that is a few out for the crows and they have to travel to darwin to play as well.

Two AFL Women's matches will be broadcast Saturday (Jan 19) on RSN Carnival.

10am-1pm - Carlton v Geelong at Princes Park
4pm - 7pm - Western Bulldogs v Collingwood at Mars Stadium

RSN Carnival can be found on Digital Radio in Melbourne, via rsn.net.au/digital-radio-2 or the RSN Racing & Sport app (also 89.1 FM at the ground only).

The Adelaide Crows v Fremantle game will be video streamed via the AFLNTv youtube page from 8.30pm (AEDT) and the Lions v GWS via the Brisbane Lions facebook page (4pm AEDT?).

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/01...y-hard-to-find-promotional-material-for-aflw/

Maher: “You have to work very hard to find promotional material for AFLW”
SEN Afternoons host Andy Maher isn’t happy with the lack of promotion for the AFL Women’s competition so far this year.

In particular, he expressed his frustrations with the AFL themselves and their lack of advertising of the competition, especially given the work going into the building of AFLX at the same time.

“There’s hardly been a word out of the AFL about AFLW,” Maher told SEN Afternoons.

I agree with him wholeheartedly.

I reckon the AFL have people who have a far better grasp on promotional strategy than Andy Maher

The AFLW tweet the other day had a handful of positive resonses. Most of them were either 1) male chauvinists being derisive 2) males whining about the lack of promotion

Ultimately both are just negative noise but at least the first are having the impact they are no doubt after

THe AFL website has had multiple articles every day this week on the AFLW

Do they?

I was just reading elsewhere that most of the season 1 promotion was only done after Bec Brideson volunteered to do it. The AFL were happy just doing skywriting the morning of the match.

There are a chain of comments about it here:

But at the end of the day, advertising will only get you so far. They always have their season launch a day or two before the first game which gets heaps of coverage, plus the league are just as likely to cop criticism from pro-AFLW people for splashing out on commercials instead of using that money for whatever else.

The two things that have the biggest say on promotion are the scheduling of matches and TV broadcast deal. I think there's plenty the AFL could do to improve the former but have done a good job with the latter (except that it seems still not clear what 7 will be covering yet).

I reckon the AFL have people who have a far better grasp on promotional strategy than Andy Maher

The AFLW tweet the other day had a handful of positive resonses. Most of them were either 1) male chauvinists being derisive 2) males whining about the lack of promotion

Ultimately both are just negative noise but at least the first are having the impact they are no doubt after

THe AFL website has had multiple articles every day this week on the AFLW
Tweeted today

- Neither AFLW website is updated with any practice scores - 1 retweet - Facebook updated 6 hours ago - Leading goalscorer from last year injured? No news - Jess Duffin in a WBBL Semi Final - no mutual publicity - Alex Rance has grown a beard - NEWS!

The issue isnt just the lack of paid marketing, that costs serious coin done well.

Its that we just had a round of the first inter club practice matches, a couple of them streamed. The AFL has hardly put out so much as a tweet. They haven't even bothered to retweet the tweets put out by the clubs.

Having someone who is already sitting in head office checking the social media accounts of the clubs every few hours, and just putting it out to a wider audience on the AFL media accounts cost nothing, and takes almost no time.

5 scratch matches. Adelaide's number 1 ruck looks like she has done an ACL. GWS smashed Brisbane. Number of mentions from the AFLW twitter account. 1 retweet of a Brisbane tweet. Thats it.

Instagram posts from the AFLW account, 1.

AFLNT produced a high quality commentated stream of the Freo Crows game. There isnt a mention or link of it anywhere on any AFL or AFLW account I can see. How is that possible?